7> Washington State

’" Liquor and Cannabis Board

Please see instructions below for
nonprofit webinar starting at 2:00 pm.

Please choose the option to call in or have WebEx call you.
We will not be using the “raise hand” feature.

Please use the chat instead by clicking on the talking bubble icon
on the top right of your screen.

Staff will be monitoring your questions that come in via chat.

Please send your questions via the chat to either LCB 1 or LCB 2,
and we will address them either during the presentation or after
it is concluded, just stay on your phone line after the slide
portion of the presentation is concluded.
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Creating Successful Events with
Alcohol in WA State

Special Occasion Licenses & Non-Profits
Working with promoters
Manufacturers and Distributors

Wine Walls
Raffling alcohol
Banquet Permits and Caterers
Cannabis at events
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Public Safety

Liguor may not be sold, served, or supplied to anyone under
21 years of age.

Intoxicated persons may not consume, possess, or purchase
liquor.

Disorderly conduct is not allowed.
No sales, service or consumption between 2 a.m. and 6 a.m.

Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) Permits are not
required, but encouraged under Special Occasions or Banquet
Permits.
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Public Safety Laws

e You, as the special occasion liquor license holder, are
responsible for the conduct of your patrons.

* Public safety violations can be criminally and administratively
levied against the license holder.

e Sale of alcohol to a minor is punishable by a $5,000 fine
and/or a year in jail (maximum).

e Over-service, lewd conduct or disorderly conduct carry similar
fines and penalties.

e Liquor officers, and state and local police have the right to
inspect your premises.
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Special Occasion License

Allows a non profit to sell or serve alcohol to raise
funds up to 12 times per year.

Examples of events include fundraising dinners, gala
events, auctions, and wine tastings.

The Non Profit group must be organized and operated
for charitable, religious, social, political, educational,
civic, fraternal, athletic, or benevolent purposes.
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How Non-Profits apply

e Cost: S60 per day, per location.

e Applications are available:

— The WSLCB website at www.lcb.wa.gov
— By calling the WSLCB at (360) 664-1600.

 Mail your completed application and fee

45 days before your event to:
Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board
P.O. Box 43085
Olympia, WA 98504-3085



http://www.liq.wa.gov/
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Local Authority

e The WSLCB is required to notify the city or
county authority (i.e. mayor) of the date,
time, and location of your event.

e State law (RCW 66.24.010) gives the local
authority 20 days to respond with an
approval or objection to your application.

e If they do not have the full 20 days, we
cannot issue your license without their
approval.
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Proceeds from Liquor Sales

e All proceeds from the sale of liquor must go directly
back into the non-profit organization.

e The proceeds may not be paid directly or indirectly
to members, officers, or trustees of the
organization.

 The organization may compensate members,
officers, or trustees for services they perform at the
event at the prevailing market rate.
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Public and Civic Events

1. Special Occasion Event - Strictly Non-Profit event.

e This event is organized and developed solely by
the non-profit.

* The non- profit obtains the proceeds of entire
event.

e Industry members may NOT sponsor an event
held by the non- profit if that non-profit holds a
special occasion liquor license.
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Public and Civic Events

2. Public and Civic Event - Event Coordinator- event is
introduced and developed by an Event Coordinator.

e Any individual or organization may organize a public
event.

* A Non- profit may be invited to be present as a special
occasion licensee, all proceeds from the sale of alcohol
are retained by the non-profit.

e Industry members (alcohol manufacturers and
distributors) may sponsor public and civic events. Event
Coordinators may not sponsor alcohol related activities
such as beer gardens.

e See WAC 314-52-130 for additional rules.
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Non Profit Events

Working with Promoters

= Non- profits may have a 37 party person promote
their event.

= A promoter or for-profit company may not “buy”
your license in order to have alcohol at an event.

" Promoters are considered employees of the non-
profit. The non-profit is responsible for what the
promoter does.

= Tickets to the event are ran and collected by the
non-profit. The promotion company may not sell
tickets that include alcohol.
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Non Profit Events

Working with Promoters continued.......

= Alcohol distributors/or manufactures may not
give funds directly or indirectly to the Special
Occasion Licensee or their employees.

" Promoters may not accept sponsorship dollars
for the Special Occasion licensee holder.

" Promoters may not accept alcohol product.
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Alcohol at the Event

You may not advertise or sell alcohol below cost.

You may not make awards or gifts of alcohol.

If the event is held at a liquor-licensed location, the licensee
may not sell or serve their liquor in the same room to event
guests (law doesn’t allow two licenses at the one location).

only alcohol from a licensed manufacturer may be sold at a
public event--no homemade alcohol may be sold or served.
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Beer, Wine & Spirits

" Alcohol may be purchased from:
e Any licensed distributor
e Manufacturer (winery, brewery, distillery)
e Orretailer = at retail price

= Alcohol may be donated by a winery, brewery, distillery,
or spirits from a spirits distributor if your organization is
registered as a “501 (C) 3” or a “501 (C) 6” and you
provide a copy of your IRS letter to the WSLCB.
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On Premise Sales

You may sell spirts, beer and wine by the individual
serving, or sell bottles of wine for on premise
consumption.

On Premise sales can be made either by cash bar or in
ticket sales prior to the event.

Ticket sales must include the exact amount of drinks the
guest is getting and the cost must be covered in the price
of the ticket.

Enforcement Officers have the right to ask for a
breakdown of the ticket cost to confirm how much is
being charged for alcohol.
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Off Premises Sales

= Special Occasion Licensees may sell beer, wine and
spirits by the manufacturer sealed bottle for off —
premises consumption with approval from the
Board.

= Off-premises sales and live auctions must be in
conjunction with on-premises beverage sales.

= Silent auctions do not require on-premises sales,
but do require a Special Occasion License.

= Auctioned alcohol can not be consumed at the
event.
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Ring Toss’s and Wine Walls

Ring Tosses & Wine Wall are considered a “sale” of
alcohol, therefore you need a Special Occasion license
to have one at your event.

Alcohol can’t be sold for less than wholesale cost under
a Special Occasion license, therefore the ticket must
cost as much as the most expensive bottle they might
get.

You must consult with the Gambling Commission about
Raffles, Wine Walls and Ring Tosses.
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Raffles

Raffles of alcohol cannot be conducted at a public
event.

A raffle of alcohol can only be done with your nonprofit
members.

You must apply for a raffle permit with the WSLCB.

You can apply for a one-time permit or an annual raffle
permit.

Again, you must consult with the Gambling
Commission about Raffles, Wine Walls and Ring
Tosses.
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Manufacturers and Distributors

May accept returns and refunds of unused product, if they
choose to.

May accept payment for product immediately following event
(winery/brewery/distillery).

May pay booth fees (winery/brewery/distillery).

May provide product education at event (must have Agent’s
license if distributor, brewery, distillery, COAs or winery’s
indirect employees).

May provide branded promotional items (nominal value).
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Manufacturers and Distributors
continued.....

Cannot have on duty employees drink alcohol
during the event.

Cannot have brand naming rights to beer
garden.

Cannot be the exclusive supplier to the event.
Cannot sell to the public.
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Goods or Services
Manufacturers or distributors may not provide
goods, services or money to special occasion
licensees, except for:

 Draft beer or wine dispensing equipment.
e Advertising services paid to 3" party.

 Wineries and distilleries may pour at special occasion
events.

 Breweries may only pour at beer tasting exhibitions
or beer judging events.

e Distributors may never pour at events.
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Banquet Permitted Events

A banquet permit allows the service and
consumption of liquor at a private, invitation-
only banquet or gathering held in a public place
or business. The events may not be advertised
to the public, or on social media websites that
the public can see.
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Banquet Permitted Events

Cost: S10

The permit must be completed and purchased on-line at :
http://www.lcb.wa.gov/licensing/banquet-permits

If you accidently purchase, make a mistake, or your banquet
permit event gets cancelled, there are no refunds given.

Applicant will receive two emails after finishing online
application process.

— Receipt

— Actual attachment with permit that needs to be posted at
the event.

Make sure to read guidelines for Banquet Permits carefully
online.


http://www.lcb.wa.gov/licensing/banquet-permits
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Banquet Permits

The liguor must be provided free of charge, or
brought by individuals attending the event. No
separate or additional charge may be made for
liquor, and donations cannot be accepted.

Liguor must be purchased from a retail store at full
retail price.

You must obtain any required permits from local
authorities when you host an event in a public place.
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Having a Caterer

As a nonprofit you may hold an event open to the
public and hire a licensed liquor caterer to do the
alcohol.

This allows a liguor licensed caterer to bring their
liquor to a non-liquor licensed location to sell to
event guests.

A caterer may only do events open to the public if a
nonprofit is putting said event on.

If the non-profit hires a caterer, the event is under
the catering license and a Special Occasion is not
allowed.
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CANNABIS AT EVENTS

e Cannabis is not allowed at events

e Cannabis may not be donated
Cannabis may not be auctioned, sold
or gifted at any event

* By law, Cannabis cannot be
consumed in public
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CANNABIS BUSINESSES AND
SPONSORSHIP TO NONPROFITS

e Alicensed cannabis business can donate money
to your charity. However, it cannot be in
conjunction with an alcohol related event.

e Cannabis businesses cannot have a sale

promoting that the proceeds will go to a specific
charity.

* A nonprofit can thank a cannabis business for a
donation, as long as it has nothing to do with a
liquor licensed event.
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 This concludes the slide show portion of the webinar.

e If you have not already, please send any questions via the chat
to LCB 1 or LCB 2, and we will start addressing them
momentarily.

 We will have the presentation available on our website after
todays presentation has concluded.

 Inone week to ten days we will post the questions and
answers on our website that we answered in todays webinar.

e There will be an evaluation survey after the event and we

would appreciate your feedback to help us improve future
sessions.

Resources
WSLCB Main CS line — 360-664-1600
www.lcb.wa.gov for applications and
information on MAST



http://www.lcb.wa.gov/
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Thank you...we wish
you success and
Thank you for
participating!
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