CODE REVISER USE ONLY

TIVES STATE

EXPEDITED RULE MAKING

CR-105 (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.353)

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: January 17, 2024 TIME: 11:32 AM

WSR 24-03-089

Agency: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Title of rule and other identifying information: (describe subject) Title 314 WAC Liquor and Cannabis Board. The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) is amending rule section 314-35-075 WAC to implement Section 4 of Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023).

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules: During the 2023 Legislative Session, the Washington State Legislature passed Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023), signed into law by Governor Inslee on May 9, 2023. This legislation increases monetary penalties LCB can impose on licensed retailers under RCW 70.155.100 for violations of RCW 26.28.080 pertaining to selling or giving cigarette, tobacco or vapor products to persons under 21 years of age. This increase in penalties was aimed at ensuring better retailer compliance with tobacco and vapor product possession laws. Penalties are increased to the following:

- A monetary penalty of \$1,000 for the 1st violation within any three-year period (up from \$200)
- A monetary penalty of \$2,500 for the 2nd violation within any three-year period (up from \$600)
- A monetary penalty of \$5,000 and suspension of the license for a period of six months for the 3rd violation within any three-year period (up from \$2000)
- A monetary penalty of \$10,000 and suspension of the license for a period of 12 months for the 4th violation within any three-year period (up from \$3,000)
- Revocation of the license with no possibility of reinstatement for a period of five years for the 5th or more violation within any three-year period (no change)

Reasons supporting proposal: Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 directs LCB to increase penalties for violations under RCW 70.155.100. LCB is using expedited rulemaking to amend penalties under WAC 314-35-075 that are explicitly and specifically dictated by Washington state statute RCW 70.155.100.

Statutory author	ity for adoption: R	CW 70.155.	110; RCW 70.345.020			
Statute being im	plemented: RCW	70.155.100.				
Is rule necessary	/ because of a:					
Federal Lav	N?				Yes	🛛 No
Federal Co	urt Decision?				Yes	🛛 No
State Court	Decision?				Yes	🛛 No
If yes, CITATION:						
Name of propone	ent: (person or orga	anization) W	ashington State Liquor and Cannabis Board		Private	
					Public	
				\boxtimes	Govern	mental
Name of agency	personnel respon	sible for:				
	Name		Office Location	Ph	one	
Drafting: Rules Coordinator	Denise Laflamme	e, Policy and	1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501	36	0-974-93	336

Implementation: Licensing	Becky Smith, Director of	1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501	360-664-1753
Enforcement: Enforcement	Chandra Wax, Director of	1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501	360-664-1726
	nts or recommendations, if a	any, as to statutory language, implementation	, enforcement, and fiscal
Expedited Adopt	tion - Which of the following	rriteria was used by the agency to file this n	otice:
-	•	tions that are not subject to violation by a person	
rules of other Was statewide signification	shington state agencies, shore ance, or, as referenced by Wa naterial adopted or incorporat	material change federal statutes or regulations, eline master programs other than those programs ishington state law, national consensus codes that ed regulates the same subject matter and conduct	s governing shorelines of at generally establish industry
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	graphical errors, make addres plicitly and specifically dictated	s or name changes, or clarify language of a rule v I by statute:	without changing its effect;
Have been the participation by in	e subject of negotiated rule ma	aking, pilot rule making, or some other process th velopment of the proposed rule; or	at involved substantial
Expedited Repea	al - Which of the following c	riteria was used by the agency to file notice:	
statutory authority The statute on judgment, and no	/ for the rule; ι which the rule is based has t	been repealed and has not been replaced by ano been declared unconstitutional by a court with juri replace the unconstitutional statute;	
	• •	ncy govern the same activity as the rule, making	the rule redundant
Explanation of th 34.05.353(4): Eng	ne reason the agency believ grossed Substitute Senate Bill	es the expedited rule-making process is appr 5365, Section 4 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023) dire hat are explicitly and specifically dictated by RCW	opriate pursuant to RCW ects LCB to increase
		NOTICE	
NEED FOR THE STATEMENT, OF OBJECT TO THIS	AGENCY TO HOLD PUBLIC R PROVIDE RESPONSES TO	N EXPEDITED RULE-MAKING PROCESS THA HEARINGS, PREPARE A SMALL BUSINESS I THE CRITERIA FOR A SIGNIFICANT LEGISL RULE-MAKING PROCESS, YOU MUST EXPRE	ECONOMIC IMPACT ATIVE RULE. IF YOU
Agency: Washing Address: 1025 Ur	flamme, Policy & Rules Coord ton State Liquor & Cannabis I nion Avenue SE, Olympia WA	Board	
Phone: 360-974-9			
Fax: 360-704-502			
Email: rules@lcb.	wa.gov		
Other:	RV (data) March 20, 2024		
	BY (date) March 26, 2024	Signatura	
Date: January 17	, 2024	Signature:	
Name: David Pos	stman	Jak k	P
Title: Chair			

<u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 20-01-074, filed 12/11/19, effective 1/1/20)

WAC 314-35-075 Category I—Violations that create a direct or immediate threat to public health, safety, or both.

Category I:	Violations	that	create	a di	rect	or	immediate	threat	to
	publi	c heal	lth, sa	fety,	or h	bot	h.		

Violation Type	1st Violation in a three-year period	2nd Violation in a three-year period	3rd Violation in a three-year window	4th Violation in a three-year window	5th Violation in a three-year window
Sales to persons under twenty-one. RCW 26-28-080	<u>\$1,000</u> monetary penalty	<u>\$2,500</u> monetary penalty	\$5,000 monetary penalty and a 6- month license suspension	\$10,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	<u>Cancellation of</u> <u>license with no</u> <u>possibility of</u> <u>reinstatement</u> <u>for 5 years</u>
((Sales to persons under twenty-one,)) <u>A</u> llowing a person under twenty-one to frequent consumption of vapor products, or vapor product tasting. ((RCW 26.28.080)) RCW 70.345.100	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6- month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years
WAC 314-35-040 Obstruction: Misrepresentation of fact; not permitting physical presence. RCW 70.345.030(2)	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6- month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years
Sell, give, or permit to sell or give a product that contains any amount of any cannabinoid, synthetic cannabinoid, cathinone, or methcathinone, unless otherwise provided by law.	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6- month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years
RCW 70.345.030 WAC 314-35-055 Conduct violations:	\$200 monetary	\$600 monetary	\$2,000	\$3,000	Cancellation of
Permitting or engaging in criminal conduct, or both. Title 9 RCW Title 9A RCW Chapter 69.50 RCW Chapter 70.155 RCW Chapter 70.158 RCW Chapter 70.345 RCW Chapter 82.24 RCW Chapter 82.26 RCW WAC 314-35-045	penalty	penalty	monetary penalty and a 6- month license suspension	monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years

Violation Type	1st Violation in	2nd Violation	3rd Violation	4th Violation	5th Violation
	a three-year	in a three-year	in a three-year	in a three-year	in a three-year
	period	period	window	window	window
Selling, giving, or permitting to give a vapor product or products to persons under twenty-one by any person other than a licensed retailer. RCW 26.28.080	\$50 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty