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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board 

Effective date of rule: 
Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)  (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should be 

stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:  

Purpose: Chapter 314-38 WAC – Permits. The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) has adopted 
revisions to existing permit rules to update, modernize, and clarify existing language. The WSLCB has also adopted revisions 
to WAC 314-38-060 to align existing rules with and implement the law as established by Engrossed House Bill (EHB) 1563 
(Chapter 112, Laws of 2019), concerning special permits for alcohol tastings by students at least eighteen years of age 
enrolled in certain degree-related programs at community or technical colleges, regional universities, or state universities.  

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:     
Repealed: WAC 314-38-010 
Amended: WAC 314-38-020, 314-38-030, 314-38-040, 314-38-050, 314-38-060, 314-38-070, 314-38-080, 314-38-090, 
314-38-095, 314-38-100, 314-38-110   
Suspended:  

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 66.08.030. 

Other authority:  

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 
Adopted under notice filed as WSR 20-20-039 on September 30, 2020 (date). 
Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: There were no changes from the proposed 
rules to the adopted rules. 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name: Audrey Vasek 

Address: 1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501 

Phone: 360-664-1758 

Fax: 360-664-9689 

TTY:       

Email: rules@lcb.wa.gov 

Web site: www.lcb.wa.gov 

Other:       
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New  Amended 1 Repealed   

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New    Amended 11 Repealed 1  

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New  Amended 11 Repealed 1  

 

Date Adopted: December 9, 2020 

 

Name: Jane Rushford 
 

Title: Chair 

Signature: 

 

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 18-04-116, filed 2/7/18, effective 
3/10/18)

WAC 314-38-020  Permits—Fees established.  The fees for permits 
authorized under RCW 66.20.010 and 66.20.400 are ((hereby)) establish-
ed as follows:

(1) ((A)) The fee ((of five dollars is established)) for a spe-
cial permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(1) is five dollars.

(2) The fee for a special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 
66.20.010(2) for purchase of five gallons or less is ((established 
as)) five dollars and for purchase of over five gallons is ((estab-
lished as)) ten dollars.

(3) ((A)) The fee for a banquet permit((, as)) authorized by RCW 
66.20.010(3)((,)) is established in WAC 314-18-040.

(4) The fee for a special business permit((, as)) authorized by 
RCW 66.20.010(4)((,)) is established in WAC ((314-38-010(2))) 
314-38-050.

(5) The fee ((of ten dollars is established)) for a special per-
mit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(5) is ten dollars.

(6) ((A)) The fee ((of five dollars is established)) for a spe-
cial permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(6) is five dollars.

(7) There is no fee for a special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 
66.20.010(7) ((shall be issued without charge to those eligible enti-
ties)).

(8) The fee ((of twenty-five dollars is established)) for a spe-
cial permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(8) is twenty-five dol-
lars.

(9) The fee ((of twenty-five dollars is established)) for a spe-
cial permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(9) is twenty-five dol-
lars.

(10) The fee ((of thirty dollars is established)) for a special 
permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(10) is thirty dollars.

(11) The fee ((of seventy-five dollars is established)) for a 
special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(11) is seventy-five 
dollars.

(12) There is no fee for a special permit authorized by RCW 
66.20.010(12).

(13) The fee ((of ten dollars is established)) for a special per-
mit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(13) is ten dollars.

(((13))) (14) The fee ((of ten dollars is established)) for a 
special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(14) is ten dollars.

(((14))) (15) The fee ((of ten dollars is established)) for a 
special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(15) is ten dollars.

(((15))) (16) The fee ((of twenty-five dollars is established)) 
for a special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(16) is twenty-
five dollars.

(((16))) (17) The fee ((of twenty-five dollars is established)) 
for a special permit ((as)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(17) is twenty-
five dollars for each winery selling wine at the auction.

(18) The fee for a day spa permit authorized by RCW 66.20.400 is 
established in WAC 314-38-070.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 83-23-123, filed 11/23/83)

WAC 314-38-030  Fee for replacement of a lost or destroyed li-
cense or permit.  (1) ((A)) The fee ((of five dollars is established)) 
for replacement by the board of a lost or destroyed ((agent's)) repre-
sentative's license issued pursuant to RCW 66.24.310 is five dollars.

(2) The fee ((of five dollars is established)) for replacement by 
the board of a lost or destroyed retail or wholesale liquor license of 
any class is five dollars.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 92-01-079, filed 12/16/91, effective 
1/16/92)

WAC 314-38-040  ((Beverage)) Alcohol raffle permit—Fee.  (1) Any 
organization authorized to conduct a raffle under RCW 9.46.0315 may 
raffle ((beverage)) alcohol upon obtaining a raffle permit from the 
board. The fee for a raffle permit ((shall be)) is ten dollars for a 
one-time raffle permit or twenty-five dollars for an annual permit.

(2) An application for a raffle permit ((shall be on a form pre-
scribed by the board and filed with the board at the headquarters of-
fice in Olympia)) must be submitted at least thirty days in advance of 
((the commencement of)) ticket sales.

(3) An application for a raffle permit must contain the following 
information:

(a) The full name of the bona fide charitable or bona fide non-
profit organization with verification of qualification as ((prescri-
bed)) referenced in RCW 9.46.0209;

(b) The name, address, and phone number of the ((organization)) 
organization's officer in charge of the raffle;

(c) The date the raffle ticket sales will ((commence)) begin;
(d) The date, time, and exact location of the drawing;
(e) A description of the ((beverage)) alcohol being raffled in-

cluding its estimated value; and
(f) ((And)) The source of the alcohol to be raffled (purchased at 

retail or donated by a private citizen).
(4) An ((organization)) organization's officer must certify that:
(a) Only organization members may purchase tickets or be awarded 

prizes;
(b) The organization meets the qualifications of a bona fide 

charitable or bona fide nonprofit organization ((as provided in)) un-
der RCW 9.46.0209;

(c) The organization will not sell more than (($5,000)) five 
thousand dollars ((worth)) of raffle tickets in a calendar year; and

(d) The organization will not sell raffle tickets to anyone under 
twenty-one years of age when alcohol is awarded as a prize.

(5) Alcohol to be raffled must have all applicable Washington 
State taxes paid and may only be:

(a) Purchased at retail; or
(b) Donated by a private citizen.
(6) ((Upon application being filed and fee paid the board may is-

sue a raffle permit.)) The issued raffle permit will ((state the)) in-
clude:
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(a) The organization name((,
(b))) and address((,
(c)));
(b) The date and time of the drawing((,
(d)));
(c) The effective dates of the raffle permit((.
(e))); and
(d) A description of the alcohol to be raffled.
(7) The raffle permit ((shall)) must be posted at the location of 

the drawing prior to and during the drawing. The organization or per-
son in charge of the raffle ((shall; when requested by)) must allow 
any representative ((or agent)) of either the board ((and/or)) or any 
law enforcement officer((; exhibit to such person the raffle permit 
and shall allow such person)), or both, to inspect the raffle permit 
and raffle items at any time.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 12-17-006, filed 8/1/12, effective 
9/1/12)

WAC 314-38-050  Special permit to serve employees and guests 
((permit))—Purpose—Use—Fee.  (1) ((The purpose of a serve employees 
and guests permit as)) Businesses that are not licensed under Title 66 
RCW may apply for a special permit authorized by RCW 66.20.010(4) ((is 
to:

(a) Allow for the consumption of liquor products in private busi-
nesses; and

(b) Not to compete with liquor licensed establishments.
(2) All liquor served by holders of a serve employees and guests 

permit must be purchased at retail from the board or a retail liquor 
licensee.

(3) Liquor may not be sold by holders of a serve employees and 
guests permit, but may be provided at no charge for consumption on the 
premises of the permit holder.

(4) The holder of a serve employees and guests permit)) to serve 
alcohol free of charge to employees and invited guests of the busi-
ness.

(2) The annual fee for each permit is five hundred dollars.
(3) A separate permit is required for each business premises at 

which alcohol will be served or consumed.
(4) A permit is not transferable to another business or organiza-

tion.
(5) A permit is valid for twelve months from the first day of the 

month in which it is issued.
(6) Permits may only be issued to businesses at which the service 

and consumption of alcohol is incidental to, and is not part of, the 
service of the business.

(7) The permit may not be used to stimulate or increase business 
from the general public.

(8) All alcohol served by permit holders must be purchased at re-
tail from a Washington state retail liquor licensee.

(9) Alcohol service and consumption must be limited to either 
hospitality rooms or dining rooms, or both, on the premises of the 
permit holder's business.
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(10) The general public may not enter an area of the business 
where alcohol is being served or consumed.

(11) Permit holders may not charge for admission to an area where 
alcohol is being served.

(12) Permit holders may not advertise the service of alcohol.
(13) Alcohol may not be sold by permit holders, including by 

scrip, donation, contribution, or other means.
(14) Permit holders may serve ((liquor)) alcohol for no more than 

twenty-four hours during any weekly (((168)) one hundred sixty-eight 
hour) period.

(((5) While the serve employees and guests permit holder may ad-
vertise their business services, no liquor service shall be adver-
tised.)) (15) Consistent with RCW 66.20.070, failure to comply with 
applicable laws and rules may result in the suspension or cancellation 
of the permit.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 16-01-102, filed 12/16/15, effective 
1/16/16)

WAC 314-38-060  Special permit for ((technical or)) community or 
technical colleges, regional ((university)) universities, or state 
((university as authorized by RCW 66.20.010(12) shall be called a 
class 15 permit)) universities.  (1) ((The class 15 permit allows 
tasting of alcohol by persons between eighteen and twenty years old. 
The requirements for a class 15 permit are as follows:

(a) The permit applicant is a technical or community college, re-
gional university, or state university;

(b) The permit allows tasting, not consuming of alcohol)) Commun-
ity or technical colleges, regional universities, or state universi-
ties may apply for a special permit authorized by RCW 66.20.010(12) to 
allow tasting of alcohol by persons at least eighteen years of age who 
are enrolled as students in a required or elective class that is part 
of a culinary, sommelier, wine business, enology, viticulture, wine 
technology, beer technology or spirituous technology-related degree 
program.

(2) Students at least eighteen but under twenty-one years of age 
may not consume or purchase alcohol, but may taste alcohol for the 
purposes of educational training as part of the class curriculum with 
approval of the educational provider((;

(c) The student must be enrolled in a required or elective class 
at the college premises as part of a culinary, sommelier, wine busi-
ness, enology, viticulture, beer technology, wine technology, or spi-
rituous technology-related degree program;

(d) The alcohol served to any person in the program under twenty-
one years of age is tasted but not consumed for the purpose of educa-
tional training as part of the class curriculum with the approval of 
the educational provider;

(e) Faculty or staff of the educational provider must be at least 
twenty-one years of age, supervise the service and tasting, and hold a 
class 12 or class 13 alcohol server permit; and

(f) Students may not purchase the alcoholic beverages)).
(3) Tastings may occur on the premises of the college or univer-

sity at which the student is enrolled or while on a field trip to a 
grape-growing area or production facility.
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(4) All tastings must be done under the supervision of a faculty 
or staff member of the college or university who is at least twenty-
one years of age and possesses a class twelve or thirteen alcohol 
server permit under the provisions of RCW 66.20.310.

(((2))) (5) There is no ((annual)) fee for this permit.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 14-20-046, filed 9/24/14, effective 
10/25/14)

WAC 314-38-070  ((Class 16)) Day spa permit—Fee.  (1) The annual 
fee for a day spa permit authorized by RCW 66.20.400 is one hundred 
twenty-five dollars.

(2) "Day spa" is defined as a business that offers at least three 
of the following four service categories:

(a) Hair care (haircut, hair color, perms, etc.);
(b) Skin care (facials, makeup application);
(c) Nail care (manicure, pedicure); and
(d) Body care (massage, wraps, waxing).
(((2))) (3) The holder of a ((Class 16)) day spa permit may offer 

complimentary wine or beer by the individual glass under the following 
conditions:

(a) Customers must be at least twenty-one years of age;
(b) Spa services must last more than one hour;
(c) A customer may consume no more than one six ounce glass of 

wine or one twelve ounce glass of beer per day;
(d) Employees involved in the service of wine or beer must com-

plete a board-approved limited alcohol server training program;
(e) Permit holders may not advertise the service of complimentary 

wine or beer;
(f) Wine and beer must be purchased from a Washington state li-

censed retailer;
(g) The permit must be posted in a conspicuous area at the point 

of sale; and
(h) At least three of the service area categories must be in sep-

arate areas of the spa.
(((3))) (4) The board has the right to inspect the premises and 

business records at any time.
(((4) The annual fee for this permit is one hundred twenty-five 

dollars.))
(5) ((Where the holder of any permit issued under this title vio-

lates any provision of this title or of the regulations, or is an in-
terdicted person, or is otherwise disqualified from holding a permit, 
the board, upon proof to its satisfaction of the fact or existence of 
such violation, interdiction, or disqualification, and in its discre-
tion, may with or without any hearing, suspend the permit and all 
rights of the holder thereunder for such period as the board sees fit, 
or may cancel the permit.)) Consistent with RCW 66.20.070, failure to 
comply with applicable laws and rules may result in the suspension or 
cancellation of the permit.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-08-099, filed 4/5/17, effective 
5/6/17)

WAC 314-38-080  ((Class 18)) Special winery permit.  (1) ((The 
special winery permit is for)) Domestic wineries may apply for a spe-
cial permit authorized by RCW 66.20.010(14).

(2) ((A special winery)) The permit allows a manufacturer of wine 
to be present at a private event not open to the general public at a 
specific place and date for the purpose of tasting wine and selling 
wine of its own production for on-premises and off-premises consump-
tion.

(3) ((The winery must obtain the special permit by submitting an 
application for a class 18 special winery permit to the board with a 
ten dollar permit fee.

(a))) The application and fee must be submitted to the board at 
least ten days prior to ((the)) each event.

(((b))) (4) The special permit must be posted at the event.
(((4))) (5) The winery is limited to twelve events per calendar 

year.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-08-099, filed 4/5/17, effective 
5/6/17)

WAC 314-38-090  ((Class 19)) Special distillery permit.  (1) ((A 
special distillery/craft distillery permit is for)) Washington ((dis-
tillers only)) distilleries or craft distilleries may apply for a spe-
cial permit authorized by RCW 66.20.010(13).

(2) ((A special distillery/craft distillery)) The permit allows a 
manufacturer of spirits to be present at a private event not open to 
the general public at a specific place and date for the purpose of 
tasting spirits and selling spirits of its own production for on-prem-
ises and off-premises consumption.

(3) The activities at the event are limited to the activities al-
lowed on the distillery((/)) or craft distillery premises.

(4) ((The distillery or craft distillery must obtain the special 
permit by submitting an application for a class 19 special distillery/
craft distillery permit to the board with a ten dollar permit fee.

(a))) The application and fee must be submitted to the board at 
least ten days prior to ((the)) each event.

(((b))) (5) The special permit must be posted at the event.
(((5))) (6) The licensee is limited to twelve events per calendar 

year.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-08-099, filed 4/5/17, effective 
5/6/17)

WAC 314-38-095  ((Class 20)) Special brewery permit.  (1) ((A 
special brewery/microbrewery permit is for Washington brewers only)) 
Domestic breweries and microbreweries may apply for a special permit 
authorized by RCW 66.20.010(15).
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(2) ((A special brewery/microbrewery)) The permit allows a manu-
facturer of beer to be present at a private event not open to the gen-
eral public at a specific place and date for the purpose of tasting 
beer and selling beer of its own production for on-premises and off-
premises consumption.

(3) ((The brewery or microbrewery must obtain the special permit 
by submitting an application for a class 20 special brewery/microbrew-
ery permit to the board with a ten dollar permit fee.

(a))) The application and fee must be submitted to the board at 
least ten days prior to ((the)) each event.

(((b))) (4) The special permit must be posted at the event.
(((4))) (5) The licensee is limited to twelve events per calendar 

year.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 17-08-099, filed 4/5/17, effective 
5/6/17)

WAC 314-38-100  Accommodation sale permit.  (1) An accommodation 
sale permit ((is for)) authorized by RCW 66.20.010(16) allows an indi-
vidual or business to sell a private collection of wine or spirits to 
another individual or business.

(2) The seller must ((complete)) submit an application ((for ac-
commodation sale permit and submit with a fee of twenty-five dollars)) 
and twenty-five dollar fee to the ((WSLCB)) board.

(3) Once the ((WSLCB)) board verifies the information on the ap-
plication, a permit for the sale will be issued to the seller.

(4) The seller must wait at least five business days after re-
ceiving the permit to release either the wine ((and/or)) or spirits, 
or both, to the buyer.

(5) Within twenty calendar days of the sale, the seller must com-
plete an accommodation sale inventory report and submit it to the 
((WSLCB)) board.

(6) The following are definitions for the purposes of this sec-
tion:

(a) "Accommodation sale" means the sale of a private collection 
of wine or spirits to an individual or business. Both the seller and 
the buyer must be located in Washington state.

(b) "Buyer" means the individual or business buying a private 
collection of wine or spirits. A buyer may be a liquor licensee.

(c) "Private collection" means a privately owned collection of 
wine or spirits. There is no minimum or maximum quantity to be consid-
ered a collection.

(d) "Seller" means the individual or business selling a private 
collection of wine or spirits. The seller cannot be a liquor licensee.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 18-04-116, filed 2/7/18, effective 
3/10/18)

WAC 314-38-110  Nonprofit private wine auction permit.  (1) A 
nonprofit private wine auction permit ((is for)) authorized under RCW 
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66.20.010(17) allows a nonprofit organization to sell wine through a 
private auction not open to the public.

(2) The nonprofit organization must ((complete a nonprofit wine 
auction permit application and)) submit ((the)) an application and fee 
to the ((WSLCB)) board.

(a) The date and location of the auction must be specified on the 
application.

(b) Consistent with RCW 66.20.010(17), the one-time event fee is 
twenty-five dollars multiplied by the number of wineries that are 
selling wine at the auction event.

(c) A list of event attendees must be submitted with the wine 
auction permit application.

(3) The holder of the permit may conduct wine tastings of the 
wine to be auctioned at the event.

(4) All wine sold by auction cannot be consumed during the event.
(5) Wine from multiple wineries may be sold at the auction. Each 

winery must be listed on the application.
(6) The permit must be posted in a conspicuous location at the 

premises for which the permit was issued during all times the permit 
is in use.

REPEALER
The following section of the Washington Administrative Code is 

repealed:
WAC 314-38-010 Serve employees and guests permit under 

Title 66 RCW.
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