WASHINGTON STATE LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD
Board Meeting Minutes — May 24, 2012

PLEASE NOTE: an audio recording of this Board Meeting is posted on the LCB website
along with these minutes.

Board Chair Sharon Foster called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor Control
Board to order at 10:00 a.m., on Thursday, May 24, 2012 in the Boardroom at 3000 Pacific Avenue
S.E. in Olympia, Washington. Board Members Ruthann Kurose and Chris Marr were present.

Approval of Minutes
Minutes from the May 16, 2012 meeting were approved.

Public Hearing on Rulemaking to Implement I-1183 (permanent rules to replace existing
emergency rules)

Agency Rules Coordinator, Karen McCall provided a brief rulemaking background on the
permanent rules to implement I-1183. These rules, which replace the existing emergency rules,
will be brought to the Board as a CR 103 for vote at their May 30, 2012 Board Meeting. Board
Chair Sharon Foster opened the meeting up to stakeholder comment. Several stakeholders,
including representatives from the Washington Restaurant Association, owners/operators of bars
and restaurants, Contract Liquor Store Managers and winning bidders from the State Liquor Store
auction, provided verbal comment. Please see attachments below for speaker sign-in sheet and
written commentary provided at the meeting as well as prior.

Board Approval to File CR 102 for Restaurants with Cinemas Rulemaking

Karen McCall presented the Board with a CR 102 for allowing minors in restaurants with cinemas
under certain conditions. This rulemaking, which resulted from a stakeholder petition to the Board,
creates a new rule in Chapter 314-03 WAC. Board Member Kurose made a motion to approve.
Member Marr seconded. All were in favor.

Board Approval to File CR 101 for $150 Million Assessment for Spirits Distributor License
Holders

The Board was requested to approve filing the first stage of rulemaking (CR101) to develop
permanent rules to clarify the $150-million assessment to be paid by persons holding a spirits
distributor license. The spirits distributor license, as outlined in I-1183, directs all persons holding
spirits distributor licenses on or before March 31, 2013, to pay to the Board $150 million (or more)
in spirits distributor license fees. Board Member Marr made a motion to approve. Member Kurose
seconded. All were in favor.

Board Approval to File CR 101 for Rulemaking to Define “Trade Area”

Karen McCall brought a CR 101 to the Board for their approval, to begin the process of defining
“trade area”. The definition will help to determine if a location for a spirits retail license in a premise
less than 10,000 square feet of retail space meets the requirements for the license. Board
Member Kurose made a motion to approve. Member Marr seconded. All were in favor.
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Board Approval to File CR 101 to Create Brief Adjudicatory Proceeding (BAP)

Karen presented the Board with a CR 101 to create a brief adjudicatory proceeding (BAP). The
Administrative Procedures Act (RCW 34-05-482) gives agencies the ability to utilize an abbreviated
administrative hearing process (BAP) where the issues or interests involved do not warrant use of
full adjudicative procedure. This rulemaking will identify specific instances where the Liquor
Control Board may use BAP in lieu of the more formal hearing process. Board Member Marr made
a motion to approve. Member Kurose seconded. All were in favor.

Recognition for Senator Conway

Deputy Administrative Director Rick Garza, joined by Liquor Control Board Retail employees Nolan
Johnson and Earl Kalles, presented Senator Steve Conway with an award to recognize his efforts
in passing legislation providing at-risk employees a sick leave payout. Senator Conway, who
represents the 29" Legislative District in Tacoma, expressed his appreciation for the employees of
the Liquor Control Board. Stakeholders in attendance were encouraged by Senator Conway to
contact their Legislators, with comments and concerns regarding I-1183 and the new privatized
liguor system. All Board members thanked the Senator for his efforts.

New Business
There was no new business.

Old Business:
There was no old business.

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 11:35 a.m.
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Washington State Liquor Control Board

Issue Paper

Permanent Rule Making to implement I-1183
Date: April 18, 2012

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is request approval from the board to file the
proposed rule changes (CR 102) supplemental resulting from revisions to the
proposed rules to implement I-1183 since the original CR 102 was filed March
14, 2012.

Why is rule making necessary?

The board adopted new emergency rules on April 4, 2012, to implement
Initiative 1183. Permanent rules are needed to replace the emergency rules.
New license types were created and additional privileges are allowed for current
license types. Rules are needed to clarify the new laws created in Initiative
1183.

What changes are being proposed?

New Section. WAC 314-02-103. What is a wine retailer reseller
endorsement? Created a new section to explain who is allowed to obtain a
wine retailer reseller endorsement, the amount and number of sales per day a
licensee can make to an on-premises spirits licensee, and the requirements to
obtain the endorsement.

New Section. WAC 314-02-104. Central warehousing.
Created a new section to explain the requirements for wine and spirits licensees
to central warehouse wine and spirits.

New Section. WAC 314-02-106. What is a spirits retailer license?
Created a new section to explain what the holder is allowed to do under this
license. Made revision regarding the requirement for a TTB basic permit.

New Section. WAC 314-02-107. What are the requirements for a
spirits retail license? Created a new section explaining the requirements to
obtain a spirits retail license.

New Section. WAC 314-02-109. What are the quarterly reporting and
payment requirements for a spirits retail license?
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Created a new section to explain the reporting and payment requirements for a
spirits retail licensee.

New Section. WAC 314-23-001. What does a spirits distributor license
allow? Created a new section to explain what the holder is allowed to do under
this license.

New Section. WAC 314-23-005. What are the fees for a spirits
distributor license? Created a new section to explain the fees for this license.
Did not address the $150 million assessment in this rulemaking.

New Section. WAC 314-23-020. What are the requirements for a
spirits distributor license? Created a new section explaining the
requirements to obtain a spirits distributor license. Made a revision requiring the
sale and delivery of product to take place from the licensed location.

New Section. WAC 314-23-021. What are the monthly reporting and
payment requirements for a spirits distributor license? Created a new
section to explain the reporting and payment requirements for a spirits
distributor licensee.

New Section. WAC 314-23-022. What if a distributor licensee fails to
report or pay, or reports or pays late? Created a new section that explains
the penalties for not reporting or paying on time.

New Section. WAC 314-23-030. What does a spirits certificate of
approval allow? Created a new section that explains the different types of
certificate of approval licenses and what is license is allowed to do under their
license type.

New Section. WAC 314-23-040. What are the requirements for a
certificate of approval license? Created a new section to explain the
requirements for the license.

New Section. WAC 314-23-041. What are the monthly reporting and
payment requirements for a spirits certificate of approval licensee?
Created a new section to explain the reporting and payment requirements for a
spirits certificate of approval licensee.

New Section. WAC 314-23-042. What if a certificate of approval

licensee fails to report or pay, or reports or pays late? Created a new
section that explains the penalties for not reporting or paying on time.
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New Section. WAC 314-23-050. What does a spirits importer allow?
Created a new section to explain what a spirits importer licensee is allowed to do
under this license.

Amended Section. WAC 314-28-010. Records. Amended this section to
add record keeping requirements for sales to spirits retail licensees, spirits
distributor licensees, and exports from the state.

New Section. WAC 314-28-030. Changes to the distiller and craft
distiller license. Created a new section to explain the allowance for distillers
and craft distillers to sell their product to on-premises licensees effective March
1, 2012, and to off-premises retailers on June 1, 2012. A distiller may also
begin selling their own product to customers at their distiller for off-premises
consumption effective June 1, 2012.

Amended Section. WAC 314-28-050. What does a craft distillery
license allow. Added language to clarify that a craft distiller may begin selling
their own product to a licensed spirits retailer in the state of WA on or after
March 1, 2012.

Amended Section. WAC 314-28-060. What are the general
requirements for a craft distillery? Removed language that required craft
distillers to purchase their own liquor from the board to use for sampling or sales
to customers at the distillery.

Amended Section. WAC 314-28-070. What are the monthly reporting
and payment requirements for a distillery and craft distillery license?
Added distilleries to this rule. Removed language that referred to “payments to
the board”. Added language that effective March 1, 2012, a distillery or craft
distiller must pay 10% of their gross sales on sales made to a spirits retail
licensee for the first two years of licensure; 5% in year 3 and thereafter.
Effective June 1, 2012, a distillery or craft distiller must pay 17% of their gross
sales on sales made to a customers for off-premises consumption.

Amended Section. WAC 314-28-080. What if a distillery or craft
distillery licensee fails to report or pay, or reports or pays late? Created
a new section that explains the penalties for not reporting or paying on time.
Removed language referring to surety bonds.

Amendatory Section. WAC 314-28-090. Selling out-of-state. What are
the requirements for a craft distillery licensee to sell its spirits product
outside the state of Washington. Removed language that referred to the
special order process.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-103 What is a wine retailer reseller endorsement?
(1) A wine retailer reseller endorsement is issued to the holder of
a grocery store liquor license to allow the sale of wine at retail
to on-premises liquor licensees.

(2) No single sale to an on-premises liquor licensee may
exceed twenty-four liters. Single sales to an on-premises licensee
are limited to one per day.

(3) A grocery store licensee with a wine retailer reseller
endorsement may accept delivery at its licensed premises or at one
or more warehouse facilities registered with the board.

(4) The holder of a wine retailer reseller endorsement may
also deliver wine to its own licensed premises from the registered
warehouse; may deliver wine to on-premises licensees, or to other
warehouse facilities registered with the board. A grocery store
licensee wishing to obtain a wine retailer reseller endorsement
that permits sales to another retailer must possess and submit a
copy of their federal basic permit to purchase wine at wholesale
for resale under the Federal Alcohol Administration Act. A federal
basic permit is required for each location from which the grocery
store licensee holding a wine retailer reseller endorsement plans
to sell wine to another retailer.

(5) The annual fee for the wine retailer reseller endorsement
is one hundred sixty-six dollars.

NEW SECTTION

WAC 314-02-104 Central warehousing. (1) Each retail liquor
licensee having a warehouse facility where they intend to receive
wine and/or spirits must register their warehouse facility with the
board and include the following information:

(a) Documentation that shows the licensee has a right to the
warehouse property;

(b) If a warehouse facility is to be shared by more than one
licensee, each 1licensee must demonstrate to the board that a
recordkeeping system is utilized that will account for all wine
and/or spirits entering and leaving the warehouse for each license
holder. The system must also account for product loss;

(c) Licensees in a shared warehouse may consolidate their
commitment for the amount of product they plan to order, but their
orders must be placed separately and paid for by each licensee; and

(d) Alternatively, if the warehouse does not have a
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recordkeeping system that provides the required information, wine
and/or spirits for each licensee in a shared warehouse must be
separated by a physical barrier. Where physical separation is
utilized, a sketch of the interior of the warehouse facility must
be submitted indicating the designated area the licensee will be
storing product. (Example: If ABC Grocery and My Grocery, each
licensed to a different ownership entity, both lease space in a
warehouse facility, the wine and/or spirits must be in separate
areas separated by a physical barrier.)

(2) Upon the request of the board, the licensee must provide
any of the required records for review. Retail liquor licensees
must keep the following records for three years:

(a) Purchase invoices and supporting documents for wine and/or
spirits purchased;

(b) Invoices showing incoming and outgoing wine and/or spirits
(product transfers);

(c) Documentation of the recordkeeping system in a shared
warehouse as referenced in subsection (1) (b) of this section; and

(d) A copy of records for 1liquor stored in the shared
warehouse.

(3) Each licensee must allow the board access to the warehouse
for audit and review of records.

(4) If the wine and/or spirits for each licensee in a shared
warehouse 1is not kept separate, and a violation is found, each
licensee that has registered the warehouse with the board may be
held accountable for the violation.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-106 What is a spirits retailer license? (1) A
spirits retailer licensee may not sell spirits under this license
until June 1, 2012. A spirits retailer is a retail license. The
holder of a spirits retailer license is allowed to:

(a) Sell spirits in original containers to consumers for off-
premises consumption;

(b) Sell spirits in original containers to permit holders (see
chapter 66.20 RCW);

(c) Sell spirits in original containers to on-premises liquor
retailers, for resale at their 1licensed premises, although no
single sale may exceed twenty-four liters, and single sales to an
on-premises licensee are limited to one per day; and

(d) Export spirits in original containers.

(2) A spirits retailer 1licensee that intends to sell to
another retailer must possess a basic permit under the Federal
Alcohol Administration Act. This permit must provide for
purchasing distilled spirits for resale at wholesale. A copy of
the federal basic permit must be submitted to the board. A federal
basic permit is required for each location from which the spirits
retailer licensee plans to sell to another retailer.
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(3) A sale by a spirits retailer licensee is a retail sale
only if not for resale to an on-premises spirits retailer. On-
premises retail licensees that purchase spirits from a spirits
retail licensee must abide by RCW 66.24.630.

(4) A spirits retail licensee must pay to the board seventeen
percent of all spirits sales. The first payment is due to the
board October 1, 2012, for sales from June 1, 2012, to June 30,
2012 (see WAC 314-02-109 for quarterly reporting requirements).

Reporting of spirits sales and payment of fees must be
submitted on forms provided by the board.

(5) The annual fee for a spirits retail license is one hundred
sixty-six dollars.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-107 What are the requirements for a spirits retail
license? (1) The requirements for a spirits retail license are as
follows:

(a) Submit a signed acknowledgment form indicating the square
footage of the premises. The premises must be at least ten
thousand sgquare feet of fully enclosed retail space within a single
structure, including store rooms and other interior areas. This
does not include any area encumbered by a lease or rental agreement
(floor plans one—-eighth inch to one foot scale may be required by
the board); and

(b) Submit a signed acknowledgment form indicating the
licensee has a security plan which addresses:

(1) Inventory management;

(1i) Employee training and supervision; and

(1ii) Physical security of spirits product with respect to
preventing sales to underage or apparently intoxicated persons and
theft of product.

(2) A grocery store licensee or a specialty shop licensee may
add a spirits retail liquor license to their current license if
they meet the requirements for the spirits retail license.

(3) The board may not deny a spirits retail license to
qualified applicants where the premises is less than ten thousand
square feet if:

(a) The application is for a former contract liquor store
location;

(b) The application is for the holder of a former state liquor
store operating rights sold at auction; or

(c) There is no spirits retail license holder in the trade
area that the applicant proposes to serve; and

(1) The applicant meets the operational requirements in WAC
314-02-107 (1) (b); and

(ii) If a current liquor licensee, has not committed more than
one public safety violation within the last three years.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-02-109 What are the quarterly reporting and payment
requirements for a spirits retailer 1license? (1) A spirits
retailer must submit quarterly reports and payments to the board.

The required reports must be:

(a) On a form furnished by the board;

(b) Filed every quarter, including quarters with no activity
or payment due;

(c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the
twenty-fifth day following the tax quarter (e.g., Quarter 1 (Jan.,
Feb., Mar.) report is due April 25th). When the twenty-fifth day
of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the
filing must be postmarked by the U.S. postal service no later than
the next postal business day; and

(d) Filed separately for each liquor license held.

(2) What if a spirits retailer licensee fails to report or
pay, or reports or pays late? If a spirits retailer licensee does
not submit its quarterly reports and payment to the board as
required in subsection (1) of this section, the licensee is subject
to penalties.

A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on any
payments postmarked after the twenty-fifth day quarterly report is
due. When the twenty-fifth day of the month falls on a Saturday,
Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked by the
U.S. postal service no later than the next postal business day.

[ 4] 0TS-4509.11






Chapter 314-23 WAC

SPIRITS DISTRIBUTORS, SPIRITS CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL LICENSES,
AND SPIRITS IMPORTERS

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-001 What does a spirits distributor license allow?
(1) A spirits distributor licensee may not commence sales until
March 1, 2012. A spirits distributor licensee is allowed to:

(a) Sell spirits purchased from manufacturers, distillers,
importers, or spirits certificate of approval holders;

(b) Sell spirits to any liquor 1licensee allowed to sell
spirits;

(c) Sell spirits to other spirits distributors; and

(d) Export spirits from the state of Washington.

(2) The price of spirits sold to retailers may not be below
acquisition cost.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-005 What are the fees for a spirits distributor
license? (1) The holder of a spirits distributor license must pay
to the board a monthly license fee as follows:

(a) Ten percent of the total revenue from all sales of spirits
to retail licensees made during the month for which the fee is due
for the first two years of licensure; and

(b) Five percent of the total revenue from all sales of
spirits to retail licensees made during the month for which the fee
is due for the third year of licensure and every year thereafter.

(c) The license fee is only calculated on sales of items which
the licensee was the first spirits distributor in the state to have
received:

(1) In the case of spirits manufactured in the state, from the
distiller; or

(ii) In the case of spirits manufactured outside the state,
from a spirits certificate of approval holder.

(d) Reporting of sales and payment must be submitted on forms
provided by the board.
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(2) The annual fee for a spirits distributor license is one
thousand three hundred twenty dollars.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-020 What are the requirements for a spirits
distributor 1license? (1) In addition to any application
requirements in chapter 314-07 WAC, applicants applying for a
spirits distributor license must submit:

(a) A copy of all permits required by the federal government;

(b) Documentation showing the applicant has the right to the
property;

(c) An acknowledgment form certifying the applicant has a
security plan which addresses:

(i) Inventory management; and

(1i) Physical security of spirits product with respect to
preventing theft.

(2) Spirits distributors must sell and deliver product from
their licensed premises.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-021 What are the monthly reporting and payment
requirements for a spirits distributor license? (1) A spirits
distributor must submit monthly reports and payments to the board.

(2) The required monthly reports must be:

(a) On a form furnished by the board;

(b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or
payment due;

(c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the

twentieth day of each month, for the previous month. (For example,
a report listing transactions for the month of January is due by
February 20th.) When the twentieth day of the month falls on a

Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked
by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next postal business
day; and

(d) Filed separately for each liquor license held.
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NEW SECTTION

WAC 314-23-022 What if a distributor licensee fails to report
or pay, or reports or pays late? (1) If a spirits distributor
licensee does not submit its monthly reports and payment to the
board as required in WAC 314-23-021(1), the licensee is subject to
penalties.

(2) A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on any
payments postmarked after the twentieth day of the month following
the month of sale. When the twentieth day of the month falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked
by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next postal business
day.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-030 What does a spirits certificate of approval
license allow? (1) A spirits certificate of approval licensee may
not commence sales until March 1, 2012. A spirits certificate of
approval license may be issued to spirits manufacturers located
outside of the state of Washington but within the United States.

(2) A holder of a spirits certificate of approval may act as
a distributor of spirits they are entitled to import into the state
by selling directly to distributors or importers licensed in

Washington state. The fee for a certificate of approval is two
hundred dollars per year.
(3) A certificate of approval holder must obtain an

endorsement to the certificate of approval that allows the shipment
of spirits the holder is entitled to import into the state directly

to licensed liquor retailers. The fee for this endorsement is one
hundred dollars per year and is in addition to the fee for the
certificate of approval license. The holder of a certificate of

approval license that sells directly to licensed liquor retailers
must:

(a) Report to the board monthly, on forms provided by the
board, the amount of all sales of spirits to licensed retailers.

(b) Pay to the board a fee of ten percent of the total revenue
from all sales of spirits to retail licensees made during the month
for which the fee is due for the first two years of licensure.

(c) Pay to the board five percent of the total revenue from
all sales of spirits to retail licensees made during the month for
which the fee is due for the third year of licensure and every year
thereafter.

(4) An authorized representative out-of-state spirits importer
or brand owner for spirits produced in the United States but
outside of Washington state may obtain an authorized representative
certificate of approval license which allows the holder to ship
spirits to spirits distributors, or spirits importers located in
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Washington state. The fee for an authorized representative
certificate of approval for spirits 1s two hundred dollars per
year.

(5) An authorized representative out-of-state spirits importer
or brand owner for spirits produced outside of the United States
may ship spirits to licensed spirits distributors, or spirits
importers located in Washington state. The fee for an authorized
representative certificate of approval for foreign spirits is two
hundred dollars per year.

NEW SECTTION

WAC 314-23-040 What are the requirements for a certificate of
approval license? The following documents are required to obtain
a certificate of approval license:

(1) Copies of all permits required by the federal government;

(2) Copies of all state licenses and permits required by the
state in which your operation is located; and

(3) Licensing documents as determined by the board.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-041 What are the monthly reporting and payment
requirements for a spirits certificate of approval licensee? (1)
A spirits certificate of approval licensee must submit monthly
reports and payments to the board.

(2) The required monthly reports must be:

(a) On a form furnished by the board;

(b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or
payment due;

(c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the

twentieth day of each month, for the previous month. (For example,
a report listing transactions for the month of January is due by
February 20th.) When the twentieth day of the month falls on a

Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked
by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next postal business
day; and

(d) Filed separately for each liquor license held.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-042 What if a certificate of approval licensee
fails to report or pay, or reports or pays late? (1) If a spirits
certificate of approval 1licensee does not submit its monthly
reports and payment to the board as required by this subsection
(1), the licensee is subject to penalties.

(2) A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on any
payments postmarked after the twentieth day of the month following
the month of sale. When the twentieth day of the month falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked
by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next postal business
day.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-050 What does a spirits importer license allow?
(1) A spirits importer license 1is issued to an in-state spirits
importer. A spirits importer is allowed to:

(a) Import spirits into the state of Washington;

(b) Store spirits in the state of Washington;

(c) Sell spirits to spirits distributors; and

(d) Export spirits in original containers.

(2) An out-of-state spirits importer is required to obtain an
authorized representative certificate of approval 1license as
referenced in WAC 314-23-030.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-066, filed 9/15/10,
effective 10/16/10)

WAC 314-28-010 Records. (1) All distilleries licensed under
RCW 66.24.140 and 66.24.145, including craft, fruit, and laboratory
distillers must:

(a) ((Mzst)) Keep records ((comcerming)) regarding any
spirits, whether produced or purchased, for three years after each
sale. A distiller ((may—be)) is required to report on forms
approved by the board;

(b) ((Mosty)) In the case of spirits exported or sold,
preserve all bills of lading and other evidence of shipment;
((erd))

(c) ((Muost)) Submit duplicate copies of transcripts, notices,
or other data that ((are)) is required by the federal government to
the board if requested, within thirty days of the notice of such
request. A distiller shall also furnish copies of the bills of
lading, covering all shipments of the products of the licensee, to
the board within thirty days of notice of such request;

(d) Preserve all sales records to spirits retail licensees,
sales to spirits distributors, and exports from the state; and

(e) Submit copies of its monthly records to the board upon

request.
(2) In addition to the above, a craft distiller must:
(a) Preserve all sales records((—ftmr—the——case)) of retail

sales to consumers; and
(b) Submit ((duplipatc pupico uf)) its monthly ((f@fﬂ‘rﬁ's*))
records to the board upon request.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-28-030 Changes to the distiller and craft distiller
license. (1) Beginning March 1, 2012, all distilleries licensed
under RCW 66.24.140 and 66.24.145 may sell spirits of their own
production directly to a licensed spirits distributor in the state
of Washington and to a licensed spirits retailer in the state of
Washington.

(2) Beginning June 1, 2012, a distiller may sell spirits of
its own production to a customer for off-premises consumption,
provided that the sale occurs when the customer is physically
present at the licensed premises.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-0660, filed 9/15/10,
effective 10/16/10)

WAC 314-28-050 What does a craft distillery license allow?
(1) A craft distillery license allows a licensee to:

(a) Produce sixty thousand proof gallons or less of spirits
per calendar year. A "proof gallon" is one liquid gallon of
spirits that is fifty percent alcohol at sixty degrees Fahrenheit;

(b) Sell spirits of its own production directly to a customer
for off-premises consumption, provided that the sale occurs when
the customer is physically present on the licensed premises. A
licensee may sell no more than two liters per customer per day. A
craft distiller may not sell liquor products of someone else's
production;
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March 1, 2012, sell spirits of its own production to a licensed
spirits distributor;

(d) For sales on or after March 1, 2012, sell spirits of its
own production to a licensed spirits retailer in the state of
Washington;

((thr)) (e) Sell to out-of-state entities;

((t=r)) (f) Provide, free of charge, samples of spirits of its
own production to persons on the distillery premises. Each sample
must be one-half ounce or less, with no more than two ounces of

samples provided per person per day. Samples must be unaltered,
and anyone involved in the serving of such samples must have a
valid Class 12 alcohol server permit. Samples must be in

compliance with RCW 66.28.040;

((tfr)) (g) Provide, free of charge, samples of spirits of its
own production to retailers. Samples must be unaltered, and in
compliance with RCW 66.28.040, 66.24.310 and WAC 314-64-08001.
Samples are considered sales and are subject to taxes;

((tgr)) (h) Contract ((produced)) produce spirits for holders
of a distiller or manufacturer license.

(2) A craft distillery licensee may not sell directly to in-
state retailers or in-state distributors until March 1, 2012.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-0660, filed 9/15/10,
effective 10/16/10)

WAC 314-28-060 What are the general requirements for a craft
distillery license? Per RCW 66.24.140 and 66.24.145, a craft
distillery licensee is required to:

(1) Submit copies of all permits required by the federal
government;

(2) Submit other licensing documents as determined by the
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board;

(3) Ensure a minimum of fifty percent of all raw materials
(including any neutral grain spirits and the raw materials that go
into making mash, wort or wash) used in the production of the
spirits product are grown in the state of Washington. Water is not
considered a raw material grown in the state of Washington ( (7
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-0660, filed 9/15/10,
effective 10/16/10)

WAC 314-28-070 What are the monthly reporting and payment
requirements for a distillery and craft distillery license? (1) A
distiller or craft distiller must submit monthly reports and
payments to the board.

The required monthly reports must be:

(a) On a form furnished by the board ((UL e format anyuvcd

by tHre buaLd));

(b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or
payment due;

(c) Submitted, with payment due, to the board on or before the

twentieth day of each month, for the previous month. (For example,
a report listing transactions for the month of January is due by
February 20th.) When the twentieth day of the month falls on a

Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked
by the U.S. postal service no later than the next postal business
day; and

(d) Filed separately for each liquor license held.

(2) For reporting purposes, production is the distillation of
spirits from mash, wort, wash or any other distilling material.
After the production process is completed, a production gauge shall
be made to establish the quantity and proof of the spirits
produced. The designation as to the kind of spirits shall also be

made at the time of the production gauge. A record of the
production gauge shall be maintained by the distiller. The
completion of the production process is when the product is
packaged for distribution. Production quantities are reportable
within thirty days of the completion of the production process.
(3) ((Paylucuto tU t].lC }JUCLJ_CL. A kJLJ_DtJ_llCJ__Y lllubt Mpay t].lC
dJ.frcLCllL,C bctwccu t].lc L,UDt Uf t].lc GI.lL,U].lUl J:JU.J.L,].J.GLDCd b_y t].lc bUGLJ.d
cLJ.lkJL t].lC Dcl.lC Uf cleU].lUl cl.t t].lC CDtcLlJlJ_D].lCd J_CtCLJ_l LJLJ‘.&/C, lCDD t].lC
cotabliohcd L,Ull.lll.lJ'.DDJ’.Ull J.Gltc duJ.J’.llk:j t].lc J:JJ.CL,CdJ'.llk:j L,Gl.lclldGLJ. lllUllt].l,
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iupludiug oamylco at—1o phaLgc.)) On sales on or after March 1,
2012, a distillery or craft distillery must pay ten percent of
their gross spirits revenue to the board on sales to a licensee
allowed to sell spirits for on— or off-premises consumption during
the first two years of licensure and five percent of their gross
spirits revenues to the board in year three and thereafter.

.Y 4 ul ul ] N 4 4
(a) ((nu_y U= Tl T oTo od 1T ULl odllipIT P UV IUTU LU d CUSTUINSL " 1L'o

constadered—a—sate LCPULtablC to—the buaLd.)) On sales after June 1,
2012, a distillery or craft distillery must pay seventeen percent
of their gross spirits revenue to the board on sales to customers
for off-premises consumption.

(b) ( (Samylco J:JJ.UVJ’.dCd tU J_CtGLJ'.lCJ_D dLl T L,UllDJ'.dCJ_Cd Dalco
reportabte—to—the—board-

{c¥)) Payments must be submitted, with monthly reports, to the
board on or before the twentieth day of each month, for the
previous month. (For example, payment for a report listing
transactions for the month of January is due by February 20th.)
When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or
a legal holiday, payment must be postmarked by the U.S. postal
service no later than the next postal business day.

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 09-02-011, filed 12/29/08,
effective 1/29/09)

WAC 314-28-080 What if a distillery or craft distillery
licensee fails to report or pay, or reports or pays late? If a
distillery or craft distiller ((faifts—to)) does not submit its
monthly reports ((or)) and payment to the board( (;7or—submits—tates;
therr) ) as required in WAC 314-28-070(1), the licensee is subject to
penalties ((aud ouLcty buudo)).

((t3)) Penalties. A penalty of two percent per month will be
assessed on any payments postmarked after the twentieth day of the
month following the month of sale. When the twentieth day of the
month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing
must be postmarked by the U.S. postal service no later than the
next postal business day.
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AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 10-19-066, filed 9/15/10,
effective 10/16/10)

WAC 314-28-090 Distilleries or craft distilleries((—Selling
in—state;—retail pricing—and product—listing))--Selling out-of-
state ( (—Special——orders)). ( (tr—What——steps must—a——craft
Histild 15 b atcet 13 it et it} i .
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t2))) What are the requirements for a craft distillery
licensee to sell its spirits product outside the state of
Washington?

((t=r)) (1) A distillery or craft distillery licensee shall
include, in its monthly report to the board, information on the
product it produces in-state and sells out-of-state. Information
includes, but is not limited to, the amount of proof gallons sold,
and for a craft distillery, the composition of raw materials used
in production of the product.

((tr)) (2) Product produced in-state and sold out-of-state
counts toward a craft distillery licensee's sixty thousand proof
gallons per calendar year production limit (see WAC 314-28-050).

((f=r)) (3) Product produced in-state and sold out-of-state is
subject to the fifty percent Washington grown raw materials
requirement for a craft distillery.
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f=y)) (4) A distillery or craft distillery licensee is not
subject to Washington state liquor taxes on any product the
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licensee sells out-of-state.
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Good morning Madam Chairman, members of the Board, my name is
Rob Cofifman and I am here today representing Lincoln County as
Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners. I am also a small
business owner in the Town of Wilbur where my wife and I own and.
operate a contract liquor store.

I would like to discuss today the effects of Initiative-1183 and
the new WAC 314-02-106 specifically created to implement the
initiative. In paragraph 4 of the new WAC, I understand that the
Board has interpreted and determined that a Spirits Retail
Licensee musl pay to the Board, 17% of all spirit sales,
including non-retail sales to Class H Licensees.

It is very apparent. to me as well as anyone who has read
Initiative 1183 that one of its intents was to allow currently
existing contract stores to be able to continue to service Class
H Licensees in the same capacity as prior to the transition.
This is evidenced in several portions of the initiative
specifically Section 103 of RCW Chapter 66.24 that reads in
part: .no single sale may exceed twenty-four liters, unless the
sale is by a licensee that was a contract liquor store manager..

Again in WAC 314-20-106 1 ({(c) that allows sales to on-premises
retailers for resale

Again in WAC 314-02-106 paragraph 2, That requires a Federal
permit for resale at wholesale

More importantly is the language in Section 102 of RCW 66.24
paragraph 6 (b) that says in part.. The transition must include,
without limitation, a provision for applying revenues of the
Board to just and reasonable measures to avert harm to contract
liquor store operators.. (And), The provision may extend beyond
the transition period.

It is guite obvious that the 17% was intended only for retail
sales and not those sales intended for resale. In fact, I have
discovered through contacts at the OFM, that sales by contract
stores to class H licensees were not even calculated into the
equation when that office prepared their Fiscal Impact
Statement. The fact remains that no matter how the Board
interprets the initiative, there will be no net gain or loss to
the Board. This is a budget neutral issue. If the Board
determines the 17% applies to resale sales, any new spirit
retail licensees will be out of the business of selling spirits
for resale. Class H licensees simpliy will not pay an additional





17% for their product if they can buy it from a distributor and
not incur the fee. This will NOT avert harm. The only way the
Board would profit from this interpretation is if a Class H
licensee were mindless enough to actually buy from a spirits
retailer. That’s not going to happen.

However, it should be of benefit to a distributor in not making
the extra stops at the Class H locations. They will still sell
the same amount of product and net the same income.

The Contract Managers were specifically told at an informational
meeting facilitated by the Liquor Board in March in Ellensburg
and apparently on other occasions, that the ability to resell
product to Class H licensees would remain unchanged and the 17%
fee did not apply to those sales. Many, if not most store
managers, obtained financing based on this information brought
forth by representatives of the Board. It is apparent now that
many of these contract managers have either lost funding based
on this re-interpretation or have made the decision not to
continue on as a retail licensee because the business model
based on zero class H sales, simply does not work.

These sales account for a large portion of all contract store
sales; nearly $5100,000 per year in Lincoln County. If the 17%
applies to these sales, that is NOT averting harm. That is not
the intent of the initiative. .

Yes, the law allows for that sale to be made but realistically,
if the 17% applies, none of these sales will be made.

As I'm sure you know, and Mr. Marr, being from Spokane, a
neighbor to Lincoln County, I'm sure you are aware of the plight
of small, rural counties. Lincoln County relies primarily on
agriculture for its economy. We have no industry, urban areas or
even a stop light in the entire county. We rely heavily on small
business to provide services and also sales tax revenue to the
county. Loosing even one business could be catastrophic for any
one of our eight small communities. There are only four existing
contract stores in Lincoln County and I fear none are
sustainable if it is determined that the 17% fee applies as
mentioned.





Contract managers neced ample time to seek legislative relief as
the Craft Distillers did. They were not able to accomplish this
due to the adjournment of the legislature.

So, in the name of “averting harm”, now and beyond the
transition period, I am here today, again, representing myself,
Lincoln County and likely all contract managers, to respectfully
ask that the Board interpret the 17% fee, so that it applies to
all “retail” sales, as was obviously intended in the context of
I-1183. And/or, in the vefy least, delay for one year, the
collection of the 17% on sales to on-premise licensees.

Thank you for your time and consideration and thank you for your
support of the contract store managers during this difficult
transition.






Madam Chair - Board Members
My name is Jerry McAlpine. | am the contract manager/owner of CLS #685 in Allyn.

| have come forward to ask of you to reconsider the proposed WAC pertaining to the
17% fee on total sales of off premise retail spirits licensees. What | am suggesting is a
little different than you have heard before. I'm not asking you to change it from total
sales to just retail sales. 'm proposing that a sentence be added afier total sales that
state that former contract stores shall be exempt from the 17% fee on their sales to on
premises licensees. | have no wish to share this exemption with the new off premises
retaill spirit licensees. They have done nothing to earn it.

For more than seventy years we contract stores have faithfully served the LCB. Liquor
sales have raised hundreds and hundreds of millions of dollars for the state. We have
been a substantial part of that effort. The State of Washington is known nationally for
their excellence in enforcement of the laws regarding sales to minors. We have been a
substantial part of that effort. Now is the time for us to be recognized as we have been
in the writing of this initiative.

The Class H sales constitute approximately 25% of my revenues. For some contract
stores that percentage is lower, for some it is higher. This 17% fee on those sales does
not allow me to compete on a level playing field with the distributors, and | will lose
those sales. | have already laid off two employees in expectance of that ioss. Right now
I'm not sure | can remain a viable business without those sales. This exemption would
not guarantee me those sales, but it would at least give me a fighting chance, a level
playing field. This also would be revenue neutral to the state as there would be no fees
if there are no sales.

I'm not asking for you to change the intent of the initiative, but rather to adhere to the
obvious intent of the initiative as it pertains to the contract stores. The exemption for the
contract stores from the 24 liter rule is an obvious attempt to level our playing field
against the distributors, who are also exempt from that rule. More specifically [ refer you
to the initiative directive to the LCB to take just and reasonable measures to avert harm
to the contract stores. Giving us this exemption is certainly just and certainly reasonable
and it is within your power to make this change.

For seventy plus years we have been partners and have worked together for a common
goal. Now we are asking for your help working to strengthen your partners in business
for their fuiure. Please consider this change not only as an initiative directive, but also
as a Thank You for a job well done.

Thank you for your time and consideration.
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Washington $tate Liquor Contral Board
Dear Members,

My name is Roger Miller and | am the manager of contract liquor stare #551 in White
Salmon, WA, | am writing to voice my concerns regarding the interpratation of the 179% retail-
ta-retail ruling, since | am unable ta attend the meeting.

1183 says that harm should be averted if at all possible to contract liquor stores that are
going to enter the private sector. | beliave that the 17% retail-to-retail harms my business,
since | will now lase all my Class H accounts to wholesale distributers. These accounts are vital
to the continyance of my business.

White Salmon is located on the Oregon/ Washington horder. The new pricing structure
is going to push much of my business into Oregon because their prices will be significantly
lower. Therefore to offset our ovar-the-counter loss of sales, we need to keep our bar
accounts. Also, it is my belief that when you sell from one entity to another and that other
entity resale’s, we are acting as a wholesaler, since it is not directly being sold to the public.

I am located in a rural community (much of Washington is rural). The owners of our
Class H accounts are our friends and neighbors. They want to be able to continue to do
business with us instead of giving maoney to large corporate wholesalers. The money spent in
our cammunity, stays in our community. They now have no choice from a business stand point
but to go with the large wholesalers since | cannot campete with their price because of the
17%.

! urge you to please consider changing the rule that forces us to charge the 17% retail-
to-retail. Please stand up for the small business owners of Washingtan,

Thank you for your time,
Roger Mitier

CLS #551

a2






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

1. Justin Stiefel, Craft Distiller

Disagrees with the rule that craft distilleries are required to pay to the board 10% of all revenue for
sales to retail licensees and 17% of all revenues on sales to customers at their premises. Believes
the board is exceeding their authority in the drafting of this language.

2. Mike, private citizen

Same as number 1.

3.Mhairi Boelsgen, Ginko Distiller

Registered agents for the distillery should be able to deliver product from the trunk of their car to
retail licensees.

Craft distillers should not have to pay the 10% or 17% fees.

Craft distillers should not have any liability in the $150 million assessment.

4. Glen MacDonald, Craft Distiller

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

Allow craft distillers to sell more than 2 liters per person per day and charge the 17% on those
sales over 2 liters per person per day.

Craft distilers should not be required to pay the 10% fee on sales to retailers.

Craft distillers should not have any liability in the $150 million assessment.

Craft distillers should be able to charge for samples.

5. Ryan Hembree, Craft Distiller

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

Allow craft distillers to sell more than 2 liters per person per day and charge the 17% on those
sales over 2 liters per person per day.

Craft distilers should not be required to pay the 10% fee on sales to retailers.

Craft distillers should not have any liability in the $150 million assessment.

Craft distillers should be able to charge for samples.

6. Greg Hanon, Costco

Disagrees with the board's emergency rules on central warehousing. It is not for the LCB to impose
burdens not required or even authorized by the initiative.

7. Orlin Sorensen, Woodville Whiskey Co.

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

8. Hawkins Pingree, San Juan Island Dist.

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

9. Brian Morton, Second Chance Spirits, Inc.

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

10.

Mike Sherlock, Fremont Mischief Dist

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

11.

Sue Watts, Wishkah River Distillery

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

12.

Rod and Kathy Stallman, Distillers

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

13.

Dennis Robertson, Soft Tail Spirits, LLC

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

14.

KC Sheehan, Sodo Spirits Distillery

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

15.John Vissotzky, Double V Distillery

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

16.

Wendy and Will Bardes, Dukes Hill Dist.

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

17.

Larry Person, Sidetrack Distillery

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

18.

Beverly Heising, Whidbey Island Dist.

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

19.

Project V Distillery

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.

20.

Michael Klebeck, Sun Liquor Mfg.

Distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on sales to customers at the distillery
premises.

Distillers should be allowed to start selling their product to customers at the distillery premises
prior to June 1, 2012. They should be allowed to do this effective December 8, 2012.

21.

Jan Gee, Washington Food Industry

There should not be a requirement for a physical barrier in the central warehousing rules.

WFI does not agree with the requirements for a spirits retail license that the 10,000 square feet of
retail space cannot be "encumbered by a lease or rental agreement".

WEFI thinks the board should define "trade area" now rather than waiting until after June 1, 2012.
WFI would like to offer their industry expertise to assist in the development of an employee
training course.

The proposed rules do not address the $150 million assessment for spirits distributor licensees.

WFI believes that COA licensees that act as distributors should also be responsible for the $150 mill.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

22. David Wojnar, DISCUS

DISCUS urges the board to consider issuing rules that would:
Define 24 liters per single to "per on-premises licensed establishment per day" ;
Make available to supplier the brand data reports pertaining to purchases by on-premises
retailers from off-premises retailers;
Extend to spirits suppliers, distributors, and retailers the ability to engage in, at a minimum,
the same trade practices currently permitted for wine and beer;
Confirm that cross-ownership rules for wine and beer apply equally to spirits.

23. Michael Transue, CMAC

CMAC requests the board to define how often a spirits retail licensee can sell 24 liters in a single
sale to an on-premises licensee.

24. Bruce Beckett and Julia Clark, WRA

WRA requests the board remove language that limits a spirits retailer selling to an on-premises
licensees only one 24 liter single sale per day.

25. Joe Gilliam and Holly Chisa, NWGA

NWGA disagrees with the 24 liter per single sale per day language. The initiative did not limit the
number of single sale transactions.

NWGA agrees with the changes in the central warehousing rules.

NWGA disagrees with the 24 liter per single sale per day language. The initiative did not limit the
number of single sale transactions.

NWGA opposes the requirement for a spirits retail license that the 10,000 square feet of

retail space not be "encumbered by a lease or rental agreement".

NWGA is concerned with the requirement that there be physical security of spirits.

NWGA would like chain stores to be allowed to make one report for all licenses rather than
separte reports for each location.

NWGA believes all COA licensees regardless of authorized rep COA should be able to sell directly to
retail licensees and not pay the 10% fee. NWGA believes this is a clear misunderstanding of the
law and this fee should be removed from the proposed rules.

26. Becky Runyan, Black Heron Spirits

Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 17% fee on 2 liters per person per day.
Craft distillers should not be required to pay the 10% fee on sales to retailers.

27. John Moscrip, CCO, Duke's
John Thelen, Director of Ops, Duke's

Remove language that restricts retail-to-retail sales to one single sale per day.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

28.

Bruce Beckett and Julia Clark, WRA

WRA agrees with the central warehousing rules.

WRA disagrees with the 24 liter per single sale per day language and request the board remove the
limitation from the rule. Limiting sales will impede competition and hurt small businesses.

WRA disagrees with the requirement that spirits retail licensees pay 17% of all spirits sales. Sales
for resale must be exempt fro the 17% fee.

29.

Julia Clark, WRA

WRA is concerned about comments from WBWWA on quantity discounts at the 2/22/12 board
meeting.

30.

Mark Johnson, WA Retail Assn.

Object to the 24 liters per sale per day language. There should be no "per day" language.

31.

Karl Winchester, Owner, SunFire Grill

Object to the 24 liters per sale per day language. There should be no "per day" language.

32.

Craig Knebel, citizen

Object to the 24 liters per sale per day language. There should be no "per day" language.

33.

Kevin and Susan Danby, CLS 530

The rules don't mention that former contract liquor stores are exempt from the 24 liter single sale
per day. Confused by the retail to retail rules. Why does a retailer need a federal basic permit?

34.

Susan Johnson, Stoel Rives LLP

A spirits retail liquor licensee should be allowed to opt for a restriction on their license that limits
sales to consumers only.

35.

Katie Jacoy, Wine Institute

Persons participating in collective warehouse operations should not be permitted to pool their
purchases in order to secure quantity discounts.

36.

John Guadnola, WBWWA

Persons participating in collective warehouse operations should not be permitted to pool their
purchases in order to secure quantity discounts.

37.

David Wojnar, DISCUS

DISCUS does not support the spirits COA rules.

DISCUS agrees with the 24 liter single sale per day per on-premises licensee limit.

DISCUS urges the board to expand the on-premises retailer reporting requirement to include also
reporting to suppliers.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

38.

Mark Johnson, Washington Retail Assn.

Would like the board to allow a spirits retail restricted license which restricts the licensee from
selling spirits for resale to an on-premises licensee. A spirits retail restricted licensee would not
be required to obtain a federal basic permit.

39.

Pernelle Turnipseed, Owner, Rez Bev

Owner, Two Bears Trading Post

The 10,000 square foot requirement imposed by 1-1183 and the proposed rules fail to take tribal
land and tribal members interests into account. This requirement should not apply to spirits retail
stores on Washington tribal lands.

40.

Jerry McAlpine, President , Allyn Liquor

WAC 314-02-106(4) of the proposed rules: The 17% license fee due on all spirits revenues of a
spirits retail license holder. This fee should not apply to sales to on-premises licensees. 1-1183
stated the board was to "avert harm" to former contract liquor store managers and the 17% fee
will harm us.

41.

Tracey Schneringer, CLS 608

Same as #40.

42.

Patricia Fleming, CLS 570

Please reconsider the 17% licensee fee due on all spirits revenues. This is not a level playing field.

43.

Jan Wescott, President, Spirits Canada

WAC 314-23-030: COA license. All COAs (including authorized representatives of US or foreign
spirits) should be able to sell directly to Washington retailers.

44,

David Williamson, Scotch Whiskey Assn

Same as #43.

45.

William Earle, President

National Assn of Beverage Importers

Same as #43.

46. Keith Barnes, Bainbridge Organic Craft distillers should not be limited to 2 liters per person per day on sales to customers at the
Distillers distillery.
47. Jennifer Kreidler-Moss, citizen Alcohol locations should be limited in a population capacity. The number of retail sales outlets

should be limited with some set number of stores for every so many residents.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

48. John Spaccarotelli, The Shanty Tavern

Remove the per day language from the 24 liter limit of spirits from a spirits retailer to an
on-premises licensee. This will have a harmful impact to my business. Limiting an open,
competitive marketplace for spirits by restricting retail-to-retail sales to one transaction per day
is directly contradictory to what was approved by voters this past November.

49. LorriJones, The Blazing Onion Burger Co |Same as #48.
50. Mars Maynard, Hi-Life Ops Manager Same as #48.
51. Matt Kaplan, Mill Creek resident Same as #48.
52. Stuart Ellison, Broadway Group Same as #48.
53. Kerri Ulloa Same as #48.
54. Dennis Clark, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Fairmont Olympic Hotel, Seattle

55. James Townsend, Redmond resident Same as #48.

56. Sandip Soli, Attorney for WRA

WAC 314-02-103 (wine reseller retailer endorsement) and WAC 314-02-106 (spirits retailer license)
should not have a temporal limit of 24 liters per day per licensee. The board has misinterpreted
the legislative history. The board has not articulated any rational policy justifications for the
limitations. By imposing a temporal limitation, the board engages in impermissible legislating.

57. Dan Ewer, President, Young's Market NW

My company is a strong supporter of a temporal limit on retail-to-retail spirits sales. It would seem
obvious that the intent was not to allow customers to ring multiple transactions, 24 liters at a time.
Sales to on-premises accounts beyond 24 liters should be interpreted as a distributor role.

58. Rob Schneider, C. Stein Beverage

Supports the per day limit on retail-to-retail sales.

59. Craig Stein, C. Stein Distributing

Support the per day limit on retail-to-retail sales. If an off-premises retailer sells more than that
they should be required to hold a distributor license.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
60. Kevin Dickerson, Dickerson Distributing |Same as #57.
61. Dan Cowan, Owner, Tractor Same as #48.
62. Sam Worrell, R.U.Starvin Restaurants Same as #48.
63. Kenneth Belisle, President, Same as #48.
Landmark Restaurants
64. Rob Knode, Insurance Broker Same as #48.
65. Juston Watson, Stone Hut Bar & Grill Same as #48.
Red Monkey Downtown Lounge
66. Maureen Shaw, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Ray's Boathouse, Café and Catering
67. Russell E. Brent Same as #48.
68. Dustin Haffner, Owner Same as #48.
Boston's Restaurant & Sports Bar
69. Randy Thurman, Azteca Restaurants Same as #48.
70. Sheila Hedlund, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Lake Limerick Country Club
71. Charlie Olson Same as #48.
72. Bob Donegon, Ivar's Same as #48.
73. Buddy Butler, Balco's Insurance Same as #48.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
74. Karissa Bresheare, Gourmet Latte, Inc. |Same as #48.
75. Dawn Johnson, President, Ideal Food Same as #48.
Products
76. Carrie Van Dyck, The Herbfarm Same as #48.
Restaurant
77. John Platt, Owner & Executive Chef Same as #48.
St. Clouds Restaurant & Catering
78. Ted Furst, Le Grand Bistro Same as #48.

79. Tony Joyce

My experience dealing with liquor distributors in a state that requires their use is very negative.
| would not have voted for I-1183 if it did not allow me to buy from retailers that could deal
directly with distillers.

80. Penny and Gerry Manser Same as #48.
81. Brett Michaelson, VP Finance Same ad #48.
Lozier Homes Corporation

82. Jason D. Shorts Same as #48.
83. Tim Galvin Same as #48.
84. David M. Jacquet Same as #48.
85. Jennifer Tyler Same as #48.
86. David Fretz, President, Great American |Same as #48.

Gaming Corporation






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments

87. Erin Miller, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Longhorn Barbecue

88. Jay Cascio, Delfino's Chicago Style Pizza [Same as #48.

89. Steve Price, President, Arnies Same as #48.
Restaurants, NW Inc.

90. Brian McFadin, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Showbox at the Market/Showbox SoDo

91. Gary lverson Same as #48.

92. Neecha Munson Same as #48.

93. Rebecca Evenhus, Port Orchard resident |Same as #48.

94. Dave Montoure, Owner Same as #48.
West 5 Restaurant & Lounge

95. Terry Burmas Same as #48.

96. Cheryl Price, Director of Food & Bev Same as #48.
The Medallion Hotel

97. Thomas Sciortino, Owner Same as #48.
Wild Sage American Bistro

98. Juan C. Rodriguez, Owner Same as #48. | know this will have a very negative impact on my business.
El Sarape Mexican Restaurant chain

99. Linda Dagley, Jones Catering Same as #48.






Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
100. Jar Arcand, Santigo's Gourmet Same as #48.
Mexican Restaurant
101. Mark Mundel, Gen' Manager Same as #48.
Red Lion Hotel at the Park/River Inn
102. Frances Lumm, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Arnie's Restaurant
103. R. Bruce Nielsen, Issaquah resident Same as #48.
104. Eric L. Nelson, Lynden resident Same as #48.
105. Pat DeVries, President, Same as #48.
DeVries Business Services
106. Aretha Alexander, Lake Forest Park Same as #48.
107. Laura A. Rodgers Same as #48.
108. David Skidmore, Pioneer House, Inc. Same as #48.
109. Jeff Meager, Owner/Operator Same as #48.
Elk Public House & 2-7 Public House
110. Paul F. Mackay, Jr., John L. Scott Same as #48.
Real Estate
111. Robert A. Bonina, Sommelier Same as #48.
112. Melanie Veazey, Burgermaster Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
113. Chris Siemens, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Luna Restaurant and Catering
114. Linda Freed, Calico Cupboard Same as #48.
Restaurants
115. lanT. Coffer, Manager Same as #48.
Porthole Pub Bar & Grill
116. Daryl Wainman, San Juan Lanes Bar Same as #48.
and Grill
117. Pat Davis Same as #48.
118. Kismet Kaine Same as #48.
119. Dan Sutton, The Cottage Inn Same as #48.
120. Peter Cummings, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.

Coho Café, Issaquah

121. Steve Papadakis, Dirty Dan Harris
Steakhouse

Same as #48. There is no language in the initiative that provides for or allows the LCB to start

making changes to manipulate competition.

122. Nick Simonton, Small business owner |Same as #48.
123. Kara Szigeti, Gen'l Manager Same as #48.
Coho Café - Redmond

124. Jim Cross, Bruno's Family Restaurant  |Same as #48.
125. Debra Smith, President Same as #48.

Home Destination Relocation
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
126. Stephen Frazzini Same as #48.
127. John Murray Same as #48.
128. Steve White Same as #48.
129. Kari Whitney, Tacoma resident Same as #48.
130. Trevor L. McAllister Same as #48.
131. Andrea Grant Same as #48.

132.

Tom Douglas

Find it in you souls to do the right thing for the restaurateurs in the state and don't change the
wording of 1183. By giving the retailers retail-to-retail access we can hope to keep the
distributors in some sort of check. Please err on the side of the consumers and the folks like us in
the trenches running the engine of our economy trying to make a living.

133.

R. Savage I, Benton County voter

Please refrain from amending the will of the people. We the people keep attempting to limit
government and government keeps telling us we don't care what you voted for, we know better.
You only care about your interest and | want you to care about ours.

134.

Callaway Van Decar

Same as #48.

135.

Joshua Jarboe

Please understand the importance and significance of the law as it stands on the books and know
that any changes you make to it will be in defiance of the people. | am imploring you to respect
what we've done. The time for amending the law has passed. It's time to start respecting it.

136. Elizabeth Lundgren Same as #48.
137. Kris and Ray Goble Same as #48.
138. Derek Allyn Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments

139. William Swigart, Tacoma resident Same as #48.
140. Steve Same as #48.
141. Julie Kamins Sanders Same as #48.
142. Brent Healy Same as #48.
143. Ken Cowan, Woodinville resident Same as #48.
144. David Jensen, Bellevue resident Same as #48.
145. Dianne Fuller Same as #48.
146. Jessica Dreier Same as #48.
147. Tom Russell Same as #48.
148. John Lockhart Same as #48.
149. Peter Gallin, Chef & Owner Same as #48.
Applewood Restaurant & Bar

150. Catherine & Joseph A. Salomone Same as #48.
151. Marc Matthews Same as #48.
152. Jeremy Holt Same as #48.
153. Elisabeth James, The Westin Seattle Same as #48.
154. David Beck, Seattle resident Same as #48.
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Name Comments

155. Doug Marcoux Same as #48.
156. Erin Comer Same as #48.
157. Jason Reinhart Same as #48.
158. John Hunt Same as #48.
159. Andrew Marshall Same as #48.
160. Andrew "Swanee" Swanson, Same as #48.
Exec. Committee, Spokane WRA

161. Constantine Papadakis, Bellingham Same as #48.
162. Paula O'Brien Same as #48.
163. Julie D. Chin Same as #48.
164. Audrey Fredson Same as #48.
165. James Agidius Same as #48.
166. Jeff & Tessie Thompson Same as #48.
167. Julianne Billington Same as #48.
168. Ursula Quinn Same as #48.
169. David M. Jacquet Same as #48.
170. David Fennewald, Kingston resident Same as #48.
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Name Comments

171. Gary M. Woodring, Bellevue resident [Same as #48.

172. Morgan Terrill, Rib City Grill Same as #48.

173. Anthony Witecki Same as #48.

174. Margie Nash Same as #48.

175. Kathryn Albrecht Same as #48.

176. Doug Alexander Same as #48.

177. Jonathan MacKerron Do not amend I-1183. The proposed changes would eliminate competition and drive prices higher.
178. Zach Shelton Same as #48.

179. Robert Zangar, Spokane resident Sames as #48.

180. Mandy Dailey Same as #48.

181. Barbara Szcaachor Same as #48.

182. Justin Toombs Same as #48.

183. Tom Nielsen Same as #48.

184. Cynthia Estep Same as #48.

185. Judy Schmidt Same as #48.

186. David Cookson Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments

187. Jim Lovett Same as #48.
188. David Slater Same as #48.
189. Walker Sandin, Art & Fire Performance [Same as #48.
BBQ

190. Michael Same as #48.
191. John Schmidt, Neighborhood Grills Same as #48.
192. Dan Johnson Same as #48.
193. Phillip & Cecilia Hughes, Wilcox House |Same as #48.
Country Inn

194. Tom Smith Same as #48.
195. Frank Fourno Same as #48.
196. Dorothy Reeck, Roanoke Inn Same as #48.
197. Shannon Jaynes, Roanoke Inn Same as #48.
198. Jeanne Kinney, The Pink Door Same as #48.
199. Greg Gillard, Thin Pig Media Same as #48.
200. Brian Same as #48.
201. Thomas W. Corey, Seattle resident Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
202. John Carnan, Auburn resident Same as #48.
203. Frank D. Reed, Kent resident Same as #48.
204. Diane L. Pruett Same as #48.
205. Jacqueline M. Reed Same as #48.
206. Gary Bodine Same as #48.
207. Kris Palmerton, VP, Coastal Industrial |Sme as #48.
Services
208. Ronald W. Tutt Same as #48.
209. Jim Dillion, Kirkland resident Same as #48.
210. Steve Simmons, The Country Same as #48.
Gentleman Restaurant and Catering
211. Robert H. Templeton Same as #48.
212. Josh Hensley Same as #48.
213. Kathy Groff Same as #48.
214. Phil Hunter, Port Orchard resident Same as #48.
215. Roger Stilson, President, Mama Same as #48.
Stortini's Specialty Restaurants
216. Jessie Summa-Kusiak, Skylark Café Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments

217. Lynda Johnson-Pearl Same as #48.

218. Helen Brooks, Mgr., Sportsman Café Same as #48.

219. Pat Woolcock, Chuckanut Manor Same as #48.

Seafood and Grill

220. Stephen M. Long Same as #48.

221. Carol Anne Lee, Operations Mgr, Same as #48.

Ray's Boathouse Café & Catering

222. Tom Burgess, Thai Bamboo Restaurant |Same as #48.

223. David Meinert, The 5 Point Café

Allowing retail to retail sales is good for restaurants and bars.

224. Steve Townsend, Sammamish resident |Same a #48.

225. Cheryl Rogers, Howard Rogers, and Same as #48.
David Yoder, Owners, Brown Lantern

226, Tex Strizic, Gen'l Mgr, Brown Lantern [Same as #48.
227. Karen Turner Same as #48.

228. Michele Stachowiak

Leave |-1183 as it is written. It's long overdue for the state to to get out of the liquor business. For
you to try and impose limits on retail to retail sales completely defies the intent of the bill.

229. Rob Scarber, Gen'l Mge, Canyons

Same as #48.

230. Tom Small, Exec Chef, Lobster Shop
Dennis Driscoll, Owner, Lobster Shop

Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

231. Mike Bitondo, Garage

Make the decision to leave the initiative as it was presented to the voters and let the market sort

it out.

232. Anthony Frazier Same as #48.
233. Monique Same as #48.
234. Christy Smith, Gen'l Mgr, Same as #48.
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Seattle

235. Chad Mackay, President, El Gaucho Same as #48.
236. Pam Allen, Past President, Anacortes [Same as #48.
Chamber of Commerce

237. Trevor Blackwell, Twigs Bistro and Same as #48.

Martini Bar

238. Alex Bradley, Seattle resident

Please stick to the initiative as passed. Tinkering with the initiative via rule language is not
constructive and diminishes my trust in the LCB and questions their motives.

239. Helen Torgeson

Same as #48.

240. Shawn Selander

Same as #48.

241. Becca Lou

LCB, reject changes to I-1183,

242. Terry D. Stout, Deer Park resident Same as #48.
243. Steven Waddle Same as #48.
244. Howard A. Perkins Same as #48.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name Comments
245.Gina Mordeaux, Director, State Gov't Same as #48.
Affairs
246. Reggie Frederick, Tacoma resident Same as #48.
247. Heather Underwood, Co-owner, Same as #48.
Powerhouse Grill
248. Adam Goetz Same as #48.
249. Craig T. Baker, Spokane resident Same as #48.
250. James E. Brossard Same as #48.
251. Max Johnston Same as #48.
252. Susan R. Rogers, Managing Director Same as #48.
Club Managers Association of America
253. Roberta Greer Same as #48.
254. Marilene Cannon Same as #48.
255. Herb Baze, The Strip Steak House Same as #48.

256. Ron Schmitt

| urge you to follow the will of the people through I-1183.

257. Kenneth Shore, Red Lion Hotels Same as #48.
258. Roy Atizado, Chop Suey Same as #48.
259. Patrick Murphy Shimon, Red Lion Same as #48.

Hotels, Spokane
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

260.

Mike Erlandson, VP Gov't Affairs

Greg Miller, Area VP, Supervalue

We strongly encourage the board to make sure the implementation of this important initiative is
done in a way that benefits all consumers by ensuring both independent stores, via wholesale
relationships like those we have, as well as chains like Albertson's, see the benefits of a
streamlined distribution model that treats everyone the same and does not benefit one company
to the detriment of others.

261. Dawn Balogh, CLS 521 Orting Oppose 17% license fee on sales to on-premises licensees.

262. Harold Van Alsburg, CLS 574, Everson |Reverse your proposed rule that requires the 17% license fee be paid on sales to on-premsies
licensees. This will have a negative impact on my business.

263. Contract Liquor Store 537 Same as #261

264. Chris Nash, Gen'l Mgr, Zeppoz Same as #48.

265. Scott Perry, Canyon's Restaurant Do not gie the distributors a competitive edge by limiting the amount of retail to retail sales we
can purchase as we are struggling enough as it is trying to make money in the state.

266. Janine Elliott, GM Blazing Onion Burger [Same as #48.

267. Vipul Shah, Murphy's Pub Same as #48.

268. Bryan Jarr, Madison Park Conservatory |Same as #48.

269. Nancy Garvin, Blazing Onion Burger Co |Same as #48.

270. Jessica Edwards, Ponti Seafood Grill Same as #48.

271.

Greg Hanon, Costco

We strongly urge the board not to proceed in this area. The plain language of the initiative is not
subject to change by rulemaking. That language does not admit of any limitation on sales for resale
other than 24 liters in a single sale. There is no requirement of temporal or other limitations in the
language other than that the sales be separate.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

272. Joe Gilliam & Holly Chisa, NW Grocery
Association

Opposes the 24 liter limit per sale per day per on-premises licensee for wine and spirits.

Opposes the language that requires a spirits retailer licensed premises to be at least 10,000 square
feet of fully enclosed space and may not count space within the store that is leased or rented to
another entity.

Opposes the requirement that a store must provide training and physical security of spirits.

They would like monthly reporting requirements to allow an entity to make one report for all of
their stores rather than a separate report for each location.

Opposes the application of the 10% fee to sales between a COA and a retailer.

273. David E. Wojnar, VP, DISCUS

Oppose the rule as currently drafted for COAs and the added endorsement that allows for direct
shipment to retailers. Authorized Rep COAs should also be allowed to sell directly to retailers.
Oppose the rule as currently drafted that requires COAs that sell direct to retailers to pay to the
board 10% of their spirits sales revenues.

Support the 24 liter limit per sale per day to an on-premises licensee.

The board needs to expand the on-premises retailer reporting obligation to include reporting to
all suppliers.

274. William Jollie, President.
Jollies Restaurant and Lounge

Same as #48.

275. Jason Townsend, Redmond resident

This initiative should not be violated in any way shape or form. The people have spoken.

276. Robert Stevens, Seattle businessman

Regarding the 24 liter limit per sale per day per on-premises licensee - | suggest that purchase
records should be available for inspection by the board, either separately or as part of a normal
audit.

277. John Hinman, Cost Plus World Market

Same as #38.

278. Leslie Cushman, Marine View Ventures

Prior contract liquor stores should be exempt from the 17% license fee. Central warehousing rule
should be clearer.

279. Katherin meade, CLS 526

Former contract liquor stores should be exempt from the 17% license fee.
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Comments on Rulemaking to Implement 1183

Name

Comments

280. Linda Thrasher, CLS 542

Same as #279.

281. Jim Finkle, FIVS

An authorized representative spirits COA should be allowed to ship directly to retailers.

282. Calz. Lazaro Casrdenas, Tequila
Industry

Same as #281.

283. James & Shana Canterbury, The Spirit
Mine Liquor Store

Same as #279.

284.Chris Brown, Summit Law Group

Disagree with the board's interpretation of the 17% license fee. The fee should only apply to retail
sales.

285. Washington Restaurant Association
(88 licensees signed the letter)

Disagree with a temporal limit on spirits sales to on-premises.

286. Sandip Soli, WRA

Same as #56.

287. Michael Cho, Premium Retail Group

Disagree wtiht he boards rules regarding the 17% license fee on sales to on-premises licensees.

288. Theresa Hancock, CLS 544

Same as #279.
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Washington State
Liquor Control Board

Date: May 24, 2012

To: Sharon Foster, Board Chair
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member
Chris Marr, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Alan Rathbun, Licensing Director

Subject: Approval for filing proposed rule (CR 102) allowing minors in
restaurants with cinemas under certain conditions

This rulemaking is the result of a stakeholder petfition to the board.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the proposed rules (CR 102) for the rule
making described above. An issue paper on this rule was presented at the Board
meeting on May 24, 2012, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

May 24, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR

: 102 filing)

June 20, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list .

July 11, 2012 Public hearing held

July 11, 2012 End of written comment period

July 18, 2012 Board is asked to adopt rules

July 18, 2012 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

July 18, 2012 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

August 18, 2012 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)

CR 102 Restaurants with Cinemas 1 5/24/12
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper
Rulemaking on Restaurants with Cinemas and Minors

Date: May 24, 2012 , |
Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the
proposed rule (CR 102) to allow minors in restaurants with cinemas under
certain conditions,

Why is rule making necessary?

Kevin and Kate Spitzer, the liquor licensees at Central Cinema, located at 1411
21% Ave., Seattle WA, sent a petition to the board requesting a change to WAC
314-02-027 to allow minors in the dinner theater venue. WAC 314-02-051 also
needs to be addressed in this request. The rules currently prohibit minors in
theater venues that allow alcohol service and consumption.

What changes are being proposed?

New Section. WAC 314-03-050 Non-patron participation entertainment
at a spirits, beer, and wine restaurant or a beer and/or wine restaurant.
Allows minors in restaurant premises with cinemas under certain conditions.

Attachment: WAC 314-03-050

Issue Paper — CR 101 Restaurants with Cinemasi 4/4/12





New Section. 314-03-050 Limited patron participation entertainment at a spirits,
beer, and wine restaurant or a beer and/or wine restaurant. (1) A spirits, beer, and
wine restaurant or a beer and/or wine restaurant may provide entertainment with limited
physical participation by patrons in the dedicated dining area of their licensed premises.
Examples of this form of permitted entertainment include text messaging to movie
screens, non-patron skits, and comedy acts. Patron dancing, karaoke, and other
entertainment that has significant patron participation do not fit the definition of limited
patron participation. Such limited patron participation is permitted under the following
conditions:

(a) The dedicated dining area meets the following criteria:
(i) Wait staff provides table service to patrons which includes interaction; and
(ii) Lighting requirements outlined in WAC 314-11-085.

(2) Licensees must submit a request to the board’s licensing and regulation division to
provide non-patron participation entertainment in the dedicated dining area of their
premises.

(a) The licensee may begin the activity as soon as the approval is received.

(b) Board approval will be based on the request meeting the requirements
outlined in this section.

(3) Minors are allowed after 11pm in the dining area of a premises that has received
approval as referenced in this section.
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Washington State
4 Liquor Control Board

Date: May 24, 2012

To: Sharon Foster, Board Chairman
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member
Chris Marr, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Alan Rathbun, Director, Licensing and Regulation
Justin Nordhorn, Chief, Enforcement and Education

Subject: Approval for filing a pre-proposal statement of inquiry (CR 101) to
create rules for the $150 million assessment

Rulemaking is needed to develop permanent rules to clarify the $150 million
assessment to be paid by persons holding a spirits distributor license created in
Initiative 1183 (RCW 66.24.055).

By IVIarch 31, 2013, Initiative 1183 directs all persons holding spirits distributor licenses
on or before March 31, 2013, to pay to the board $150 million (or more) in spirits
distributor license fees. Rules are needed to develop this process.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the pre-proposal statement of inquiry
(CR 101) for the rule making described above. An issue paper on this rule was
presented at the Board meeting on May 24, 2012, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

May 24, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the pre-proposal
statement of inquiry (CR 101).

June 20, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

June 20, 2012 End of written comment period

July 11, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)

August 1, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

August 22, 2012 Public hearing held

CR 101 — $150 million assessment 1 _ 5/24/12





August 22, 2012

End of written comment period

August 29, 2012

Board is asked to adopt rules

August 29, 2012

Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

August 29, 2012

Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

September 29, 2012

Rules are effective (31 days after filing)
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper

Rulemaking on $150 million assessment

Date: May 24, 2012

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator
Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the
first stage of rule making (CR 101) to develop permanent rules to clarify the

$150 million assessment to be paid by persons holding a spirits distributor license
created in Initiative 1183 (RCW 66.24.055).

Why is rule making necessary?
By March 31, 2013, Initiative 1183 directs all persons holding spmts distributor
licenses on or before March 31, 2013, to pay to the board $150 million (or more)
in spirits distributor license fees. The license fees are derived from the ten
percent of the total revenue for all the licensee’s sales of spirits made during the
first year. If the collective payment totals less than $150 million, the board must
collect by March 31, 2013 as additional license fees the difference between $150
million and the actual receipts. Rules are needed to develop this process.

Process

The rule making process begins by announcing LCB’s intent to propose new rules
by filing a CR 101 form. This allows staff and stakeholders to begin discussing
new rules. At the CR 101 stage of the process, no proposed language is offered.
The public may comment on the subject of this rulemaking during the designated
comment period. Notice will be sent to all who have indicated that they want to
receive notice of rule changes. The notice will identify the public comment
period and where comments can be sent. Based on public input received, staff
will draft proposed changes for presentation to the Board at the next phase of
the rule making process.

CR 101 - $150 million assessment 1 ) 5/24/12
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Washington State
Liquor Control Board

:

Date: May 24, 2012

To: Sharon Foster, Board Chairman
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member
Chris Marr, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Alan Rathbun, Director, Licensing and Regulation
Justin Nordhorn, Chief, Enforcement and Education

Subject: Approval for filing a pre-proposal statement of inquiry (CR 101) to
define “trade area” as created in Initiative 1183

Permanent rules are needed to define “trade area” in RCW 66.24.630 which was
created with the passing of Initiative 1183. A definition is needed to determine if a
location for a spirits retail license in a premises less than 10,000 square feet of retail
space meets the requirements for the license.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the pre-proposal statement of inquiry
(CR 101) for the rule making described above. An issue paper on this rule was
presented at the Board meeting on May 24, 2012, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

May 24, 2012 Board is asked toc approve filing the pre-proposal
statement of inquiry (CR 101).

June 20, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to

' rules distribution list

June 20, 2012 End of written comment period _

July 11, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing) e

August 1, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

August 22, 2012 Public hearing held

August 22, 2012 End of written comment period

August 29, 2012 Board is asked to adopt rules

CR 101 —“Trade area” definition 1 5/24/12





August 29, 2012

Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

August 29, 2012

Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

September 29, 2012

Rules are effective (31 days after filing) -

I/Approve

v Approve

v/ Approve

Attachment: Issue Paper
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Washington State Liguor Control Board

Issue Paper

Definition of “trade area”

Date: May 24, 2012

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue
The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file
permanent rules to define “trade area” in [-1183 (RCW 66.24.631).

Why is emergency rule making necessary?

Permanent rules are needed to define “trade area” in RCW 66.24.630 whlch was
created with the passing of Initiative 1183. A definition is needed to determine if
a location for a spirits retail license in a premises less than 10,000 square feet of
retail space meets the requirements for the license. Liquor license application for
spirits retail licenses in a premises less than 10,000 square feet cannot be
processed until we have a definition for “trade area”.

Process

The rule making process begins by announcing LCB’s intent to propose new rules
by filing a CR 101 form. This allows staff and stakeholders to begin discussing
new rules. At the CR 101 stage of the process, no proposed language is offered.
The public may comment on the subject of this rulemaking during the designated
comment period. Notice will be sent to all who have indicated that they want to
receive notice of rule changes. The notice will identify the public comment
period and where comments can be sent. Based on public input received, staff
will draft proposed changes for presentation to the Board at the next phase of
the rule making process.

CR 101 ~ “Trade Area” definition 1 ' 5/24/12
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Washingfon State
Liquor Control Board

Date: May 24, 2012

To: Sharon Foster, Board Chair
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member
Chris Marr, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Justin Nordhorn, Enforcement and Education Director
Alan Rathbun, Licensing and Regulation Director

Subject: Apprdval for filing a pre-proposal statement of inquiry (CR 101) to
develop Brief Adjudicative Proceeding (BAP) rules

The Administrative Procedures Act (RCW 34.05.482) gives agencies the ability to utilize
an abbreviated administrative hearing process Brief Adjudicative Proceeding (BAP)
where the issues or interests involved do not warrant use of full adjudicative procedure.
Rules are needed to create a BAP for the Liguor Control Board.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the pre-proposal statement of inquiry
(CR 101) for the rule making described above. An issue paper on this rules review was
presented at the Board meeting on May 24, 2012, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

May 24, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the pre-proposal
statement of inquiry (CR 101).

June 20, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

June 20, 2012 End of written comment period :

July 11, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)

August 1, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to

_ rules distribution list

August 22, 2012 Public hearing held

August 22, 2012 End of written comment period

August 29, 2012 Board is asked to adopt rules

CR 101 BAP 1 ' 5/24/12





August 29, 2012 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

August 29, 2012 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

September 29, 2012 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)

__/ Approve Disapprove et/ /o

Sharon Foster, Chairman Dat

v’ Approve Disapprove WM S/Z‘T/ ta.

Ruthann Kuroge, Board Member Date
/ Approve Disapprove

S’/ (24 /l*r_/

ChrtsMarr, Board Member Date
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper

Rulemaking for a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding (BAP)
Date: , May 24, 2012

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator
Description of the Issue:

The purpose of this issue paper is to request approval from the Board to file the

first stage of rulemaking {(CR 101) to develop new rules for a Brief Adjudicative
Proceeding (BAP).

Background:

The Liquor Control Board, like other state agencies, is required to give “due
process” to any action which might be aggrieved by a licensee or applicant. The
Administrative Procedures Act (RCW 34.05.482) gives agencies the ability to
utilize an abbreviated administrative hearing process (Brief Adjudicative
Proceeding BAP) where the issues or interests involved do not warrant use of full
adjudicative procedure. This process will not normally utilize an administrative
law judge and often is performed by simply submitting a written appeal rather
than oral testimony.

ESSB 5921 passed in the 2011 legislative session. This bill directs the LCB to
suspend the license of a tavern, nightclub, or beer/wine specialty shop licensee if
DSHS notifies the board that the licensee has an ATM machine that allows the
use of EBT cards.

HB 2758 passed in the 2012 legislative session. This bill allows DOR to direct
the LCB to suspend and refuse to renew a license if the taxpayer is more than 30
days delinquent in reporting or remitting taxes.

This rulemaking will identify these specific instances and others where the Liquor
Control Board may use BAP in lieu of the more formal hearing process.

Process

The rule making process begins by announcing LCB's intent to propose new
rules by filing a CR 101 form. This allows staff and stakeholders to begin
discussing new rules. No proposed language is offered at this stage. The public
may comment during the designated comment period. Notice will be sent to all
who have indicated that they want to receive notice of rule changes. The notice
will identify the public comment period and where comments can be sent. Based
on public input received, staff will draft new rules for presentation to the Board at
the next phase of the rule making process.

CR 101 - BAP 5/24/12
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