7 businesses in Eastern Washington sold alcohol to minors during compliance checks

OLYMPIA – On June 30 and July 1, seven businesses in Eastern Washington failed liquor compliance checks conducted by the Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB). Officers checked 16 businesses for sales/service of alcohol to minors.

The seven businesses sold alcohol to investigative aides working with WSLCB enforcement officers.

Compliance checks
The WSLCB regularly conducts compliance checks of area businesses licensed to sell alcohol. These businesses include restaurants, grocery stores, liquor stores, neighborhood markets, taverns, wine bars and sports/entertainment facilities. Compliance checks are proven tools to reduce the sale of alcohol to minors.

Liquor enforcement officers conduct compliance checks assisted by investigative aides. These individuals are from 18 to 20 years old. They must either present their true identification or none at all if asked by a clerk.

Liquor enforcement officers are empowered to issue Administrative Violation Notices to businesses that fail compliance checks. Fines or temporary license suspensions can be issued depending on the severity of the infraction or the frequency with which a business has been cited.

State liquor store employees who sell to a minor are subject to a $500 reduction in salary or a suspension without pay. A second sale results in termination of employment.

Contract liquor stores are run by private business owners who sign a contract with the state to operate the store. Contract liquor stores that fail a compliance check face a reduction in the commission paid to them by the WSLCB and could risk losing their contract with the state to operate the store.

Businesses that sold alcohol to a minor:

Casey’s Restaurant & Lounge, 2126 N. Monroe
Chevron Food Mart, 404 S. Maple Ave.
Contract Liquor Store No. 686, 12408 N. State Route 395
Revolver, 227 W. Riverside Ave. Suite C
State Liquor Store No. 186, 2401 W. Wellesley Ave. 

Dilila’s Full Moon Saloon, 502 Morgan St.

Loon Lake
Luke’s BBQ, 3998 Highway 292

Businesses that did not sell alcohol to a minor:

State Liquor Store No. 17, 8925 N. Indian Trail Road
State Liquor Store No. 40, 1022 W. Garland Ave.
State Liquor Store No. 65, 1322 W. Third Ave.

Contract Liquor Store No. 589, W. 203 Shaffer

Contract Liquor Store No. 533, 621 Morgan St.

Contract Liquor Store No. 586, 19 W. First Ave.

Contract Liquor Store No. 543, 201 W. First

Contract Liquor Store No. 541, 112 S.E. Main
Wonder Mini Mart, 314 S.W. Main St.

The Washington State Liquor Control Board’s mission is to contribute to the safety and financial stability of our communities by ensuring the responsible sale, and preventing the misuse of, alcohol and tobacco. The WSLCB returned $370.3 million in Fiscal Year 2010 to fund essential state and local services.


Printer-friendly version