Washington State
Liquor Control Board

WASHINGTON STATE LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD
Board Meeting Minutes — August 15, 2012

Board Chair Sharon Foster called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor Control Board
(WSLCB) to order at 10:00 a.m., on Wednesday, August 15, 2012 in the Boardroom at 3000 Pacific Avenue
South-East, Olympia, Washington. Board Members Ruthann Kurose and Chris Marr were present.

Approval of Minutes
Minutes from the August 1, 2012 meeting were approved.

Board Approval to File CR 102 for the $150 Million Assessment for Spirits Distributor Licensees

Rules Coordinator Karen McCall requested Board approval to file the CR 102 to create rules for the $150
million assessment to be paid by persons holding a spirits distributor license created in I-1183. WAC 314-
23-025, collection of shortfall of spirits distributor license fees from spirits distributor license holders will
include language to clarify RCW 66.24.055. This language explains how the $150 million assessment will be
calculated and collected. Per Karen, a public hearing will be held in late September. Member Kurose made
a motion to approve. Member Marr seconded. All were in favor.

Public Hearing on Rulemaking for Compliance Checks

The meeting was opened up to public comment regarding rulemaking on compliance checks. Julia Clark,
from Washington Restaurant Association, provided feedback on the definition of “deceptively mature”
within the rule. Per Julia, she hopes that WRA and the Board may work collaboratively to work on that
definition. She noted that her comments were also provided to the Board and Karen via email.

New Business
There was no new business.

Old Business:
There was no old business.

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 10:15 a.m.

Sﬁaron_Foster‘r, Ruthann Kurose, Chris Marr,
Board Chair Board Member Board Member
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper
Rule Making on Compliance Checks

Date: June 27, 2012 .
Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the
proposed rules (CR 102) on Compliance Checks. A new section will be added
to Chapter 314 WAC for Compliance Checks.

Why is rule making necessary?

Compliance checks have been performed by law enforcement agencies for many
years. This has been a standard enforcement practice and accepted by courts,
until a recent case in Clark County WA. Based on an alcohol compliance check
conducted in December 2008, a Clark County superior court judge ruled the
Board must adopt state rules to conduct compliance checks based on language
in RCW 66.44.290 involving minors purchasing alcohol. This RCW was updated
in 2003, adding language to allow for in-house compliance checks for retailers.

The same judge ruled minor frequenting compliance checks were legal, as RCW
66.44.310 and RCW 66.44.316 did not have the same language as RCW
66.44.290. Even though this decision applies only in Clark County, and is
currently under appeal, creating rules around alcohol compliance checks
alleviates the conflict in legal interpretation surrounding language in RCW
66.44.290.

What changes are being proposed?

New Chapter WAC 314-31 Compliance Checks

New Section. WAC 314-31-005 Liquor Compliance checks. Explains
what a compliance check is and.the reason for conducting compliance checks.

New Section. WAC 314-31-015 What are the guidelines for liquor

compliance checks? Explains the guidelines to be followed when conducting
compliance checks.
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Chapter 314-31 WAC

COMPLIANCE CHECKS

NEW SECTTION

WAC 314-31-005 Liquor compliance checks. (1) The Washington
state liquor control board authorizes enforcement officers and
investigative aides working with enforcement officers to conduct
liquor compliance checks at any location where alcohol is sold,
served or provided.

(2) Investigative aides working at +the direction of
enforcement officers during a liquor compliance check are
considered agents of the Washington state liquor control board.

(3) Violations involving a licensee, its employee, or a member
of the public that result from a liquor compliance check are
subject to criminal arrest and/or administrative action by the
liquor control board. '

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-31-015 What are the guidelines for liquor compliance
checks? Enforcement officers conducting liquor compliance checks
must comply with the following conditions:

(1) An investigative aide must:

(a) Be at least eighteen years of age and under twenty-one
years of age; ' )

(b) Transfer any physical evidence to the enforcement
officer(s) at the conclusion of each compliance check during which
.alcohol is acquired; and

(c) Complete a written statement on a form provided by the
enforcement officer(s) at the conclusion of each compliance check
during which alcohol is acquired.

(2) During a compliance check, an investigative aide may not:

(a) Be directly related to the enforcement officer(s)
conducting the compliance check; or ‘

(b) Possess any funds other than the funds provided by the
agency for the compliance check.

(3) An enforcement officer shall photograph the investigative
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aide prior to conducting a compliance check. At least one
"photograph shall be taken of the investigative aide's face and at
least one photograph shall be taken of the investigative aide from
head to toe.

(4) An investigative aide 1is not required to possess
identification during a compliance check, provided that if
identification is possessed during the compliance check, the
identification must be the. investigative aide's lawfully issued
identification.
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¢ Washington State
Liquor Control Board

Date: August 15, 2012

To: Sharon Foster, Board Chairman
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member
Chris Marr, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Alan Rathbun, Director, Licensing and Regulation
Justin Nordhorn, Chief, Enforcement and Education

Subject: Approval for filing proposed rule (CR 102) to create rules for the $150
million assessment

“Rulemaking is needed to develop permanent rules to clarify the $150 million
assessment to be paid by persons holding a spirits distributor license created in
Initiative 1183 (RCW 66.24.055).

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file proposed rules (CR 102) for the rule
making described above. An issue paper on this rule was presented at the Board
meeting on August 15, 2012, and is attached to this order. '

Avlf approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

August 15, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)

September 5, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

September 26, 2012 Public hearing held

September 26, 2012 End of written comment period

October 3, 2012 Board is asked to adopt rules

October 3, 2012 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

October 3, 2012 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

November 3, 2012 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)
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Attachment: Issue Paper

Chris Marr, Board Member -,  Date
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper

Rulemaking on $150 million assessment

Date: August 15, 2012

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator
Description of the Issue '

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the
proposed permanent rules (CR 102) to clarify the $150 million assessment to be

paid by persons holding a spirits distributor Ilcense created in Initiative 1183
(RCW 66.24.055).

Why is rule making necessary?

By March 31, 2013, Initiative 1183 directs all persons holding spirits distributor
licenses on or before March 31, 2013, to pay to the board $150 million (or more)
in spirits distributor license fees. The license fees are derived from the ten
percent of the total revenue for all the licensee’s sales of spirits made during the
first year. If the collective payment totals less than $150 million, the board must
collect by May 31, 2013 as additional license fees the difference between $150
million and the actual receipts. Rules are needed to develop this process.

What changes are being proposed?

New Section. WAC 314-23-025 Collection of shortfall of spirits
distributor license fees from spirits distributor license holders. Created
language to clarify RCW 66.24.055 explaining how the $150 million assessment
will be calculated and collected.

Attachment: Proposed Rule
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-025 Collection of shortfall of spirits distributor
license fees from spirits distributor license holders. (1) RCW
66.24.055 requires that all persons holding a spirits distributor
license on or before March 31, 2013, must have collectively paid a
total of one hundred fifty million dollars in spirits distributor
license fees by March 31, 2013. If the spirits distributor license
fees collected by March 31, 2013, total less than one hundred fifty.
million dollars, the board is required to assess those persons
holding a spirits distributor license on or before March 31, 2013,
in order to collect a total of one hundred fifty million dollars.
The board will calculate the additional amount owed by each spirits
distributor licensee as follows:

(a) The amount of additional fees owed will be calculated
using the total spirits sales made by each spirits distributor
licensee during calendar year 2012. If a spirits distributor
licensee had no spirits sales during calendar year 2012, no
additional fees will be due;

(b) Each licensee will be assessed and required to pay their
proportionate share of the remaining liability between one hundred
fifty million dollars and actual collections. The proportionate
share of fees due will be calculated by dividing the total dollar
amount of sales made by each spirits distributor licensee by the
total spirits sales made by all spirits distributor licensees
combined. If the total amount of payments exceeds one hundred
fifty million dollars, each licensee will be credited a
proportionate amount of the overpayment to their future license
issuance fee obligations.

(2) The board will notify all spirits distributor licensees no
later than April 30, 2013, of the amount they are required to pay
in additional license fees. Spirits distributor licensees must pay
the additional license fees to the board by May 31, 2013.

(3) The board may suspend or revoke any spirits distributor
license if the required additional license fees are not paid by May
31, 2013. If suspended, the suspension will remain in effect until
the additional license fees are paid.

(4) The board may also initiate collection proceedings for any
amount of additional fees not paid to the board by May 31, 2013.
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4~ X\ Washington State
<%/A Liquor Control Board

BOARD MEETING AGENDA

Wednesday, August 15, 2012
Headquarters Building
3000 Pacific Ave SE, Olympia WA 98501

10:00 a.m.
Call to Order - Sharon Foster
Approval of Minutes Board Members
Board Approval to File - Karen McCall
CR 102 for the $150
Million Assessment for
Spirits Distributor
Licensees
Public Hearing on Karen McCall
Rulemaking for
Compliance Checks
New Business Board Members
Old Business Board Members

Recess/Adjourn





