R\ Washington State
/] Liquor and Cannabis Board

Petition for Adoption, Amendment, or Repeal of a State
Administrative Rule

Topic: Request to Amend WAC 314-55-115 related to flexible payment terms
Date: November 20, 2024
Presenter: Cassidy West, Policy and Rules Manager

BACKGROUND

On October 14, 2024, Fabian Toader, representing Green Labs, LLC, submitted a
petition for amendment, repeal, or adoption of a state administrative rule to the
Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board ("Board") requesting amendments to
WAC 314-55-115. This petition pertains to the recently amended rule requiring checks
be deposited within five days of delivery. The Petitioner seeks a reconsideration of the
five-day rule, proposing an extension to a 15-day window instead. The petition request
and its supplemental materials are enclosed (see Attachment A).

The newly amended rule mandates that checks be sent, delivered, or mailed by the next
business day following delivery and deposited as promptly as reasonably practical but
no later than five business days after delivery. Any delay beyond this time may be
considered an unlawful extension of credit.

The Petitioner has expressed concerns about the practical challenges meeting the new
five-day deposit rule, citing geographical constraints. He argues that the requirement to
deposit checks within five days of delivery imposes an undue administrative burden and
potential for non-compliance. According to the Petitioner, the current process takes his
business 12-15 days from receipt to deposit.

ISSUE

Whether the Board should accept or deny the petition request to amend WAC 314-55-
115 to extend the time allowed for depositing checks after delivery.

ANALYSIS
When making recommendations to the Board, LCB staff consider several key factors to
ensure decisions are legal, practical, evidence-based, and align with the agency’s
goals. These factors include:

e Legal Authority: Confirm agency's legal power.

e Economic Impact: Evaluate financial implications.

e Equity Assessment: Assess impacts on economic, health, and social equity.


https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=314-55-115&pdf=true

e DEIB Assessment: Analyze diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging.
e Public Health: Examine public health implications.
¢ Risk Assessment: Identify and assess risks.
e Agency Coordination: Coordinate with relevant agencies.
e Tribal Considerations: Address Tribal concerns and rights.
e Public Input: Consider stakeholder perspectives and concerns.
e Policy Alignment: Ensure policy consistency.
e Security Considerations: Evaluate security implications.
Legal Authority

The Board has rulemaking authority to adopt rules to amend WAC 314-55-115 under
RCW 69.50.342 and RCW 69.50.345. The full text of relevant laws and rules are
enclosed (see Attachment B).

Policy Alignment

The agency recently completed a rulemaking process fully compliant with the
Administrative Procedure Act (APA) (RCW 34.05). This initiative aimed to provide
cannabis licensees with greater flexibility when buying cannabis and cannabis products
from other licensees. Throughout the rule development process, multiple opportunities
for stakeholder engagement were offered.

Timeline of Rulemaking Activities:

e May 8, 2024: The CR-101 was filed as WSR 24-11-035, marking the initiation of
the rulemaking process. A GovDelivery notice was distributed notifying the
public. During the May 8 board meeting, the rules coordinator Daniel Jacobs
stated that stakeholder feedback would be obtained via a survey that would be
posted on the agency website during June 2024.

e June 3, 2024: GovDelivery notice emailed informing public of live survey that
would be available to complete until July 8, 2024. The invitation to the survey
included a link to proposed draft rule language.

e June 3-July 8, 2024: Survey live on LCB website for completion.

e July 31, 2024: The CR-102 was filed as WSR 24-16-063, officially starting the
formal public comment period.
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e September 11, 2024: A public hearing was held to gather input on the draft
proposed rule, which also served as the deadline for submitting formal written
comments.

e September 25, 2024: The CR-103 was filed as WSR 24-20-055.

e QOctober 26, 2024: Effective date of rules.
Stakeholder Input

Stakeholder input on the five-day check deposit requirement was minimal. Survey
results did not highlight any specific concerns about the deposit timeframe. During the
public hearing, two stakeholders asked that there be no deadline for depositing checks.
This request was not reflected in the final rule due to the indefinite nature it would
introduce for check payments, including impacting regulatory consistency and
accountability.

Merits of the Petition

While we acknowledge the Petitioner’s concerns, the petition does not provide sufficient
data-driven evidence to justify reopening the rulemaking process.

Potential Benefits, Costs, & Impacts

The Petitioner proposes conducting feasibility studies to assess the practical
implications of the rule on businesses like his. The Board has already committed to a
retrospective review of the amended rule after one year to evaluate its effectiveness
and impacts.

CONCLUSION

In conclusion, the rulemaking process was conducted in full compliance with the
Administrative Procedure Act (APA), providing multiple opportunities for public
comment. The rule was adopted after careful consideration of all feedback received.
While we recognize the Petitioner’s concerns, the petition lacks compelling data-driven
evidence to justify reopening the rulemaking process. Additionally, the Board is
committed to conducting a retrospective review of the amended rule in one year to
assess its effectiveness and impact.

RECOMMENDATION

For the reasons described above, Director’s Office staff recommend that consistent with
RCW 34.05.330, the Board deny the petition submitted by Fabian Toader on October
14, 2024 requesting amendments to WAC 314-55-115 regarding the requirement that
the check be deposited no later than five business days following delivery.
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BOARD ACTION

After considering the recommendation of Director’s Office staff, the Board accepts/denies
the petition for rulemaking received from Fabian Toader on October 14, 2024, requesting
amendments to WAC 314-55-115 to amend the five-day deposit requirement.

Sl

David Postman, Chair

Accept _ X Deny

N e T
Accept _ X Deny
Ollie Garrett, Board Member

Qe

Jim Vollendroff, Board Member

Accept __ X Deny

ATTACHMENTS
1. Attachment A: Petition Request & Supplemental Materials
2. Attachment B: Laws and Rules
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State liquor and cannabis board—Rules.

(1) For the purpose of carrying into effect the provisions of chapter 3, Laws of 2013 according to
their true intent or of supplying any deficiency therein, the board may adopt rules not inconsistent with
the spirit of chapter 3, Laws of 2013 as are deemed necessary or advisable. Without limiting the
generality of the preceding sentence, the board is empowered to adopt rules regarding the following:

(a) The equipment and management of retail outlets and premises where cannabis is produced or
processed, and inspection of the retail outlets and premises where cannabis is produced or processed;

(b) The books and records to be created and maintained by licensees, the reports to be made
thereon to the board, and inspection of the books and records;

(c) Methods of producing, processing, and packaging cannabis, useable cannabis, cannabis
concentrates, and cannabis-infused products; conditions of sanitation; safe handling requirements;
approved pesticides and pesticide testing requirements; and standards of ingredients, quality, and
identity of cannabis, useable cannabis, cannabis concentrates, and cannabis-infused products produced,
processed, packaged, or sold by licensees;

(d) Security requirements for retail outlets and premises where cannabis is produced or
processed, and safety protocols for licensees and their employees;

(e) Screening, hiring, training, and supervising employees of licensees;

(f) Retail outlet locations and hours of operation;

(g) Labeling requirements and restrictions on advertisement of cannabis, useable cannabis,
cannabis concentrates, cannabis health and beauty aids, and cannabis-infused products for sale in retail
outlets;

(h) Forms to be used for purposes of this chapter and chapter 69.51A RCW or the rules adopted
to implement and enforce these chapters, the terms and conditions to be contained in licenses issued
under this chapter and chapter 69.51A RCW, and the qualifications for receiving a license issued under
this chapter and chapter 69.51A RCW, including a criminal history record information check. The board
may submit any criminal history record information check to the Washington state patrol and to the
identification division of the federal bureau of investigation in order that these agencies may search their
records for prior arrests and convictions of the individual or individuals who filled out the forms. The
board must require fingerprinting of any applicant whose criminal history record information check is
submitted to the federal bureau of investigation;

(i) Application, reinstatement, and renewal fees for licenses issued under this chapter and chapter
69.51A RCW, and fees for anything done or permitted to be done under the rules adopted to implement
and enforce this chapter and chapter 69.51A RCW;

(j) The manner of giving and serving notices required by this chapter and chapter 69.51A RCW or
rules adopted to implement or enforce these chapters;

(k) Times and periods when, and the manner, methods, and means by which, licensees transport
and deliver cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products within
the state;

() Identification, seizure, confiscation, destruction, or donation to law enforcement for training
purposes of all cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products
produced, processed, sold, or offered for sale within this state which do not conform in all respects to the
standards prescribed by this chapter or chapter 69.51A RCW or the rules adopted to implement and
enforce these chapters;

(m) The prohibition of any type of device used in conjunction with a cannabis vapor product and
the prohibition of the use of any type of additive, solvent, ingredient, or compound in the production and
processing of cannabis products, including cannabis vapor products, when the board determines,
following consultation with the department of health or any other authority the board deems appropriate,
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that the device, additive, solvent, ingredient, or compound may pose a risk to public health or youth
access; and

(n) Requirements for processors to submit under oath to the department of health a complete list
of all constituent substances and the amount and sources thereof in each cannabis vapor product,
including all additives, thickening agents, preservatives, compounds, and any other substance used in
the production and processing of each cannabis vapor product.

(2) Rules adopted on retail outlets holding medical cannabis endorsements must be adopted in
coordination and consultation with the department.

(3) The board must adopt rules to perfect and expand existing programs for compliance
education for licensed cannabis businesses and their employees. The rules must include a voluntary
compliance program created in consultation with licensed cannabis businesses and their employees. The
voluntary compliance program must include recommendations on abating violations of this chapter and
rules adopted under this chapter.

[2022 ¢ 16 s 63; 2020 c 133 s 3; 2019 ¢ 394 s 4; 2015 2nd sp.s.c 4 s 1601; 2015¢c 70s 7; 2013 c 3 s
9 (Initiative Measure No. 502, approved November 6, 2012).]

NOTES:

Intent—Finding—2022 ¢ 16: See note following RCW 69.50.101.

Findings—2020 c 133: "The legislature finds that recent reports of lung ilinesses associated
with vapor products demand serious attention by the state in the interest of protecting public health and
preventing youth access. While state law grants the liquor and cannabis board broad authority to
regulate vapor products containing marijuana [cannabis], the legislature finds that risks to public health
and youth access can be mitigated by clarifying that the board is granted specific authority to prohibit the
use of any additive, solvent, ingredient, or compound in marijuana [cannabis] vapor product production
and processing and to prohibit any device used in conjunction with a marijuana [cannabis] vapor
product." [ 2020 ¢ 133 s 1.]

Effective date—2020 ¢ 133: "This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, or safety, or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and
takes effect immediately [March 25, 2020]." [ 2020 ¢ 133 s 5.]

Findings—2019 ¢ 394: See note following RCW 69.50.563.

Findings—Intent—Effective dates—2015 2nd sp.s. ¢ 4: See notes following RCW
69.50.334.

Short title—Findings—Intent—References to Washington state liquor control board—
Draft legislation—2015 ¢ 70: See notes following RCW 66.08.012.

Intent—2013 c 3 (Initiative Measure No. 502): See note following RCW 69.50.101.
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State liquor and cannabis board—Rules—Procedures and criteria.

The board, subject to the provisions of this chapter, must adopt rules that establish the
procedures and criteria necessary to implement the following:

(1) Licensing of cannabis producers, cannabis processors, and cannabis retailers, including
prescribing forms and establishing application, reinstatement, and renewal fees.

(a) Application forms for cannabis producers must request the applicant to state whether the
applicant intends to produce cannabis for sale by cannabis retailers holding medical cannabis
endorsements and the amount of or percentage of canopy the applicant intends to commit to growing
plants determined by the department under RCW 69.50.375 to be of a THC concentration, CBD
concentration, or THC to CBD ratio appropriate for cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, or
cannabis-infused products sold to qualifying patients.

(b) The board must reconsider and increase limits on the amount of square feet permitted to be in
production on July 24, 2015, and increase the percentage of production space for those cannabis
producers who intend to grow plants for cannabis retailers holding medical cannabis endorsements if the
cannabis producer designates the increased production space to plants determined by the department
under RCW 69.50.375 to be of a THC concentration, CBD concentration, or THC to CBD ratio
appropriate for cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, or cannabis-infused products to be sold to
qualifying patients. If current cannabis producers do not use all the increased production space, the
board may reopen the license period for new cannabis producer license applicants but only to those
cannabis producers who agree to grow plants for cannabis retailers holding medical cannabis
endorsements. Priority in licensing must be given to cannabis producer license applicants who have an
application pending on July 24, 2015, but who are not yet licensed and then to new cannabis producer
license applicants. After January 1, 2017, any reconsideration of the limits on the amount of square feet
permitted to be in production to meet the medical needs of qualifying patients must consider information
contained in the medical cannabis authorization database established in RCW 69.51A.230;

(2)(a) Except as provided in RCW 69.50.335, determining, in consultation with the office of
financial management, the maximum number of retail outlets that may be licensed in each county, taking
into consideration:

(i) Population distribution;

(ii) Security and safety issues;

(iii) The provision of adequate access to licensed sources of cannabis concentrates, useable
cannabis, and cannabis-infused products to discourage purchases from the illegal market; and

(iv) The number of retail outlets holding medical cannabis endorsements necessary to meet the
medical needs of qualifying patients. The board must reconsider and increase the maximum number of
retail outlets it established before July 24, 2015, and allow for a new license application period and a
greater number of retail outlets to be permitted in order to accommodate the medical needs of qualifying
patients and designated providers. After January 1, 2017, any reconsideration of the maximum number
of retail outlets needed to meet the medical needs of qualifying patients must consider information
contained in the medical cannabis authorization database established in RCW 69.51A.230.

(b)(i) In making the determination under (a) of this subsection, the board must consider written
input from an incorporated city or town, or county legislative authority when evaluating concerns related
to outlet density.

(i) An incorporated city or town, or county legislative authority, may enact an ordinance
prescribing outlet density limitations. An ordinance may not affect licenses issued before the effective
date of the ordinance prescribing outlet density limitations.

(iii) The board may adopt rules to identify how local jurisdiction input will be evaluated;
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(3) Determining the maximum quantity of cannabis a cannabis producer may have on the
premises of a licensed location at any time without violating Washington state law;

(4) Determining the maximum quantities of cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis,
and cannabis-infused products a cannabis processor may have on the premises of a licensed location at
any time without violating Washington state law;

(5) Determining the maximum quantities of cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and
cannabis-infused products a cannabis retailer may have on the premises of a retail outlet at any time
without violating Washington state law;

(6) In making the determinations required by this section, the board shall take into consideration:

(a) Security and safety issues;

(b) The provision of adequate access to licensed sources of cannabis, cannabis concentrates,
useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products to discourage purchases from the illegal market; and

(c) Economies of scale, and their impact on licensees' ability to both comply with regulatory
requirements and undercut illegal market prices;

(7) Determining the nature, form, and capacity of all containers to be used by licensees to contain
cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products, and their labeling
requirements;

(8) In consultation with the department of agriculture and the department, establishing classes of
cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products according to grade,
condition, cannabinoid profile, THC concentration, CBD concentration, or other qualitative measurements
deemed appropriate by the board;

(9) Establishing reasonable time, place, and manner restrictions and requirements regarding
advertising of cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products that
are not inconsistent with the provisions of this chapter, taking into consideration:

(a) Federal laws relating to cannabis that are applicable within Washington state;

(b) Minimizing exposure of people under 21 years of age to the advertising;

(c) The inclusion of medically and scientifically accurate information about the health and safety
risks posed by cannabis use in the advertising; and

(d) Ensuring that retail outlets with medical cannabis endorsements may advertise themselves as
medical retail outlets;

(10) Specifying and regulating the time and periods when, and the manner, methods, and means
by which, licensees shall transport and deliver cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and
cannabis-infused products within the state;

(11) In consultation with the department and the department of agriculture, prescribing methods of
producing, processing, and packaging cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and
cannabis-infused products; conditions of sanitation; and standards of ingredients, quality, and identity of
cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-infused products produced,
processed, packaged, or sold by licensees;

(12) Specifying procedures for identifying, seizing, confiscating, destroying, and donating to law
enforcement for training purposes all cannabis, cannabis concentrates, useable cannabis, and cannabis-
infused products produced, processed, packaged, labeled, or offered for sale in this state that do not
conform in all respects to the standards prescribed by this chapter or the rules of the board.

[ 2023 ¢ 220 s 5; (2023 ¢ 220 s 4 expired July 1, 2024); 2022 ¢ 16 s 65; (2022 c 16 s 64 expired July 1,
2024). Prior: 2019 ¢ 393 s 2; 2019 ¢ 277 s 6; 2018 c 43 s 2; 2015 c 70 s 8; 2013 ¢ 3 s 10 (Initiative
Measure No. 502, approved November 6, 2012).]

NOTES:
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Effective date—2023 ¢ 220 s 5: "Section 5 of this act takes effect July 1, 2024." [ 2023 ¢ 220
s 9.]

Expiration date—2023 c 220 s 4: "Section 4 of this act expires July 1, 2024." [ 2023 ¢ 220 s
8.]

Effective date—2022 c 16 ss 65 and 68: "Sections 65 and 68 of this act take effect July 1,
2024."[2022 c 16 s 174.]

Expiration date—2022 ¢ 16 ss 64 and 67: "Sections 64 and 67 of this act expire July 1,
2024."[ 2022 c 16 s 173.]

Intent—Finding—2022 ¢ 16: See note following RCW 69.50.101.

Effective date—2019 c 393: "This act takes effect January 1, 2020." [ 2019 ¢ 393 s 6.]
Intent—2019 ¢ 393: See note following RCW 69.50.346.

Effective date—2019 ¢ 277 ss 2 and 6: See note following RCW 69.50.348.

Short title—Findings—Intent—References to Washington state liquor control board—
Draft legislation—2015 ¢ 70: See notes following RCW 66.08.012.

Intent—2013 c 3 (Initiative Measure No. 502): See note following RCW 69.50.101.
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Methods of payment for cannabis licensees purchasing cannabis.

A cannabis licensee must pay cash for cannabis prior to or at the time of delivery. The LCB wiill
recognize the following forms of payment as cash payment for the purpose of this section.

(1) Checks, under the following provisions:

(a) A sale must be initiated by an irrevocable invoice or sale order before or at the time of delivery.

(b) Both parties must maintain records of transactions, including relevant proof of mailing, and
have the records readily available for the LCB review.

(c) The check must be sent, delivered, or mailed by the cannabis licensee no later than the first
business day following delivery and must be deposited as promptly as is reasonably practical, and in no
event later than five business days following delivery. Any attempt by a cannabis licensee to delay
payment on checks for any period of time beyond the minimum as is reasonably practical will be
considered an unlawful attempt to purchase products on credit.

(2) Credit/debit cards, under the following provisions:

(a) The credit or debit card transaction agreement must be voluntary on the part of both
licensees, and there must be no discrimination for nonparticipation in credit or debit card transactions.

(b) A sale must be initiated by an irrevocable invoice or sale order before or at the time of delivery.

(c) Both parties must bear their respective banking costs or other costs associated with the credit
or debit card service.

(d) Both parties must maintain records of transactions and have the records readily available for
the LCB review.

(e) The credit or debit card charge must be initiated by the cannabis licensee no later than the
first business day following delivery.

(3) Electronic funds transfer (EFT), under the following provisions:

(a) The EFT agreement must be voluntary on the part of both the licensees, and there must be no
discrimination for nonpatrticipation in EFT.

(b) Prior to any EFT transaction, the cannabis licensee must enter into a written agreement
specifying the terms and conditions for EFT as payment for cannabis.

(c) A sale must be initiated by an irrevocable invoice or sale order before or at the time of delivery.

(d) Both parties must bear their respective banking costs or other costs associated with EFT
service.

(e) Both parties must maintain records of transactions and have the records readily available for
the LCB review.

(f) The electronic funds transfer must be initiated by the cannabis licensee no later than the first
business day following delivery and must be paid as promptly as is reasonably practical, and in no event
later than five business days following delivery. Any attempt by a cannabis licensee to delay payment on
EFT transactions for any period of time beyond the minimum as is reasonably practical will be
considered an unlawful attempt to purchase products on credit.

(4) Prepaid accounts. Both parties must keep accurate accounting records of prepaid accounts
to ensure a cash deposit is not overextended, which is considered an extension of credit.

(5) Transactions using a money transmitter, under the following provisions:

(a) The money transmitter must be licensed by and in good standing with the Washington state
department of financial institutions.

(b) A sale must be initiated by an irrevocable invoice or sale order before or at the time of delivery.

(c) Both parties must bear their respective costs associated with the money transmitter service.

(d) Both parties must maintain records of transactions and have the records readily available for
the LCB to review.
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(e) The funds transfer through the money transmitter must be initiated by the cannabis licensee
no later than the first business day following delivery and must be paid as promptly as is reasonably
practical, and in no event later than five business days following delivery. Any attempt by a cannabis
licensee to delay payment on money transmitter transactions for any period of time beyond the minimum
as is reasonably practical will be considered an unlawful attempt to purchase products on credit.

(6) Any transaction reported as having nonsufficient funds (NSF) will be considered an extension
of credit. If a transaction is reported as NSF:

(a) The purchaser must pay the full amount of the transaction to the seller by 3:00 p.m. on the
first business day following receipt of the NSF report.

(b) Until the NSF transaction is paid:

(i) The cannabis licensee who received the NSF transaction will not deliver any cannabis to the
purchaser; and

(ii) It is the responsibility of the purchaser to not receive additional cannabis from any other
cannabis licensee.

(7) As used in this section, "delivery" refers to delivery of cannabis.

(8) All records must be kept and maintained consistent with WAC 314-55-087.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 24-20-055, s 314-55-115, filed 9/25/24,
effective 10/26/24. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 2022 c 16 § 168. WSR 22-14-111, § 314-55-
115, filed 7/6/22, effective 8/6/22. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, §
314-55-115, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16.]
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