
 
 

Attn. Licensees: October 1, 2019 Vapor Tax Effective 
 
Vapor Product Taxation.  As a result of 2019 legislation (HB 1873): Tax upon the sale, use, 
consumption, handling, possession, or distribution of vapor products. For details on this 
legislation, please visit:  https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary.  
 
What is being taxed?  
 

• Solution (with or without nicotine) - by the milliliter (mL) 
o Under 5 mL = $0.27 per mL 
o 5 mL and over = $0.09 per mL 

 
 EXAMPLES  

 

 
Pods = 0.7 mL 

• (Under 5 mL = $0.27 per mL) 
• Tax = $0.27 

 

 

 
100 mL bottle 

• (5 mL and over = $0.09 per mL) 
• Tax = $9.00 

 

 
50 mL = $4.50 
30 mL = $2.70 
20 mL = $1.80 
15 mL = $1.35 
10 mL = $0.90 
5 mL =  $0.45 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary


Who pays the tax? 
 

• When the distributor:  
o Brings, or causes to be brought into this state from outside the state, vapor 

products for sale; 
o Makes, manufactures, fabricates, or stores vapor products in this state for sale in 

this state; 
o Ships or transports vapor products to retailers or consumers in this state; or 
o Handles for sale any vapor products that are within this state but upon which tax 

has not been imposed. 
 

 
What is the “floor” tax?  
 

• Preexisting inventory of vapor products on 10/01/2019. 

• Preexisting inventories of vapor products must be reported by 10/31/2019 to the 
Department of Revenue (DOR). 

• Taxes are to be paid on or before 01/31/2020 to the DOR. 

• If not paid, interest and penalties will incur. 
 
 
Questions? Contact:  
 
Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Officers 

• Lt. Susan Anderson, 253-720-3025 

• Officer Joel McCloud, 360-333-7774 

• Officer Bob Dunham, 509-220-8603 

• Officer Christian Gonzalez, 360-216-5975 
 
Washington State Department of Revenue  

• Tax Assistance Main Line,  360-705-6705 
• DORRecoveryTeam2@DOR.WA.GOV  
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