January 6, 2009
OLYMPIA - The Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) has suspended the tobacco license of two Spokane gas stations for 30 days, and both locations must pay a $10,000 fine. The gas stations may sell non-tobacco products during the suspension.
Northpointe Chevron and Ameristar No. 13 both received three violations for the sale of tobacco to a minor within a two-year period. The two locations received the violations after failing tobacco compliance checks conducted by WSLCB enforcement officers and investigative aides. The WSLCB uses the two-year timeframe when determining fines or temporary license suspensions.
Northpointe Chevron, located at 9420 N. Newport Highway, may not sell tobacco from 10 a.m. on Monday, Jan. 5, 2009 to 10 a.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2009.
Ameristar No. 13, located at 2910 N. Division St. in Spokane, may not sell tobacco from 10 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 6, 2009 to 10 a.m. on Thursday, Feb. 5, 2009.
WSLCB liquor and tobacco enforcement officers conduct compliance checks assisted by investigative aides. For tobacco compliance checks, the aides are from 14 to 17 years old. They must present their true identification if asked by a clerk. However, they may attempt to be evasive if asked their age but not asked for their I.D.
Liquor and tobacco enforcement officers are empowered to issue Administrative Violation Notices to businesses that fail compliance checks. Fines or temporary license suspensions can be issued depending on the severity of the infraction or the frequency with which a business has been cited.
Call the WSLCB's toll-free tip line at 1-888-838-3956 to report illegal activity in Washington establishments licensed to sell alcohol and tobacco.