If You Are Under 21

Zero Tolerance Law
In Washington State if you are under the age of 21, you don’t even have to be “buzzed” to be busted. On your first offense with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .02-.07 percent, you could lose your license for 90 days. On a next offense, you could lose your license until you are 21.  

Minor in Possession (MIP)
You do not have to be in actual possession of alcohol to be cited for an MIP. If you show signs of having consumed alcohol (smell of alcohol on your breath, results of a breathalyzer test, statements by others, etc.), you may be charged with an MIP offense. The maximum penalty is one year in jail, a $5,000 fine, or both.

MIP or Other Alcohol Violations: Lose Your Driver’s License
If you are between the ages of 13 and 17, any alcohol or firearm offense could result in the loss of your driver’s license for one year, or until you are 17, whichever is longer. This includes Minor in Possession (MIP) and/or Consumption of Alcohol (MIC). (RCW 66.44.270 and RCW 10.31.100).

Buy or Attempt to Buy Alcohol
Even if you are unsuccessful, if you attempt to buy alcohol you can be charged with a misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is not more than 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine. However, you will be charged a minimum of $250 and, if community restitution is required, a minimum of 25 hours of restitution.

Fake ID’s
Having a fake ID can have serious consequences for those who get caught with one. Consider these facts in Washington State.

  • It is illegal (misdemeanor) to possess an ID that does not belong to you (RCW 66.20.200).
    • Minimum Fine: $250, with a maximum of $1000
    • Up to 90 days in jail
    • If community restitution is required, a minimum of 25 hours of community service
       
  • It is illegal (misdemeanor) for any person to give or loan an ID to another person for the purpose of buying alcohol (RCW 66.20.200).
    • Minimum Fine: $250, with a maximum of $1000
    • Up to 90 days in jail
    • If community restitution is required, it is a minimum of 25 hours of community service
       
  • Thinking about making your own fake ID’s? It is a gross misdemeanor for any person to forge, alter, or manufacture false identification to supply to someone under age 21 (RCW 66.44.328).
  • Minimum fine: $2,500
  • Up to one year in jail

 

 

Printer-friendly version