

Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Date:	January 17, 2024
То:	David Postman, Board Chair Ollie Garrett, Board Member Jim Vollendroff, Board Member
From:	Denise Laflamme, Rules Coordinator
Сору:	William Lukela, Agency Director Toni Hood, Agency Deputy Director Becky Smith, Licensing Director Chandra Brady, Director of Enforcement and Education Justin Nordhorn, Policy and External Affairs Director Cassidy West, Policy & Rules Manager

Subject: CR 105 regarding implementation of Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill (ESSB) 5365 regarding increased penalties for licensed retailers selling or giving cigarette, tobacco or vapor products to persons under 21 years of age.

The Rule Coordinator requests approval to file a rule proposal (CR 105) for expedited rulemaking related to implementation of 2023 legislation ESSB 5365 described in the CR 105 Memorandum attached to this order and presented at the Board meeting on January 17, 2024. If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for this rule proposal is as follows:

January 17, 2024	Board is asked to approve filing expedited rules (CR 105). CR 105 filed with the Office of the Code Reviser. LCB webpage updated and notice circulated by GovDelivery distribution list.
February 7, 2024	Notice published in the Washington State Register.
March 26, 2024.	Deadline to file public objection per RCW 34.05.353.
March 27, 2024	Board is asked to adopt rules if no public objection received by March 26, 2024 (CR 103). CR 103 and adopted rules are filed with the Office of the Code Reviser. LCB webpage updated and notice circulated to all LCB GovDelivery subscribers.
April 27, 2024	Rules are effective 31 days after filing (unless otherwise specified).

Approve	Disapprove	David Postman, Chair Da	ate
Approve	Disapprove	Ollie Garrett, Board Member Da	ate
Approve	Disapprove	Jim Vollendroff, Board Member Da	ate

Attachments: CR 105 Memorandum



Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

CR 105 Memorandum

Regarding Implementation of Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 – Increased penalties for licensed retailers selling tobacco to persons under 21 years.

Date:January 17, 2024Presented by:Denise Laflamme, Rules Coordinator

Background

During the 2023 Legislative Session, the Washington State Legislature passed Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill (ESSB) 5365 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023), and was signed by Governor Inslee on May 9, 2023. In passing this bill, the legislature increased existing monetary penalties the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (Board) can impose on licensed retailers for violations pertaining to selling or giving cigarette, tobacco or vapor products to persons under 21 years of age (under <u>RCW 70.155.100</u>). These increased penalties are aimed at ensuring better retailer compliance with tobacco and vapor product possession laws. Penalties are increased to the following:

- A monetary penalty of \$1,000 for the 1st violation within any three-year period (up from \$200)
- A monetary penalty of \$2,500 for the 2nd violation within any three-year period (up from \$600)
- A monetary penalty of \$5,000 and suspension of the license for a period of six months for the 3rd violation within any three-year period (up from \$2000)
- A monetary penalty of \$10,000 and suspension of the license for a period of 12 months for the 4th violation within any three-year period (up from \$3,000)
- Revocation of the license with no possibility of reinstatement for a period of five years for the 5th or more violation within any three-year period (no change)

These increased monetary penalties are explicitly and specifically dictated by Washington state statute <u>RCW 70.155.100</u>.

WSLCB Stakeholder Engagement

Implementation of ESSB 5365 increases penalties the Board imposes on licensed retailers that requires amendments to WAC 314-35-075 through rulemaking.

Because these amendments incorporate penalty changes explicitly and specifically dictated by Washington state statute under RCW 70.155.100, the Board is not required to hold a public hearing or engage in stakeholder engagement.

Rule Necessity

Amendments are needed to incorporate Section 4 of Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365, effective July 23, 2023.

Description of Rule Changes

WAC 314-35-075 – Category I - Violations that create a direct or immediate threat to public health, safety, or both.

For violations of RCW 26.28.100, there is a row added to the penalty table as follows:

Violation Type	1st Violation in a three-year period	2nd Violation in a three- year period	3rd Violation in a three- year window	4th Violation in a three- year window	5th Violation in a three- year window
Sales to persons under twenty- one. RCW 26-28- 080	\$1,000 monetary penalty	\$2,500 monetary penalty	\$5,000 monetary penalty and a 6-month license suspension	\$10,000 monetary payment and a 12- month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years

CODE REVISER USE ONLY



EXPEDITED RULE MAKING

CR-105 (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.353)

Agency: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Title of rule and other identifying information: (describe subject) Title 314 WAC Liquor and Cannabis Board. The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) is amending rule section 314-35-075 WAC to implement Section 4 of Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023).

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules: During the 2023 Legislative Session, the Washington State Legislature passed Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023), signed into law by Governor Inslee on May 9, 2023. This legislation increases monetary penalties LCB can impose on licensed retailers under RCW 70.155.100 for violations of RCW 26.28.080 pertaining to selling or giving cigarette, tobacco or vapor products to persons under 21 years of age. This increase in penalties was aimed at ensuring better retailer compliance with tobacco and vapor product possession laws. Penalties are increased to the following:

- A monetary penalty of \$1,000 for the 1st violation within any three-year period (up from \$200)
- A monetary penalty of \$2,500 for the 2nd violation within any three-year period (up from \$600)
- A monetary penalty of \$5,000 and suspension of the license for a period of six months for the 3rd violation within any three-year period (up from \$2000)
- A monetary penalty of \$10,000 and suspension of the license for a period of 12 months for the 4th violation within any three-year period (up from \$3,000)
- Revocation of the license with no possibility of reinstatement for a period of five years for the 5th or more violation within any three-year period (no change)

Reasons supporting proposal: Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5365 directs LCB to increase penalties for violations under RCW 70.155.100. LCB is using expedited rulemaking to amend penalties under WAC 314-35-075 that are explicitly and specifically dictated by Washington state statute RCW 70.155.100.

Statutory authori	ty for adoption: RC	W 70.155.	110; RCW 70.345.020				
Statute being imp	plemented: RCW 70).155.100.					
Is rule necessary	because of a:						
Federal Lav	v?				Yes	\boxtimes	No
Federal Cou	urt Decision?				Yes	\boxtimes	No
State Court	Decision?				Yes	\boxtimes	No
If yes, CITATION:							
Name of propone	nt: (person or organ	nization) W	ashington State Liquor and Cannabis Board		Private		
					Public		
				\boxtimes	Govern	men	tal
Name of agency	personnel respons	ible for:					
	Name		Office Location	Ph	none		
Drafting: Rules Coordinator	Denise Laflamme,	Policy and	1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501	36	0-974-9	336	

r							
Implementation: Licensing	Becky Smith, Director of	1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501	360-664-1753				
Enforcement: Enforcement	Chandra Wax, Director of	1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501	360-664-1726				
	ts or recommendations. if a	ny, as to statutory language, implementation,	enforcement, and fiscal				
matters: None		.,,,	,				
Expedited Adapt	ion Which of the following	criteria was used by the agency to file this no	tion				
	-						
-	•	ions that are not subject to violation by a person;					
		material change federal statutes or regulations, V					
		line master programs other than those programs shington state law, national consensus codes that					
		ed regulates the same subject matter and conduct					
incorporating rule							
		or name changes, or clarify language of a rule w	vithout changing its effect;				
Content is exp	licitly and specifically dictated	by statute;					
		king, pilot rule making, or some other process that	at involved substantial				
		velopment of the proposed rule; or					
□ Is being amen	ded after a review under RCW	/ 34.05.328.					
Expedited Repea	II - Which of the following cr	iteria was used by the agency to file notice:					
□ The statute on	which the rule is based has b	een repealed and has not been replaced by anotl	ner statute providing				
	statutory authority for the rule;						
□ The statute on	□ The statute on which the rule is based has been declared unconstitutional by a court with jurisdiction, there is a final						
	judgment, and no statute has been enacted to replace the unconstitutional statute;						
	longer necessary because of	.					
□ Other rules of	the agency or of another ager	cy govern the same activity as the rule, making the	ne rule redundant.				
		es the expedited rule-making process is appro					
		5365, Section 4 (chapter 398, Laws of 2023) dire					
penalties for viola	tions under RCW 26.28.080 tr	at are explicitly and specifically dictated by RCW	70.155.100.				
		NOTICE					
		NEXPEDITED RULE-MAKING PROCESS THAT					
		HEARINGS, PREPARE A SMALL BUSINESS E					
		THE CRITERIA FOR A SIGNIFICANT LEGISLA RULE-MAKING PROCESS, YOU MUST EXPRES					
	HEY MUST BE SENT TO						
		ingtor					
	flamme, Policy & Rules Coord						
	ton State Liquor & Cannabis E						
Address: 1025 Union Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501							
Phone: 360-974-9336							
Fax: 360-704-5027							
Email: rules@lcb.wa.gov							
Other:							
AND RECEIVED	BY (date) March 26, 2024						
Date: January 17	, 2024	Signature:					
Name: David Pos	tman						

Title: Chair

WAC 314-35-075 Category I-Violations that create a direct or immediate threat to public health, safety, or both. Category I: Violations that create a direct or immediate threat to public

health,	safety,	\mathbf{or}	both.
---------	---------	---------------	-------

1

Violation Type	1st Violation in a three- year period	2nd Violation in a three- year period	3rd Violation in a three- year window	4th Violation in a three- year window	5th Violation in a three-year window	
Sales to persons under twenty-one. RCW 26-28-080	\$1,000 monetary penalty	\$2,500 monetary penalty	\$5,000 monetary penalty and a 6-month license suspension	\$10,000 monetary payment and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years	
Allowing a person under twenty-one to frequent consumption of vapor products, or vapor product tasting. RCW 70.345.100 WAC 314-35-040	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6-month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years	Deleted: Sales to persons under twenty-one, a Deleted: RCW 26.28.080¶
Obstruction: Misrepresentation of fact; not permitting physical presence. RCW 70.345.030(2)	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6-month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years	
Sell, give, or permit to sell or give a product that contains any amount of any cannabinoid, synthetic cannabinoid, cathinone, or methcathinone, unless otherwise provided by law.	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6-month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years	
RCW 70.345.030 WAC 314-35-055						
Conduct violations: Permitting or engaging in criminal conduct, or both. Title 9 RCW Title 9A RCW Chapter 69.50 RCW Chapter 70.155 RCW Chapter 70.158 RCW	\$200 monetary penalty	\$600 monetary penalty	\$2,000 monetary penalty and a 6-month license suspension	\$3,000 monetary penalty and a 12-month license suspension	Cancellation of license with no possibility of reinstatement for 5 years	

WAC (12/01/2023 07:07 AM) [1]

NOT FOR FILING

Violation Type	1st Violation in a three- year period	2nd Violation in a three- year period	3rd Violation in a three- year window	4th Violation in a three- year window	5th Violation in a three-year window
Chapter 70.345 RCW Chapter 82.24 RCW Chapter 82.26 RCW WAC 314-35-045					
Selling, giving, or permitting to give a vapor product or products to persons under twenty-one by any person other than a licensed retailer. RCW 26.28.080	\$50 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty	\$100 monetary penalty

[Statutory Authority: Chapter 70.345 RCW, RCW 82.24.250,

 $82.32.300\,,$ and 2019 c 15 and 2019 c 445. WSR 20-01-074, § 314-

35-075, filed 12/11/19, effective 1/1/20.]

WAC (12/01/2023 07:07 AM) [2] NOT FOR FILING