

RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

CR-103P (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

CODE REVISER USE ONLY

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: June 18, 2024

TIME: 10:32 AM

WSR 24-13-095

Agency: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board
Effective date of rule:
Permanent Rules
□ 31 days after filing.
☐ Other (specify) _ (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be
stated below)
Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? ☐ Yes ☐ No If Yes, explain: .
Purpose: The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (Board) has adopted amendments to medical cannabis endorsement rules at WAC 314-55-080 to require the posting of cannabis consultant hours, to allow for having medical cannabis on order to satisfy the requirement to have medical cannabis in stock and allowing for time for medical cannabis endorsement holders to address regulatory non-compliance before having the endorsement discontinued.
Citation of rules affected by this order:
New:
Repealed:
Amended: WAC 314-55-080
Suspended:
Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 69.50.342, RCW 69.50.345, RCW 69.50.375
Other authority:
PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 24-10-043 on April 24, 2024 (date).
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: No changes.
If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:
Name: Daniel Jacobs, Rules & Policy Coordinator
Address: 1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501
Phone: 360-480-1238
Fax: 360-664-3208
TTY:
Email: rules@lcb.wa.gov
Web site: www.lcb.wa.gov
Other:

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.

Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note.

A section may be counted in more than one category.

The number of sections adopted in order to comply v	with:		
Federal statute:	New	Amended	Repealed
Federal rules or standards:	New	Amended	Repealed
Recently enacted state statutes:	New	Amended	Repealed
The number of sections adopted at the request of a r	nongovernmenta	al entity:	
	New	Amended	Repealed
The number of sections adopted on the agency's ow	n initiative:		
	New	Amended 1	Repealed
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, s	treamline, or ref	form agency procedu	res:
	New	Amended	Repealed
The number of sections adopted using:			
Negotiated rule making:	New	Amended	Repealed
Pilot rule making:	New	Amended	Repealed
Other alternative rule making:	New	Amended 1	Repealed
Date Adopted: June 18, 2024	Signature:		
Name: David Postman			
Title: Chair		J41 1	

WAC 314-55-080 Medical cannabis endorsement. (1) A medical cannabis endorsement added to a cannabis retail license allows the cannabis retail licensee to:

- (a) Sell cannabis for medical use to qualifying patients and designated providers; and
- (b) Provide cannabis at no charge, at their discretion, to qualifying patients and designated providers.
- (2) Qualifying patients between 18 and 21 years of age with a recognition card may enter and remain on the premises of a retail outlet holding a medical cannabis endorsement and may purchase products for their personal medical use. Qualifying patients who are under the age of 18 with a recognition card and who accompany their designated providers may enter and remain on the premises of a retail outlet holding a medical cannabis endorsement, but may not purchase products for their personal medical use. Only a designated provider may purchase products for a qualifying patient under the age of 18 who holds a valid recognition card.

(3) To maintain a medical cannabis endorsement in good standing, a cannabis retailer must:

- (a) Follow all rules adopted by the department of health regarding retail sales of medical cannabis;
- (b) Have a consultant on staff in accordance with ((department of health rules)) chapter 246-72 WAC;
- (c) (i) Have consulting service hours for entering qualifying patients into the medical cannabis database posted alongside hours of operation as required in WAC 314-55-055;
- (ii) The requirement in (c)(i) of this subsection can be met by posting a window of time where appointments with cannabis consultants can be scheduled;
- (d) Prohibit the medical use of cannabis by anyone at the retail outlet at all times, including medical use by qualifying patients;
- ((\frac{(d) Maintain})) (e) Have in stock at all times, ((a representative assortment of)) or on order, cannabis products ((necessary to meet the needs of qualified patients and designated providers)) that comply with chapter 246-70 WAC;
- $((\frac{(e)}{(e)}))$ Not market cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, or cannabis-infused products in a way that make them especially attractive to minors;
- $((\frac{f)}{Demonstrate}))$ $\underline{(g)}$ Maintain the ability to enter qualifying patients and designated providers in the medical cannabis authorization database established by the department of health;
- $((\frac{g}{g}))$ Issue recognition cards and agree to enter qualifying patients and designated providers into the database in compliance with the department of health standards;
- $((\frac{h}))$ (i) Keep records to document the validity of tax exempt sales as prescribed by the department of revenue for a minimum of five years. For the documentation requirements in RCW 69.50.375 (3)(e), licensees are not required to separately keep copies of the qualifying patient's or designated provider's recognition card because this information is stored in the medical cannabis authorization database;
 - $((\frac{(i)}{(i)}))$ (i) Train employees on the following:

- (i) Procedures regarding the recognition of valid authorizations and the use of equipment to enter qualifying patients and designated providers into the medical cannabis authorization database;
 - (ii) Recognition of valid recognition cards; and
- (iii) Recognition of strains, varieties, THC concentration, CBD concentration, and THC to CBD ratios of cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products available for sale when assisting qualifying patients and designated providers at the retail outlet.
- (4) ((A cannabis retailer holding a medical cannabis endorsement may sell products with a THC concentration of 0.3 percent or less.)) The licensee may ((also)) provide ((these)) cannabis products complying with chapter 246-70 WAC at no charge to qualifying patients or designated providers.
- (5) Unlicensed practice of medicine. No owner, employee, or volunteer of a retail outlet and holding a medical cannabis endorsement may:
- (a) Offer or undertake to diagnose or cure any human or animal disease, ailment, injury, infirmity, deformity, pain, or other condition, physical or mental, real or imaginary, by use of cannabis products or any other means or instrumentality; or
- (b) Recommend or suggest modification or elimination of any course of treatment that does not involve the medical use of cannabis products.
- (6) $((Failure\ to\ comply\ with))$ (a) Noncompliance with the requirements of subsection((s)) (3) $((and\ (5)))$) of this section may result in $((suspension\ or\ revocation))$ the discontinuance of the medical cannabis endorsement.
- (b) (i) After being notified of noncompliance with the requirements of this section by the board, the endorsement holder shall have at least seven calendar days and no more than 30 calendar days to demonstrate compliance with this section. If noncompliance remains after the deadline identified by the board, the endorsement is discontinued.
- (ii) If a licensee applies for a medical cannabis endorsement after it has previously been discontinued pursuant to (b)(i) of this subsection, the application and documentation verifying compliance with the requirements of this section must be submitted to the board.
- (7) Noncompliance with subsection (5) of this section may result in the discontinuance of the medical cannabis endorsement.

[2] OTS-5156.5