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Notice of Permanent Rules for Alcohol Tastings for 18 to 20 

Year Olds at Community or Technical Colleges 

 
This explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Liquor Control Board’s 
adoption of a new rule WAC 314-38-060 Special permit for technical or community 
colleges as authorized by RCW 66.20.010 (12) shall be called a Class 15 permit.   
This permit allows alcohol tastings for 18 to 20 years olds enrolled in a culinary or 
alcohol technology degree program at a community or technical college. 

 
The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a 
concise explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code 
Reviser.  This statement must be provided to anyone who gave comment about the 
proposed rule making. 
 
Once persons who gave comment during this rule making have had a chance to receive 
this document, the Liquor Control Board will file the amended rules with the Office of 
the Code Reviser.  These rule changes will become effective 31 days after filing 
(approximately February 15, 2014). 
 
The Liquor Control Board appreciates your involvement in this rule making process.  If 
you have any questions, please contact Karen McCall, Rules Coordinator, at (360) 664-
1631 or e-mail at rules@liq.wa.gov.  
 

_______________________________ 
 

What are the agency’s reasons for adopting this rule? 
 
Rules are needed to implement the following legislation passed in the 2013 legislative 
session: 
 

 SSB 5774 – Alcohol Tastings for 18 to 20 year olds at Culinary School  

 
 

Summary of all public comments received on this rule 
proposal. 
 
No comments were given at the public hearing held on January 8, 2014, held 
in the Board’s meeting room in Olympia, Washington. 

mailto:rules@liq.wa.gov
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One written comment was received opposing the proposed rules:  
Aninda Mattoo: 
Opposed alcohol sampling for 18 to 20 year olds enrolled in technical or community 
colleges.  No reason was given for the opposition. 

 

WAC Changes 
 

NEW SECTION
 

WAC 314-38-060 Special permit for technical or community 

colleges as authorized by RCW 66.20.010(12) shall be called a 

class 15 permit. (1) The class 15 permit allows tasting of 

alcohol by persons between eighteen and twenty years old. The 

requirements for a class 15 permit are as follows:
 

(a) The permit applicant is a technical or community 

college;
 

(b) The permit allows tasting, not consuming of alcohol as 

part of the class curriculum with approval of the educational 

provider;
 

(c) The student must be enrolled in a required or elective 

class at the college premises as part of a culinary, beer 

technology, wine technology, or spirituous technology-related 

degree program;
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(d) The alcohol served to any person in the program under 

twenty-one years of age is tasted but not consumed for the 

purpose of educational training as part of the class curriculum 

with the approval of the educational provider;
 

(e) Faculty or staff of the educational provider must be at 

least twenty-one years of age, supervise the service and 

tasting, and hold a class 12 or class 13 alcohol server permit; 

and
 

(f) Students may not purchase the alcoholic beverages.
 

(2) There is no annual fee for this permit.
 

 


