OFFICE OF THE
WASHINGTON STATE LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD
Board Meeting Minutes — December 15, 2010

Chair Foster called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor Control Board to order at 10:04 a.m., on .
Wednesday, December 15, 2010 in the Boardroom, 3000 Pacific Avenue SE, Olympia, Washington. Member
Kurose was also present. _

Approval of Minutes
There were no minutes to approve.

Recognition — Years of Service

Randy Simmons, Finance Director, honored three employees for their service to the State of Washington: Larry
Reiner, 20 years; Bernie Pederman, 35 years; Mike Wolfe, 35 years. Congratulations to Larry, Bernie and Mike for
their longevity with the State of Washington and the Liquor Control Board.

Board Adoption — WAC 314-02

Karen McCall, Rules Coordinator, presented the rules regarding retail liquor licenses, which includes beer and wine
tasting in grocery stores. Comments from Bruce Becketf, Washington Restaurant Association, were included in the
revisions. Karen reported that concerning the rule regarding eight meals rather than four, exceptions would be
made on a case by case basis. Karen also reported that for the frozen foods issue, the wording was revised to
include the word “solely” and that the activities would remain at five days unless an exception is received from a
licensee’s law enforcement officer. Board Member Kurose made a motion to approve the rules as revised. Chair |
Foster seconded the motion. All were in favor.

New Business

Bruce Beckett, Washington Restaurant Association, thanked the Liquor Control Board staff for working through over
30 rules. They still expressed concern over the four to eight meals; however, feel the process as written should
help. Mr. Beckett requested that if there are grey areas regarding this rule, he would like to meet with Liquor Control
Board staff to resolve the issue. Chair Foster thanked Mr. Beckett for his participation in the rulemaking process.

Old Business:
There was no old business.

The d Meeting was adjourned at 10:25 a.m.

Sharon Foster, Ruthann Kurose,
Board Chair - Board Member
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Washington State
Liquor Control Board

Date: December 15, 2010

To: Sharon Foster, Chairman
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
' Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Alan Rathbun, Director, Licensing and Regulation
Pat Parmer, Chief, Enforcement and Education

Subject: Approval of final rulémaking (CR 103) for Chapter 314-02 WAC
Requirements for Retail Liquor Licensees

At the Board meeting on December 15, 2010, the rules coordinator requests that the
Liquor Control Board approve final rulemaking (CR 103) for Chapter 314-02 WAC.

The Board was briefed on the rule making background, public comment, and agency
response for this rule making. An issue paper and text of the rule changes is attached.

If approved, the Rules Coordinator will send an explanation of the rule making to all
persons who submitted comments. No one appeared and gave comment at the public
hearing held on September 22, 2010, held in the Board’s meeting room in Qlympia,
Washington. After sending this explanation, the Rules Coordinator will file the rules
with the Office of the Code Reviser. The effective date of the rules will be 31 days after
filing.

L/ Approve Dlsapprove %@W % / 7 (}"//

Sharon Foster, Chairman Date ~

_V¥  Approve Disapprove W LC—C&/VV%Q, 1215 /10

Ruthann Kurose, Board Member Date

Attachment: Issue Paper
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Washington State Liquor Control Board -

Issue Paper |

Rule Making on Chapter 314-02 WAC

Date; December 15, 2010

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Ruies Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this issue paper is to recommend that the Washington State
Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) proceed with final rule making and adopt the rules
regarding Requirements for Retail Liquor Licensees Chapter 314-02
WAC.

Why is rule making necessary?

The Liquor Control Board (LCB) continues to review existing rules for timeliness,
clarity, and necessity complying with Executive Order 06-02 issued by Governor
Gregoire. As part of the Liquor Control Board's on-going rules review process,
rules regarding requirements for retail liquor licenses are being reviewed for
relevance, clarity, and accuracy. SSB 6329 was passed during the 2010
legislative sessions that require changes in existing administrative rules (WAC)
or the development of new rules to address the following:

¢ Beer and wine tastings in grocery stores

~ Public Comment

Jan Gee — Washington Food Industry (WFI)

Comment on WAC 314-02-100 and WAC 314-02-102: WFI approves of
the new rules implementing SSB 6329 - beer and wine tastings in grocery stores.

Bruce Beckett — Washington Restaurant Association (WRA)

Comment on WAC 314-02-035 (1): WRA believes changing the
requirement from complete meals to eight complete meals could inadvertently
eliminate bona fide restaurants from being licensees, will be confusing to
interpret and enforce, and could lead many licensees to unnecessarily incur the
cost to change menus.

Response: WAC 314-02-035 also adds sandwiches, salads, hamburgers, pizza,
and breakfast items to the list of foods that can be considered entrees. This
change expands the number and types of foods that licensees can count as
entrees. A sampling of over a hundred menus of current spirits, beer, and wine
restaurant licensees found that all but one of the menus meets the requirements
for the proposed rules. Nine of those menus don’t meet the current
requirements for four complete meals in the categories now considered entrees,
but they do meet the requirements under the proposed rules.
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Comment on WAC 314-02-035 (1)(b): WRA believes the language in the
proposed rules related to frozen foods or carry out items is confusing. WRA
proposed alternate language.

Response: The language in the proposed rules related to frozen foods or carry
‘out items was replaced with the suggested language by WRA.

- Comment on WAC 314-02-035 (8): The proposed rules change the hours
for complete meals service from five hours a day, five days a week between the
hours of 11am and 11pm to the hours of 8am and 11pm. WRA would like the
hours to be 6am to 11pm.

Response: The Board decided to keep the proposed language at 8am to 11pm.

Comments on 314-02-125: The requirement for licensees to notify
enforcement of one-time activities or events was changed from 48 hours prior to
the activity or event to five days prior to the activity or event. WRA would like
flexibility to be included in the timeline. The F ve day period may not be feasible
for all events.

Response: The proposed rule was revised to require the licensee to notify
enforcement five days in advance unless the licensee receives an exception from
their enforcement officer.

What changes are being proposed?

Amended 314-02-005 What is the purpose of chapter 314-02? Included
spirits, beer, and wine restaurant restricted and sports/entertainment facility
licenses to the list of licenses covered in this chapter.

Amended 314-02-010 Definitions. Added definitions for “appetizer”,
“limited food service”, and “on-premises liquor licensed premises”.

Amended 314-02-015 What is a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant
license? Removed reference to RCW 66.24.400.

Amended 314-02-025 What are the floor plan requirement to obtain
and maintain a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant license or beer and

. wine restaurant license? Plain talked. Clarified a portable or moveable rope
and station is not acceptable as a barrier.

Amended 314-02-030 Can a beer and wine restaurant exclude persons
under twenty-one years of age from the premises? Plain talked. Added
language to clarify if a premises is restricted to minors at all times the licensee
may not employ minors at any time.
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Amended 314-02-033 Do spirits, beer, and wine restaurants that
exclude minors from the premises have to put barriers around their
dedicated dining area(s)? Replaced reference to license fee with dedicated
dining percentage.

Amended 314-02-035 What are the food service requirements for a
spirits, beer, and wine restaurant license? Plain talked. Major changes:
(1) Changed the number of complete meals required from four to eight.

Added language stating “establishments shall be maintained ina
substantial manner as a place for preparing, cooking and serving of

complete meals”.
(1) (a) Changed “additional course” to “side dish”.
(1) (b) Wrote a new definition for “entrée”. Expanded the items that are
considered an “entrée”. Included hamburgers, salads, sandwiches, pizza,
~ and breakfast items as long as they include a side dish. Clarified snack
items are not entrées.
(1) (c) Wrote examples of side dishes.
(8) Changed requirement for hours for complete meal service for 5 hours
between “11am and 11pm” to “"8am to 11pm”. Changed requirement for
“minimum” food service outside of the 5 hours a day, 5 day a week
requirement to “limited” food service during these hours. Appetizers are
included in limited food service.

Amended 314-02-038 Can a spirits, beer, and wine nightclub license
exclude persons under 21 years of age from the premises? Replaced the
reference to WAC 314-11-040 with RCW 66.44.310.

Amended 314-02-041 What is a hotel license? Removed the words “at
retail” from section (1)(2). It was unnecessary.

Amended 314-02-0411 What are the food service requirements for a
hotel license? Removed the words “at least four” from (1). The hotel license
has to meet the food requirements in 314-02-035.

New Section 314-02-042 Spirits, beer, and wine restaurant restricted
—Qualifications. Moved this section from 314-16-195. This is a retail liquor
license and belongs in this chapter.

Amended 314-02-045 What is a beer and/or wine restaurant license?
Added requirement for the restaurant to be open to the public at least 5 hours a
day 5 days a week. The board may consider an exception to the requirement if
the licensee demonstrates a hardship.
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New Section 314-02-056 Sports/entertainment facility license—
Purpose. Moved this section from 314-16-260. This is a retail liquor license
and belongs in this chapter.

New Section 314-02-057 Definitions. Moved this section from 314-16-265.
These are definitions referring to sports/entertainment facility licenses.

New Section 314-02-058 Sports/entertainment facility licenses—
Operating plans. Moved this section from 314-16-270. Added requirements to
the operating plan as follows: '
e The date must be included in the operating plan;
¢ The pages must be numbered;
e The operating plan must be signed by a principal of the licensed entity;
« If alcohol service is requested outside of the parameters listed in rule, a
special request with justification for the alcohol service area must be
submitted with the operating plan for consideration by the board.

New section 314-02-05¢ How will the operating plans be enforced?
Moved this section from 314-16-275.

Amended 314-02-100 What is a grocery store? Added language allowing
internet sales and beer and wine tasting with the appropriate endorsement.

New section 314-02-102 What are the requirements for a grocery
store licensee to conduct beer and wine tastings? This section
implements SSB 6329.

Amended section 314-02-105 What is a beer and wine specialty store
license? Replaced the word “board” with “board’s enforcement and education
division” in section (4)}(b)(iv).

Amended section 314-02-120 How do iicensees get keg registration
forms? Clarified where keg registration forms and books can be obtained.

Amended section 314-02-125 What types of activities on a licensed
premises required notice to the board? Changed the notification
requirement from 48 hours to five days unless the licensee receives an exception
from their enforcement officer. Added outside service for one-time events to the
list of activities that require the licensee to notify the local enforcement office
five days prior to the event.

Amended section 314-02-130 What types of changes to a licensed
premises require board approval? Removed “storing liquor off the licensed
premises”, “installing a pass through window for walk-up customers”, and using
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a licensed premises as an access to another business”. These changes are not
allowed. Changed language to indicate licensing and regulation division will
make initial contact with the licensee on the alteration request within five
business days.

Repealed 314-02-085 What is a bed and breakfast permit? Thisis a
permit, not a license. The-language was the exact same as the law. There is no
need to repeat the law in rule.

Repealed 314-02-095 What is a public house license? The language was
the exact same as the law. There is no need to repeat the law in rule. There
are no public house licenses and haven't been for several years.

Repealed 314-16-195 Spirits, beer, and wine restaurant restricted—
Qualifications. Moved to a new section: 314-02-042.

Repealed 314-16-260 Sports/Entertainment facility license—Purpose.
Moved to a new section: 314-02-056.

Repealed 314-16-265 Definitions. Moved to a new section: 314-02-057.

Repealed 314-16-270 Sports/entertainment facility licenses—
Operating plans. Moved to new section: 314-02-058.

Repealed 314-16-275 How will the operating plans be enforced?
Moved to new section: 314-02-059.

Attachment: Proposed Rules
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AMENDATORY SECTION ({Amending WSR 10-01-091, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-005 What is the purpose of chapter 314-02 WAC?
Chapter 314-02 WAC outlines the qualifications for the following
liquor licenses ((aud L.Jc:J_m_Lt;::) } e

(1) Spirits, beer, and wine restaurants;

(2) Nightclubs;

(3) Spirits, beer, and wine restaurant restricted;

(4) Hotels; '

((t5r)) (5) Beer and/or wine restaurants;

(6) Sports/entertainment fa01llt1es=

((5r)) (7) Snack bars;

((t67r)) (8) Taverns;

(7)) (8) Motetls;

{ (B rBed—artPreakfastss

) ) (10} Nonprofit arts organizations;

( (-t+6—Pubtrc—howsesy) )

{11) Grocery stores;
{12) Beer/wine specialty shops; and
{13) Beer/wine gift delivery {((busimess)) businesses.

AMENDATORY SECTICN {Amending WSR 10-01-091, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-010 Definitions. The following definiticns are to
clarlfy the purpose and intent- of the rules and laws governing

liquor licenses and permits. Additiconal definitions can be found
in RCW 66.04.010. _ -
(1) "Adjacent" means having a common endpoint or border where

the extension of the property lines of the licensed premises
contacts that common border.
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{2} "Appetizer" means a small portion of food served before

the main course of a meal to stimulate the appetite. An appetirzer
does not gqualify as minimum food service. '

{3} "Banguet room"™ means any room used primarily for the sale
and service of food and liquor to private groups.

{((+31)) (4) "Customer service area" means areas where food
and/or liquor are normally sold and served to the public, i.e.,

lounges and dining areas. A banquet room 1s not considered a
customer service area.
{(+4F)) (5) "Dedicated dining area." 1In order for an area to

qualify as a dedicated dining area, it must be a distinct portion
of a restaurant that is used primarily for the sale, service, and
consumption of food, and have accommodations for eating, e.qg.,
tables, chairs, booths, etc. See WAC 314-02-025 for more
information. '

{(+5F)) (6) "Designated area" means a space where alcochol may
be so0ld, served, or consumed.

{{(t6r)) {7} "Entertainer" means somecone who performs for an
audience such as a disc jockey, singer, or comedian, or anyone
providing entertainment services for the licensee. An entertainer
is considered an employee of the ligquor licensee per WAC 314-01-
005. Patrons participating in entertainment are not considered
emp loyees.

((+#r)) (8) "Entertainment" means dancing, karaoke, singing,
comedy shows, concerts, TV broadcasts, contests with patron
participation and/or performing for an audience.
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{((€B8F)) (9} "Food counter™ means a table or counter set up for
the primary purpose of food service to customers whoe sit or stand
at the counter. Any alcohol served is incidental to food service.

{(€2F)) (10} "Game room" means an area of a business set up
for the primary purpose of patrons using games or gaming devices.

((t+6r)) (11) "lLimited food service" means items such as
appetizers, sandwiches, salads, soups, pizza, hamburgers, or fry
- orders.

f{12) "Liquor bar"™ means a table or counter where alcohol is
stored or prepared and served to customers who sit or stand at the
bar. Liguor bars can only be in lounges or in premises where
minors are not allowed at any time.

{ {(t+r)) (13) "Lounge" means the portion of a restaurant used
primarily for the preparation, sale, and service of beer, wine, or
spirits. Minors are not allowed in a lounge (see RCW 66.44.316 for
information on employees and professional musicians under twenty-
one years of age).

({tF2F) )y {(14) "Minimum food service" means items such as
sandwiches, salad, soup, pizza, hamburgers, and fry orders.

{ (£¥3F)) (15) "Minor"™ means a person under twenty-one years of

age.

{ (+H4y)) (16) "On-premises liguor licensed premises" means a
building in which a business is located inside that is allowed to
sell alcohol for consumption on the licensed premises.

{17} "Service bar" means a fixed or portable table, counter,
cart, or similar work station primarily used to prepare, mix,
serve, and sell alcchol that is picked up by employees or
customers. Customers may nct be seated or allowed to consume food
or alcohol at a service bar. .

((X5¥) ) (18) ™"Snack food" means dtems such as peanuts,
popcorn, and chips.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 09-02-012, filed 12/29/08,
effective 1/29/09)

WAC 314-02-015 What is a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant
license? (1) Per RCW 66.24.400, this license allows a restaurant
to:

{a}) Serve spirits by the individual glass for on-premises
consumption;

{b) Serve beer by the bottle or can or by tap for on-premises
consumption;

(c) Serve wine for on-premises consumption;

(d) Allow patrons to remove recorked wine from the licensed
premises ( (it eacecordamee—with REW—66-24-460) ) ;

(e) Sell wine by the bottle for off-premises consumption with
the appropriate endorsement; and

(f} Sell kegs of malt liquor with the appropriate endorsement.
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{2) To obtain and maintain a spirits, beer, and wine
restaurant license, the restaurant must be open to the public at
least five hours a day during the hours of ((+3+68)) 8:00 a.m. and
11:00 p.m., five days a week. The board may consider written
requests for exceptions to this requirement due to demonstrated
hardship, and may grant an exception under such terms and
conditions as the board determines are in the best interests of the
public.

{3} All applicants for a spirits, beer, and wine license must
establish, te the satisfaction of the board, that the premises will
operate as a bona fide restaurant. The term "bona fide restaurant”
is defined in RCW 66.24.410(2).

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 05-22-022, filed 10/24/05,
effective 11/24/05)

WAC 314-02-025 What are the floor space requirements to
obtain and maintain a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant license or
a beer and wine restaurant license? (1) The liquer control beoard
has the responsibility to c¢lassify what licensed premises or what
portions of the licensed premises are off-limits to minors. (RCW
66.44.310{(2).) Mincrs may not purchase, possess, Oor consume
liquor, and may not enter any areas that are classified as off-
limits to minors. {RCW 66.44.290 and 66.44.310.) The purpose of
this rule is to clarify the ways in which licensees can prevent
minors from consuming alcohol or entering restricted areas.

(2) Dedicated dining areas - If a spirits, beer, and wine
restaurant licensee or a beer and wine restaurant licensee that
allows minors chcooses to have live music, Karaoke, patron dancing,
live entertainment, or contests involving physical participaticn by
patrons in the dedicated dining area after 11:00 p.m., the licensee
must either:

{a) Request board approval to reclassify the dining area to a
lounge for the period of time that live entertainment is conducted,
thus restricting minors during that time; or

(b) Notify the board's licensing and regulation divisicon in
writing at least forty-eight hours 1in advance that the sale,
service, and consumption of liquor will end in the dedicated dining
area after 11:00 p.m.

Request or notifications may cover one event or a series of
recurring events over a period of time, '

{3) Barriers = Licensees must place barriers around ( (gzme
reomrs—anrt) ) areas that are classified as off-limits to minors and
arcund dgame rooms.

(a) The barriers must clearly separate restricted areas, and
must be at least forty-two inches high.

(b) The barriers must be permanently affixed (folding oxr
retractable doors or other barriers that are permanently affixed
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are acceptable}. A portable or moveable rope and stanchion is not
acceptable. Those licensees that have been approved by the beard

for moveable barriers prior to the effeé¢tive date of this rule may
keep their movable barriers until the licensee requests alterations
to the premises or the premises change ownership.

{c) Liguor bars cannot be used as the reguired barriers (sece
definition of liquor bar in WAC 314-02-010({t#r)) [L10})).

(d) Entrances to restricted areas may not be wider than ten
feet. If a licensee has more than one entrance along one wall, the
total entrance areas may not exceed ten feet.

(e} "Minor prohibited" .signs, as required by WAC 314-11-
060(1), must be posted at each entrance to restricted areas.

(4) If the business allows minors, the business's primary
entrance must open directly into a dedicated dining area or into a
neutral area, such as a lobby or foyer, that leads directly to a
dedicated dining area. Minors must be able to access restrocoms
without passing through a lounge or other age-restricted area.

(5) Floor plans — When applying for a license, the applicant
must provide to the board’'s licensing and regulation division two
copies of a detailed drawing of the entire premises. The drawing
must: ’

{a) Be drawn cne foot to one-quarter-inch scale;

(b} Have all rooms labeled according to their use; e.g.,
dining room, lounge, game room, kitchen, etc.; and

{c) Have all barriers labeled in a deszscriptive way; e.g.,
"full wall,™ "half wall," etc.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 05-22-022, filed 10/24/05,
effective 11/24/05) '

WAC 314-02-030 Can a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant
exclude persons under twenty-one years of age from the premises?
A spirits, beer, and wine restaurant licensee may exclude minors
from the entire premises at all times ((or—st—ertorr times)) as
approved by the board.

{1) To exclude minors from the entire licensed premises at all
times (({or—at—certatr times;)) the applicant or licensee must:

{(a} Indicate during the liquor license application process
that he/she does not wish to have minors on the entire premises at

all times (({or—at—certatr—times—indicated by —th=—apottcaat—or
Ticenses)); ox
(b} If already licensed as &a spirits, beer, and wine

restaurant that allows minors, the applicant may request permission
from the board's licensing and regulation division to exclude
minors at all times or ( (ci.t certat tmers—tirdtteatedt b_y e
Fpp sttt or—Tivernses)) for a specific event. See WAC 314-02-130
for instructions on requesting this approval.

(c} Spirits, beer, and wine restaurant licensees who exclude
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minors from the entire premises at all times or at certain times
must meet all other requirements of this license, including the
food service requirements outlined in WAC 314-02-035.

{d} During the times that a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant
licensee excludes minors from the entire premises, the licensee may
not employ minors. (See ((WAS—T3H4—=+1=040)) RCW 66.44.316 for more
information on employing minors.)

{2} Restaurants that have less than fifteen percent of their
total customer service area dedicated to dining must exclude minors
from the entire premises. The licensee ({must)):

{a) Must pay the ((two—thousand—dotitsrs)) largest annual
license fee (less than fifty percent dedicated dining; ( (amet))

{b) Must meet all o¢ther requirements of this license,
including the food service requirements outlined in WAC 314-02-
035({=)); and

{c) Mayv not empleoy minors at any tlme {See RCW 66.44.316 for
information on emplioving certain persons eighteen vears and over
under specific conditions.)

(3) See WAC. 314-11-060C{1l) regarding regquirements for "mincrs
prohibited™ signage.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 05-22-022, filed 10/24/05,
effective 11/24/05)

WAC 314-02-033 Do spirits, beer, and wine restaurants that
exclude minors from the premises have to put barriers around their
dedicated dining area(s)? Spirits, beer, and wine restaurant
licensees who exclude minors from the entire premises at all times
are only required to place the barriers described in WAC 314-02-
025(2} around dedicated dining areas for the purpose of paying the
( {ore—thousand—sixhundred—dottar)) lower annual license fee (fifty
percent to ninetv-nine percent dedicated dining area). Restaurants
that do not allow minors at any time and do not wish te have
barriers around their dining area(s) must pay the {(twothouwsarnd
dottar)) higher annual license fee (less than fifty percent
dedicated dining area)l. (See WAC 314-02-020 for an explanation of
fees.) :

AMENDATORY SECTION ({(Amending WSR 10-01-09%1, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-035 What are the food service requirements for a
spirits, beer, and wine restaurant license? (1) A spirits, beer,
and wine restaurant licensee must serve at least ((four)) eight
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complete meals. ((Per—ReW—66T2%T%%ﬁ%%+T—a—tomp&ete—mea%—dﬁes;ﬁwt

T rretorcher 11a1|lbuJ_\:jc1_D, :::audwi_k_,hc::, :;cz.lad;:., T fJ__Y orrchers— ) )
Establishments shall be maintained in a substantial manner as a

place for preparing, cooking and serving of complete meals. For
purposes of this title:

(a} "Complete meal" means an entree and at least one
{ (e tTorat—course)) side dish.
(b} "Entree" means the main course of a meal. ((Fo<uatify =s

tllc o Uf [+ b‘l..;.l.l_;.ll\j J..l.l!LJlC.l.l.lC.th tU CCLt, Cl.llk.l lud.l!llut bUllDJ‘.Dt Uf [=1
femburger—sandwich, —satadt—orfrvyorder) ) Some examples of entrees
are fish, steak, chicken, pork, pasta, pizza, hamburgers, seafood
salad, Cobb salad, chef's salad, sandwiches, and breakfast items
{as long as they include a side dish). Fntrees do not include
snack items, or menu items which consist solely of precooked frozen
food that dis reheated, or consist solely of carry—out ditems
obtained from another business.

(c) Examples of side dishes are soups, vegetables, salads,
potatoes, french fries, rice, fruit, and bread. :

(2} The restaurant must maintain the kitchen equipment
necessary to prepare the complete meals required under this section
( (e REW—66244T0{Z) ) .

{(3) The complete meals must be prepared. on the restaurant
premises.

(4) A chef or cook must be on duty while complete meals are
offered.

(5) A menu must be available to custeomers (({(that—Tists——t—=

miuj.mum, e .Lcl.iu.J._J_Cd L,uuq:.)lc:tt: m\::o.l.:) ) .

(6} The food items required to maintain the menu must be on
the restaurant premises. These items must be edible.

(7) Restaurants that have one hundred percent dedicated dining
area must maintain complete meal service any time liquor is
available for sale, service, or consumption.

{8) Restaurants with less than one hundred percent dedicated

4 L3 £ e A . . ) =1 " | 1 | " | . A
dlnlnq area ((\J_C:DLCLUJ_CUJL.D T e OIS CHoU S sevValT TUiTared STXTY—

=rerrt—eho are—or A TS eI WO e e SINER LY ar cre—eategoryr) )
must maintain complete meal service for a minimum of five hours a
day during the hours of ((+6€)) 8:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m. ({(omrany
day—tigquor—"Gs——served) ), five davs a week. The board may consider
written requests for exceptions to this regquirement due to
demonstrated hardship, under such terms and conditions as the board
determines are in the best interests of the pubklic.

{ (te—Mirimmom) ) Limited food service, such as appetizers,
sandwiches, salads, soups, pizza, hamburgers, or fry orders, must

ke available ocutside of these hours. Snacks such as peanuts,
popcorn, and chips do not apnalify as limited food service.
{ (o Smacks—=ucihr—as e ST OTe O arret L_,llJl_.tJD oot

kiualify [= P lllJ'_ll.i.illLllll fuud oLV JI.\_V'C: - ) )
{9} The hours of complete meal service must be conspicucusly

posted on the premises or listed on the menu. ((FHappticabtesr))
A statement that ({(mirctmom)) limited food service is available

outside of those hours must aiso be posted or listed on the menu.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-01-091, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-038 Can a spirits, beer, and wine nightclub
license exclude persons under twenty-cne years of age from the
premises? A spirits, beer, and wine nightclub licensee may exclude
minors from the premises at all times.

(1) To exclude minors from the entire llcensed.premlses at all
times, the applicant must:

{a) Indicate during the liquor license application process
that he/she does not wish to have minors on the entire premises at
all times; or ’

{(b) If already licensed as a spirits, beer, and wine nightclub
license that allows minors, the licensee may request permission
from the board's licensing and regulation division to exclude
minors at all times. See WAC 314-02-130 for instructions on
requesting this approvail.

(2) S8Spirits, beer, and wine nightclub licensees who exclude
minors from the premises may not employ minors. (See ((WAC3+H4—1i—
040)) RCW ©66.44.310 for more information on employing minors.)

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 08-17-067, filed 8/19/08,
effective 9/19/08)

WAC 314-02-041 What is a hotel license? (1} Per RCW
66.24.590, this license -allows a hotel to:

{a) Serve spirits by the individual serving ({zt—retatt}) for
consumption on the licensed premises;

(b} Serve beer, including strong bheer, and wine for
consumption on the licensed premises; ‘

{c) Sell at retail, from locked honor bars, in individual
units, spirits not to exceed fifty milliliters, beer in indiwvidual
units not to exceed twelve ounces, and wine in individual bottles
not to exceed three hundred eighty-five milliliters, to registered
guests of the hotel for consumpticn in guest rooms;

{d) Provide, without additional charge, to overnight guests,
spirits, beer, and wine by the individual serving for consumpticn
on the licensed premises at a specified regular date, time, and
place. Self-service by guests is prohibited;

(e) Sell beer, including strong beer, wine, or spirits, in the
manufacturer's sealed container or by the individual drink to
guests through room service, or through service to occupants of
private residential wunits which are part of the buildings or
complex of buildings, that include the hotel;

(£} Sell beer, including strong beer, and wine, 1in the
manufacturer's sealed container at retail sales locations within
the hotel premises; and

(g) Place in guest rcoms at check in, complimentary beer,
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including strong beer, or wine in  a manufacturer's sealed
container.

(2} The annual fee for a hotel 1license is two thousand
dollars.

AMENDATORY SECTICON (Amendiﬂg WsR 08-17-067, filed 8/19/08,
effective 9/19/08)

WAC 314-02-0411 What are the food service requirements for a
hotel license? (1) A hotel licensee must have the ability to serve
{ (at—Feast—Ffour)) complete meals to hotel guests or any other
patron of the hotel who is offered alcohol service for cn-premise

consumption at a food outlet on the hotel premises. Food outlets
include room service, bangquets, bars/lounges, restaurants, or
coffee shops. "Complete meal"” is defined in WAC 314-02-035.

(2) Complete meals must be prepared on the hotel premises.

(3) A menu must be available tc hotel guests and patrons
offered alcohol service that lists, at a minimum, the required
complete meals.

(4) The food items required to maintain the menu must be
located on the licensed premises. These items must be edible.

{(5) (a) Licensees must maintain complete meal service for a
minimum of five hours a day between the hours of 11:00 a.m. and
2:00 a.m. on any day that liquor is served. The board may consider
written requests for exceptions to this reguirement due to a
demonstrated hardship and may allow exceptions under terms and
conditions the board determines are in the best interests of the
public.

(b) Minimum food service must be available during hours of
alcohol service when compliete meal service is not offered. Minimum
food service includes items such as hamburgers or fry orders.
" Snacks such as peanuts, pcopcorn, and chips do not qualify as
minimum food service.

{6) Hours of complete meal service must be listed on the menu.
If applicable, a statement must be posted or listed on the menu
that minimum food service is available when alcohol is served and
complete meal service is unavailable.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-042 Spirits, beer and wine restaurant restricted--—
Qualifications. (1} Spirits, beer and wine restaurant restricted
licensees shall govern their operations in selling liguor in
accordance with the regulations set forth in Title 66 RCW. Such
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licensees may sell liquor in accordance with these requlations,
only to members, invited gquests, and holders of cards as authorized
by chapter 314-40 WAC.

{2) (a) Applications for new spirifs, beer and wine restaurant
restricted licenses shall be accompanied by proof that:

(i) The business has been in operation for at least one year
immediately pricr to the date of its application. Such proot
should include records of membership as well as an indicaticon as to
numbers and types of membership.

(ii} Membership or admission will not be denied to any person
because of race, creed, color, national origin, sex or the presence
of any sensory, mental or physical handicap.

(b} Spirits, bheer and wine restaurant restricted applicants
and licensees must meet the provisicns of WAC 314-02-035.

{3} Under RCW 66.24.450, the board may issue an endorsement
allowing the club to hold up tc forty nonclub, member-sponsored
events using club ligquor.

{a) Bach event must have a sponscring member from the club.

() Fach visitor and/or gueskt may only attend the event by
invitation of the sponscring member (s).

{c) Event may not be open tc the general public. _

(d) At least seventy—-two hours prior to any nonclub event, the
sponsoring member, or any club officer, must provide tco the bhoard:
The date, time, and location of the event, the name of the sponscer
of the event, and a brief description of the purpose of the event,

(e) A 1list of all idinvited guests and wvisitors must be
available for inspection during the nonclub event.

(4) Under RCW 66.24.450, the board may issue an endorsement
allowing the holder of a spirits, beer, and wine private club
license to sell bottled wine for off-premises consumption.

{(a) Spirits and beer may not be sold for off-premises
consumption.

(b) Bottled wine may only be sold to members, visitors, and
guests defined under WAC 314-40-005. Bottled wine may not be scld
to the general public.

(5) See chapter 314-40 WAC for additional rules on clubs.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-01-091, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-045 What is a beer and/or wine restaurant license?
(1) Per RCW 66.24.320 and 66.24.354, this 1license allows a
restaurant to:

Privilege Ammual fee

(a) Serve beer by the bottle or can or 5221
by tap for on-premises consumption.
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Privilege Annual fee
{(b) Serve wine for on-premises $221
consumption (see RCW 66,24.320

regarding patrons removing recorked

wine from the prermises).

{c) Sell beer and/or wine in the $133

original, unopened containers for off-
premises consumption.

(d) Sell tap beer for off-premises

Inn conjunction

consumption in a sanitary container with off-
holding less than four gallons of beer, premises
and brought to the premises by the privilege
purchaser. outlined in

subsection (c).

(e) Sell beer in kegs or other containers

In cenjunction

holding at leasi four gatlons of beer with off-
(see WAC 314-02-115 regarding the premises
requirements for registering kegs). privilege

outlined in
suhsection (c).

{2) All applicants for a beer and/or wine restaurant license
must establish, to the satisfaction of the becard, that the premises
will operate as a bona fide restaurant, as defined in RCW
66.04.010(30).

{a) Minimum food service is required,
02-010((+X2¥)) (14).

{bY To obtain and maintain a beer and/or wine restaurant
license, the restaurant must be open to the public at least five
hours a day, five days a week, The beard may congider written
reguests to this reguirement due to demonstrated hardship, and may
grant an exception under such terms and conditions as the board
determines are in the best interests of the public.

(3) If a beer and/or wine restaurant's dedicated dining area
comprises less than fifteen percent of the tctal customer service
area, the premises must maintain a tavern license {(see WAC 314-02-
070 regarding the tavern license).

as defined in WAC 314-

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-056 Sports/entertainment facility license—-
Purpose. (1) What is the purpose of the rules governing the use of
alcohol in sports/entertainment facilities?

(a) In RCW 66.24.570, the legislature established a spirits,

beer, and wine license for arenas, coliseums, stadiums, cor other
facilities where sporting, entertainment, and special events are
presented.

(b) These rules provide a framework for the enforcement of

liquor laws and regulations, particularly those prohibiting the
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sale of alcohol to perscons under twenty-one years of age or persons
who are apparently intoxicated.

{c) This framework recognizes the unique conditions associated
with events attended by large crowds consisting of diverse age
groups.

(2) Will the liquor control board recognize the differences
between types of sports/entertainment facilities? Yes, A
sports/entertainment facility must submit an operating plan, which
must be approved by the board prior to the issuwance of a license,
All plans are required to meet the minimum standards ocutlined in
WAC 314-02-058. The board will take into consideration the unigue
features of each facility when approving an operating plan,
including the seating accommedations, eating facilities, and
circulation patterns.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-057 Definitions. (1) Premises -~ buildings,
parking lcts, and any open areas that are adjacent to and owned,
leased, or managed by the licensee and under the licensee's
control.

(2) Event categories - types of events that the licensee
expects to hold on the premises:
(a) Professional sporting event — a contest inveolving paid

athletes and sanctioned by a professional sports organization that
regulates the specific sport.

(1) A preapproved level of alcohol service will be applied to
the professional sporting events of baseball, football, basketball,
scccer, tennis, volleyball, horse racing, hockey, and track and
field events (relay races, dashes, pole vaulting, etc.).

{ii) For all other professional sporting events, the board
will determine the level of alcohol service on a case-by-case
basis, as approved in the operating plan.

(b) aAmateur sporting event - a contest or demonstration
involving athletes who receive no monetary compensation that is
sanctioned by a national or regional amateur athletic regqulatory
crganization.

{c} Entertainment event - a ccncert, comedy act, or similar
event intended for the entertainment of the audience.
{d) Special event - a convention, trade show, or other

public/private event to large too be held in a separate banguet or
meeting room within the facility.

{e) Private event - an event not open to the public such as a
wedding, private party, or business meeting, where the facility or
a portion of the facility where the event is held is not accessible
to the general public during the time of the private event.

(3) Hawking - the practice of selling alcohol in seating areas
by roving servers who carry the beverages with them, as outlined in
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WAC 314-02-058(4). Because of row seating arrangements, servers
normally do not have direct access to customers. Therefore,
service usually requires that drinks, money, and identification be
passed down rows, involving other spectators.

(4) Club seats - a specifically designated and controlled
seating area that 1s distinct from general seating with food and
beverage service provided by servers directly to the customer.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-058 Sports/entertainment facility licenses——
Operating plans. (1) What rules govern the submission of operating
plans?

{a) To receive a license, a sports/entertainment facility must
submit an operating plan for board approval. :

(b} Once d&dpproved, the plan remains in effect until the
licensee requests a change or the board determines that a change is
necessary due to demonstrated problems or conditions not previocusly
considered or adequately addressed in the original plan.

{c) The plan must be submitted in a format designated by the
board.

{d) The plan must contain all of the following elements:

(1) How the sports/entertainment facility will prevent the
sale and service of alcohol tec persons under twenty-cone years of
age and those who appear to be intoxicated.

(ii) The ratio of alcohol service staff and security staff to
the size of the audiences at events where alcohol is being served.

(iii) Training provided to staff who serve, regulate, or
supervise the service of alcohol.

(iv) The facility's policy on the number of alcoholic
beverages that will be served to an individual patron during one
transaction.

(v) A list of event categories (see WAC 314-02-057(2)) to be
held in the facility at which alcohol service is planned, along
with a request for the level of alcohol service at each event.

(vi) The date must be included in the operating plan.

(vii}) The pages must be numbered in the operating plan.

(vili} The operating plan must be signed by a principal of the
licensed entity.

(e) . Prior to the first of each month, the licensee must
provide a schedule of events for the upcoming month to the
facility's leocal liguor enforcement office. This schedule must
show the date and time of each event during which alcohol service
is planned. The licensee must notify the local enforcement office
at least seventy-two hours in advance of any events where alcchol
service is planned that were not included in the monthly schedule.
Notice of private events is not required when the event is being
held in conjunction with a professional or amateur sporting event,
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an entertainment evént, or a special event as outlined in WAC 314-
02-057(2).

(2) May the liquor control beoard impose any other mandatory
standards as a part of an operating plan? Yes. To prevent persons
who are under twenty-one years of age or who appear intoxicated
from gaining access to alcohol, the board may impose the following
standards as part of an operating plan:

(a) The board may reguire that an operating plan include
additional mandatory requirements if it is judged by the board that
the plan does nol effectively prevent violations of liquor laws and
regulaticns, particularly those that prevent persons under twenty-—
one years of age cor who are apparently intoxicated from obtaining
alcohol. :

{(b) To permit alcchol servers to establish the age of patrons
and to prevent over-—-service, sports/entertainment facilities must
meet minimum lighting requirements established by WAC 314-11-055 in
any area where alcohol is served or consumed. For the purpose of
establishing a permanent technical standard, an operating plan may
include a lighting standard measured in foct candles, so long as
the candle power of the lighting is, at all times, sufficient to
permit alcohol servers to establish the walidity of documents
printed in eight point type.

(3) Where will spirits,” beer, and wine be allowed in a
sports/entertainment facility? The purpose of the following matrix
is to ocutline where and when alcohol service will nermally be
permitted. Due to the unigque nature of each facility, the board
will determine the permitted alcohol =service based on the
facility's approved operating plan.

(a) If alcohol service is requested cutside of the pdrameters
listed below, a special reguest with justification for the alcohol

service area must be submitted with the operating plan for
consideration by the bcard.
~ Beer, wine, and | Beer, wine, and Hawking - beer
spirits may be spirits may be may be served
sold and served | sold and served Beer and wine throughout
in approved in femporary Wine may be may be sealing areas,
Type of event restaurants, lounges, beer served and consumed “subject to the
as defined in | lounges, private gardens, or . consumed in throughout provisions of
WAC 314-02- suites, and club other approved club seats seafing areas WAC 314-02-
057 rooms service areas during events during events 058(4)
Professional X X X X X
sporting events
of baseball,
foothall,
basketball,
soccer, tennis,
volleybatl,
horse racing,
hockey, and
track and field
cvents
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Beer, wine, and | Beer, wing, and Hawking - beer
spirits may be spirits may be may be served
sold and served | sold and served Beer and wine throughout
in approved in temporary Wine may be may be seating areas,
Type of event restaurants, lounges, beer served and consumed subject to the
as defined in lounges, private gardens, or consumed in throughout provisions of
WAC 314-02- | suites, and club | other approved club seats seating areas WAC 314-02-
057 rooms service areas during events during events 058(4)
All other X X X X
professional
sporting events
(level of alcohol
service will be
determined on a
case-by-case
basis per the
approved
operating plan)
Amateur X X
sporling events
Entertainment X X
events
Special events X X

{b) For private events, beer, wine, and spirits may be served
in the area where the event is held. This area may be a separate
meeting or banquet room cr the entire facility.

{c} In order tc minimize youth access to alcohol, the board
may prohibit or restrict the service of alcchol at events where the
attendance 1is expected to be over thirty percent persons under
twenty-one years of age. This restriction will not apply to the
professional sporting events cublined in WAC 314-02-057 (2} (a}).

(4} Will hawking be allowed at sports/entertainment
facilities? Subject to the provisions of this rule, hawking may be
permitted in general seating areas for the sale and consumption of
beer, at the professional sporting events of baseball, footbaill,
basketball, soccer, tennis, wvolleyball, horse racing, hockey, and
track and field events only, as defined by WAC 314-02-057 (2) (a}.

(a) An operating plan must include procedures for hawkers to
verify the age of purchasers and to prevent service to apparently
intoxicated persons,

(b) During hawking, any patrcn may decline to handle alcoholic
beverages, either on behalf of themselves and for any person under
their supervision. When a patron objects to handling alcohol,
hawkers must accommnodate the objection. The facility operating
plan will address how hawking will be managed, including how
hawkers will respond to patron objections to handling alcohol.

{c¢) Fach facility's hawking authorization will be reviewed by
the board one year after the facility commences hawking under these
rules and then every two years. This review, which will take no
more than ninety days, will recommend the continuation,
modification, or repeal of the hawking authorization. The decision
to continue hawking will be based on:

(1) The facility's demonstrated record cf preventing service
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of liquor to perscons under twenty-one vyears of age and to persons
who appear intoxicated; and )

(ii) Public input submitted to the board. The licensee must
post written notices to its patrons at fixed peints of alcohol
sales on the premises and in programs at events where hawking
occurs for at least sixty days prior to the review period, stating
that the facility's hawking authorization is up for review by the
board, and directing comment to the board. The wording and method
of notice must be approved by the board.

NEW SECTTON

WAC 314-02-059 How will the operating plans be enforced? (1)
The hoard will inspect sports/entertainment facilities and issue
violation notices for: _

{a) Infracticns of all liguor laws and rules, particularly
with regard to persons who appear intoxicated or who are under
twenty-one years of age; and

(b) Any significant deviation from the approved operating
plan.

(2) Vielations of liguor laws or rules that occur as a result
of not following the approved operating plan will be considered
aggravating circumstances, which permit the board to impeose added
penalties.

AMENDATORY SECTION {(Amending W3R 10-01-0%1, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-100 What is a grocery steore license? (1) Per RCW
66.24.360, a grocery store license allows a licensee to sell beer
and/or wine for off-premises consumption.

(2) The annual fes for this license is one hundred sixty-six
dollars. ,

(3) In order to obtain and maintain a grocery store license,
the premises must be stocked with an inventory of at least three
thousand dollars wholesale value of food for human consumption, not
including soft drinks, beer, or wine. This minimum inventcry must
be:

{a} Stocked within the confines of the licensed premises; and

{b} Maintained at the premises at all times the business is
licensed, with the exception of:

(i} The Dbeginning and closing inventory for seasonal
operations; or

{ii) When the inventory is being sold out immediately prior to
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discontinuing or selling the business.

(4) A grocery store licensee may sell beer in kegs or other
containers holding at least four gallons and less than five and
one-half gallons of beer. See WAC 314-02-115 regarding keg
registration requirements.

(5) A grocery store licensee may sell beer and wine cver the
internet. See WAC 314-03-020 regarding internet sales and
delivery.

{6) A grocery store applicant or licensee may apply for an
international exporter endorsement for five hundred dollars a year,
which allows the sale of beer and wine for export to locations
outside the United States.

{7) A grocerv store applicant or licensee may apply for a beer
and wine tasting endorsement which allows beer and wine tastings on
Lhe grocery store premises. The annual fee for this endorsement is
two hundred dollars.

NEW SECTTON

WAC 314-02-102 What are the requirements for a grocery store
licensee to conduct beer and wine tastings? {1} To be issued a
beer and wine f{asting endorsement, the licensees must meet the
following criteria: .

(a) The licensee has retail sales of grocery products for off-
premises consumption, not to include candy, soda pop, beer or wine,
that are more than fifty percent of the licensee's gross sales, or
the licensee is a membership organization that regquires members to
be at least eighteen yesars of age;

_ (b) The licensee operates a fully enclosed retail area
encompassing at least nine thousand sgquare feet. The board may
issue the endorsement to a licensee with a retail area with less
than nine thousand square feet if there is no licensee in the
community that meets the nine thousand square foot requirement
under the following conditions: There must be at least two
employees on duty any time the licensee is conducting beer and wine
tasting events. One employee must be dedicated to beer and wine
tastings during these events; :

{c} The licensee has not had more than one public safety

administrative violation within the last two years. The two-year
window 1is counted from two years prior to the date of the
application for the beer and wine tasting endorsement. (See WAC

. 314-29-020 for a list of public safety viclations.)
{2} In addition to the conditions in RCW 66.24.363, a beer and
wine tasting must be conducted under the following:
~ (a) The licensee must provide a sketch of the tasting area.
Fixed or moveable barriers are required around the tasting area to
ensure persons under twenty-one vyears of age do not possess or
consume alcohol;
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{b} Signs advertising beer and wine tastings may not be placed
in the windows or outside of the premiseés that can be viewed from
the public right of way; :

(¢) Persons serving beer and wine during tasting events must
hold a class 12 alcohol server permit.

{3) Licenseces are required to send a list of scheduled beer
and wine tastings to their regional enforcement office at the
beginning of each month. The date and time for each beer and wine
tasting must be included.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-01-091, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10}

WAC 314-02-105 What is a beer and/or wine specialty store
license? (1) Per RCW 66.24.371, a beer and/or wine specialty store
license allows a licensee to sell beer and/or wine for off-premises
consumption.

(2) The annual fee for this license 1s one hundred eleven
dollars.

{3} Qualifications for license—--To obtain and maintain a beer
and/or wine specialty store license, the premises must be stocked
with an inventory of beer and/or wine in excess of three thousand
dollars wholesale value. This inventory must be:

{(a) Stocked within the confines of the licensed premises; and

() Maintained on tLhe premises al all times Lhe premises is
licensed, with the exception of beginning and closing inventory for
seasonal operations or when the inventory is being sold out
immediately prior to discontinuing or selling the business.

{4) Qualifications to sample—-—-A beer and/or wine specialty
store licensee may allow customers to sample beer and wine for the
purpose of sales promotion, if the primary business is the sale of
beer and/or wine at retail, and the licensee meets the requirements
outlined in either (a) or (b) of this subsection:

(a) A licensee's dross retail sales of beer and/or wine
exceeds fifty percent of all gross sales for the entire business;
or

(b} The licensed premises is a beer and/or wine specialty
store that conducts bona fide cooking classes for the purpose of
pairing beer and/or wine with food, under the following conditions:

(1) The licensee must establish to the satisfaction of the
board that the classes are bona fide cooking courses. The licensee
must charge participants a fee for the course(s).

{ii) The sampling must be limited to a clearly defined area of
the premises.

{iii) The licensee mnust receive prior approval from the
board's 1licensing and regulation division before conducting
sampling with cooking classes.

{iv) Once approved for sampling, the licensee must provide the
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board's enforcement and education division a list of all scheduled
cooking classes during which beer and/or wine samples will be
served. The licensee must notify the ((leeard)) board's enforcement
and -education division at least forty-eight hours in advance if
classes are added.

{5) Licensees who qualify for sampling under subsection (4) of
this rule may sample under the following conditions:

fa} No more than a total of eight ounces of alcohel may be
provided to a customer during any one visit to the premises;

{b) Each sample must be two ounces or less; and

{c} No more than one sample of any single brand and type of
beer or wine may be provided to a customer during any one visit to
the premises.

{6) A beer and/or wine specialty store licensee may sell beer
in kegs or other containers holding at least four gallons of beer.
See WAC 314-02-115 regarding keg registration requirements.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 09-02-012, filed 12/29/08,
effective 1/29/09) , '

WAC 314-02-120 How do licensees get keg registration forms?
{1} The board will provide keg registration forms free of charge to
licensees who hold (a} a beer and/or wine restaurant license in
combination with an off-premises beer and/or wine endorsement; (b)
a tavern license in combination with an off-premises beer and/or
wine endorsement; or (c) a beer and/or wine specialty shop license
with a keg endorsement. ,

(2} Licensees who hold a grocery store license with a keg
endorsement, or a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant license with
a keg endorsement, must purchase the keg registration forms. Kedg
registration books can be cordered on-line at the liquor control
board web site or from ((tFetr—Iccst—Ivoard)) Lhe enforcement
{ (offfee)) customer service line for four dollars per beook of
twenty-five forms.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-01-091, filed 12/16/09,
effective 1/16/10)

WAC 314-02-125 What types of activities on a Jlicensed
premises require notice to the board? Liquor licensees must ncotify
their local enforcement office in writing at least ((forty=-e=ight
Frotrrs—retfeore)) five days prior to conducting the following
activities unless the }licensee has received an exception from their
enforcement officer:
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{1) Male/female dance reviews, subject Lo thelprovisions of
WAC 314-11-050; ‘

{2) Live boxing or wrestling;

{(3) Contests or games where
entertainment; ((=wd))

(4) Hours of operation in between 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. for
licensees that sell liguor for on—-premises consumption; and

(5) Outside service for one—-time events such as a holiday
celebration where liguor service and consumption is planned to
extend to an area of the premises that does not have board approval

patrons are part of the

for liquor service.

The licensee must have leaschold rights to the

arca where alcohol service and consumption is planned.

AMENDATORY

SECTION

effective 1/16/10)

(Amending WSR

10-01-091,

filed 12/16/09,

WAC 314-02-130 What types of changes to a licensed premises

require board approval®?
require prior

premises

board

approval, by

The following changes to a licensed
submitting a

form

provided by the board's licensing and regulation division:

Type of alteration

Approval process and
timeline

)]

® excluding persons under
twenty-one years of age
from a spirits, beer, and
wine restaurant or a spirits,
beer, and wine nightclub;

® excluding persons under
twenty-one years of age
from the dining area of a
beer and/or wine
restaurarnt;

® reclassifying a lounge as
open to persons under
twenty-one years of age;

® exiending the location of
alcohol service, such as a
beer garden or patio/deck
service (areas must be
enclosed with a barrier a
minimum of forty-two
inches in height);

((—storirgtigtror-offof
the ticersedpremises:))

{(a) The board’s licensing
and regulation division
will ((respotrd-te)) make
initial contact on the
request for alteration
within five business days.

{b) The licensee may
begin liquor service in
conjunction with the
alteration as soon as
approval 1s received.

(c) Board approval will be
based on the alteration
meeting the requirements
outlined in this title.
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REPEALLR

Type of alteration

Approval process and
timeline

® initiating room service
in a hotel or motel when
the restaurant is not
connected to the hotel or
motel;
((o-mnstalting-arprss=
throtghrwindew-forwate
wpeustomersand

. " 1
amotherbrusiresss))
2
® any alteration that
affects the size of a

premises' customer service
area.

(a) The board's licensing
and regulation division
will ({(respond-to)) make an

initial response on the
licensee's request for

alteration within five
business days.

(b) The licensee must
contact their local liquor
control agent when the
alteration is completed.
(c) The licensee may begin
liquor service in
conjunction with the
alteration after the
completed alteration is
inspected by the liquor
control agent.

(d) Board approval will be
based on the alteration
meeting the requirements
outlined in this title,

The feollowing sections of the Washington Administrative Code

are repealed:

WAC 314-02-085
WAC 314-02-095
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What is a bed and breakfast permit?
What is a pubklic house license?
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REPFAT.ER

The following sections of the Washington Administrative Code
are repealed:

WAC
WAC

WAC
WAC

WAC

314-16-195

314-16-260

314-16-265
314-16-270

314-16-275

Spirits, bheer and wine restaurant
restricted--Qualifications.
Sports/entertainment facility
license-—-Purpocse.

Definitions.

Sports/entertainment facility
licenses——QOperating plans.

How will the operating plans ke
enforced?

11 OT5-3577.1










