CODE REVISER USE ONLY

TATE OF HASHING

RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

CR-103P (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: June 08, 2022 TIME: 11:41 AM

WSR 22-13-054

Agency: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Effective date of rule:

Permanent Rules

 \boxtimes 31 days after filing.

Other (specify) _____ (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be stated below)

Purpose: The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board adopted a new rule section WAC 314-03-060, regarding axe throwing at liquor licensed premises, and amendments to WAC 314-29-030, regarding group 3 license violations, to provide a framework to address and mitigate the public health and safety concerns that arise when alcohol service is combined with axe throwing.

Citation of rules affected by this order:

New: WAC 314-03-060 Repealed: None

Amended: WAC 314-29-030

Suspended: None

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 66.08.030

Other authority: N/A

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making)

Adopted under notice filed as WSR 22-07-058 on March 16, 2022 (date).

Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: There were no changes from the proposed rules to the adopted rules.

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:

Name: Audrey Vasek, Policy and Rules Coordinator Address: 1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501 Phone: 360-664-1758 Fax: 360-704-5027 TTY: Email: rules@lcb.wa.gov Web site: lcb.wa.gov Other:

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.						
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. A section may be counted in more than one category.						
The number of sections adopted in order to comply w	h:					
Federal statute:	ew Amended	Repealed				
Federal rules or standards:	ew Amended	Repealed				
Recently enacted state statutes:	ew Amended	Repealed				
The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity:						
1	ew Amended	Repealed				
The number of sections adopted on the agency's own initiative:						
1	ew <u>1</u> Amended <u>1</u>	Repealed				
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures:						
1	ew Amended	Repealed				
The number of sections adopted using:						
Negotiated rule making:	w Amended	Repealed				
Pilot rule making:	w Amended	Repealed				
Other alternative rule making:	ew <u>1</u> Amended <u>1</u>	Repealed				
Date Adopted: June 8, 2022	Signature:					
Name: David Postman	Que					
Title: Chair	Ya	P				

WAC 314-03-060 Axe throwing at liquor licensed premises. (1) Axe throwing combined with alcohol consumption is considered a highrisk activity. Licensees should follow industry best practices for safe axe throwing participation. A liquor licensee must receive approval from the board's licensing division prior to providing axe throwing activities at liquor licensed premises.

(2) The liquor licensee or liquor license applicant must submit a safety operating plan addressing how the licensee will mitigate safety concerns associated with axe throwing at the liquor licensed premises. The safety operating plan must include the following:

(a) Protocols for monitoring alcohol consumption and ensuring patrons are not intoxicated prior to axe throwing, including:

(i) Designated MAST-certified staff in the axe throwing area at all times to monitor alcohol consumption;

(ii) Prohibiting patrons who appear intoxicated from axe throwing;

(iii) Deescalating patrons who appear intoxicated and are uncooperative or hostile; and

(iv) Training employees on the protocols included in the safety operating plan; and

(b) A floor plan for the premises. The floor plan must include the following:

(i) The designated consumption areas where alcohol may be sold, served, or consumed on-premises; and

(ii) The axe throwing areas. The axe throwing areas must be separate from the designated consumption areas. Alcohol is not allowed in the axe throwing areas. The axe throwing areas must have barriers to separate the axe throwing activity from the designated consumption areas. Barriers must prevent axes from traveling out of the axe throwing areas, including behind the throwers. "Barriers" means walls, fences, cages, or similar physical obstructions.

(3) Changes to a licensee's safety operating plan must be submitted to the board's licensing division for approval. The safety operating plan must remain in effect until the licensee's change request is approved by the board's licensing division or the board determines changes are necessary due to safety concerns.

(4) Failure to adhere to the licensee's approved safety operating plan is subject to the penalty structure outlined in WAC 314-29-030, violations of a board approved operating plan. <u>AMENDATORY SECTION</u> (Amending WSR 09-21-050, filed 10/14/09, effective 11/14/09)

WAC 314-29-030 Group 3 license violations. Group 3 violations are violations involving licensing requirements, license classification, and special restrictions.

Violation Type	1st Violation	2nd Violation in a two-year window	3rd Violation in a two-year window	4th Violation in a two-year window
True party of interest violation. RCW 66.24.010(1) WAC 314-12-030	Cancellation of license			
Failure to furnish required documents. WAC 314-12-035	Cancellation of license			
Misrepresentation of fact. WAC 314-12-010	Cancellation of license			
Misuse or unauthorized use of liquor license (operating outside of license class, lending or contracting license to another person/entity). Chapter 66.24 RCW WAC 314-02-015 WAC 314-02-041 WAC 314-02-045 WAC 314-02-045 WAC 314-02-065 WAC 314-02-070 WAC 314-02-070 WAC 314-02-075 WAC 314-02-090 WAC 314-02-095 WAC 314-02-100 WAC 314-02-110 WAC 314-12-030	5 day suspension or \$1,500 monetary option	Cancellation of license		
Operating plan: Violations of a board-approved operating plan. <u>WAC 314-03-060</u> WAC 314-16-270 WAC 314-16-275	5 day suspension or \$500 monetary option	7 day suspension or \$1,500 monetary option	10 day suspension with no monetary option	Cancellation of license
Sale of alcohol in violation of a board-approved local authority restriction. Chapter 66.24 RCW	5 day suspension or \$500 monetary option	7 day suspension or \$1,500 monetary option	10 day suspension with no monetary option	Cancellation of license
Sale of alcohol in violation of a board-approved alcohol impact area restriction. WAC 314-12-215	5 day suspension or \$500 monetary option	7 day suspension or \$1,500 monetary option	10 day suspension with no monetary option	Cancellation of license
Catering endorsement violation. WAC 314-02-060 WAC 314-02-061	5 day suspension or \$250 monetary option	5 day suspension or \$1,500 monetary option	10 day suspension or \$3,000 monetary option	Cancellation of license

[1]