Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Liquor and Cannabis Board Revised Interim Policy BIP-03-2018

Subject: Temporary suspension of 24-hour “quarantine” for
marijuana licensees prior to transferring product

Effective Date: April 4, 2018

Ending Date: Until Board rescission or upon adoption of rules to
implement this policy.

Approved:
Jane Rushford, Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member
Purpose:

This Interim Policy temporarily lifts the requirement that marijuana licensees observe a
24-hour “quarantine” period prior to transfers of products to other licensees. This
change is to alleviate difficulties experienced by licensees in transferring product as we
continue to implement the new state traceability system. The WSLCB will continue to
assess the necessity or advisability of the 24-hour “quarantine” prior to transferring
product in the coming months as we adjust to the new traceability system, and will
continue looking into the potential removal of this requirement in current rulemaking
activities. This adjustment to the original Board Interim Policy clarifies that the removal
of the 24-hour mandatory waiting period or “quarantine” prior to transferring product
between licensees applies to all transfers. Previously, the Board Interim Policy only
made reference to subsection (4)(g) in WAC 314-55-083, when both subsections (4)(g)
and (h) were intended to be affected by the Policy.

Policy Statement
The 24-hour mandatory waiting period or “quarantine” prior to transferring product

required under WAC 314-55-083(4)(g) and (h) is hereby suspended until further notice
or until rules to implement this change are adopted. Marijuana licensees may transfer
product to other licensees while this Interim Policy remains in effect without observing
the 24-hour waiting period prior to transfer. All other rules relating to transfers,
manifests, and transportation remain in effect and it is the licensee’s responsibility to
ensure complete and accurate recordkeeping, including traceability requirements, is
maintained.

PO Box 43075, 3000 Pacific Ave. SE, Olympia WA 98504-3075, (360) 664-1600
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Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Joanna Eide, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Agency Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director
Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Subject: Approval for filing supplemental proposed rules (Supplemental CR
102) related to marijuana retail license forfeitures.

The Legislature passed ESSB 5131 during the 2017 Legislative Session that directed
the WSLCB to create a process for the forfeiture of marijuana retail licenses that are not
fully operational and open to the public within a specified period from the date of license
issuance. These requirements were codified in RCW 69.50.325. The Board approved
the filing of a CR 101 to initiate permanent rulemaking for 2017 marijuana legislation on
July 12, 2017. The original CR-102 was filed on February 7, 2018. This supplemental
CR-102 filing makes adjustments to the original proposed rules.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the proposed rules (CR 102) for the rule
making described above. An issue paper on these rule was presented at the Board
meeting on March 21, 2018, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

July 12, 2017 Board approved filing the pre-proposal statement of
inquiry (CR 101)

February 7, 2018 Board approved filing the proposed rules (CR 102 filing)

February 21, 2018 Code Reviser published notice, LCB sent notice to rules
distribution list

March 21, 2018 Public Hearing

March 21, 2018 End of written comment period

April 4, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing supplemental proposed
rules (Supplemental CR-102 filing)

April 18, 2018 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list
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May 16, 2018 Public Hearing
May 16, 2018 End of written comment period
May 30, 2018 Board is asked to adopt rules
May 30, 2018 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.
May 30, 2018 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)
July 1, 2018 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)
Approve Disapprove
Jane Rushford, Chair Date
Approve Disapprove
Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date
Approve Disapprove

Russ Hauge, Board Member Date

Attachment: Issue Paper
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Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board
Issue Paper
Marijuana Retail License Forfeiture Rules

Date: April 4, 2018
Presented by:  Joanna Eide, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file
supplemental proposed rules (Supplemental CR 102) for a new section in
Chapter 314-55 WAC for marijuana retail license forfeitures as required by the
passage of ESSB 5131 during the 2017 Legislative Session.

Why is rule making necessary?
The Legislature passed ESSB 5131 during the 2017 Legislative Session that
directed the WSLCB to create a process for the forfeiture of marijuana retail
licenses that are not fully operational and open to the public within a specified
period from the date of license issuance, subject to the following restrictions:
e No marijuana retailer's license may be subject to forfeiture within the first
nine months of license issuance; and
e The WSLCB must require license forfeiture on or before twenty-four
calendar months of license issuance if a marijuana retailer is not fully
operational and open to the public, unless the board determines that
circumstances out of the licensee's control are preventing the licensee
from becoming fully operational and that, in the board's discretion, the
circumstances warrant extending the forfeiture period beyond twenty-four
calendar months.
Rulemaking is necessary to comply with the directive in ESSB 5131, codified in
RCW 69.50.325, and to create the process the WSLCB will use for retail license
forfeitures.

This proposed rulemaking is part of a larger rulemaking effort to create and
amend rules as needed for 2017 marijuana legislation. A separate CR-102 filing
will propose other rule changes needed resulting from 2017 marijuana legislation.
This supplemental CR-102 makes adjustments to the original proposed rules in
the original CR-102 filed on February 7, 2018.

What changes are being proposed?

New Section. WAC 314-55-055, Marijuana retailer license forfeiture.
This new section in chapter 314-55 WAC details the process that the WSLCB will
use in carrying out marijuana retail license forfeitures as directed by ESSB 5131
and codified in RCW 69.50.325. A marijuana retailer’s license is subject to
forfeiture if the retailer is not fully operational and open to the public after 12
months of issuance of the license or November 1, 2018, whichever is longer. The
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following criteria is included in the proposed rule to determine whether a
marijuana retail license is fully operational:

e The business must be open to the public for a minimum of five hours a
day between the hours of 8:00 am and 12:00 midnight, three days a
week;

e Posts business hours outside of the premise in the public view; and

e Reports monthly sales from the sale of marijuana products and pays
applicable taxes.

The above criteria must be met for a minimum of 12 consecutive weeks within a
12 month period for the business to be considered fully operational and open to
the public.

A marijuana retailer’s license will not be subject to forfeiture if the licensee has
been incapable of opening a fully operational retail marijuana business due to
actions by the city, town, or county with jurisdiction over the licensed business to
include:
e The adoption of a ban or moratorium that prohibits the opening of a retail
marijuana business; or
e The adoption of an ordinance or regulation related to zoning, business
licensing, land use, or other regulatory measure that has the effect of
preventing a licensee from receiving an occupancy permit from the
jurisdiction or which otherwise prevents a licensed marijuana retailer from
becoming operational.

The Board has the sole discretion to grant exceptions to the license forfeiture
process if a marijuana retailer licensee has had circumstances occur that are out
of their control such as a natural disaster.

Adequate documentation will be required to verify any of the exceptions to
license forfeiture in this section. It is the licensee’s responsibility to inform the
WSLCB if conditions change, such as an adjustment to zoning requirements,
changes to a ban or moratorium, or other circumstances that would allow the
licensee to operate.

If the underlying condition exempting a marijuana retail license from forfeiture
under the rule is removed, then the twelve month timeframe to become fully
operational and open to the public requirement under the rule will begin from
the time the condition exempting the retail license from forfeiture is removed.
This language is added to ensure even application of the license forfeiture
provisions.

A retailer that receives notice of license forfeiture under this section from the
WSLCB may request an administrative hearing under chapter 34.05 RCW.

Supplemental CR 102 -
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-55-055 Marijuana retailer license forfeiture. (1)(a) A
marijuana retailer™s license i1s subject to forfeiture 1Tt the retailer
is not fully operational and open to the public after twelve months of
issuance of the license or November 1, 2018, whichever is later. No
marijuana retailer™s license i1s subject to forfeiture within the first
nine months of issuance.

(b) Fully operational means the business meets the following cri-
teria for at least twelve consecutive weeks within a twelve-month pe-
riod after issuance of the license before or after the effective date
of this section:

(1) Is open to the public for a minimum of five hours a day be-
tween the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 midnight, three days a week;

(i1) Posts business hours outside of the premise in the public
view; and

(ii1) Reports monthly sales from the sale of marijuana products

and pays applicable taxes.
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(2)(@) A marijuana retailer®s license will not be subject to for-
feiture if the licensee has been incapable of opening a fully opera-
tional retail marijuana business due to actions by the city, town, or
county with jurisdiction over the licensed business to include:

(i) The adoption of a ban or moratorium that prohibits the open-
ing of a retail marijuana business; or

(i1) The adoption of an ordinance or regulation related to zon-
ing, business licensing, land use, or other regulatory measure that
has the effect of preventing a licensee from receiving an occupancy
permit from the jurisdiction or which otherwise prevents a licensed
marijuana retailer from becoming operational.

(b) The board has the sole discretion to grant exceptions to the
license forfeiture process iIf a marijuana retailer licensee has had
circumstances occur that are out of their control such as a natural
disaster.

(c) Adequate documentation will be required to verify any of the
exceptions to license forfeiture in this section. It is the licensee"s
responsibility to inform the WSLCB if conditions change, such as an
adjustment to zoning requirements, changes to a ban or moratorium, or

other circumstances that would allow the licensee to operate. If the
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underlying condition exempting a marijuana retail license from forfei-
ture under subsection (2)(a) or (b) of this section is removed, then
the twelve month timeframe to become fully operational and open to the
public requirement under subsection (1) of this section will begin
from the time the condition exempting the retail license from forfei-
ture is removed.

(3) A retailer that receives notice of license forfeiture under
this section from the WSLCB may request an administrative hearing un-
der chapter 34.05 RCW. A request for a hearing must be made in writing
and received by the WSLCB no later than twenty days after service of
the notice. Requests submitted in paper form may be delivered to the
WSLCB in person during normal business hours at 3000 Pacific Avenue
S.E., Olympia, WA 98501, or mailed to the WSLCB. Mailed appeal re-
quests must be addressed to: WSLCB, ATTN: Adjudicative Proceedings Co-
ordinator, P.O. Box 43076, Olympia, WA 98504-3076 or, for certified
mail, WSLCB, ATTN: Adjudicative Proceedings Coordinator, 3000 Pacific

Avenue S.E., Olympia, WA 98501.

1
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Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Joanna Eide, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Agency Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director
Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator
Peter Corier, Marijuana Examiners Unit

Subject: Approval for filing proposed rules (CR 102) related to 2017 cannabis
legislation and other needed changes.

The Legislature passed ESSB 5131 during the 2017 Legislative Session that directed
the WSLCB to create a process for the forfeiture of marijuana retail licenses that are not
fully operational and open to the public within a specified period from the date of license
issuance. These requirements were codified in RCW 69.50.325. The Board approved
the filing of a CR 101 to initiate permanent rulemaking for 2017 marijuana legislation on
July 12, 2017. Another rulemaking for other changes to cannabis rules needed as a
result of changes made in the 2017 Legislative Session (retail license forfeitures) is
underway under a separate CR-102.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the proposed rules (CR 102) for the rule
making described above. An issue paper on these rule was presented at the Board
meeting on April 4, 2018, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

July 12, 2017 Board approved filing the pre-proposal statement of
inquiry (CR 101)

April 4, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)

May 30, 2018 Public Hearing

May 30, 2018 End of written comment period

June 13, 2018 Board is asked to adopt rules

June 13, 2018 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

CR 102 — 2017 Cannabis
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June 13, 2018 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)
July 14, 2018 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)
Approve Disapprove
Jane Rushford, Chair Date
Approve Disapprove

Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date

Approve Disapprove

Russ Hauge, Board Member Date

Attachment: Issue Paper

CR 102 — 2017 Cannabis
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Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board
Issue Paper
2017 Cannabis Legislation Rules

Date: April 4, 2018
Presented by:  Joanna Eide, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file
proposed rules (CR 102) for changes to cannabis rules in Chapter 314-55 WAC as
a result of legislation passed during the 2017 legislative session, as well as a
number of clarifying and other needed changes identified by stakeholders and
WSLCB staff.

Why is rule making necessary?

Rulemaking is necessary to ensure that rules are consistent with changes to laws
made by the Legislature during the 2017 Legislative Session in ESSB 5131, SB
5130, and HB 1250. Other technical, clarifying, and needed changes to rules
identified by staff and stakeholders will be addressed, incorporating the CR-101
filed as WSR 16-15-035 into this rulemaking. Other changes to cannabis rules
needed as a result of changes to laws made in the 2017 legislative session (retail
license forfeitures) is underway under a separate CR-102.

What changes are being proposed?

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-010 Definitions.
- Technical changes to definitions of “elementary schoo
school”
- Clarifying changes to definition of “financier” to make clearer and
consistent with clarifying edits to the term in WAC 314-55-035
- Definitions added for the following terms:
o End product
o Harvest — new definition consistent with DOH rules for compliant
products in chapter 246-70 WAC
Immature plant or clone
Intermediate product
Marijuana mix
Marijuana mix packaged / mix packaged
Marijuana mix infused / mix infused
Product(s) otherwise taken into the body — clarify other products
not ingested orally but taken into the body through absorption,
etc., fall within the definition of marijuana-infused products
- Various other technical changes throughout to ensure consistency and
clarity in use of terms, including adding metropolitan park districts as

|II

and “secondary
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“owners” of playgrounds and recreation centers/facilities, correcting
“usable marijuana” to “useable marijuana” to make consistent with
statutory definitions in chapter 69.50 RCW, etc.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-015 General information about
marijuana licenses.

- Added language stating that the WSLCB will not issue a marijuana license
within the exterior boundaries of a reservation of a federally recognized
Indian tribe without express consent of the tribe, as required by changes
to RCW 69.50.331.

- Technical changes regarding the co-location of licenses to reflect actual
practices and allowances in co-location of licenses for research licenses
and producers who also hold a processor license.

- Removed language regarding requirements that processors must
construct and keep facilities for marijuana-infused edibles in a clean and
sanitary condition as those requirements are being covered in WAC 314-
55-077.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-018 Prohibited practices—Money
advances—Contracts—Gifts—Rebates, discounts, and exceptions, etc.
- Technical changes to add exceptions for “free products” or “treats or
services” as allowed under WAC 314-55-096 (samples) and RCW
69.50.585 (Branded promotional items—Nominal value—Personal

services).

- Added marijuana transportation licenses and marijuana research licenses
to the definition of “industry member” to ensure all license types are
captured.

- Added language reiterating prohibition of contingency sales consistent
with WAC 314-55-017.

- Added language to allow for volume discounts — exception to prohibition
on use of discounts. Volume discounts must be solely based on the
volume of the product purchased, must be made on a single purchase,
and must be made available to all licensees. Purchases made by multiple
licensees or “co-op” purchases are not eligible for a volume discount,
except where the purchase is being made by a business that holds
multiple licenses so long as the UBI is the same for each licensed business
involved in the purchase for a volume discount.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-020 Marijuana license qualifications
and application process.
- Technical changes to rule language relating to notices of local
jurisdictions, port authorities, and tribal governments consistent with
changes made by the Legislature in RCW 69.50.331.

CR 102 — 2017 Cannabis
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Addition of language relating to the statutory change to prohibit the
WSLCB from issuing a marijuana license within the exterior boundaries of
a reservation of a federally recognized Indian tribe without express
consent of the tribe, as required by changes to RCW 69.50.331. Additional
language included outlining the process for an applicant to find another
location if the tribe does not consent to the licensee being located within
the boundaries of the reservation.

Technical changes to add all existing marijuana license types.

Removal of language relating to prioritization of marijuana retail licenses
due to the removal of prioritization requirements in statute by the 2017
Legislature.

Clarifying and technical adjustments to language for inspections of
locations and ensuring rule language more clearly reflects WSLCB practice
for residency requirements for individuals and entities that must be
qualified/listed on a marijuana license.

Changes to operating plan requirements to move the requirements to a
more flexible operating plan form that can be tailored to the needs for
each unique license type. This is partially necessary due to the addition of
transportation and research licenses.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-035 Persons or entities that must
qualify for a marijuana license.

Clarifying changes to the definitions for “true party(ies) of interest” and

“financiers” to clearly differentiate the two.

New language detailing that employees of producers or processors that

receive commission-based compensation are not considered true parties
of interest so long as the following conditions are met:

o The commission-based compensation arrangement does not create
a default true party of interest relationship.

o The commission-based compensation arrangement between a
licensee and employee is in writing, no more than 5% of the gross
profits may be given to any one employee under such an
arrangement, and an employee receiving commission-based
compensation is listed as an employee of the licensee with the
Washington State Employment Security Department.

o Commission-based compensation arrangements are not permissible
for employees of retailers due to concerns about sales-incentive
based compensation and promoting over consumption, etc.

New language clarifying that a consultant that receives a flat or hourly
rate compensation under a written contractual agreement is not a true
party of interest so long as the consultant does not receive any
percentage of profits or interest in the licensed business or management
or control of the licensed business such that would indicate or create a
true party of interest relationship.

CR 102 - 2017 Cannabis
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- Clarification that all funds must be approved by the WSLCB prior to their
transfer, consistent with WSLCB rules and current practice. This addition is
to reinforce this requirement since some licensees have not done so and
have run into issues.

- Added references to changes in ownership requirements in WAC 314-55-
120 to ensure clarity of requirements and avoid confusion.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-050 Reasons the WSLCB may seek
denial, suspension, or cancellation of a marijuana license application or
license.
- Technical changes to ensure all marijuana license types correctly fall
under rule requirements.
- Technical changes to ensure exceptions to buffer zone requirements
function correctly if a local jurisdiction reduces the 1,000 foot distance
requirement for restricted entities by local ordinance.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-073 Marijuana research license.

- Increases to project plan page length from 4 to 8 pages, not including
references or citations, to allow for greater explanation of project plans
and supportive documentation of evidence and data.

- Additional provisions allowing the scientific reviewer to inquire into the
cost of the proposed project as well as financial support and viability of an
applicant for a research license.

- New language allowing for the scientific reviewer to request additional
information if necessary to complete the review of the research license
application.

- New language allowing the scientific reviewer to conduct a site visit if
needed to assess location, facilities, or equipment for the proposed
project.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-075 Marijuana producer license —
Privileges, requirements, and fees.

- Adjustments to reflect statutory changes allowing licensed producers to
sell immature plants or clones and seeds members of a registered
cooperative, qualifying patients, or designated providers. Detailed
requirements for these sales appear in a new section later in chapter 314-
55 WAC, also part of this rulemaking.

- Adjustments to reflect statutory changes to allow licensed producers to
sell immature plants or clones and seeds to licensed marijuana
researchers.

- Changes to the fees for a producer license to reflect changes to state law
increasing license fees to $1300 effective July 1, 2018.
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Legislation Rules 4 4/4/18



Technical changes detailing that the window to apply for a producer
license is closed. The WSLCB may reopen the producer license application
window at subsequent times when deemed necessary.

Technical changes to language to reflect that overall canopy cannot
exceed the amount licensed by the WSLCB.

Addition of language being moved from other sections regarding treating
or adulterating useable marijuana and the requirement that QA test
results must be made available to any processor purchasing product, as
well as lot labeling requirements. These provisions appeared elsewhere in
the chapter but made more sense to be included in this rule.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-077 Marijuana processor license —
Privileges, requirements, and fees.

Technical changes to rework the organization of the overall rule.
Changes to the fees for a processor license to reflect changes to state law
increasing license fees to $1300 effective July 1, 2018.

Technical changes detailing that the window to apply for a processor
license is closed. The WSLCB may reopen the producer license application
window at subsequent times when deemed necessary.

Adjustments to phase out the addition of a processor license for an
existing producer license that has not also been issued a processor
license. These provisions have served their purpose and are no longer
needed.

Adjustments to rule language to reflect the new requirements for
processors that make marijuana-infused edible products to obtain a
marijuana edible endorsement from the WSDA effective April 1, 2018.
Moved language from WAC 314-55-015 regarding requirements that
processors must construct and keep facilities for marijuana-infused edibles
in a clean and sanitary condition as it is more appropriate in this rule.
Addition of language being moved from WAC 314-55-105 regarding
treating or adulterating useable marijuana as it is more appropriate to
appear in this rule and WAC 314-55-075.

Removal of language regarding the requirement that servings of
marijuana-infused edibles must be individually wrapped and other
packaging and labeling provisions as they are covered in packaging and
labeling rules (WAC 314-55-105).

Language allowing the removal of the statement “this product contains
marijuana” only if a universal symbol is adopted by the Board and upon
the effective date of that change.

Language allowing processing service arrangements between licensed
processors to process intermediate products for a fee rather than
purchasing the marijuana and selling it back plus the costs of extraction
services. Additional provisions are included providing parameters on how
such arrangements may operate.

CR 102 - 2017 Cannabis
Legislation Rules 5 4/4/18



- Additional provisions relating to returns of product, including
recordkeeping requirements.
- Clarifying technical and organizational changes throughout.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-079 Marijuana retailer license —
Privileges, requirements, and fees.

- Changes to incorporate the allowance for sale or donation of lockable drug
boxes due to changes to law. A marijuana retailer may not sell lockable
boxes for less than the cost of acquisition or sell boxes received as a
donation. The donation of lockable boxes must come from a person or
entity that is not a licensed marijuana producer, processor, or retailer.

- Increase of maximum retail license interests from 3 to 5 total due to
changes in law.

- Clarifying technical and organizational changes throughout.

- Changes to the fees for a retailer license to reflect changes to state law
increasing license fees to $1300 effective July 1, 2018.

- Language regarding requirements that products be stored behind a
counter or other barrier moved from WAC 314-55-105 to this rule as the
provisions are more appropriate in the retailer rule rather than packaging
and labeling rules.

- Removal of 72-hour notification requirement prior to disposal of marijuana
products consistent with removal for waste requirements proposed in this
rulemaking.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-080 Medical marijuana
endorsement.

- Clarifying changes to incorporate provisions in law allowing qualifying
patients between 18 and 21 years old with a recognition card to enter and
remain on the premises of a retail store with a medical marijuana
endorsement. Additional provisions for qualifying patients with recognition
cards under the age of 18 are also included. Changes are consistent with
allowances in statute and will ensure licensees have proper information
regarding the privileges of qualifying patients under age 21.

- Adjustments to require records be kept for 5 years, consistent with Dept.
of Revenue recordkeeping requirements.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-082 Insurance requirements.
- Clarifying edits to ensure better understanding of rule requirements.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-083 Security and traceability
requirements for marijuana licensees.
- Adjustment to rule title to ensure understanding that traceability system
requirements are included in the rule.
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- Proposed removal of 24-hour quarantine requirement prior to transfers of
product.

- Proposed removal of 72-hour notification and waiting period prior to
destroying waste.

- Change from the 16-digit identification number to the “unique identifier
generated by the state traceability system” due to the transition to a new
traceability system.

- Removal of the 15-day window for start-up inventory for producers. Since
the industry has been up and running for years now, this allowance has
served its purpose. Producers may purchase plants/clones/seeds, etc.,
from other licenses producers.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-084 Marijuana plant production.
- Minor changes to ensure the rule functions properly, including technical
changes due to WAC 314-55-108, Pesticide action levels, becoming
effective in August 2017.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-087 What are the recordkeeping
requirements for marijuana licensees?
- Adjustment to require records be kept for 5 years, consistent with Dept. of
Revenue recordkeeping requirements.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-089 Tax and reporting requirements
for marijuana licensees.

- Change to provide that monthly reporting requirements for purchases and
sales by producers and processors is accomplished by keeping data
completely up to date in the state traceability system.

- Edits to clarify that inventory reductions that are not adequately
documented will be deemed to be sales and will be assessed the excise
tax.

- Additional language to clarify that excise tax collected in error must either
be returned to the customer(s) or remitted to the WSLCB if returning to
the customer(s) is not possible.

- If a licensee uses a money transmitter service, the licensee must remit
payments in US dollars.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-092 Failure to pay excise taxes and
late payment of excise taxes.
- Clarifying adjustment that the 2% penalty per month applies to
outstanding balance for late excise tax payments.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-095 Marijuana servings and
transaction limitations.

CR 102 — 2017 Cannabis
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Changes to clarify the servings and transaction limits for products,
including marijuana-infused products otherwise taken into the body and
topicals. These changes were a direct result of many questions received
on servings and transactions requirements from the industry.

Limits were needed for products that are otherwise taken into the body to
ensure uniformity in servings and transaction requirements for all
marijuana-infused products that are eaten or absorbed into the body
through a method other than oral ingestion. These proposed changes will
serve to avoid similar concerns for overconsumption and THC limits for
these products as exist with marijuana edible products.

Added language that states a licensee or employee of a licensee is
prohibited from conducting a sale that facilitates an individual in obtaining
more than the personal possession amount.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-096 Vendor, educational, and
internal quality control samples.

Clarifying changes to ensure sampling rules are clear and understandable
due to licensees expressing confusion with requirements.

Clarification that vendor samples may only be given to and used by
licensees or employees of licensees who have product ordering authority.
This change is proposed to avoid potential compensation through
marijuana products and to ensure that vendor samples function as they
should in only being used to negotiate a sale for a product that the
licensee does not already carry.

Added allowances specifically for products that are otherwise taken into
the body consistent with definitions and servings and transaction
limitations, as well as treating such products similar to marijuana edible
products.

Added language regarding the amounts of topical products that may be
sampled under vendor and education sampling rules as the rules were
silent. This is in response to industry questions on the subject.

Change from the 16-digit identification number to the “unique identifier
generated by the state traceability system” in labeling requirements for
samples due to the transition to a new traceability system.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-097 Marijuana waste disposal—
Liquids and solids.

Changes to remove the 72-hour notification requirement prior to disposal
of waste. Traceability requirements must still be maintained by licensees
for waste disposal, but the 72-hour waiting period is proposed to be
removed.

Additional changes to waste requirements are expected later this year.
The WSLCB is currently discussing potential changes with the Dept. of
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Ecology, waste management companies, and local jurisdictions.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-102 Quality assurance testing.

- Changes to language surrounding elective compliant products testing
under DOH rules (chapter 246-70 WAC) to eliminate confusion around
optional quality assurance tests.

- Technical change to add provisions that the QA tests and third party
testing lab name must be included with each lot and disclosed to the
customer buying the lot. This requirement is elsewhere in the chapter, but
important to reiterate here to ensure the ultimate consumer has access to
lab results (also required under current rules).

- Technical change incorporating requirements in RCW 69.50.345 that any
remaining sample after testing must be returned to the licensee or
disposed as provided in WAC 314-55-097.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-104 Marijuana processor license
extraction requirements.
- Various changes to make clarifying edits due to other rule changes to Lab
QA rules during 2017.
- Removal of the requirement to send certificates for extractors to the
WSLCB, but licensees must meet with requirements of the State Building
Code Council in WAC 51-54A-3800, as well as other legal and regulatory
requirements to ensure the safe construction and operation of extractor
machines.

New section. WAC 314-55-117 Use of payment services by retailers.
- Proposed new section to provide guidance to retail licensees that use
money transmitter services.
- Changes were developed in partnership with the Dept. of Financial
Institutions.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-120 Ownership changes.

- Added language (consistent with WAC 314-55-035) that licensees must
notify the WSLCB if there are any changes to marital status of any true
party of interest in the license. This is due to the fact that such changes
have ownership change impacts.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-125 Change of location.
- Clarifying edits to ensure licensees understand that any change of location
requires an application and approval by the WSLCB prior to any change of
location of the licensed business.

New Section. WAC 314-55-137, Receiverships.
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- New section proposed to detail requirements for receiverships involving
marijuana licenses. This section defines notice requirements for
receiverships, the requirements to be eligible to be a receiver, the role
and responsibility of receivers, and qualifications to be placed on the
WSLCB's pre-approved receiver list.

- This new section is needed due to a rise of licenses going into receivership
and to address issues and potential concerns with receivership scenarios.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-140 Death or incapacity of a
marijuana licensee.
- Removal of receivership references due to the proposed new section
regarding receiverships, WAC 314-55-137.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-185 WSLCB right to inspect premises
or vehicles associated with a license to produce, process, sell, research,
or transport marijuana.

- Technical changes to ensure proper reference to all marijuana license

types.

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-410 Cooperatives.

- Changes proposed to address cooperative renewals. The WSLCB will
contact the primary contact listed for each registered cooperative on an
annual basis to ensure validity of recognition cards and to confirm the
status, whether active or inactive, of the cooperative. If the WSLCB finds
that the cooperative no longer meets the criteria required under this
section, the WSLCB may not renew the cooperative registration.

- Technical changes due to proposed new section regarding purchases of
immature plants/clones and seeds from licensed producers by members of
registered cooperatives, patients with recognition cards, and designated
providers.

New section. WAC 314-55-417 Sales of immature plants or clones and
seeds from licensed producers to members of cooperatives, qualifying
patients, and designated providers.

- Proposed new section to address changes to law allowing patients with
recognition cards and designated providers to purchase immature
plants/clones and seeds from licensed producers.

- Moved provisions for members of registered cooperatives making
purchases of immature plants/clones and seeds from licensed producers.

- Proposed new rule largely tracks the provisions or the Board Interim
Policy on this issue, but makes slight adjustments due to the proposed
removal of the 24-hour quarantine requirement prior to transfers of
plants/products by licensed producers.
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Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-525 Group 2 regulatory violations.

- Advertising penalty adjustments due to the removal of default $1,000
penalties per advertising offense and direction in statute from Legislature
to create a graduated penalty structure for repeat violations of advertising
regulations. A graduated penalty structure for these violations already
existed in current rule. Simply removing the blanket $1,000 penalty
provisions allows the graduated penalty to function as directed.

- Changes to penalties for monthly tax payments to reflect changes to
reporting requirements made in WAC 314-55-089, as well as the removal
of the reference to transportation licensees as they do not collect taxes.

- Creation of a penalty for the use of an unauthorized money transmitter for
retail sales consistent with the proposed new rule regarding use of
payment services by retailers (WAC 314-55-117).

Amendatory section. WAC 314-55-530 Group 3 license violations.
- Technical changes to penalty structure to avoid redundancies and
confusion.

Repealer. WAC 314-55-081, Who can apply for a marijuana retailer
license?
- This rule is being repealed as the relevant contents of the rule that are
still needed are being incorporated into WAC 314-55-079.
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WAC 314-55-010 Definitions. The Ffollowing are—definitions apply

for the purpose of this chapter—©Other 1In addition to the definitions

are—provided in RCW 69.50.101.

(1) "Applicant” or "marijuana license applicant”™ means any person
or business entity who is considered by the WSLCB as a true party of
interest in a marijuana license, as outlined in WAC 314-55-035. However,
for purposes of determining an application®s priority under RCW
69.50.331 (1)(a), only the person or business entity that i1s applying
for the license will be considered the applicant.

(2) "Batch™ means a quantity of marijuana-infused product contain-
ing material from one or more lots of marijuana.

(3) "Business name'™ or "trade name'™ means the name of a licensed

business as used by the licensee on signs and advertising.

(4) "Child care center'” means an entity that regularly provides

child day care and early learning services for a group of children for
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periods of less than twenty-four hours licensed by the Washington state
department of early learning under chapter 170-295 WAC.

(5) "Consultant™ means an expert who provides advice or services
in a particular field, whether a fee is charged or not. A consultant who
is In receipt of, or has the right to receive, a percentage of the gross
or net profit from the licensed business during any Tfull or partial
calendar or fiscal year i1s a true party of iInterest and subject to the
requirements of WAC 314-55-035. A consultant who exercises any control
over an applicant®s or licensee"s business operations is also subject
to the requirements of WAC 314-55-035(4).

(6) "Cooperative™ means a group of more than one, but no more than
four qualified medical marijuana patients and/or designated providers
who share responsibility for growing and processing marijuana only for
the medical use of the members of the cooperative.

(7) "Domicile”™ means a person®s true, fixed, primary permanent home
and place of habitation and the tax parcel on which i1t i1s located. It
is the place where the person intends to remain and to which the person
expects to return when the person leaves without intending to establish
a new domicile elsewhere.

(8) "Elementary school™ means a school with a physical location for

early education that provides the first four to eight years of basic
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education and recognized by the Washington state superintendent of pub-
lic instruction.

(9) "Employee™ means any person performing services on a licensed
premises for the benefit of the licensee whether or not such person is
compensated by the licensee.

(10)”End Product” means a marijuana product that requires no fur-

ther processing prior to retail sale.

9 (11) "Financier'™ means any person or entity, other than a bank-
ing institution, that has made or will make an investment in the hicensed
bustness-—A—Fihancier—can—be—a person—or—entity-that provides money as

a gifts; or loans money to the applicant/business and expects to be paid

back the amount of the loan with or without reasonable iInterests—eor

F ¢l i . he busi n I .
a loan or expertise.
EH(12) "Game arcade™ means an entertainment venue featuring pri-

marily video games, simulators, and/or other amusement devices where

persons under twenty-one years of age are not restricted.

(13) “Harvest” means the marijuana plant material derived from

plants of the same strain that were cultivated at the same licensed

location and gathered at the same time.
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(14) “Immature plant or clone” means a marijuana plant or clone

that has no flowers, is less than twelve (12) inches in height, and is

less than twelve (12) inches iIn diameter.

(15) "Intermediate product” means marijuana flower lots or other

material lots that have been converted by a marijuana processor to a

marijuana mix lot, marijuana concentrate or marijuana infused product

that must be or are iIntended to be converted further to an end product.

3>)(16) "Library'™ means an organized collection of resources made
accessible to the public for reference or borrowing supported with money
derived from taxation.

4> (17) "Licensed premises” means all areas of a premises where
the licensee has leasehold rights as listed in the property lease sub-
mitted to the board. Any vehicle assigned for the purposes of trans-
porting marijuana, usableuseable marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or
marijuana-infused products shall be considered an extension of the li-
censed premises.

€15)(18) 'Licensee"™ or "marijuana licensee"™ means any person or
entity that holds a marijuana license, or any person or entity who is a

true party of interest in a marijuana license, as outlined in WAC 314-

55-035.
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16)(19) "Lot"™ means either of the following:

(a) The flowers from one or more marijuana plants of the same
strain. A single lot of flowers cannot weigh more than five pounds; or

(b) The trim, leaves, or other plant matter from one or more mari-
juana plants. A single lot of trim, leaves, or other plant matter cannot
weigh more than fifteen pounds.

& (20) "Marijuana strain' means a pure breed or hybrid variety
of Cannabis reflecting similar or identical combinations of properties
such as appearance, taste, color, smell, cannabinoid profile, and po-
tency.

(21) “Marijuana mix” means an intermediate lot that contains mul-

tiple strains of useable marijuana and is chopped or ground so no par-

ticles are greater than 3 mm.

(22) “Marijuana mix packaged” or “mix packaged” means an end product

containing only marijuana mix and no other product types.

(23) “Marijuana mix infused” or “mix iInfused” means an end product

that contains marijuana mix and may contain other intermediate products

or useable marijuana.

8)(24) "Member,"™ except as that term is used in relation to

registered cooperatives, means a principal or governing person of a
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given entity, including but not limited to: LLC member/manager, presi-
dent, vice president, secretary, treasurer, CEO, director, stockholder,
partner, general partner, limited partner. This includes all spouses of
all principals or governing persons named in this definition and refer-
enced in WAC 314-55-035.

A9 (25) "Paraphernalia™ means items used for the storage or use
of usableuseable marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or marijuana-infused
products, such as, but not limited to, lighters, roach clips, pipes,
rolling papers, bongs, and storage containers. lItems for growing, cul-
tivating, and processing marijuana, such as, but not limited to, butane,
lights, and chemicals are not considered *‘paraphernalia.”

£20)(26) "Pesticide' means, but is not limited to: (a) Any substance
or mixture of substances intended to prevent, destroy, control, repel,
or mitigate any insect, rodent, snail, slug, fungus, weed, and any other
form of plant or animal life or virus, except virus on or in a living
person or other animal which Is normally considered to be a pest; (b)
any substance or mixture of substances intended to be used as a plant
regulator, defoliant, or desiccant; and (c) any spray adjuvant. Pesti-
cides include substances commonly referred to as herbicides, fungicides,
insecticides, and cloning agents.

H(27) "Perimeter” means a property line that encloses an area.
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22)(28) "Plant” means a marijuana plant.

£23>)(29) "Plant canopy' means the square footage dedicated to live
plant production, such as maintaining mother plants, propagating plants
from seed to plant tissue, clones, vegetative or flowering area. Plant
canopy does not include areas such as space used for the storage of
fertilizers, pesticides, or other products, quarantine, office space,
etc.

24>)(30) "Playground™ means a public outdoor recreation area for
children, usually equipped with swings, slides, and other playground

equipment, owned and/or managed by a city, county, state,—or fTederal

government, or metropolitan park district.

(31) “Product(s) otherwise taken into the body” means a marijuana-

infused product for human consumption or iIngestion intended for uses

other than inhalation, oral ingestion, or external application to the

skin.

25)(32) "Public park'™ means an area of land for the enjoyment of
the public, having facilities for rest and/or recreation, such as a
baseball diamond or basketball court, owned and/or managed by a city,
county, state, federal government, or metropolitan park district. Public

park does not include trails.
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£26)(33) "Public transit center'" means a facility located outside
of the public right of way that is owned and managed by a transit agency
or city, county, state, or federal government for the express purpose
of staging people and vehicles where several bus or other transit routes
converge. They serve as efficient hubs to allow bus riders from various
locations to assemble at a central point to take advantage of express
trips or other route to route transfers.

271 (34) "Recreation center or facility' means a supervised center
that provides a broad range of activities and events intended primarily
for use by persons under twenty-one years of age, owned and/or managed
by a charitable nonprofit organization, city, county, state,—or federal

government, or metropolitan park district.

£28)(35) "Residence'™ means a person"s address where he or she phys-
ically resides and maintains his or her abode.

29)(36) "Secondary school™ means a high and/or middle school with

a physical location: A school for students who have completed their

primary education, usually attended by children in grades seven to twelve
and recognized by the Washington state superintendent of public instruc-
tion.

30> (37) "Selling price'" means the same meaning as in RCW 82.08.010,

except that when the product is sold under circumstances where the total
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amount of consideration paid for the product is not indicative of its
true value. Selling price means the true value of the product sold as
determined or agreed to by the WSLCB. For purposes of this subsection:

(a) "Product" means marijuana, marijuana concentrates, usableuse-
able marijuana, anrd-or marijuana-infused products; and

(b) "True value™ means market value based on sales at comparable
locations i1n the state of the same or similar product of like quality
and character sold under comparable conditions of sale to comparable
purchasers. In the absence of such sales of the same or similar product,
true value means the value of the product sold as determined by all of
the seller™s direct and indirect costs attributed to the product.

EH(3E8) "uUnit" means an individually packaged marijuana-infused
solid or liquid product meant to be eaten or swallowed, not to exceed
ten servings or one hundred milligrams of active tetrahydrocannabinol
(THC), or Delta 9.

E2)(39) "WSLCB™ means the Washington state liquor and cannabis
board.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-010, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§ 314-55-010,

filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
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69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-010, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-015 General information about marijuana licenses. (1) A
person or entity must meet certain qualifications to receive a marijuana
license, which are continuing qualifications #n—erderrequired to main-
tain the license.

(2) All applicants and employees working in each licensed estab-
lishment must be at least twenty-one years of age. No one under twenty-
one years of age is allowed to enter or remain on a marijuana licensed
premises except as provided in RCW 69.50.357.

(3) Minors restricted signs must be posted at all marijuana licensed
premises.

(4) A marijuana license applicant may not exercise any of the
privileges of a marijuana license until the WSLCB approves the license
application.

(5) The WSLCB will not approve any marijuana license for a location
where law enforcement access, without notice or cause, is limited. This
includes a personal residence.

(6) The WSLCB will not approve any marijuana license for a location

on federal lands.
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(7) The WSLCB will not approve any marijuana license within the

exterior boundaries of the reservation of a federally recognized tribe

without the express written consent of the tribe. If a tribe receives

written notice from the WSLCB of a license application or change request

under RCW 69.50.331 and the tribe does not respond to the WSLCB within

thirty days of the date of that notice, the WSLCB will assume the tribe

does not consent to the location of the applicant or licensee and the

applicant or licensee must find a different location.

H(8) The WSLCB will not approve any marijuana license for a

location within another business with the exception of the research

license consistent with WAC 314-55-073. More than one license could-may

be located in the same building if each licensee has their own area

separated by full walls with their own entrance, or if the same business

entity holds a producer license and a processor license at the same

location under a single license number. Product may not be commingled.

8)(9) Every marijuana licensee must post and keep posted its li-
cense, or licenses, and any additional correspondence containing condi-
tions and restrictions imposed by the WSLCB in a conspicuous place on

the premises.
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€2(10) In approving a marijuana license, the WSLCB reserves the
right to impose special conditions as to the involvement in the opera-
tions of the licensed business of any former licensees, their former

employees, or any person who does not qualify for a marijuana license.

9)(11) A marijuana producer, processor, or retailer licensed by

the WSLCB must conduct the production, processing, storage, and sale of

marijuana-infused products using sanitary practices.

et . L L b the | I _

(12) Marijuana licensees may not allow the consumption of marijuana

or marijuana-infused products on or within the licensed premises.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-015, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§ 314-55-015,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8 314-55-015, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]
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WAC 314-55-018 Prohibited practices—Money advances—Contracts—

Gifts—Rebates, discounts, and exceptions, etc. (1) No industry member

or marijuana—retatHlerlicensee shall enter into any agreement which

causes undue influence over another retatHler—licensee or Industry mem-
ber. This rule shall not be construed as prohibiting the placing and
accepting of orders for the purchase and delivery of marijuana that are
made 1In accordance with usual and common business practice and that are

otherwise in compliance with the—ruleschapter 69.50 RCW and this chapter.

(2) No marijuana producer or processor shall advance and no mari-
juana licensee shall receive money or moneys®™ worth under an agreement
written or unwritten or by means of any other business practice or
arrangement such as:

(a) Gifts;

(b) Discounts, except for volume discounts as provided in this

section;
(c) Loans of money;
(d) Premiums;
(e) Rebates;
(f) Free product of any kind except as allowed by WAC 314-55-

083314-55-096 and RCW 69.50.585; or
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(g) Treats or services of any nature whatsoever except such services

as are authorized in this rulesection and under RCW 69.50.585.

(3) "Industry member™ means a licensed marijuana producer, mariju-

ana processor, marijuana retailer, marijuana transportation licensee,

marijuana research licensee, their authorized representatives, and, in-

cluding but not limited to, any affiliates, subsidiaries, officers,

partners, financiers, agents, employees, and representatives of any #1-

dustry—memberlicensee.

(4) Consistent with WAC 314-55-017, no industry member or employee

thereof shall sell to any marijuana licensee or solicit from any such

licensee any order for any marijuana tied in with, or contingent upon,

the licensee®s purchase of some other marijuana, or any other merchan-

dise, paraphernalia, property, or service.

(5) Volume discounts. Licensed marijuana producers oOr processors

may provide volume discounts to marijuana licensees under the following

conditions:

(a) Volume discounts must be solely based on the volume of the

product purchased by a retailer from a producer or processor, or on the

volume of product purchased by a processor from a producer. The limita-

tions on iInteractions between the levels of licenses remains in effect,
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including the prohibition on undue influence, sales below cost of ac-

quisition, or as otherwise prohibited under this section and this chap-

ter.

(b) Any volume discount must be made available to all licensees.

(c) Volume discounts must be made in a single purchase. Volume

discounts may not be offered to multiple licensees for a “group” or “co-

op” purchase except where the purchase is being made by a business that

holds multiple licenses so long as the UBI is the same for each licensed

business.

(6) If the WSLCB finds In any instance that any licensee has vio-

lated this regulationsection, then all licensees involved in the viola-

tion shall be held equally responsible—for—such—vieclation.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-018, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§ 314-55-018,

filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15.]

WAC 314-55-020 Marijuana license qualifications and application
process. Each marijuana license application is unique and investigated

individually. The WSLCB may inquire and request documents regarding all
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matters in connection with the marijuana license application. The ap-
plication requirements for a marijuana license include, but are not

necessariHby—limited to, the following:

(1) Rer—Consistent with RCW 69.50.331(7) and (10), the WSLCB shall

send a notice to cities and counties, and-may—send—anotice—to—tribal

governments, e¥—and port authorities regarding the marijuana license

application within said jurisdiction. The local authority, tribal gov-

ernment, or port authority has twenty days to respond with a recommen-

dation to approve the application or an objection to the applicant,

location, or both.

(2) Consistent with RCW 69.50.331(8)(e), the WSLCB shall send a

notice to tribal governments when an applicant or licensee is proposed

to be located within the exterior boundaries of the reservation of a

federally recognized Indian tribe. The tribal government will have

twenty days to respond with an approval to the application. If written

approval i1s not received within thirty days, the WSLCB will assume the

tribe does not consent to the applicant’s location and the applicant

must find a new location.

(3) Applicants for a new marijuana producer, processor,—er—re-

tailer, transportation, or research license and those who apply to change
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their location must display a sign provided by the WSLCB on the outside
of the premises to be licensed notifying the public that the premises
are subject to an application for a marijuana license. Posting notices
must occur within seven days of submitting the location confirmation
form for new licenses or the change of location application for existing
licensees. The WSLCB may check for compliance with this requirement at
its discretion. The sign must:

(a) Not be altered. The licensee must post the sign sent by the
WSLCB without changing, adding, or subtracting from the text;

(b) Be conspicuously displayed on, or immediately adjacent to, the
premises subject to the application and in the location that is most
likely to be seen by the public;

(c) Be of a size sufficient to ensure that it will be readily seen
by the public, at a minimum these signs must be eight and one-half by
eleven inches;

(d) Be posted within seven business days of the date the notice 1is
sent to the applicant by the WSLCB; and

(e) The notice must be posted for fourteen consecutive days.

3y T 1 — I _ : I
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(4) All marijuana retabHl-license applicants must meet the qualifi-

cations required by the WSLCB before they will be granted a license
Feg-a-Fd-l-ess—ef—pFI-GFI—t—y' i -

(5) The WSLCB will verify that the proposed business meets the
minimum requirements for the type of marijuana license requested.

(6) The WSLCB will conduct an investigation of the applicants”
criminal history and administrative violation history, per WAC 314-55-
040 and 314-55-045.

(a) The criminal history background check will consist of comple-
tion of a personal/criminal history form provided by the WSLCB and
submission of fingerprints to a vendor approved by the WSLCB. The ap-

plicant will be responsible for paying all fees required by the vendor
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for fingerprinting. These fingerprints will be submitted to the Wash-
ington state patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation for compar-
ison to their criminal records. The applicant will be responsible for
paying all fees required by the Washington state patrol and the Federal
Bureau of Investigation.

(b) Financiers will also be subject to criminal history investiga-
tions equivalent to that of the license applicant. Financiers will also
be responsible for paying all fees required for the criminal history
check.

(7) The WSLCB will conduct a financial investigation in order to
verify the source of funds used for the acquisition and startup of the
business, the applicants®™ right to the real and personal property, and
to verify the true party(ies) of interest.

(8) The WSLCB may require a demonstration by the applicant that
they are familiar with marijuana laws and rules.

(9) The WSLCB may conduct a—fF#ral-an inspection of the proposed or
currently licensed business location, #n—erder—to determine if the ap-
plicant has complied with all the requirements of the license or change

to the license or premises requested.

(10) Per—Under RCW 69.50.331 (1)(c), all applicants applying for a

marijuana license must have resided in the state of Washington for at
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least six months prior to application for a marijuana license. All

business entities, including but not limited to partnerships, employee

cooperatives, associations, nonprofit corporations, corporations and
limited liability companies, applying for a marijuana license must be

formed in Washington. All members, governors, or agents of business

entities must also meet the six month residency requirement. Managers
or agents who manage a licensee"s place of business must also meet the

six month residency requirement.

A2 (11)(a) As part of the application process, each applicant must

submit #r—a—Format-supplHied-bythe WSLCB-an operating plan detaiHng—the
FfoHeowing—as—i#tpertains outlining required elements for the location

as provided in this chapter pertaining to the license type being sought.

The operating plan must be submitted using an operating plan format

supplied by the WSLCB. This operating plan must also include a floor

plan or site plan drawn to scale which 1llustrates the entire operation
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being proposed. The operating plan must include the following infor-

mation:

products-to-be-displayed-to

€onhsumers

(b) After obtaining a license, the license holder must notify the
WSLCB i1n advance of any change in their operating plan. Prior approval
IS required before the change #s—may be implemented.

43>)(12) (a) Hhr—order—toTo aid the WSLCB in monitoring the industry

as 1t develops, the WSLCB requests that all applicants and licensees

seeking renewal provide the following information:
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(b) Employees compensation and benefits data.

(i) Will the applicant/licensee provide a living wage (at least one
hundred fifty percent of the state minimum wage) to eighty-five percent
or more of i1ts hourly employees?

(i1) Will the applicant/licensee provide health insurance to at
least eighty-five percent of i1ts hourly employees?

(inn) Will the applicant/licensee provide a defined benefit pension
plan to at least eighty-five percent of i1ts hourly employees?

(iv) Will the applicant/licensee provide five or more paid sick
days annually to at least eighty-five percent of its hourly employees?

(v) Is there a signed labor peace agreement or collective bargaining
agreement with a labor organization in place?

4)(13) Applicants applying for a marijuana license must be cur-
rent in any tax obligations to the Washington state department of revenue
and other state agencies, as an individual or as part of any entity iIn
which they have an ownership interest. Applicants must sign an attesta-
tion that, under penalty of denial or loss of licensure, that represen-
tation iIs correct.

5)(14) The issuance or approval of a license shall not be con-

strued as a license for, or an approval of, any violations of local
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rules or ordinances including, but not limited to: Building and fire
codes, zoning ordinances, and business licensing requirements.
£26)(15) Upon failure to respond to the WSLCB licensing and regu-
lation division®s requests for information and/or documentation within
the timeline provided, the application may be administratively closed
or denial of the application will be sought.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-020, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8 314-55-020,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,

69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-020, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-035 What—pPersons or entities have—tothat must qualify
for a marijuana license?. A marijuana license must be issued in the

name(s) of the-all true party(ies) of iInterest for the license.

(1) True parties of interest—. For purposes of this title, "true

party of iInterest” means a person or business entity that holds an

ownership interest in the marijuana license, has management or control

of marijuana business activities under the license, or receives a share

of the net profits of the marijuana business. The following true parties
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of interest must be qualified to

be listed on the

license,

including

residency requirements:

True party of interest

Persons to be qualified

Sole proprietorship

Sole proprietor and spouse.

General partnership

All partners and spouses.

Limited partnership,

»  All general partners and

limited liability their spouses.
partnership, or limited «  All limited partners and
liability limited 5
- pouses.
partnership
Limited liability e All members and their
company SpOUSES.
e All managers and their
SpOUSES.

Privately held
corporation

»  All corporate officers
(or persons with
equivalent title) and
their spouses.

»  All stockholders and
their spouses.

Publicly held
corporation

All corporate officers (or
persons with equivalent title)
and their spouses.

All stockholders and their
Spouses.

Multilevel ownership
structures

All persons and entities that
make up the ownership
structure (and their spouses).

Any entity or person

thatare-expecting a
percentage of the profits
in exchange for a
monetary loan or
expertise. Financial
institutions are not
considered true parties
of interest.

Any entity or person who is
in receipt of, or has the right
to receive, a percentage of the
gross or net profit from the
licensed business during any
full or partial calendar or
fiscal year.

Any entity or person who
exercises control over the
licensed business in exchange
for money or expertise.

For the purposes of this
chapter:

e "Gross profit" includes
the entire gross receipts
from all sales and
services made in, upon,
or from the licensed
business.

»  "Net profit" means gross
sales minus cost of
goods sold.

Nonprofit corporations

All individuals and spouses,
and entities having
membership rights in
accordance with the
provisions of the articles of
incorporation or the bylaws.
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(2) For purposes of this section, "true party of iInterest' does not
mean:

(a) A person or entity receiving reasonable payment for rent on a
fixed basis under a bona fide lease or rental obligation, unless the
lessor or property manager exercises control over or participates in the
management of the business.

(b) A person who receives a bonus as an employee, 1f: The employee
is on a fixed wage or salary and the bonus is not more than twenty-five
percent of the employee"s pre-bonus annual compensation; or the bonus
iIs based on a written incentive/bonus program that is not out of the
ordinary for the services rendered.

(c) An employee of a licensee receiving commission-based compensa-

tion consistent with this subsection.

(i) Commission-based compensation based on an individual employee’s

product sales performance is permissible for employees of producers and

processors only and will not make the employee receiving commission-

based compensation a true party of interest so long as the commission-

based compensation arrangement does not create a default true party of

interest relationship.

(i1) Commission-based compensation arrangements between a licensee

and i1ts employee must be in writing.
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(i11) No more than five percent of the gross profits of the business

may be given to any one employee under a commission-based compensation

arrangement.

(iv) An employee of a licensee that operates under a commission-

based compensation arrangement must be listed as an employee of the

licensee with the Washington state employment security department.

d) A person or entity contracting with the applicant(s) to sell
the property, unless the contract holder exercises control over or par-

ticipates in the management of the licensed business.

(e) A consultant receiving flat or hourly rate compensation under

a written contractual agreement so long as the consultant does not

receive any percentage of profits or interest in the licensed business

or management or control of the licensed business such that would indi-

cate or create a true party of interest relationship.

(3) Financiers—. A financier is a person or entity other than a

financial i1nstitution that supplies capital or financial support to a

marijuana licensee. Such financial relationships are limited to loans

with reasonable interest or gifts of funds.

(a) A financier may not receive an ownership interest, control of

the business, or a profit-sharing interest or percentage of the profits

in exchange for financial support.
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(b) Washington state residency requirements do not apply to finan-

ciers, but all financiers must be United States residents.

(c) The WSLCB will conduct a financial investigation as well as a

criminal background of financiers and all funds must be approved by the

WSLCB prior to transfer to the marijuana licensee.

(4) Persons who exercise control of business—. The WSLCB will
conduct an 1investigation of any person or entity who exercises any
control over the applicant®s business operations. This may include beth

a fTinancial investigation—and/er, a criminal history background, or

both. Any changes to ownership after licensure must follow the require-

ments set forth in WAC 314-55-120.

(5) After licensure, a—true—party of -interest;—including—Ffinanci-

erss—licensees must continue to disclose the source of funds for all

moneys iInvested in the licensed business. The WSLCB must approve #these

all funds prior to investing them Into the business. Licensees are also

responsible for notifying the WSLCB and receiving approval of any changes

in ownership prior to the changes being made as provided in WAC 314-55-

120.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-

55-035, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16. Statutory Authority: RCW
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69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8§ 314-55-

035, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-050 Reasons the WSLCB may seek denial, suspension, or
cancellation of a marijuana license application or license. Following
is a list of reasons the WSLCB may deny, suspend, or cancel a marijuana
license application or license. Per RCW 69.50.331, the WSLCB has broad
discretionary authority to approve or deny a marijuana license applica-
tion for reasons including, but not limited to, the following:

(1) Failure to meet qualifications or requirements for the specific
marijuana preducer,—processors—or—FretalHl-license, as outlined iIn this
chapter and chapter 69.50 RCW.

(2) Failure or refusal to submit information or documentation re-
quested by the WSLCB during the evaluation process.

(3) The applicant makes a misrepresentation of fact, or fails to
disclose a material fact to the WSLCB during the application process or
any subsequent investigation after a license has been issued.

(4) Failure to meet the criminal history standards outlined in WAC
314-55-040.

(5) Failure to meet the marijuana law or rule violation history

standards outlined in WAC 314-55-045.

WAC (8/11/2017 9:58 AM) [ 30 ]



(6) The source of funds i1dentified by the applicant to be used for
the acquisition, startup and operation of the business is questionable,
unverifiable, or determined by the WSLCB to be gained In a manner which
is 1n violation by law.

(7) Denies the WSLCB or its authorized representative access to any
place where a licensed activity takes place or fails to produce any
book, record or document required by law or WSLCB rule.

(8) Has been denied or had a marijuana license or medical marijuana
license suspended or canceled in another state or local jurisdiction.

(9) Where the city, county, tribal government, or port authority
has submitted a substantiated objection per the requirements in RCW
69.50.331 (7) and (10).

(10) Except as provided in subsection (11) of this section, Fthe

WSLCB shall not issue a new marijuana license if the proposed licensed
business is within one thousand feet of the perimeter of the grounds of
any of the following entities. The distance shall be measured as the
shortest straight line distance from the property line of the proposed
building/business location to the property line of the entities listed
below:

(a) Elementary or secondary school;

(b) Playground;
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(c) Recreation center or facility;

(d) Child care center;

(e) Public park;

() Public transit center;

(g) Library; or

(h) Any game arcade (where admission is not restricted to persons
age twenty-one or older).

(11)(a) A city or county may by local ordinance permit the licensing
of marijuana businesses within one thousand feet but not less than one
hundred feet of the facilities listed In subsection (10) of this section
except elementary and secondary schools, and playgrounds.

(b) ITf a licensee applies for a marijuana license at a location
less than one thousand feet of a recreation center or facility, child
care center, public park, public transit center, library, or game arcade,
the licensee must provide the WSLCB with a copy of the local ordinance
that describes the distance required by the city or county the facility
will be located.

(12) Has failed to pay taxes or fees required under chapter 69.50

RCW or failed to provide production, processing, iInventory, sales and

transportation reports to documentation required under this chapter.
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(13) Failure to submit an attestation that they are current in any
tax obligations to the Washington state department of revenue.

(14) Has been denied a liquor or marijuana license or had a liquor

license or marijuana license suspended or revoked in this or any other

state.

(15) The operating plan does not demonstrate, to the satisfaction
of the WSLCB, the applicant is qualified for a license.

(16) Failure to operate in accordance with the WSLCB approved op-
erating plan.

(17) The WSLCB determines the issuance of the license will not be
in the best iInterest of the welfare, health, or safety of the people of
the state.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-050, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 14-06-108, 8 314-55-050,
filed 3/5/14, effective 4/5/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8§ 314-55-050, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-073 Marijuana research license. A marijuana research
license allows a holder of the license to produce, process, and possess

marijuana for the limited research purposes provided in RCW 69.50.372.
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The WSLCB designates a scientific reviewer (reviewer) to review research
applications and make recommendations for the approval or denial of
research projects and to assess licensed research activities. The fol-
lowing provisions are iIn addition to the requirements for marijuana
research licensees provided in RCW 69.50.372.

(1) Eligibility and continuing requirements for research license
applications, prohibitions and restrictions.

(a) Other than the restrictions listed in this subsection, any
person, organization, agency, or business entity may apply for a mari-
jJuana research license.

(b) Other marijuana licensees may apply for a research license.
Facilities at which the research is conducted must be wholly separate
and distinct from the marijuana business, except:

(i) Licensed producers with a research license and approved re-
search project may grow marijuana plants or possess marijuana for re-
search purposes at the producer®s licensed premises. However, all mari-
Juana grown or possessed for research purposes or purposes other than
those related to the research project must be kept wholly separated and
distinct from commercial operations and must not be comingled with or
diverted to marijuana grown for commercial purposes or purposes other

than those related to the research project; and
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(i1) Licensed processors with a research license and approved re-
search project may possess marijuana for research purposes at the pro-
cessors licensed premises. However, all marijuana possessed for research
purposes must be kept wholly separated and distinct from all marijuana
possessed for commercial purposes or purposes other than those related
to the research project and must not be comingled with or diverted to
marijuana possessed for commercial purposes or purposes other than those
related to the research project. Licensed processors who do not also
hold a producer license may not grow marijuana plants for the purposes
of research under a research license at the processor®s licensed loca-
tion.

(c) Labs certified to perform quality assurance testing on mariju-
ana and marijuana products by the WSLCB may apply for a research license.
Certified labs with a research license and approved research project
must ensure that all marijuana possessed for research purposes is wholly
separated from and i1s not comingled with marijuana possessed for state
required testing purposes for licensed producers or processors or mari-
Juana possessed for any reason other than research purposes.

(d) All research license applicants and persons conducting research

under the research license must be twenty-one years of age or older.
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(e) All research license applicants and those persons that have
managing control over an organization, agency, or business entity must
pass a criminal background check and financial investigation prior to
being eligible to receive a research license.

() Except as otherwise provided by chapter 69.50 RCW and agency
rule, no applicant for a research license may possess any marijuana
plants or marijuana for research purposes unless and until the research
project is approved and the applicant is notified that the research
license is approved in writing by the WSLCB.

(g) No research licensee may conduct research unless and until the
research project is approved by the reviewer and the WSLCB in writing.

(2) Initial applications.

(a) Application made with business licensing services (BLS).

(i) Applicants for a research license must apply through BLS to
begin the application process for a research license.

(i1) Upon submitting an application for a research license through
BLS, the applicant will receive an application letter from the WSLCB
directing the applicant to submit the additional application materials
directly to the WSLCB"s designated scientific reviewer (reviewer).

(A) The applicant must submit complete and accurate additional

application materials directly to the reviewer within thirty days of the
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date of the application letter from the WSLCB or by the date indicated
on the application letter. It is the responsibility of the research
license applicant to comply with the application requirements in this
section and ensure the application is complete, accurate, and success-
fully submitted to the reviewer.

(B) Incomplete or incorrect additional application materials, ma-
terials that do not adhere to the content requirements in this section,
or materials not received by the reviewer by 5:00 p.m. on the 30th day
or the application date as indicated on the letter from the WSLCB will
not be considered by the reviewer and the WSLCB will withdraw the ap-
plication after receiving notice in writing from the reviewer.

(b) Additional application materials requirements.

(1) Application materials that do not adhere to the content re-
quirements in this section or incomplete or incorrect applications will
be withdrawn.

(i1) The applicant is responsible for ensuring that no information
is included in the research plan that may compromise the applicant®s
ability to secure patent, trade secret, or other intellectual property
protection. All application documents must be submitted by a person who
has the legal authority to represent the entity if the applicant is an

entity other than an individual person.
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(i11) All documents must be submitted to the reviewer in a legible
PDF format.

(iv) All of the following information and documents are required
for each initial application:

(A) A completed cover page form, marijuana research license appli-
cation form, and signature page form created by the WSLCB and available
at the WSLCB"s web site at www.lIcb.wa.gov.

(B) A research plan limited to Ffeur—eight pages, not including

references or citations, that includes the following information:

(1) Purpose and goal(s) of the proposed research project(s);

(11) Key milestones and timelines for the research project(s);

(111) Background and preliminary studies;

(1V) Amount of marijuana to be grown, if applicable, including the
justification with respect to milestone tasks;

(V) Anticipated cost of the proposed research project(s) and fund-

ing available for the work. The scientific reviewer may request addi-

tional information or ask clarifying questions about the cost of the

proposal to determine whether the budget meets the scope and design of

the proposed project;

(V1) Key personnel and organizations, including names and roles;

WAC (8/11/2017 9:58 AM) [ 38 ]



(VIl) Facilities, equipment, and other resources required and
available for conducting the proposed research project(s).

(C) A biosketch for each individual involved in executing the pro-
posed research project limited to two pages per individual performing
technical and administrative functions essential to performing the pro-
posed research, including proof that the individual is twenty-one years
of age or older. Biosketches must be prepared using the National Insti-
tutes of Health (NIH) biographical sketch format, available at
http://grants.nih.gov/grants/forms/new-renewal-revisions.htm.

(D) Letters of support limited to two pages per letter confirming
the commitment of time and resources from external personnel or organ-
izations 1T external personnel or organizations will participate in
research activities under an approved research project. Letters of sup-
port are required to confirm the commitment of time and resources from
personnel involved in the proposed research project(s) who are not em-
ployed at the applicant organization. Letters of support must include
specific details regarding the type(s) and magnitude of the time and
resources being committed to the proposed research project(s) and must

be signed by individuals having the authority to make such commitments.
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(E) For all project(s) involving human or animal subjects, docu-
mentation of all required institutional review board (IRB) or institu-
tional animal care and use committee (IACUC) approvals. Documents must
be provided on IRB or IACUC letterhead and be signed by authorized
officials of those regulatory bodies.

(v) Documents that do not conform to the requirements iIn subsection
(b) of this section may be withdrawn. AIl nonform documents must conform
to the following requirements:

(A) Eight and one-half by 1l1-inch portrait-oriented page dimen-
sions;

(B) Single-spaced with all margins measuring at least one inch; and

(C) At least 12-point font in Times New Roman or Arial, not pro-
portionately reduced.

(c) Review by the WSLCB"s designated scientific reviewer.

(i) IT the applicant submits application materials to the reviewer
by the required deadline specified by the WSLCB"s application letter and
the reviewer determines the additional application materials are com-
plete and meet the document requirements specified in this section, the
reviewer will proceed with reviewing the research project to evaluate

whether the project complies with the provisions of RCW 69.50.372 (1)
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and (2). The scientific reviewer may require the applicant provide ad-

ditional information if the scientific reviewer determines that more

information is necessary to complete the review.

(i1) When evaluating research projects, the reviewer must:

(A) Ensure confidentiality;—and

(B) Screen members of the reviewer panel for any conflicts of
interest and take appropriate measures 1f a conflict of iInterest 1is
identified-;

(C) Review all information, including the budget, to evaluate

whether the scope and design of the proposed project matches the budget

and resources of the applicant; and

(D) The scientific reviewer may require the applicant to submit to

a site inspection. The site inspection may occur after the initial review

and before the license is issued to evaluate the adequacy of the loca-

tion, facilities, or equipment to complete the proposed project.

(i11) The reviewer will assess fees for the review of the research
project proposal directly to the applicant pursuant to RCW 69.50.372(7).
The reviewer will not recommend approval of an application for any
research license for which an unpaid balance of fees to the reviewer is
due regardless of the recommendation of the reviewer regarding the suf-

ficiency of the research project.
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(iv) IT at any time during the process of review the reviewer finds
that the additional application materials are not complete, the reviewer
will notify the WSLCB in writing and the WSLCB will withdraw the appli-
cation.

(v) The reviewer will supply a written evaluation to the WSLCB in
writing after completing review of the research project. Evaluations
will provide the approval recommendation status; determination(s) of the
applicable research category or categories; and, as applicable, the
reasons for a "Not Approved” recommendation. The WSLCB will provide
written evaluations to applicants following completion of the review
process by the reviewer along with the WSLCB"s approval or denial of the
research license.

(d) WSLCB requirements and licensing process. If the reviewer in-
dicates the application for a research license should be approved, the
following requirements must be met prior to final approval of the license
by the WSLCB.

(i) The WSLCB will request criminal background and financial in-
formation from the research license applicant and evaluate the appli-
cant(s) pursuant to the standards and requirements established in WAC
314-55-020 except that research license applicants are not subject to

prioritization under subsection (3) of that section;
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(i1) Funding of the proposed research must be disclosed by the
applicant(s) i1In amount, timing and source(s). Funding sources may in-
clude organizational resources and individuals and organizations that
are not part of the person, organization, agency, oOr business entity
applying for the research license. Out-of-state resources may be in-
cluded, but must be identified;

(ii1) The applicant(s) must adhere to the notice posting require-
ments under WAC 314-55-020;

(iv) The applicant must demonstrate access to and proficiency with
the traceability system; and

(v) The applicant must meet facility security requirements as pro-
vided in WAC 314-55-083 prior to being granted a license.

(3) Research license withdrawal and denials.

(a) The WSLCB will withdraw an application if:

(i) The application or additional application materials are deter-
mined incomplete or iIncorrect by the WSLCB or its designated reviewer;

(i1) The additional application materials are not timely received
by the reviewer as provided in this section; or

(i11) The applicant(s) request withdrawal of a research license
application at any time in the application process. The applicant must

request the withdrawal in writing and is responsible for any review
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costs due to the reviewer. The voluntary withdrawal of a research license
application does not result In a hearing right.

(b) The WSLCB will deny a research license if:

(1) The scientific reviewer does not recommend approval of the
license after reviewing the research proposal for compliance with this
section or RCW 69.50.372;

(i1) The applicant does not meet the requirements for a license
under this section or RCW 69.50.372; or

(i11) The applicant provides false or misleading information In any
of the materials 1t submits to the WSLCB or the reviewer.

(c) If the WSLCB denies a research application for the reasons
provided in (b)(iii) of this subsection or for failing to meet criminal
history or administrative violations requirements under this section,
the applicant(s) is prohibited from reapplying for a research license
for one calendar year from the date of the WSLCB"s denial of the license.

(d) A person or entity that has outstanding unpaid review fees
owing to the scientific reviewer is prohibited from reapplying for a
research license until all review fees are paid to the scientific re-
viewer.

(4) Reporting required.
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(a) The WSLCB or the WSLCB"s designated reviewer may require re-
porting by or auditing of research licensees as necessary.

(b) The WSLCB"s designated reviewer must submit an annual status
report of all completed and ongoing research projects for the previous
year to the WSLCB by December 31st of each calendar year.

(c) The licensee must adhere to the reporting requirements in the
traceability system under WAC 314-55-083.

(d) The reviewer must immediately notify the WSLCB if it receives
information indicating that a research licensee is operating outside the
scope of the projects approved under a research license.

(5) Adding an additional research project or changing existing
approved research project process (after licensure).

(a) A research licensee iIs restricted to only those research ac-
tivities under a research project that has been reviewed and approved
by reviewer.

(b) Applications to add a new project or change an existing approved
project is the same as what is required for initial application except
that a new license application through BLS is not required. To apply to
add a new research project or change an existing approved project, a

research licensee must submit all materials to the reviewer as required
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under subsection (2)(b) of this section. Incomplete project applications
will not be considered.

(c) The reviewer will review the application for a new research
project or change to an existing approved research project pursuant to
subsection (2)(c) of this section. The reviewer will supply a written
evaluation to the WSLCB and the licensee in writing after completing
review of the application for a new research project or a change to an
existing approved research project. Evaluations will provide the ap-
proval recommendation status; determination(s) of the applicable re-
search category or categories; and, as applicable, the reasons for a
"Not Approved™ recommendation.

(6) Research license renewals.

(a) Research license renewals operate on an annual basis, based on
the license issuance date. A licensee must have an ongoing approved
research project or an application for a new research project to be
eligible for license renewal. The WSLCB will notify the licensee and
reviewer ninety days prior to the license renewal date. The licensee
must provide a status report to the reviewer or an application for a new
research project i1f the licensee"s ongoing approved research project
will end within thirty days prior to or after the renewal date. The

status report or application must be received by the reviewer within
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thirty days of the ninety-day renewal notice from the WSLCB or the
license will not be renewed.

(b) The reviewer will notify the WSLCB in writing if the licensee
meets the requirements for renewal not later than fifteen days prior to
the licensee®s renewal date.

(c) If the reviewer determines that the research project does not
meet requirements for renewal due to lack of an ongoing project or for
failure to meet the requirements of RCW 69.50.372 or this section for a
proposed new project, the reviewer will recommend the WSLCB not renew
the license.

(d) The WSLCB will review the licensee®s violation history and
criminal background check prior to renewal. If the violation history or
criminal records disqualifies the licensee from eligibility for a re-
search license under WAC 314-55-050, the WSLCB will not renew the li-
cense.

(7) License revocation.

(a) The WSLCB may revoke an application for the following reasons:

(i) The WSLCB has reason to believe that marijuana is being diverted
from the research licensee;

(i1) The research licensee operates outside the scope of the re-

search project(s) approved under the license issued to the licensee;
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(i11) The applicant makes a misrepresentation of fact, or fails to
disclose a material fact to the WSLCB during the application process or
any subsequent investigation after a license has been issued;

(iv) The WSLCB finds that the licensee possesses marijuana plants,
marijuana, or marijuana products that are not accounted for 1iIn the
traceability system;

(v) The research licensee makes changes to their operating plan,
entity structure, or location without prior approval from the WSLCB;

(vi) The research licensee fails to maintain security requirements
for the licensed research facility; or

(vii) The licensee violates any provision of chapter 69.50 RCW or
this chapter.

(b) A licensee may request voluntary cancellation of a license at
any time. The licensee must request cancellation of a research license
to the WSLCB in writing. The voluntary cancellation of a research license
does not result in a hearing right.

(8) Marijuana disposal requirements.

(a) Licensees must dispose of marijuana as provided in WAC 314-55-
097.

(b) Licensees must dispose of marijuana iIf the research license is

discontinued for any reason. A licensee may transfer plants to another
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marijuana research licensee. A licensee may work with the WSLCB to
dispose of marijuana or marijuana plants.

(9) An applicant or licensee may request an administrative hearing
to contest the withdrawal, denial, nonrenewal, or revocation of a re-
search license pursuant to chapter 34.05 RCW. A request for a hearing
must be made in writing and received by the WSLCB no later than twenty
days after the date the notification of withdrawal, denial, nonrenewal,
or revocation was mailed to the applicant or licensee. Appeal requests
submitted in paper form may be delivered to the WSLCB in person during
normal business hours at 3000 Pacific Avenue S.E., Olympia, WA 98501,
or mailed to the WSLCB. Mailed appeal requests must be addressed to:
WSLCB, ATTN: Adjudicative Proceedings Coordinator, P.O. Box 43076, Olym-
pia, WA 98504-3076 or, for certified mail, WSLCB, ATTN: Adjudicative
Proceedings Coordinator, 3000 Pacific Avenue S.E., Olympia, WA 98501.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342, 69.50.345, and 69.50.372. WSR 17-

04-038, § 314-55-073, filed 1/25/17, effective 2/25/17.]

WAC 314-55-075 What—#s—a—mMarijuana producer license and—what—are

the— Privileges, requirements, and fees—related—to—-a—marijuana—producer

Heense?2. (1)(a) A marijuana producer license allows the licensee to

produce, harvest, trim, dry, cure, and package marijuana into lots for
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sale at wholesale to marijuana processor licensees and to other marijuana
producer licensees. A marijuana producer ean—may also produce and sell:

(i) Marijuana plants, seed, and plant tissue culture to other ma-
rijuana producer licensees;—and

(i1) Immature Mmarijuana plants or clones and marijuana seeds to

members of a registered cooperative, qualifying patients, or designhated

providers under the conditions provided in WAC-314-55-410-this chapter;

and

(iii1) Immature marijuana plants or clones and marijuana seeds to a

licensed marijuana researchers under the conditions provided in this

chapter.

(b) Marijuana production must take place within a fully enclosed
secure 1ndoor facility or greenhouse with rigid walls, a roof, and doors.
Outdoor production may take place in nonrigid greenhouses, other struc-
tures, or an expanse of open or cleared ground fully enclosed by a
physical barrier. To obscure public view of the premises, outdoor pro-
duction must be enclosed by a sight obscure wall or fence at least eight
feet high. Outdoor producers must meet security requirements described
in WAC 314-55-083. An outdoor grow must be physically separated at least

twenty feet from another licensed outdoor grow. In addition, Soutdoor

grows cannot share common walls or fences.
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(2) The application fee for a marijuana producer license iIs two
hundred fifty dollars. The applicant is also responsible for paying the
fees required by the approved vendor for fingerprint evaluation.

(3) The annual fee for i1ssuance and renewal of a marijuana producer

license is one thousand dollars. Effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee

for issuance and renewal of a marijuana producer licenses is one thousand

three hundred dollars. The WSLCB will conduct random criminal history

checks at the time of renewal that will require the licensee to submit
fingerprints for evaluation from the approved vendor. The licensee wiH

beis responsible for all fees required for the-criminal history checks.

(4) FheWsLCB—wiH—initiaHy Hmitthe—opportunity—to—applyFfor—a

WSLEEB-—The application window for marijuana producer licenses i1s closed.

The WSLCB may reopen the marijuana producer application window after—the

+ritial-evaluationof the-applicationsreceived—and-at subsequent times

when the WSLCB deems necessary.
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(5) Any entity and/or principals within any entity are limited to

an interest, as defined in WAC 314-55-035, in no more than three mari-

Jjuana producer licenses.

(6) The maximum amount of space for marijuana production wiH-—be

Hmposed—at—a—later—datecannot exceed the amount licensed. Applicants

must designate on their operating plan the size category of the produc-
tion premises and the amount of actual square footage In their premises
that will be designated as plant canopy. There are three categories as
follows:

(a) Tier 1 — Less than two thousand square feet;

(b) Tier 2 — Two thousand square feet up to ten thousand square
feet; and

(c) Tier 3 — Ten thousand square feet up to thirty thousand square
feet.

(7) The WSLCB may reduce a licensee"s or applicant®s square footage
designated to plant canopy for the following reasons:

(a) It the amount of square feet of production of all licensees
exceeds the maximum square feet the WSLCB will reduce the allowed square

footage by the same percentage.
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(b) It fifty percent production space used for plant canopy iIn the
licensee™s operating plan is not met by the end of the first year of
operation the WSLCB may reduce the tier of licensure.

(8) ITf the total amount of square feet of marijuana production
exceeds the maximum square feet, the WSLCB reserves the right to reduce
all licensee®"s production by the same percentage or reduce licensee
production by one or more tiers by the same percentage.

(9) The maximum allowed amount of marijuana on a producer®s premises
at any time is as follows:

(a) Outdoor or greenhouse grows — One and one-quarter of a year"s
harvest; or

(b) Indoor grows — Six months of their annual harvest.

(10) A producer may not treat or otherwise adulterate useable ma-

rijuana with any organic or nonorganic chemical or other compound what-

soever to alter the color, appearance, weight, or smell of the useable

marijuana.

(11) A marijuana producer must make quality assurance test results

available to any processor purchasing product. A marijuana producer must

label each lot of marijuana with the following information:

(a) Lot number;

(b) UBI number of the producer; and
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(c) Weight of the product.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342, 69.50.345, 2016 c 170, 2016 c 171,
and 2016 c 17. WSR 16-19-102, 8 314-55-075, filed 9/21/16, effective
10/22/16. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-
110, 8 314-55-075, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§
314-55-075, filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-10-044, 8§ 314-55-
075, Tfiled 4/30/14, effective b5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW
69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-

075, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-077 What—is—a—mMarijuana processor license and-what—are

the— Privileges, requirements, and fees—+related-to-amarijuanaprocessor

Heense?2. (1) A marijuana processor license allows the licensee to pro-
cess, dry, cure, package, and label usableuseable marijuana, marijuana
concentrates, and marijuana-infused products for sale at wholesale to
marijuana processors and marijuana retailers.

(2) Application and license fees.

(a) The application fee for a marijuana processor license iIs two

hundred fifty dollars. The applicant is also responsible for paying the

fees required by the approved vendor for fingerprint evaluation.
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(b) The annual fee for issuance and renewal of a marijuana processor

license is one thousand dollars. Effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee

for issuance and renewal of a marijuana processor licenses is one thou-

sand three hundred dollars. The WSLCB will conduct random criminal his-

tory checks at the time of renewal that will require the licensee to

submit Fingerprints for evaluation from the approved vendor. The licen-

see 1s responsible for all fees required for the criminal history checks.

(c) The application window for marijuana processor licenses 1is

closed. The WSLCB may reopen the marijuana processor application window

at subsequent times when the WSLCB deems necessary.

(3) Any entity and/or principals within any entity are limited to

no more than three marijuana processor licenses.

(4)(a) A marijuana processor that makes marijuana-infused solid or

liquid product meant to be iIngested orally (marijuana edibles) must

obtain a marijuana-infused edible endorsement from the department of

agriculture as required under chapter 15.125 RCW and rulles adopted by

the department to implement that chapter (chapter 16-131 WAC). A licensee

must allow the WSLCB or their designee to conduct physical visits and

inspect the processing facility, recipes, and records required under WAC

314-55-087 during normal business hours or at any time of apparent

operation without advance notice.
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(b) A marijuana processor licensed by the board must ensure mari-

juana-infused edible processing facilities are constructed, kept, and

maintained in a clean and sanitary condition in accordance with rules

and as prescribed by the Washington state department of agriculture

under chapter 15.125 RCW and rulles promulgated to implement that chapter

(chapter 16-131 WAC) and chapters 16-165 and 16-167 WAC.

(5)(a) A marijuana processor +s—allewed—tomay blend tested usa-
bleuseable marijuana from multiple lots Into a single package for sale

to a marijuana retail licensee providing—so long as the label require-

ments for each lot used in the blend are met and the percentage by weight
of each lot is also included on the label.

(b) A processor may not treat or otherwise adulterate useable ma-

rijuana with any organic or nonorganic chemical or other compound what-

soever to alter the color, appearance, weight, or smell of the useable

marijuana.

3)—(6) Recipes, product, packaging, and labeling approval.

(a) A marijuana processor licensee must obtain label and packaging
approval from the WSLCB for all marijuana-infused products meant for
oral ingestion prior to offering these items for sale to a marijuana

retailer. The marijuana processor licensee must submit a picture of the
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product, labeling, and packaging to the WSLCB for approval. More infor-

mation on the product, packaging, and label review process is available

on the WLSCB”s website at www.lcb.wa.gov.

(b) All recipes for marijuana-infused products meant for oral in-

gestion (marijuana edible products) must be approved by the department

of agriculture under chapter 16-131. Licensees must obtain recipe ap-

proval from the department of agriculture prior to submitting any mari-

juana edible products, packages, and labels for review and approval by

the WSLCB. The recipe for any marijuana-infused solid or liquid products

meant to be ingested orally must be kept on file at the marijuana

processor"s licensed premises and made available for inspection by the

WSLCB or its designee.

(c) ITf the WSLCB denies a marijuana-infused product for sale 1in

marijuana retail outlets, the marijuana processor licensee may request
an administrative hearing per—under chapter 34.05 RCW, Administrative
Procedure Act.

(7)) With the exception of the marijuana, all ingredients used
in making marijuana-infused products for oral ingestion must be a com-
mercially manufactured food as defined in WAC 246-215-01115.

€5)(8) Marijuana-infused edible products in solid or liquid form

must: meet—theFfolHlowing reguirements:
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(&) Marijuana—infused——solid—edible products—must—(a) bBe homoge-

nized to ensure uniform disbursement of cannabinoids throughout the

product~; and

€D (b)) AH—marijuyana—infused—solid—ediblesmustpProminently dis-

play on the label "This product contains marijuana.' 1T the WSLCB adopts

a universal symbol required on labels of marijuana or marijuana products

to identify the product is or contains marijuana, this subsection will

not be required upon the effective date of rules requiring the universal

symbol to be included on labels so long as it is required on marijuana-

infused solid and liquid edibles.
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(9 A marijuana processor is limited in the types of food or

drinks they may infuse with marijuana. Marijuana-infused products that
require cooking or baking by the consumer are prohibited. Marijuana-
infused products that are especially appealing to children are prohib-
ited. Marijuana-infused edible products such as, but not limited to,
gummy candies, lollipops, cotton candy, or brightly colored products,
are prohibited.

(a) To reduce the risk to public health, potentially hazardous
foods as defined in WAC 246-215-01115 may not be infused with marijuana.
Potentially hazardous foods require time-temperature control to keep
them safe for human consumption and prevent the growth of pathogenic
microorganisms or the production of toxins. Any food that requires re-
frigeration, freezing, or a hot holding unit to keep it safe for human
consumption may not be infused with marijuana.

(b) Other food i1tems that may not be infused with marijuana to be
sold in a retail store areinclude:

(i) Any food that has to be acidified to make it shelf stable;
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(11) Food i1tems made shelf stable by canning or retorting;

(i1i1) Fruit or vegetable juices (this does not include shelf stable
concentrates);

(iv) Fruit or vegetable butters;

(v) Pumpkin pies, custard pies, or any pies that contain egg;

(vi) Dairy products of any kind such as butter, cheese, ice cream,
or milk; and

(vii) Dried or cured meats.

(c) Vinegars and oils derived from natural sources may be infused
with dried marijuana 1f all plant material 1s subsequently removed from
the final product. Vinegars and oils may not be infused with any other
substance, including herbs and garlic.

(d) Marijuana-infused jams and jellies made from scratch must uti-
lize a standardized recipe in accordance with 21 C.F_.R. Part 150, revised
as of April 1, 2013.

(e) Per WAC 314-55-104, a marijuana processor may infuse dairy
butter or fats derived from natural sources and use that extraction to
prepare allowable marijuana-infused solid or liquid products meant to
be i1ngested orally, but the dairy butter or fats derived from natural

sources may not be sold as stand-alone products.
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(f) The WSLCB may designate other food 1tems that may not be infused

with marijuana.
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15)(10) Marijuana processor licensees are allowed to have a max-
imum of six months of their average usable marijuana and six months
average of their total production on their licensed premises at any

time.

(11) Processing service arrangements. A processing service arrange-

ment iIs when one processor (processor B) processes useable marijuana or

an altered form of useable marijuana (marijuana product) for another

licensed processor (processor A) for a fee.

(a) Processor A is the product owner. However, processor B may

handle the product under its license as provided in chapter 69.50 RCW

and this chapter. Processor B is not allowed to transfer the product to

a retailer and may only possess marijuana or marijuana products received

from processor A for the limited purposes of processing it for ultimate

transfer back to processor A.

(b) Processing service arrangements must be made on a cash basis

only as provided in WAC 314-55-115. No “splits” of product are permis-

sible and payment with any marijuana products, barter, trade, or com-

pensation in any form other than cash as defined in this chapter for

processing service arrangements is prohibited.
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(c) A processor must meet and maintain their qualifications as a

processor outside of processing service arrangements. Processing service

arrangement activities cannot exceed Tifty percent of a processor’s

overall business.

(d) Each processor that enters Into a processing service arrange-

ment must include records for each service arrangement in recordkeeping

documents which must be maintained consistent with this chapter.

(12) Marijuana may not be returned by any retail licensee to any

processor except as provided in this section.

(a) Every processor must maintain on the licensed premises for a

period of five years complete records of all refunds and exchanges made

under this section including an inventory of marijuana and marijuana

products returned to the processor by any retail licensee.

(b) Marijuana may be returned by a retail licensee in the event a

retailer goes out of the business of selling marijuana at retail and a

cash refund may be made upon the return of the marijuana or marijuana

products, so long as WSLCB approval is acquired prior to returns and

refunds under this subsection.

(c) Marijuana products different from that ordered by a retailer

and delivered to the retailer may be returned to a processor and either

replaced with marijuana products which were ordered or a cash refund may
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be made. These iIncorrect orders must be discovered and corrected within

eight days of the date the delivery was made to be eligible for returns

and refunds under this subsection.

6)(d) A marijuana processor must-may accept returns of products
and sample jars from marijuana retailers for destruction, but is not
required to provide refunds to the retailer. It is the responsibility
of the retailer to ensure the product or sample jar is returned to the
processor.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-077, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§ 314-55-077,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-10-044, § 314-55-077, fTiled
4/30/14, effective 5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8§ 314-55-077, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-079 What—is—a—mMarijuana retailer license and—what—are

the— Privileges, requirements, and fees—relatedtoa—marijuana—retatler

Heense?2. (1) A marijuana retailer license allows the licensee to sell
only usableuseable marijuana, marijuana concentrates, marijuana-infused

products, and-marijuana paraphernalia, and lockable boxes to store ma-

rijuana at retail in licensed retail outlets to persons twenty-one years
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of age and older, except as allowed for persons under twenty one years

of age consistent with RCW 69.50.357 and WAC 314-55-080.

(2) Warijuana-infused products listed in WAC 314-55-077(6) are pro-
hibited—For——sale by amarijuyaha—retatHl—lHecensee- The WSLCB may accept

applications for marijuana retail licenses at time frames published on

its web site at Icb.wa.gov. Using estimated consumption data and popu-

lation data obtained from the office of financial management (OFM) pop-

ulation data, the WSLCB will determine the maximum number of marijuana

retail locations per county.

(a) The number of retail locations will be determined using a method

that distributes the number of locations proportionate to the most pop-

ullous cities within each county and to accommodate the medical needs of

qualifying patients and designated providers. Locations not assigned to

a specific city will be at large. At large locations can be used for

unincorporated areas in the county or in cities within the county that

have no retail licenses designated.

(b) The number of retail licenses determined by the board can be

found on the WSLCB web site at Icb.wa.gov.

(3) trternetsales—and-dehHveryof product—to—customers—isprohib-

+#ted- Any entity and/or principals within any entity are limited to no

more than five retail marijuana licenses.
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(4) Application and license fees.

(a) The application fee for a marijuana retailer®s license iIs two
hundred fifty dollars. The applicant is also-responsible for paying—the
fees required by the approved vendor for fingerprint evaluation.

€5)(b) The annual fee for issuance and renewal of a marijuana

retailer=s license is one thousand dollars. Effective July 1, 2018, the

annual fee for issuance and renewal of a marijuana retailer license is

one thousand three hundred dollars. The WSLCB will conduct random crim-

inal history checks at the time of renewal that will require the licensee
to submit fingerprints for evaluation from the approved vendor. The
licensee wiH—beis responsible for all fees required for the criminal
history checks.

(5) Internet sales and delivery of product to customers are pro-

hibited.

(6) Sales of marijuana-infused products not permissible under WAC

314-55-077 are prohibited.

6> (7) Marijuana retailers may not sell marijuana products below

the current acquisition cost.

(8) All marijuana products must be stored behind a counter or other

barrier to ensure a customer does not have direct access to the product.
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(9) A marijuana retailer may not sell lockable boxes for less than

the cost of acquisition or sell boxes received as a donation. The dona-

tion of lockable boxes must come from a person or entity that iIs not a

licensed marijuana producer, processor, or retailer.

H(10) Marijuana retailer licensees are allowed to have a maximum
of four months of their average inventory on their licensed premises at
any given time.

€8)(11) A marijuana retailer may transport product to other loca-
tions operated by the licensee or to return product to a marijuana
processor as outlined #n—the transportation—rules—in WAC 314-55-085.

€(12) A marijuana retailer may accept returns of open marijuana
products. Products must be returned in their original packaging with the

lot, batch, or inventory ID number fully legible.

A9 (13) A marijuana retailer may dispose of marijuana products as

provided in WAC 314-55-097. Marijuyana—retailers—must—give—seventy-tweo

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342, 69.50.345, 2016 c 170, 2016 c 171,
and 2016 c¢ 17. WSR 16-19-102, § 314-55-079, filed 9/21/16, effective
10/22/16. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-

110, § 314-55-079, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, §
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314-55-079, filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-10-044, § 314-55-
079, Tfiled 4/30/14, effective b5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW
69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-

079, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-080 Medical marijuana endorsement. (1) A medical mari-
Jjuana endorsement added to a marijuana retail license allows the mari-
juana retail licensee to:

(a) Sell marijuana for medical use to qualifying patients and des-
ignated providers; and

(b) Provide marijuana at no charge, at their discretion, to qual-
ifying patients and designated providers.

(2) Qualifying patients between eighteen and twenty-one years of

age with a recognition card may enter and remain on the premises of a

retail outlet holding a medical marijuana endorsement and may purchase

products for their personal medical use. Qualifying patients who are

under the age of eighteen with a recognition card and who accompany

their designated providers may enter and remain on the premises of a

retail outlet holding a medical marijuana endorsement, but may not pur-

chase products for their personal medical use.
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(3) To maintain a medical marijuana endorsement iIn good standing,
a marijuana retailer must:

(a) Follow all rules adopted by the department of health regarding
retail sales of medical marijuana;

(b) Have a consultant on staff iIn accordance with department of
health rules;

(c) Prohibit the medical use of marijuana by anyone at the retail
outlet at all times, including medical use by qualifying patients;

(d) Maintain at all times, a representative assortment of marijuana
products necessary to meet the needs of qualified patients and designated
providers;

(e) Not market marijuana concentrates, usableuseable marijuana, or
marijuana-infused products 1In a way that make them especially attractive
to minors;

() Demonstrate the ability to enter qualifying patients and des-
ignated providers in the medical marijuana authorization database es-
tablished by the department of health;

(g) Issue recognition cards and agree to enter qualifying patients

and designated providers into the database in compliance with the de-

partment of health standards;
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tax—exempt—sales—Ffor—a minimum—oF three—yearsKeep records to document

the validity of tax exempt sales as prescribed by the department of

revenue for a minimum of Five years. For the documentation requirements

in RCW 69.50.375(3)(e), licensees are not required to separately keep

copies of the qualifying patient’s or designhated provider’s recognition

card because this information is stored in the medical marijuana au-

thorization database;

(1) Train employees on the following:

(i) Procedures regarding the recognition of valid authorizations
and the use of equipment to enter qualifying patients and designated
providers Into the medical marijuana authorization database;

(i1) Recognition of valid recognition cards; and

(i1i1) Recognition of strains, varieties, THC concentration, CBD
concentration, and THC to CBD ratios of marijuana concentrates, usa-—
bleuseable marijuana, and marijuana-infused products available for sale
when assisting qualifying patients and designated providers at the re-
tail outlet.

3)(4) A marijuana retailer holding a medical marijuana endorsement

may sell products with a THC concentration of 0.3 percent or less. The
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licensee may also provide these products at no charge to qualifying
patients or designated providers.

€4)(5) Unlicensed practice of medicine. No owner, employee, or
volunteer of a retail outlet and holding a medical marijuana endorsement
may :

(a) Offer or undertake to diagnose or cure any human or animal
disease, ailment, injury, infirmity, deformity, pain, or other condi-
tion, physical or mental, real or imaginary, by use of marijuana products
or any other means or instrumentality; or

(b) Recommend or suggest modification or elimination of any course
of treatment that does not involve the medical use of marijuana products.

€5)(6) Failure to comply with subsections (3) and €4)(5) of this
section may result iIn suspension or revocation of the medical marijuana

endorsement.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-

55-080, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16.]
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WAC 314-55-083 What-are—the-sSecurity and traceability requirements

for a—marijuana licensees?. The security requirements for a marijuana
licensee are as follows:

(1) Display of identification badge. All licensees and employees
on the licensed premises shall be required to hold and properly display
an identification badge issued by the licensed employer at all times
while on the licensed premises and engaged in the transportation of

marijuana. The identification badge must list the licensee®s trade name
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and include the person®s full and legal name and photograph. All licen-
sees and employees must have their state issued identification available
to verify the information on their badge iIs correct.

(a) All nonemployee visitors to the licensed premises, other than
retail store customers, shall be required to hold and properly display
an identification badge issued by the licensee at all times while on the
licensed premises.

(b) A log must be kept and maintained showing the full name of each
visitor entering the licensed premises, badge number issued, the time
of arrival, time of departure, and the purpose of the visit.

(c) All log records must be maintained on the licensed premises for
a period of three years and are subject to inspection by any WSLCB
employee or law enforcement officer, and must be copied and provided to
the WSLCB or law enforcement officer upon request.

(d) Employees, visitors, and other persons at a marijuana licensed
premises, including persons engaged in the transportation of marijuana,
must provide identification to a WSLCB enforcement officer upon request.

(2) Alarm systems. At a minimum, each licensed premises must have
a security alarm system on all perimeter entry points and perimeter
windows. Motion detectors, pressure switches, duress, panic, and hold-

up alarms may also be utiHHzedused.
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(3) Surveillance system. At a minimum, a licensed premises must
have a complete video surveillance system with minimum camera resolution
of 640 x 470 pixels or pixel equivalent for analog. The surveillance
system storage device and/or the cameras must be internet protocol (IP)

compatible. All cameras must be fixed and placement shall-must allow for

the clear and certain identification of any person and activities in
controlled areas of the licensed premises. All entrances and exits to
an indoor facility shalH-must be recorded from both indoor and outdoor,
or ingress and egress vantage points. All cameras must record continu-
ously twenty-four hours per day and at a minimum of ten frames per
second. The surveillance system storage device must be secured on the
licensed premises in a lockbox, cabinet, closet, or secured iIn another
manner to protect from employee tampering or criminal theft. All sur-
veillance recordings must be kept for a minimum of forty-five days on
the licensee™s recording device. All videos are subject to inspection
by any WSLCB employee or law enforcement officer, and must be copied and
provided to the WSLCB or law enforcement officer upon request. All
recorded images must clearly and accurately display the time and date.
Time 1s to be measured in accordance with the U.S. National Institute
Standards and Technology standards.

(a) Controlled areas include:
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(1) Any area within an iIndoor, greenhouse or outdoor room or area
where marijuana Is grown, or marijuana or marijuana waste is being moved
within, processed, stored, or destroyed. Rooms or areas where marijuana
or marijuana waste iIs never present are not considered control areas and
do not require camera coverage.

(i1) All point-of-sale (POS) areas.

(i11) Twenty feet of the exterior of the perimeter of all required
fencing and gates enclosing an outdoor grow operation. Any gate or other
entry point that is part of the required enclosure for an outdoor growing
operation must be lighted in low-light conditions. A motion detection
lighting system may be employed to light the gate area in low-light
conditions.

(iv) Any room or area storing a surveillance system storage device.

(b) AH—marijuanas—marijuana—concentrates;—or—marijuana—infused
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(4) Traceability: To prevent diversion and to promote public
safety, marijuana licensees must track marijuana from seed to sale.
Licensees must provide the required information on a system specified
by the WSLCB. All costs related to the reporting requirements are borne

by the licensee. Marijuana seedlings, clones, plants, lots of usableuse-

able marijuana or trim, leaves, and other plant matter, batches of
extracts, marijuana-infused products, samples, and marijuana waste must
be traceable from production through processing, and finally into the
retail environment including being able to identify which lot was used
as base material to create each batch of extracts or iInfused products.
The following information is required and must be kept completely up-
to-date In a system specified by the WSLCB:

(a) Key notification of "events," such as when a plant enters the
system (moved from the seedling or clone area to the vegetation produc-
tion area at a young age);

(b) When plants are to be partially or fully harvested or destroyed;

(c) When a lot or batch of marijuana, marijuana extract, marijuana
concentrates, marijuana-infused product, or marijuana waste is to be
destroyed;

(d) When usableuseable marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or mari-

Juana-infused products are transported;
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(e) Any theft of usableuseable marijuana, marijuana seedlings,
clones, plants, trim or other plant material, extract, infused product,

seed, plant tissue or other item containing marijuana;

€ (g) All marijuana plants eight or more inches In height or width

must be physically tagged and tracked individually;
GH)(h) A complete inventory of all marijuana, seeds, plant tissue,
seedlings, clones, all plants, lots of usableuseable marijuana or trim,

leaves, and other plant matter, batches of extract, marijuana concen-

trates, marijuana-infused products, and marijuana waste;

WAC (8/11/2017 9:58 AM) [ 78 ]



do (1) All marijuana, usableuseable marijuana, marijuana-infused

products, marijuana concentrates, seeds, plant tissue, clone lots, and

marijuana waste must be physically tagged with the sixteen—digit—iden-

tHficationnumber-unique identifier generated by the traceability system

and tracked;

D) All point of sale records;

) (k) Marijuana excise tax records;

D)) All samples sent to an independent testing lab, any sample
of unused portion of a sample returned to a licensee, and the quality
assurance test results;

€e)(m) All Free—vendor samples provided to another licensee for

purposes of education or negotiating a sale;

) (n) All samples used for testing for quality by the producer or
processor;

€a4—) (0) Samples containing usableuseable marijuana provided to
retailers;

) (p) Samples provided to the WSLCB or their designee for quality

assurance compliance checks; and

s)(q) Other information specified by the board.
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-

55-083, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§ 314-55-083,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-07-116, 8§ 314-55-083, fTiled
3/19/14, effective 4/19/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-083, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-084—Production—-of-marijuana Marijuana plant production.

(1) Only the fTollowing specified soil amendments, fertilizers, other
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crop production aids, and pesticides may be used In the production of
marijuana:

(a) Pesticides registered by WSDA under chapter 15.58 RCW as al lowed
for use iIn the production, processing, and handling of marijuana. Pes-
ticides must be used consistent with the label requirements.

(b) Commercial fertilizers registered by WSDA under chapter 15.54
RCW.

(c) Potting soil, crop production aids, soil amendments, and other
growing media available commercially in the state of Washington may be
used In marijuana production. Producers growing outdoors are not re-
quired to meet land eligibility requirements outlined in 7 C.F.R. Part
205.202.

(2) Examples of prohibited products:

(a) The use of products containing plant growth regulators not
allowed for use on food crops including, but not limited to, any of the
following ingredients, is prohibited:

=—(1) Ancymidol;

=—(11) Chlormequat chloride;
=—(111) Clofencet;
=—(1v) Colchicine;

=—(v) Colloidal silver;
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=—(vi) Daminozide;

=—(viil) Dikegulac-sodium;

a—(vili) Flumetralin;

=—(i1x) Flurprimidol; and

=—(x) Paclobutrazol .

(b) The use of vitamin-hormone products not intended for use on
food crops is prohibited.

(c) The use of products containing the insecticide DDVP (Dichlor-
vos) is prohibited in all areas where marijuana Is being grown or pro-
cessed.

(3) Soil amendments, fertilizers, growing media, other crop pro-
duction aids, and pesticides that do not conform to subsections (1) and
(2) of this section cannot be used, kept, or stored on the licensed
premises.

(4) The following marijuana and marijuana products are subject to
seizure and destruction:

(a) Marijuana exposed to unauthorized soil amendments or fertiliz-
ers; and

(b) Marijuana with detectable-levels of unauthorized pesticides or

plant growth regulators as provided in WAC 314-55-108.
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-084, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 14-10-044, 8 314-55-084,
filed 4/30/14, effective 5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-084, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-087 What are the recordkeeping requirements for mariju-
ana licensees? (1) Marijuana licensees are responsible to keep records
that clearly reflect all financial transactions and the financial con-
dition of the business. The following records must be kept and maintained
on the licensed premises for a threefive-year period and must be made
available for inspection if requested by an employee of the WSLCB:

(a) Purchase invoices and supporting documents, to include the
items and/or services purchased, from whom the i1tems were purchased, and
the date of purchase;

(b) Bank statements and canceled checks for any accounts relating
to the licensed business;

(c) Accounting and tax records related to the licensed business and

each true party of iInterest;

WAC (8/11/2017 9:58 AM) [ 83 ]



(d) Records of all financial transactions related to the licensed
business, including contracts and/or agreements for services performed
or received that relate to the licensed business;

(e) All employee records to include, but not limited to, training,
payroll, and date of hire;

(f) Records of each daily application of pesticides applied to the
marijuana plants or growing medium. For each application, the producer
shall record the following information on the same day the application
iIs made:

(1) Full name of each employee who applied the pesticide;

(i1) The date the pesticide was applied;

(iiti1) The name of the pesticide or product name listed on the
registration label which was applied;

(iv) The concentration and total amount of pesticide per plant; and

(v) For outdoor production, the concentration of pesticide that was
applied to the field. Liquid applications may be recorded as, but are
not limited to, amount of product per one hundred gallons of liquid
spray, gallons per acre of output volume, ppm, percent product in tank
mix (e.g., one percent). For chemigation applications, record "inches

of water applied” or other appropriate measure.
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(g) Soil amendment, fertilizers, or other crop production aids
applied to the growing medium or used iIn the process of growing mariju-
ana;

(h) Production and processing records, including harvest and cur-
ing, weighing, destruction of marijuana, creating batches of marijuana-
infused products and packaging into lots and units;

(1) Records of each batch of extracts or infused marijuana products
made, including at a minimum, the lots of usableuseable marijuana or
trim, leaves, and other plant matter used (including the total weight
of the base product used), any solvents or other compounds utilized, and
the product type and the total weight of the end product produced, such
as hash oil, shatter, tincture, infused dairy butter, etc.;

(J) Transportation records as described 1n WAC 314-55-085;

(k) Inventory records;

(1) All samples sent to an independent testing lab and the quality
assurance test results;

(m) All free samples provided to another licensee for purposes of
negotiating a sale;

(n) All samples used for testing for quality by the producer or

processor,;
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(o) Sample jars containing usableuseable marijuana provided to re-
tailers; and

(p) Records of any theft of marijuana seedlings, clones, plants,
trim or other plant material, extract, marijuana-infused product, or
other i1tem containing marijuana.

(g) Records of any marijuana product provided free of charge to
qualifying patients or designated providers.

(2) ITf the marijuana licensee keeps records within an automated
data processing (ADP) and/or point-of-sale (POS) system, the system must
include a method for producing legible records that will provide the
same information required of that type of record within this section.
The ADP and/or POS system is acceptable if it complies with the following
guidelines:

(a) Provides an audit trail so that details (invoices and vouchers)
underlying the summary accounting data may be identified and made avail-
able upon request.

(b) Provides the opportunity to trace any transaction back to the
original source or forward to a final total. If printouts of transactions
are not made when they are processed, the system must have the ability

to reconstruct these transactions.
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(c) Has available a full description of the ADP and/or POS portion
of the accounting system. This should show the applications being per-
formed, the procedures employed in each application, and the controls
used to ensure accurate and reliable processing.

(3) The provisions contained in subsections (1) and (2) of this
section do not eliminate the requirement to maintain source documents,
but they do allow the source documents to be maintained iIn some other
location.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-087, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16. Statutory Authority: RCW
69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-

087, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-089 What—are—the—taxTax and reporting requirements for

marijuana licensees?. (1) Marijuyana—producer—and—marijuana—processor
Heenseesmustsubmitmonthlyreport(s)—tothe WSLCB-—Marijuana retailer

licensees must submit monthly report(s) and payments to the WSLCB. The
required monthly reports must be:

(a) On a form or electronic system designated by the WSLCB;

(b) Filed every month, including months with no activity or payment

due;
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(c) Submitted, with payment due, to the WSLCB on or before the
twentieth day of each month, for the previous month. (For example, a
report listing transactions for the month of January is due by February
20th.) When the twentieth day of the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday,
or a legal holiday, the filing must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal
Service no later than the next postal business day;

(d) Filed separately for each marijuana license held; and

(e) All records must be maintained and available for review for a
three-year period on licensed premises (see WAC 314-55-087).

(2) Marijuana producer licensees: On a monthly basis, marijuana
producers must maintain records and report purchases from other licensed
marijuana producers, current production and inventory on hand, sales by
product type, and lost and destroyed product In a manner prescribed by

the WSLCB. The act of keeping data completely up to date in the state

traceability system fulfills the monthly reporting requirement.

(3) Marijuana processor licensees: On a monthly basis, marijuana
processors must maintain records and report purchases from licensed
marijuana producers, other marijuana processors, production of mariju-
ana-infused products, sales by product type to marijuana retailers, and

lost and/or destroyed product in a manner prescribed by the WSLCB. The
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act of keeping data completely up to date in the state traceability

system fulfills the monthly reporting requirement.

(4) Marijuana retailer®s licensees:

(a) On a monthly basis, marijuana retailers must maintain records
and report purchases from licensed marijuana processors, sales by prod-
uct type to consumers, and lost and/or destroyed product in a manner
prescribed by the WSLCB.

(b) A marijuana retailer licensee must collect from the buyer and
remit to the WSLCB a marijuana excise tax of thirty-seven percent of the
selling price on each retail sale of usableuseable marijuana, marijuana
concentrates, and marijuana-infused products.

(c) Product inventory reductions that are not adequately documented

will be deemed to be sales and will be assessed the excise tax.

(d) Excise tax collected in error must either be returned to the

customer(s) or remitted to the WSLCB if returning to the customer(s) is

not possible.

(5) Payment methods: Marijuana excise tax payments are payable only
by check, cashier®s check, money order, or electronic payment or elec-
tronic funds transfer. Licensees must submit marijuana excise tax pay-

ments to the board by one of the following means:
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(a) By mail to WSLCB, Attention: Accounts Receivable, P.0O. Box
43085, Olympia, WA 98504;

(b) By paying through online access through the WSLCB traceability
system; or

(c) By paying using a money transmitter licensed pursuant to chapter

19.230 RCW. If a licensee uses a money transmitter service, the licensee

must remit payments in US dollars.

(6) Payments transmitted to the board electronically under this
section will be deemed received when received by the WSLCB"s receiving
account. All other payments transmitted to the WSLCB under this section
by United States mail will be deemed received on the date shown by the
post office cancellation mark stamped on the envelope containing the
payment.

(7) The WSLCB may waive the means of payment requirements as pro-
vided in subsection (5) of this section for any licensee for good cause
shown. For the purposes of this section, ''good cause' means the i1nability
of a licensee to comply with the payment requirements of this section
because:

(a) The licensee demonstrates It does not have and cannot obtain a

bank or credit union account or another means by which to comply with
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the requirements of subsection (5) of this section and cannot obtain a
cashier®s check or money order; or

(b) Some other circumstance or condition exists that, in the WSLCB"s
judgment, prevents the licensee from complying with the requirements of
subsection (5) of this section.

(8) IT a licensee tenders payment of the marijuana excise tax iIn
cash without applying for and receiving a walver or after denial of a
waiver, the licensee may be assessed a ten percent penalty.

(9) If a licensee i1s denied a waiver and requests an adjudicative
proceeding to contest the denial, a brief adjudicative proceeding will
be conducted as provided under RCW 34.05.482 through 34.05.494.

(10) For the purposes of this section, "electronic payment'” or
"electronic funds transfer”™ means any transfer of funds, other than a
transaction originated or accomplished by conventional check, drafts,
or similar paper instrument, which is initiated through an electronic
terminal, telephonic instrument, or computer or magnetic tape so as to
order, instruct, or authorize a financial institution to debit or credit
a checking or other deposit account. "Electronic funds transfer™ in-
cludes payments made by electronic check (e-check).

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342, 69.50.345, 69.50.535, and 2016 1st

sp-s. ¢ 36. WSR 16-19-002, 8§ 314-55-089, filed 9/7/16, effective 10/8/16.
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Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, 8 314-
55-089, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8 314-55-089,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-10-044, § 314-55-089, filed
4/30/14, effective 5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8 314-55-089, fTiled

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-092 What 1 amarijuana—Hcenseefatlsto report-orpay;
or—reports—orpaystate?Failure to pay excise taxes and late payment of

excise taxes. (1) If a marijuana licensee does not submit i1ts menthly

reports—and/for—payment(s) to the WSLCB as required in WAC 314-55-089:
The licensee i1s subject to penalties.
Penalties: A penalty of two percent per month will be assessed on

the outstanding balance for any payments postmarked after the twentieth

day of the month following the month of sale. When the twentieth day of
the month falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the filing
must be postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service no later than the next
postal business day. Absent a postmark, the date received at the WSLCB
or authorized designee, will be used to assess the penalty of two percent

per month on payments—recerved-the outstanding balance after the twen-

tieth day of the month following the month of sale.
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(2) Fairlure to make a report and/or pay the license taxes and/or
penalties in the manner and dates outlined in WAC 314-55-089 will be
sufficient grounds for the WSLCB to suspend or revoke a marijuana li-
cense.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-092, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 14-10-044, 8 314-55-092,
filed 4/30/14, effective 5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8 314-55-092, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-095 Marijuana servings and transaction limitations. (1)
For persons age twenty-one and older and qualifying patients or desig-
nated providers who are not entered into the medical marijuana author-
ization database, marijuana serving and transaction limitations are as
follows:

(a) Single serving. A single serving of a marijuana-infused product
must not exceed ten milligrams active tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), or
Delta 9.

(b) Maximum number of servings. The maximum number of servings iIn
any one single unit of marijuana-infused product meant to be eaten or

swallowed or otherwise taken into the body is ten servings or one hundred
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milligrams of active THC, or Delta 9. A single unit of marijuana con-
centrate cannot exceed one gram.

(c) Transaction Hmitatienlimits.

(1) A single transaction is limited to:

(A) e0ne ounce of usableuseable marijuanas;

(B) sSixteen ounces of marijuana-infused product meant to be eaten
or swallowed in solid forms;

(C) sSeven grams of marijuana-infused extract or marijuana concen-

trate for inhalations; and

(D) sSeventy—two ounces of marijuana-infused product in liquid

form meant—to—be—eaten—or—swallowedfor oral ingestion or applied topi-

cally to the skin; and

(E) Ten units of a marijuana infused product otherwise taken iInto

the body.

(i1) A licensee or employee of a licensee is prohibited from con-

ducting a sale that facilitates an individual in obtaining more than the

personal possession amount.

(2) For qualifying patients and designhated providers who are en-
tered iInto the medical marijuana authorization database, serving and

transaction limits are as follows:
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(a) Single serving. Except as provided in chapter 246-70 WAC, a
single serving of a marijuana-infused product must not exceed ten mil-
ligrams active tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), or Delta 9.

(b) Maximum number of servings. Except as provided in chapter 246-
70 WAC, the maximum number of servings in any one single unit of mari-
Jjuana-infused product meant to be eaten, swallowed or applied is ten
servings or one hundred milligrams of active THC, or Delta 9. A single
unit of marijuana concentrate cannot exceed one gram.

(c) Transaction limitation. A single transaction by a retail store
with a medical marijuana endorsement to a qualifying patient or desig-
nated provider who is entered into the medical marijuana database is
limited to three ounces of usableuseable marijuana, forty-eight ounces
of marijuana-infused product meant to be eaten or swallowed in solid
form, twenty-one grams of marijuana-infused extract or marijuana con-
centrate for inhalation, and two hundred sixteen ounces of marijuana-
infused product in liquid form meant to be eaten or swallowed.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-095, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8 314-55-095,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8 314-55-095, fTiled

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]
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WAC 314-55-096 Vendor, educational, and internal quality control

Ssamples. (1) Vendor samples: Producers or processors may provide free
samples of usableuseable marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and ma-

rijuana concentrates #a—order—to negotiate a sale on product the retail

licensee has not previously purchased. All vendor sample limits are

based on calendar months. The producer or processor must record the
amount of each vendor sample and the processor or retailer receiving the
sample In the traceability system. The outgoing sample must be clearly
labeled as a ‘“vendor sample” to negotiate a sale and recorded on a
transport manifest. The receiving licensee must receive the vendor sam-
ple in the traceability system prior to sampling.

(a) Vendor samples may only be given to and used by licensees or

employees of licensees who have product ordering authority.

(b) Producers may not provide any one licensed processor more than
eight grams of marijuana flower per month free of charge for the purpose
of negotiating a sale.

) (c) Processors may not provide any one licensed retailer more
than eight grams of usableuseable marijuana per month free of charge for
the purpose of negotiating a sale.

€e)(d) Processors may not provide any one licensed retailer more

than eight units of marijuana-infused products in solid form meant to
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be i1ngested orally or otherwise taken into the body per month free of

charge for the purpose of negotiating a sale. No single sample—unit may
exceed 10 mg of THC.

€ (e) Processors may not provide any one licensed retailer more
than eight units of marijuana-infused product in liquid form meant to

be eaten, swallowed, or otherwise taken into the body per month free of

charge for the purpose of negotiating a sale. No single sampleunit may
exceed 10 mg of THC.

€e)(F) Processors may not provide any one licensed retailer more

than eight units of marijuana-infused products meant to be applied top-

ically per month free of charge for the purpose of negotiating a sale.

(9) Processors may not provide any one licensed retailer more than
two units of marijuana-infused extract meant for inhalation or infused
marijuana mix per month free of charge for the purpose of negotiating a
sale. No single sampleunit may exceed 0.5 g.

€ (h) A marijuana producer must make quality assurance test re-
sults available to any processor receiving samples to negotiate a sale.
The producer must also provide a statement that discloses all pesticides
applied to the marijuana plants and growing medium during production.

€ (i) A marijuana processor must make quality assurance test re-

sults available to any retailer receiving samples to negotiate a sale.
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IT a marijuana extract was added to the product, the processors must
disclose the type of extraction process and any solvent, gas, or other
chemical used in the extraction process, or any other compound added to
the extract.

€2)(() Vendor sample labeling: All vendor samples must be clearly
labeled as a vendor sample and meet all labeling requirements of the

product to be sampled.

@ (A) Skxteen—digit—identification—The unique identifier number

generated by the traceability system;
)(B) The UBI number of the licensed entity providing the sample;
and

€>(C) Weight of the product in ounces and grams or volume as

applicable.

3>(2) Education sampling. Processors may provide free samples of
usableuseable marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and marijuana con-

centrates to retail licensees to give to thelrbudtenderthe licensee’s

employees for educational purposes. Products being sampled must be car-

ried by the licensed retailer. The processor must record the amount of

each sample and the retailer receiving the sample iIn the traceability
system. The outgoing sample must be clearly labeled as 'budtender—edu-

cation sample™ and recorded on a transport manifest. Once the retailer
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receives the sample, the retailer must accept the sample In the trace-

ability system prior to distributing samples to the retailer’s employ-

ees. All budtender—employees at a licensed retail location who receive

educational samples must be entered into the traceability system for the

purpose of distributing education samples.—Prior—to—sampling—the—re-

(a) All education samples are limited to a total of ten units per
budtender—employee per month, with a maximum of one hundred units per
retail location per calendar month.

(b) The maximum size of education samples for—education-are:

(i) UsableUseable marijuana, marijuana mix, and infused marijuana
mix — One unit not to exceed 0.5 g.
(i1) Marijuana infused solid or liquid product meant to be—eaten

or—swallowed ingested orally or otherwise taken into the body — One unit

not to exceed 10 mg THC.
(i11) Marijuana-infused extract for inhalation — One unit not to
exceed 0.25 g.

(iv) Marijuana-infused products for topical application — One unit

not to exceed sixteen ounces.
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d—Distribution and consumption of all educational samples is
limited to retail employees who directly sell product to retail custom-
ers. Retail employees who are not involved in direct sales to customers
are not eligible for education samples.

(d) Marijuana retail licensees are prohibited from providing edu-

cational samples to their budtender employees as a form of compensation.

€e)(e) A marijuana processor must make quality assurance test re-
sults available to any retailer receiving education samples. If a mari-
Jjuana extract was added to the product, the processors must disclose the
type of extraction process and any solvent, gas, or other chemical used

in the extraction process, or any other compound added to the extract.

() Education sample Hlabeling: All education samples must be

clearly labeled as—“budtender—samples”’education sample” and include the

following information on the label:

(i) Skxteen—digit—identificationnumberThe unique identifier gen-

erated by the traceability system;
(i1) The UBI number and trade name of the licensed entity providing
the sample;

(i11) Product name or strain name for usableuseable marijuana;
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(iv) Weight of the product in ounces and grams or volume as appli-

cable; and

(v) Potency labeled as required under WAC 314-55-105.

€4)(3) A marijuana processor Is not required to provide free samples
to negotiate a sale or educational samples to a marijuana retail licen-
see, and a marijuana retail licensee may not require a marijuana pro-
cessor to provide free sample to negotiate a sale or educational samples

as a condition for purchasing the marijuana processor®s products.

¢ . THT id I _ " I
6>)(4) Internal quality control sampling: Producers and processors

may conduct limited self-sampling for quality control. All sample limits

are based on calendar months. Sampling—Consuming samples for quality

control may not take place at a licensed premises. Only the producer,
processor, or employees of the licensee may sample the marijuana flower,
usableuseable marijuana, marijuana-infused products, marijuana concen-
trates, and edible marijuana-infused product. The producer or processor
must record the amount of each sample and the employee(s) conducting the
sampling i1in the traceability system.

(a) Producers may sample two grams of marijuana flower per strain,

per month for quality sampling.
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(b) Processors may sample one unit per batch of a new edible-mari-

Jjuana-infused product meant to be eaten—-or—swallowedingested orally or

otherwise taken into the body to be offered for sale on the market.

(c) Processors may sample up to one unit per batch of a new mari-
juana-infused extract for inhalation to be offered for sale on the
market. No single sample may exceed 0.5 g.

(d) Processors may sample one unit per batch of a new marijuana mix
packaged to be offered for sale on the market. No single sample may
exceed 1 gram.

(e) Processors may sample one unit per batch of a new infused
marijuana mix to be offered for sale on the market. No sample may exceed
0.5 g.-

D (5) Retailers may not provide free samples to customers.

£8)(6) Sample jars:

(a) A processor may provide a retailer free samples of usableuseable
marijuana packaged In a sample jar protected by a plastic or metal mesh
screen to allow customers to smell the product before purchase. The
sample jar may not contain more than three and one-half grams of usa-
bleuseable marijuana. The plastic or metal mesh screen must be sealed
onto the container, and must be free of rips, tears, or holes greater

than 2 mm in diameter. The sample jar and the usableuseable marijuana
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within may not be sold to a customer and must be returned to the licensed
processor who provided the usableuseable marijuana and sample jar.

€9 (b) Sample_jar labeling: All vendor—samples—and-sample jars must

be labeled with the following:

@ (i) Sihxteen—digitidentification—The unique identifier number

given—generated by the traceability system;

) (i1) Information identifying whether i1t is a vendor sample or

sample jar;

€e)(111) The UBI number of the licensed entity providing the sample;
and

€H(iv) Weight of the product in ounces and grams or volume as
applicable.

0)(c) A marijuana processor must make quality assurance test
results available to any retailer receiving sample jars. The processor
must also provide a statement that discloses all pesticides applied to
the marijuana plants and growing medium during production.

(d) If a marijuana extract was added to the product, the processor
must disclose to the retailer the type of extraction process and any

solvent, gas, or other chemical used In the extraction process, or any

other compound added to the extract.
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1) (10) Transportation. Outgoing and return vendor samples and
sample jars must adhere to the transportation requirements in WAC 314-
55-085.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-

55-096, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16.]

WAC 314-55-097 Marijuana waste disposal—Liquids and solids. (1)
Solid and liquid wastes generated during marijuana production and pro-
cessing must be stored, managed, and disposed of iIn accordance with
applicable state and local laws and regulations.

(2) Wastewater generated during marijuana production and processing
must be disposed of in compliance with applicable state and local laws
and regulations.

(3) Wastes from the production and processing of marijuana plants
must be evaluated against the state®s dangerous waste regulations (chap-
ter 173-303 WAC) to determine if those wastes designhate as dangerous
waste. It is the responsibility of each waste generator to properly
evaluate their waste to determine if it is designated as a dangerous
waste. IT a generator®s waste does designate as a dangerous waste, then
that waste(s) i1s subject to the applicable management standards found

in chapter 173-303 WAC.
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(a) Wastes that must be evaluated against the dangerous waste reg-
ulations include, but are not limited to, the following:

(i) Waste from marijuana flowers, trim and solid plant material
used to create an extract (per WAC 314-55-104).

(i1) Waste solvents used in the marijuana process (per WAC 314-55-
104).

(i11) Discarded plant waste, spent solvents and laboratory wastes
from any marijuana processing or quality assurance testing.

(iv) Marijuana extract that fails to meet quality testing.

(b) Marijuana wastes that do not designate as dangerous shall be
managed In accordance with subsection (4) of this section.

(c) A marijuana plant, usableuseable marijuana, trim and other
plant material in itself i1Is not considered dangerous waste as defined
under chapter 173-303 WAC unless i1t has been treated or contaminated
with a solvent.

(4) Marijuana waste that does not designate as dangerous waste (per
subsection (3) of this section) must be rendered wnusableunuseable fol-
lowing the methods in subsection (5) of this section prior to leaving a
licensed producer, processor, or laboratory. Disposal of the marijuana
waste rendered unusableunuseable must follow the methods under subsec-

tion (6) of this section.
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&) Wastes that must be rendered uwnusableunuseable prior to dis-
posal include, but are not limited to, the following:

) (a) Waste evaluated per subsection (3) of this section and de-
termined to not designate as '‘Dangerous Waste.'

) (b) Marijuana plant waste, including roots, stalks, leaves, and
stems that have not been processed with solvent.

) (c) Solid marijuana sample plant waste possessed by third-

party laboratories accredited by the WSLCB to test for quality assurance

that must be disposed of.

) (d) Other wastes as determined by the WSLCB.

(5) The allowable method to render marijuana plant waste uhRusa-—
bleunuseable i1s by grinding and incorporating the marijuana plant waste
with other ground materials so the resulting mixture is at least fifty
percent nonmarijuana waste by volume. Other methods to render marijuana
waste unusableunuseable must be approved by the WSLCB before implemen-

tation.
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Material used to grind with the marijuana falls Into two categories:
Compostable waste and noncompostable waste.

(a) Compostable mixed waste: Marijuana waste to be disposed as
compost feedstock or in another organic waste method (for example, an-
aerobic digester) may be mixed with the following types of waste mate-
rials:

(1) Food waste;

(i1) Yard waste;

(i11) Vegetable based grease or oils; or

(iv) Other wastes as approved by the WSLCB.

(b) Noncompostable mixed waste: Marijuana waste to be disposed iIn
a landfill or another disposal method (for example, Incinerator) may be
mixed with the following types of waste materials:

(i) Paper waste;

(i1) Cardboard waste;

(i11) Plastic waste;

(iv) Soil; or

(v) Other wastes as approved by the WSLCB.

(6) Marijuana wastes rendered wunusableunuseable following the

method described iIn subsection (4) of this section can be disposed.
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(a) Disposal of the marijuana waste rendered unusableunuseable may
be delivered to a permitted solid waste facility for final disposition.
Examples of acceptable permitted solid waste facilities include:

(1) Compostable mixed waste: Compost, anaerobic digester, or other
facility with approval of the jurisdictional health department.

(i1) Noncompostable mixed waste: Landfill, incinerator, or other
facility with approval of the jurisdictional health department.

(b) Disposal of the marijuana waste rendered wnusableunuseable may
be managed on-site by the generator in accordance with the standards of
chapter 173-350 WAC.

(c) A record of the final destination of marijuana waste rendered
whusableunuseable.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-097, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8 314-55-097,
filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8§ 314-55-097, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-104 Marijuana processor license extraction requirements.
(1) Processors are limited to certain methods, equipment, solvents,

gases and mediums when creating marijuana extracts.
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(2) Processors may use the hydrocarbons N-butane, i1sobutane, pro-

pane, or heptane—er—other—solvents—or—gases—exhibitinglow—to—minimal

solvents must be of at least ninety-nine percent purity and a processor
must use them in a professional grade closed loop extraction system
designed to recover the solvents, work in an environment with proper
ventilation, controlling all sources of i1gnition where a flammable at-
mosphere is or may be present.

(3) Processors may use a professional grade closed loop CO, gas
extraction system where every vessel is rated to a minimum of six hundred
pounds per square inch. The CO, must be of at least ninety-nine percent
purity.

(4) Closed loop systems for hydrocarbon or CO, extraction systems
must be commercially manufactured and bear a permanently affixed and
visible serial number.

(5) Professional grade closed loop systems, other equipment used

must be approved for use by the State Building Code Council (SBCC) prior

to use per WAC 51-54A-3800. CertiFicationFfromaHecensed-engineermust
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H(6) Professional closed loop systems, other equipment used, the

extraction operation, and facilities must be approved for their use by
the local fire code official and meet any required fire, safety, and
building code requirements specified in:

(a) Title 296 WAC;

(b) Chapters 51-51 and 51-54A WAC;

(c) National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) standards;

(d) International Building Code (IBC);

(e) International Fire Code (IFC); and

(f) Other applicable standards including following all applicable
fire, safety, and building codes in processing and the handling and

storage of the solvent or gas.

WAC (8/11/2017 9:58 AM) [ 110 ]



€8)(7) Processors may use heat, screens, presses, steam distilla-
tion, ice water, and other methods without employing solvents or gases
to create kief, hashish, bubble hash, or infused dairy butter, or oils
or fats derived from natural sources, and other extracts.

€9)(8) Under WAC 314-55-077, infused dairy butter and oils or fats
derived from natural sources may be used to prepare infused edible
products, but they may not be prepared as stand-alone edible products
for sale.

20> (9) Processors may use food grade glycerin, ethanol, and pro-
pylene glycol solvents to create extracts. All ethanol must be removed
from the extract in a manner to recapture the solvent and ensure that
it Is not vented into the atmosphere.

1) (10) Processors creating marijuana extracts must develop stand-
ard operating procedures, good manufacturing practices, and a training
plan prior to producing extracts for the marketplace. Any person using
solvents or gases in a closed looped system to create marijuana extracts
must be fully trained on how to use the system, have direct access to

applicable material safety data sheets and handle and store the solvents

and gases safely.
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&2 (11) Parts per million for one gram of finished extract cannot

exceed 500—parts—per—miHH#on—or—residual solvent or gas when—quality
assurance—testedperRCW-69-50-348levels provided in WAC 314-55-102.

_[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, §
314-55-104, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, § 314-55-
104, filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-10-044, 8 314-55-104,
filed 4/30/14, effective 5/31/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, 8 314-55-104, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-120 Ownership changes. (1) Licensees must receive prior
board approval before making any of the following ownership changes (see

WAC 314-55-035 for the definition of "true party of interest):

Type of
Type of change application Fee

Change in the New application. | Application
qualifying persons in fee and

a: Sole annual fee
proprietorship, for current
general partnership, license
limited partnership, privilege.
or limited liability
partnership.

Change in the Application for $75
qualif%/ing persons change in

for a publicly or corporate officer
privately held and/or
corporation. The stockholder.
board will waive the
fee for a corporate
change when the
proposed change
consists solely of
dropping an
approved officer.
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Type of
Type of change application Fee

Change in the Application for $75
qualifying persons in | change of
a limited liability limited liability
company. company

member and/or

manager.
Accepting additional | Added financier. $75
funds from a new or
previously approved
financier

(2) Licensees must notify the WSLCB if there are any changes to

marital status of any true party of interest in the license.

(3) The WSLCB may inquire into all matters in connection with any
such sale of stock/units or proposed change in officers/members.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-120, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16. Statutory Authority: RCW

69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-

120, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-125 Change of location. (1) Changing yewr—a marijuana

license to a new location requires an change request application to the

WSLCB, per the process outlined in WAC 314-55-020. WSLCB approval for

change request applications must be obtained prior to any change of

location of the licensed business.

(2) A change of location occurs any time a move by the licensee

results in any change to the physical location address.
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345.

WSR 13-21-104, 8 314-55-125, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

NEW SECTI1ON

WAC 314-55-137, Receiverships.

(1) The WSLCB must receive original service of any motion to place

a licensee into receivership.

(a) Any person who files any receivership or trustee action involving

any marijuana licensee must serve WSLCB with original notice of the

action. Service is accomplished by delivery of the original notice of

action to WSLCB at: 3000 Pacific Avenue S._E., Olympia, WA 98501, or

mailed to the WSLCB. Mailed notice must be addressed to: WSLCB, ATTN:

Licensing - Receiverships, P.0O. Box 43076, Olympia, WA 98504-3076 or,

for certified mail, WSLCB, ATTN: Licensing - Receiverships, 3000 Pacific

Avenue S.E., Olympia, WA 98501.

(b) Only if WSLCB receives original notice of the action and the

receiver is selected in accordance with WSLCB’s requirements will WSLCB

treat the licensee as compliant with all applicable WSLCB rules.
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(2) The role of a receiver when a license i1s placed In receivership.

IT a marijuana licensee is placed under receivership, the receiver:

(a) Upon compliance with the requirements set forth below, the

receiver may operate the licensee’s business during the receivership

period;

(b) The receiver assumes all licensee reporting responsibilities,

including, but not limited to, full responsibility for maintaining rec-

ords and entries into the traceability system maintained by the WSLCB;

and

(c) The receiver is required to comply with all applicable laws and

rules in this chapter, including, but not limited to, the responsibil-

ities of marijuana licensees set forth in WAC 314-55-110.

(3) Who may serve as a receiver. Any person who meets the require-

ments of chapter 7.60 RCW and the following additional requirements may

serve as a receiver:

(a) Is currently in active status on the pre-approved receiver list

maintained by the WSLCB; or
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(b) Complies with the requirements of subsection (5) and i1s approved

by the WSLCB to serve as a receiver of a marijuana licensee.

(4) Qualifying for the WSLCB”s pre-approved receiver list. A person

will qualify for the WSLCB’s pre-approved receiver list if they meet all

of the following requirements:

(a) File a receiver application with the WSLCB;

(b) Be a Washington resident for six months prior to the application

for pre-approval as a receiver;

(c) Submit to and pass a criminal background check; and

(d) Meet all other qualifications for a licensee under chapter

69.50 RCW and this chapter, including, but not limited to:

(i) Providing financial disclosures required by the WSLCB;

(i1) Disclosing any interests the applicant has iIn any marijuana

licensees;
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(i11) Meeting any and all other requirements established for true

parties of interest in marijuana licensees under this chapter; and

(iv) File a yearly update of all information required by the WSLCB.

(e) For business entities that will serve as receivers for licen-

sees, all members of the business entity will be subject to review and

qualification requirements for true parties of interest, as defined in

WAC 314-55-035.

(5) Procedures for appointing a receiver who Is not pre-approved.

A person who is not on the pre-approved receiver list may be appointed

in accordance with the following requirements:

(a) Within two days of the filing of any action to appoint a

receiver, the proposed receiver must:

(1) File an application with the WSLCB to serve as receiver for the

licensee;

(i1) Provide all financial disclosures required by the WSLCB for

licensees under this chapter; and
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(i111) Disclose any interest the proposed receiver has in any mari-

juana licensees.

(b) A person may qualify to be appointed as a receiver If they meet

all of the following requirements:

(i)Be a Washington resident for six months prior to appointment as

a receiver;

(i1) Submit to and pass a criminal background check; and

(iii) Meet any and all other standards established for true parties

of interest for marijuana licensees under this chapter.

(c) For business entities that will serve as receivers for licen-

sees, all members of the business entity will be subject to the same

review and qualification requirements.

(d) If the proposed receiver i1s denied approval by WSLCB at any

time, a substitute receiver may be proposed for WSLCB approval. The

substitute receiver must provide all information required by this sub-

section (5) of this section.
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(e) IT the proposed receiver i1s not approved by WSLCB at the time

the receiver is appointed by the court, the receiver will not be con-

sidered compliant with all applicable WSLCB rules and statutes, and may

be subject to penalty under chapter 69.50 RCW, or as otherwise set forth

in this chapter.

(6) Limitations on a person’s ability to serve as a receiver. As

operators and controllers of licensed marijuana establishments, receiv-

ers are subject to the same limits as licensees or any other person.

Those limits include, but are not limited to:

(a) No person serving as a receiver of a licensed marijuana producer

or licensed marijuana processor shall have a financial interest in, or

simultaneously serve as a receiver for, a licensed marijuana retailer;

and

(b) No person shall serve as a receiver for, or be a true party of

interest in, more than five marijuana retail licensees or more than

three marijuana producer, processor, or producer/processor licensees at

the same time.
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WAC 314-55-140 Death or incapacity of a marijuana licensee. (1) The
appointed guardian, executor, administrator, recebver,—trustee, or as-
signee must notify the WSLCB"s licensing and regulation division in the
event of the death, iIncapacity, recekverships—bankruptcy, or assignment
for benefit of creditors of any licensee.

(2) The WSLCB may give the appointed guardian, executor, adminis-
trator, recebvers—trustee, or assignee written approval to continue
marijuana sales on the licensed business premises for the duration of
the existing license and to renew the license when it expires.

(a) The person must be a resident of the state of Washington.

(b) A criminal background check may be required.

(3) When the matter is resolved by the court, the true party(ies)
of interest must apply for a marijuana license for the business.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-140, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16. Statutory Authority: RCW
69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-

140, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-185 Dees—the-WSLCB have—the-right to inspect my-—premises

or vehicles MHeensed—associated with a license to produce, process,

sell, research, or transport marijuana?. (1) The Tfollowing must be
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available for iInspection at all times by an enforcement officer of the
WSLCB:
(a) All licensed premises used in the production, processing, stor-

age, transportation, research, or sale of marijuana, usableuseable ma-

rijuana, marijuana concentrates, marijuana-infused products, or any
premises or parts of premises used or in any way connected, physically
or otherwise, with the licensed business;

(b) Any vehicle assigned for the purpose of transporting marijuana,
usableuseable marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or marijuana-infused
products at any licensed location, or while en route during transporta-
tion;

(c) Records as outlined in WAC314-55-087-and-314-55-310this chap-

ter; and

(d) Marijuana, usableuseable marijuana, marijuana concentrates, or
marijuana-infused products on the licensed premises for the purpose of
analyzing samples (the licensee will be given a receipt for any product
removed from the premises for this purpose).

(2) Every person being on a licensed premises or within a trans-
porting vehicle, or having charge thereof, must admit an enforcement
officer of the WSLCB demanding to enter therein in pursuance of this

section in the execution of his/her duty, and must not obstruct or
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attempt to obstruct the entry of such officer, or refuse to allow an
officer to examine the premises, vehicles, records, and products subject
to this section of the licensee.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-

55-185, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16.]

WAC 314-55-410 Cooperatives. (1) A cooperative may be formed by
qualifying patients and/or designated providers to share responsibility
for growing and processing marijuana only for the medical use of the
members of the cooperative. A cooperative must meet the following cri-
teria:

(a) All cooperative members must be at least twenty-one years of
age. The designated provider of a qualifying patient under twenty-one
years of age may be a member of a cooperative on the qualifying patient”s
behalf;

(b) All cooperative members must hold valid recognition cards as
defined by RCW 69.51A.010;

(c) No more than four qualifying patients or designated providers
may become members of a cooperative;

(d) Qualifying patients or designated providers may only partici-

pate In one cooperative;
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(e) A cooperative member may only grow plants in the cooperative
and may not grow plants elsewhere;

() Cooperative members must participate in growing plants. Coop-
erative members must provide nonmonetary resources and assistance in
order to participate. A monetary contribution or donation is not con-
sidered assistance;

(g) Cooperative members may grow up to the total amount of plants
for which each cooperative member is authorized on his or her recognition
card. At the location, the qualifying patients or designated providers
may possess the amount of usableuseable marijuana that can be produced
with the number of plants permitted, but no more than seventy-two ounces;

(h) Cooperative members may not sell, donate, or otherwise provide
marijuana, marijuana concentrates, usableuseable marijuana, or other
marijuana-infused products to a person who iIs not a member of the coop-
erative;

(1) A cooperative may not be located within a one mile radius of a
marijuana retailer;

() A cooperative must be located #r-at the domicile of one of the
cooperative members. Only one cooperative may be located per property

tax parcel; and
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(k) To obscure public view of the premises, outdoor marijuana pro-
duction must be enclosed by a sight obscure wall or fence at least eight
feet high.

(2) People who wish to form a cooperative must register the location
with the WSLCB. The location registered is the only location where
cooperative members may grow or process marijuana. The Tfollowing is
required to register a cooperative:

(a) Submit a completed Marijuana Cooperative Registration Form;

(b) Submit copies of each person®s recognition card who iIs seeking
to be part of the registered cooperative;

(c) Submit a deed, lease, rental agreement, or other document es-
tablishing ownership or control to the property where the cooperative
is to be located. ITf the property i1s leased or rented, a sworn statement
from the property owner granting permission to engage iIn a cooperative
must also be submitted that includes a telephone number and address
where the owner can be contacted for verification;

(d) Submit a sketch outlining the location where the marijuana is
planned to be grown.

(3) WSLCB will contact the primary contact listed for each regis-

tered cooperative on an annual basis to ensure validity of recognition

cards and to confirm the status, whether active or inactive, of the
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cooperative. IT the WSLCB finds that the cooperative no longer meets the

criteria required under this section, the WSLCB may not renew the coop-

erative registration.

(4) WSLCB may inspect a cooperative between the hours of 8:00 a.m.
and 8:00 p.m. unless otherwise agreed upon by cooperative members and
WSLCB staff.

€4)(5) If a person or persons seeking to register the cooperative
fails to meet the requirements of a registered cooperative as provided
in this section, the WSLCB will deny the cooperative registration.

€5)(6) IT the WSLCB finds a registered cooperative violated the
requirements of this section, the WSLCB will revoke the cooperative®s
registration.

€6)(7) A person may request an administrative hearing to contest a

denial of registration, nonrenewal, or a revocation of a cooperative"s

registration under subsections—(4H)—and(5)—oF-this section as provided

in chapter 34.05 RCW.
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[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342, 69.50.345, 2016 c 170, 2016 c 171,

and 2016 c¢ 17. WSR 16-19-102, § 314-55-410, filed 9/21/16, effective
10/22/16. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-

110, 8 314-55-410, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16.]
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NEW SECTI1ON

WAC 314-55-417 Sales of immature plants or clones and seeds from

licensed producers to members of cooperatives, qualifying patients, and

designated providers. This section details the requirements for sales

of immature plants or clones and seeds by licensed producers to members

of a registered cooperative, qualifying patients, and designhated pro-

viders.

(1) Medical marijuana patients who enter into the medical marijuana

authorization database established and maintained by the Department of

Health, receive a recognition card, and are members of a cooperative

that has been granted a registration by the Washington State Liquor and

Cannabis Board (WSLCB) may purchase immature plants or clones and seeds

to be grown in the cooperative from a licensed marijuana producer.

(2) Qualifying patients and designated providers who hold a valid

unexpired recognition card and have been entered into the medical mari-

Jjuana authorization database established and maintained by the Depart-

ment of Health, may purchase immature plants or clones and seeds from a

licensed marijuana producer.
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(3) Members of a registered cooperative, qualifying patients, and

designated providers who wish to purchase immature plants or clones and

seeds from a licensed producer must:

(1) Personally go to the licensed producer to complete the purchase

and transfer of any marijuana plants purchased; and

(i1) Provide the following information to a licensed producer:

(A) Proof of identification in the form of a state-issued identi-

fication card or other valid government-issued identification;

(B) A valid recognition card; and

(C) 1T the person purchasing immature plants or clones or seeds is

a member of a registered cooperative, a copy of the letter from the

WSLCB confirming the person is a member of a registered cooperative.

(4) The physical transfer of marijuana plants between licensed

producers and members of a cooperative, qualifying patients, or desig-

nated providers must take place on the premises of the licensed pro-

ducer. Deliveries of marijuana plants by a licensed producer to members
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of a cooperative, qualifying patients, or designated providers are pro-

hibited.

(5) Members of registered cooperatives, qualifying patients, and

designated providers are limited to purchasing no more than the maximum

amount that the medical marijuana patient’s authorization form allows

of any combination of immature plants or clones and seeds iIn a single

sale or cumulative sales within a calendar month from a licensed pro-

ducer. It is the responsibility of the member of the registered cooper-

ative, qualifying patient, or designated provider to ensure that they

possess no more than the maximum number of plants allowed under their

authorization forms and as provided in Chapter 69.51A RCW.

WAC 314-55-525 Group 2 regulatory violations. Group 2 violations
are violations involving general regulation and administration of retail
or nonretail licenses. Group 2 penalties imposed on a producer and/or
processor license will not include license suspension. Penalties for a
producer and/or processor license will be restricted to monetary fines,

destruction of inventory, and/or license cancellation only.
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Violation Type

1st Violation

2nd Violation in a
three-year window

3rd Violation in a
three-year window

4th Violation in a
three-year window

Hours of service:
Sales of marijuana
between 12:00 a.m.
and 8:00 a.m.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

5-day suspension or
$1,000 monetary
option

10-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary
option

30-day suspension

Cancellation of
license

General advertising:

Retailer/transporter:

Retailer/transporter:

Retailer/transporter:

Cancellation of

conditional retail
sales.

Chapter 314-55 WAC
Chapter 69.50 RCW

$1,000 monetary
option

$2,500 monetary
option

Violations 5-day suspension or 10-day suspension or | 30-day suspension license
Chapter 314-55 WAC | $1,000 monetary $2,500 monetary Producer/processor:
option option Tier 1: $15,000
Producer/processor: Producer/processor: Tier 2: $30,000
$1,000 monetary fine | Tier 1: $2,500 Tier 3: $60,000
Tier 2: $5,000 monetary fine
Tier 3: $7,500
monetary fine
violatiens—Sign
exceeding-1,600
k ithi
1,000 feet-of
o ;
prohibited-areas;on Bl A
publichy-owned-or
operated-property-
Chapter 69.50 RCW
Chapter314-55\WAC
Engaging in 5-day suspension or 10-day suspension or | 30-day suspension Cancellation of

license

Licensee/employee
failing to display
required security
badge.

Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer/transporter:
5-day suspension or
$500 monetary option
Producer/processor:
$500 monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
10-day suspension or
$1,500 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $1,500
monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
30-day suspension
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $5,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Failure to maintain
required security
alarm and
surveillance systems.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer/transporter:
5-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
$2,500 monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
10-day suspension or
$5,000 monetary fine
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $5,000

Tier 2: $10,000

Tier 3: $15,000
monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
30-day suspension
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000
Tier 2: $30,000
Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Records: Improper
recordkeeping.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer/transporter:
5-day suspension or
$1,000 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
$1,000 monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
10-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $2,500

Tier 2: $5,000

Tier 3: $7,500
monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
30-day suspension
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000
Tier 2: $30,000
Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Failure to submit

Retaileritransporter:

Retailer: 10-da

Retailer: 30-day

Cancellation of

monthly tax/sales 5-day suspension or suspension or $2,500 | suspension license
reports-andlor $1,000 monetary monetary option
payments. option Fier1:-$15,000
Chapter 69.50 RCW | Producer/processor: Fier1:-$2,500 Fier2:-$30,000
Chapter 314-55 WAC | $1,000-menetaryfine | Fier2:-$5,000 Fier-3:-$60,000
monetary-fine
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Violation Type

1st Violation

2nd Violation in a
three-year window

3rd Violation in a
three-year window

4th Violation in a
three-year window

Signs: Failure to post
required signs.
Chapter 69.50 RCW
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer/transporter:
5-day suspension or
$500 monetary option
Producer/processor:
$500 monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
10-day suspension or
$1,500 monetary

option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $1,500

monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
15-day suspension or
$5,000 monetary

option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $5,000

monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Failure to utilize
and/or maintain
traceability.

Chapter 314-55 WAC

5-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
$2,500 monetary fine

Retailer: 10-da
suspension or $5,000
monetary fine
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $5,000

Tier 2: $10,000

Tier 3: $15,000
monetary fine

Retailer: 30-day
suspension
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000
Tier 2: $30,000
Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Violation of
transportation
requirements.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer: 5-day
suspension or $2,500
monetary option
Producer/processor:
$2,500 monetary fine

Retailer: 10-da
suspension or $5,000
monetary fine
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $5,000

Tier 2: $10,000

Tier 3: $15,000
monetary fine

Retailer: 30-day
suspension
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000
Tier 2: $30,000
Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Marijuana sold
below cost of
acquisition, true
value, or illegally
given away.

Retailer: 5-day
suspension or $1,000
monetary option
Producer/processor:
$2,500 monetary fine

Retailer: 10-da
suspension or $5,000
monetary option
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $5,000

Tier 2: $10,000

Tier 3: $15,000
monetary fine

Retailer: 30-day
suspension
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000
Tier 2: $30,000
Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Retail sales: use of

5-day suspension or

10-day suspension or

30-day suspension

Cancellation of

an unauthorized

$1,000 monetary

$2,500 monetary

money transmitter

Chapter 314-55
WAC

option

option

license

Retail outlet selling
unauthorized
products.

Chapter 69.50 RCW

$1,000 monetary fine

$1,000 monetary fine

$1,000 monetary fine

$1,000 monetary fine

Retailer displaying
products in a
manner visible to
the general public
from a public right
of way.

Chapter 69.50 RCW

$1,000 monetary fine

$1,000 monetary fine

$1,000 monetary fine

$1,000 monetary fine

Retail sales:
Unauthorized
marijuana-infused
products, internet
sales, and accepting
returns.

Chapter 314-55 WAC

5-day suspension or
$1,000 monetary
option

10-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary
option

30-day suspension

Cancellation of
license

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-525, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, 8§ 314-55-525,

filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
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69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-525, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

WAC 314-55-530 Group 3 license violations. Group 3 violations are
violations involving licensing requirements, license classification, and
special restrictions. Group 3 penalties Imposed on a producer and/or
processor license will not include license suspension. Penalties for a
producer and/or processor license will be restricted to monetary fines,

destruction of inventory, and/or license cancellation only.
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2nd Violation in a

3rd Violation in a

4th Violation in a

Violation Type 1st Violation three-year window three-year window three-year window
True party of Cancellation of
interest/financier license

violation.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Failure to furnish
required documents.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Cancellation of
license

Misuse or
unauthorized use of
marijuana license
(operating outside of
license class).
Chapter 69.50 RCW
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer/transporter:
10-day suspension or
$5,000 monetary fine
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $5,000

Tier 2: $10,000

Tier 3: $15,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Misrepresentation of
fact.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Cancellation of
license

Unauthorized
change of business
name.

Chapter 314-55 WAC

5-day suspension or
$1,000 monetary

option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $500

monetary penalty

10-day suspension or
$1,500 monetary

option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $1,500

monetary fine

30-day suspension or
$5,000 monetary

option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $5,000

monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Operating/floor
plan:

Violations of a
WSLCB approved
operating plan.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

5-day suspension or
$1,000 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
All tiers: $1,000
monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
10-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $2,500

Tier 2: $5,000

Tier 3: $7,500
monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
30-day suspension
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000
Tier 2: $30,000
Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

Failure to respond
to administrative
violation notice
and/or failure to pay
fines and penalties.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

$1,000 monetary
penalty

Cancellation of
license

Failure to maintain
required insurance.
Chapter 314-55 WAC

Retailer/transporter:
5-day suspension or
$2,500 monetary fine
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $2,500

Tier 2: $5,000

Tier 3: $7,500
monetary fine

Retailer/transporter:
30-day suspension or
$15,000 monetary
option
Producer/processor:
Tier 1: $15,000

Tier 2: $30,000

Tier 3: $60,000
monetary fine

Cancellation of
license

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-530, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, § 314-55-530,

filed 5/20/15, effective 6/20/15. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325,
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69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-530, filed

10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]

NEW SECTI1ION

WAC 314-55-117 Use of payment services by retailers. Retail licensees

may use payment services to facilitate retail sales transactions under

the following conditions:

(1) The payment service provider must:

(a) |If applicable, be licensed and in good standing with the Washington

state department of financial iInstitutions; and

(b) Not have any interest, as a true party of interest or financier, iIn

a marijuana licensee.

(2) The payment service provider may charge a convenience fee to cus-

tomers provided that the customer has the option of cancelling the

transaction when informed of the convenience fee.

(3) The retail purchase price must be calculated in US dollars.

(4) The marijuana excise tax required under RCW 69.50.535 must be

collected from the customer based on the US dollar purchase price.

REPEALER

The following section in chapter 314-55 WAC is repealed:

WAC 314-55-081, Who can apply for a marijuana retailer license?
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WAC 314-55-082 Insurance requirements. Marijuana licensees shatt

providemust obtain insurance coverage as set out in this section. The

intent of the required insurance is to protect the consumer should there
be any claims, suits, actions, costs, damages or expenses arising from
any negligent or intentional act or omission of the marijuana licensees.
Marijuana licensees shall furnish evidence in the form of a certificate
of insurance satisfactory to the WSLCB that insurance, in the following
kinds and minimum amounts, has been secured. Failure to provide proof
of insurance, as required, may result in license cancellation.

(1) Commercial general liability insurance: The licensee shall at

all times carry and maintain commercial general liability insurance and

+f—neeessary;-or commercial umbrella insurance for bodily injury and

property damage arising out of licensed activities. The limits of lia-

bility insurance shall not be less than one million dollars.

(a) This insurance shall cover such claims as may be caused by any

act, omission, or negligence of the licensee or its officers, agents,

representatives, assigns, or servants.
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(b) The insurance shall also cover bodily injury, including dis-

ease, illness and death, and property damage arising out of the licen-

see's premises/operations, products, and personal injury.—Fhetimits—-of

+h o n ma 11 a~Arn A~NTT o
T 113 3 e s g i W/ 5 S 1 s &> 3 s

(2) Insurance carrier rating: The insurance required in subsection
(1) of this section shall be issued by an insurance company authorized
to do business within the state of Washington. Insurance is to be placed
with a carrier that has a rating of A - Class VII or better in the most
recently published edition of Best"s Reports. If an insurer is not
admitted, all insurance policies and procedures for issuing the insur-
ance policies must comply with chapters 48.15 RCW and 284-15 WAC.

(3) Additional insured. The state and its employees, agents, and

He
H-
D

volunteers shall be named as an additional insured on altl—generalt

bitity—umbretda;—and—exeess—insurance policies required under this

14
[ S

section. All policies shall be primary over any other wvalid and col-
lectable insurance.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 16-11-110, § 314-
55-082, filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16. Statutory Authority: RCW
69.50.325, 69.50.331, 69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-

082, filed 10/21/13, effective 11/21/13.]
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WAC 314-55-102 Quality assurance testing. A third-party testing lab
must be certified by the WSLCB or the WSLCB's vendor as meeting the
WSLCB's accreditation and other requirements prior to conducting quality
assurance tests required under this section.

(1) Quality assurance fields of testing. Certified labs must be
certified to the following fields of testing by the WSLCB or its designee
and must adhere to the guidelines for each quality assurance field of
testing listed below, with the exception of mycotoxin, heavy metal, or
pesticide residue screening. Certification to perform mycotoxin, heavy
metals and pesticides may be obtained but is not required to obtain
certification as a testing lab. A lab must become certified in all fields
of testing prior to conducting any testing or screening in that field
of testing, regardless of whether the test is required under this sec-
tion.

(a) Potency analysis.

(i) Certified labs must test and report the following cannabinoids
to the WSLCB when testing for potency:

(A) THCA;

(B) THC;

(C) Total THC;

(D) CBDA;
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(E) CBD; and

(F) Total CBD.

(ii) Calculating total THC and total CBD.

(A) Total THC must be calculated as follows, where M is the mass
or mass fraction of delta-9 THC or delta-9 THCA: M total delta-9 THC =
M delta-9 THC + (0.877 x M delta-9 THCA).

(B) Total CBD must be calculated as follows, where M is the mass
or mass fraction of CBD and CBDA: M total CBD = M CBD + (0.877 x M CBDA) .

(1i1ii) Regardless of analytical equipment or methodology, certified
labs must accurately measure and report the acidic (THCA and CBDA) and
neutral (THC and CBD) forms of the cannabinoids.

(b) Potency analysis for flower lots.

(i) Certified labs must test and report the results for the required
flower lot samples as described in WAC 314-55-101(3) for the following
required cannabinoids:

(A) THCA;

(B) THC;

(C) Total THC;

(D) CBDA;

(E) CBD; and

(F) Total CBD.
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(ii) Calculating total THC and total CBD.

(A) Total THC must be calculated as follows, where M is the mass
or mass fraction of delta-9 THC or delta-9 THCA: M total delta-9 THC =
M delta-9 THC + (0.877 x M delta-9 THCA).

(B) Total CBD must be calculated as follows, where M is the mass
or mass fraction of CBD and CBDA: M total CBD = M CBD + (0.877 x M CBDA) .

(c) Certified labs may combine in equal parts multiple samples from
the same flower lot for the purposes of the following tests after the
individual samples described in WAC 314-55-101(3) have been tested for
potency analysis.

(i) Moisture analysis. The sample and related lot or batch fails
quality assurance testing for moisture analysis if the results exceed
the following limits:

(A) Water activity rate of more than 0.65 a,; and

(B) Moisture content more than fifteen percent.

(ii) Foreign matter screening. The sample and related lot or batch
fail quality assurance testing for foreign matter screening if the re-
sults exceed the following limits:

(A) Five percent of stems 3mm or more in diameter; and

(B) Two percent of seeds or other foreign matter.
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(iii) Microbiological screening. The sample and related lot or
batch fail quality assurance testing for microbiological screening if

the results exceed the following limits:

Enterobacteria E. coli (pathogenic
(bile-tolerant gram- | strains) and
negative bacteria) Salmonella spp.
Unprocessed Plant 104 Not detected in 1g
Material
Extracted or 108 Not detected in 1g
processed Botanical
Product

(iv) Mycotoxin screening. The sample and related lot or batch fail
quality assurance testing for mycotoxin screening if the results exceed
the following limits:

(A) Total of Aflatoxin B1, B2, Gl, G2: 20 ug/kg of substance; and

(B) Ochratoxin A: 20 ug/kg of substance.

(d) Residual solvent screening. Except as otherwise provided in
this subsection, a sample and related lot or batch fail gquality assurance
testing for residual solvents if the results exceed the limits provided
in the table below. Residual solvent results of more than 5,000 ppm for
class three solvents, 50 ppm for class two solvents, and 2 ppm for class
one solvents as defined in United States Pharmacopoeia, USP 30 Chemical
Tests / <467> - Residual Solvents (USP <467>) not listed in the table
below fail quality assurance testing. When residual solvent screening
is required, certified labs must test for the solvents listed in the

table below at a minimum.
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Solvent* ppm

Acetone 5,000
Benzene 2
Butanes 5,000
Cyclohexane 3,880
Chloroform 2
Dichloromethane 600
Ethyl acetate 5,000
Heptanes 5,000
Hexanes 290
Isopropanol 5,000
(2-propanol)

Methanol 3,000
Pentanes 5,000
Propane 5,000
Toluene 890
Xylene** 2,170

*And isomers thereof.
**Usually 60% m-xylene, 14% p-xylene, 9% 0-xylene with 17% ethyl
benzene.

(e) Heavy metal screening. A sample and related lot or batch fail

quality assurance testing for heavy metals if the results exceed the

limits provided in the table below.

Metal w/daily dose (5 grams)
Inorganic arsenic 10.0
Cadmium 4.1
Lead 6.0
Mercury 2.0

(2) Quality assurance testing required. The following quality as-

surance tests are the minimum required tests for each of the following

marijuana products, respectively. Licensees and—eertifieddabsmay elect

to do mulEiple——<ogualzty assuraonce—+tests—eoen—+thesame—Jtot—-or—testing for

as—pursgant—tecompliant products

under chapter 246-70 WAC if the licensee seeks to use the compliant

products logo.
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(a) General quality assurance testing requirements for certified
labs.

(1) Certified labs must record an acknowledgment of the receipt of
samples from producers or processors in the WSLCB seed to sale tracea-
bility system. Certified labs must also verify if any unused portion of
the sample was destroyed or returned to the licensee after the completion
of required testing.

(ii) Certified labs must report quality assurance test results
directly to the WSLCB traceability system when quality assurance tests
for the field of testing are required within twenty-four hours of com-
pletion of the test(s).

(i1ii) Certified labs must fail a sample 1if the results for any
limit test are above allowable levels regardless of whether the limit
test is required in the testing tables in this section.

(b) Marijuana flower lots and other material lots. Marijuana flower

lots or other material lots require the following quality assurance

tests:
Product Test(s) Required
Lots of marijuana flowers or other material that will not be 1. Moisture content
extracted 2. Potency analysis

3. Foreign matter inspection
4. Microbiological screening
5. Mycotoxin screening
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(c) Intermediate products. Intermediate products must meet the fol-
lowing requirements related to quality assurance testing:

(1) All intermediate products must be homogenized prior to quality
assurance testing;

(ii) For the purposes of this section, a batch is defined as a
single run through the extraction or infusion process;

(iii) A batch of marijuana mix may not exceed five pounds and must
be chopped or ground so no particles are greater than 3 mm; and

(iv) All batches of intermediate products require the following

quality assurance tests:

Test(s) Required
Product Intermediate Products

. Moisture content™®

. Potency analysis

. Foreign matter inspection*®
. Microbiological screening
. Mycotoxin screening

. Potency analysis
. Mycotoxin screening*
. Residual solvent test

Marijuana mix

Concentrate or extract made with hydrocarbons (solvent
based made using n-butane, isobutane, propane, heptane, or
other solvents or gases approved by the board of at least 99%
purity)

Concentrate or extract made with a CO, extractor like hash
oil

W= W —

. Potency analysis
. Mycotoxin screening™*
. Residual solvent test

Concentrate or extract made with ethanol . Potency analysis
. Mycotoxin screening*

. Residual solvent test

. Potency analysis

. Microbiological screening*
. Mycotoxin screening*

. Residual solvent test

. Potency analysis
. Microbiological screening
. Mycotoxin screening

Concentrate or extract made with approved food grade
solvent

Concentrate or extract (nonsolvent) such as kief, hash, rosin,
or bubble hash

Infused cooking oil or fat in solid form . Potency analysis
. Microbiological screening*

. Mycotoxin screening™

W= W= ARWN—=|WN—| W —

* Field of testing is only required if using lots of marijuana flower and other plant material that has not passed QA testing.
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(d) End products. All marijuana, marijuana-infused products, mari-
juana concentrates, marijuana mix packaged, and marijuana mix infused
sold from a processor to a retailer require the following quality as-

surance tests:

Test(s) Required
Product End Products
Infused solid edible Potency analysis
Infused liquid (like a soda or tonic) Potency analysis
Infused topical Potency analysis
Marijuana mix packaged (loose or rolled) Potency analysis
Marijuana mix infused (loose or rolled) Potency analysis
Concentrate or marijuana-infused product for inhalation Potency analysis

(e) End products consisting of only one intermediate product that

has not been changed in any way are not subject to potency analysis.

(3) No lot of usable flower, batch of marijuana concentrate, or

batch of marijuana-infused product may be sold or transported until the

completion and successful passage of quality assurance testing as re-

quired in this section, except:

(a) Business entities with multiple locations licensed under the

same UBI number may transfer marijuana products between the licensed

locations under the same UBI number prior to quality assurance testing;

and

(b) Licensees may wholesale and transfer batches or lots of flower

and other material that will be extracted and marijuana mix and nonsol-

vent extracts for the purposes of further extraction prior to completing
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required quality assurance testing. Licensees may wholesale and transfer
failed lots or batches to be extracted pursuant to subsection +5)3(6) of

this section.

(4) The certified third-party testing lab and required results of

the quality assurance test must be included with each lot and disclosed

to the customer buying the lot.

(5) Samples, lots, or batches that fail quality assurance testing.

(a) Upon approval by the WSLCB, failed lots or batches may be used
to create extracts. After processing, the extract must pass all quality
assurance tests required in this section before it may be sold.

(b) Retesting. At the request of the producer or processor, the
WSLCB may authorize a retest to validate a failed test result on a case-
by-case basis. All costs of the retest will be borne by the producer or
the processor requesting the retest. Potency retesting will generally
not be authorized.

(c) Remediation. Producers and processors may remediate failed har-
vests, lots, or batches so long as the remediation method does not impart
any toxic or deleterious substance to the usable marijuana, marijuana
concentrates, or marijuana-infused product. Remediation solvents or

methods used on the marijuana product must be disclosed to a licensed

processor the producer or producer/processor transfers the products to;
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a licensed retailer carrying marijuana products derived from the reme-
diated harvest, 1lot, or batch; or consumer upon request. The entire
harvest, lot, or batch the failed sample(s) were deducted from must be
remediated using the same remediation technique. No remediated harvest,
lots or batches may be sold or transported until the completion and
successful passage of quality assurance testing as required in this
section.

+5(6) Referencing. Certified labs may reference samples for myco-
toxin, heavy metals, and pesticides testing to other certified labs by
subcontracting for those fields of testing. Labs must record all refer-
encing to other labs on a chain-of-custody manifest that includes, but
is not limited to, the following information: Lab name, certification
number, transfer date, address, contact information, delivery personnel,
sample ID numbers, field of testing, receiving personnel.

+6)(7) Certified labs are not limited in the amount of usable
marijuana and marijuana products they may have on their premises at any
given time, but a certified lab must have records proving all marijuana
and marijuana-infused products in the certified lab's possession are

held only for the testing purposes described in this section. Pursuant

to RCW 69.50.345, any sample material remaining after testing must be

WAC (1/2/2018 4:33 PM) [ 12 ] NOT FOR FILING



destroyed by the laboratory as provided in WAC 314-55-097 or returned

to the licensee that supplied the sample for testing.

(7) Upon the request of the WSLCB or its designee, a licensee or a
certified lab must provide an employee of the WSLCB or their designee
samples of marijuana or marijuana products or samples of the growing
medium, soil amendments, fertilizers, crop production aids, pesticides,
or water for random compliance checks. Samples may be screened for
pesticides and chemical residues, unsafe levels of heavy metals, and
used for other quality assurance tests deemed necessary by the WSLCB.
[Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.342 and 69.50.345. WSR 17-12-032, § 314-
55-102, filed 5/31/17, effective 8/31/17; WSR 16-11-110, § 314-55-102,
filed 5/18/16, effective 6/18/16; WSR 15-11-107, § 314-55-102, filed
5/20/15, effective 6/20/15; WSR 14-07-116, § 314-55-102, filed 3/19/14,
effective 4/19/14. Statutory Authority: RCW 69.50.325, 69.50.331,
69.50.342, 69.50.345. WSR 13-21-104, § 314-55-102, filed 10/21/13, ef-

fective 11/21/13.]
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R\! Washington State
/4 Liquor and Cannabis Board

Date: April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Joanna Eide, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director
Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator
Peter Corier, Marijuana Examiners Unit

Subject: Approval for filing a pre-proposal statement of inquiry (CR 101) for
2018 Cannabis Legislation Rules.

The WSLCB is considering changes to rules in Chapter 314-55 WAC due to the
passage of legislation affecting cannabis laws during the 2018 Legislative Session.
Specifically, this rulemaking will address necessary rule changes as a result of the
passage of ESSHB 2334, 2018 c. 132 (session law).

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the pre-proposal statement of inquiry
(CR 101) for the rule making described above. An issue paper on this rule was
presented at the Board meeting on April 4, 2018, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined
below:

April 4, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing the pre-proposal
statement of inquiry (CR 101)

April 18, 2018 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

May 23, 2018 End of written comment period

May 30, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)

June 20, 2018 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

July 11, 2018 Public Hearing held

July 11, 2018 End of written comment period

CR 101 2018 Cannabis Legislation 1 4/4/18



July 25, 2018 Board is asked to adopt rules

July 25, 2018 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

July 25, 2018 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

August 25, 2018 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)*

*Unless otherwise provided.

Approve Disapprove

Jane Rushford, Chair Date
Approve Disapprove

Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date
Approve Disapprove

Russ Hague, Board Member Date

Attachment: Issue Paper

CR 101 2018 Cannabis Legislation 2 4/4/18



Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Issue Paper

2018 Cannabis Legislation Rules.

Date: April 4, 2018

Presented by:  Joanna Eide, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

This Issue Paper requests approval from the Board to file the first stage of
rulemaking (CR 101) for changes to cannabis rules in Chapter 314-55 WAC as a
result of legislation passed during the 2018 Legislative Session.

Why is rule making necessary?

Rulemaking is necessary to ensure that rules are consistent with changes to
laws made by the Legislature during the 2018 Legislative Session in ESSHB
2334, 2018 c. 132 (session law). ESSHB 2334 requires that the WSLCB
develop testing requirements for cannabinoid additives generated outside the
regulated marijuana industry if a marijuana licensee wishes to use those
additives in creating marijuana derived products. Only those cannabinoid
additives that pass the testing requirements that will be developed in this
rulemaking will be able to be used by licensees. Other changes to rules
necessary to implement ESSHB 2334 may also be included in this rulemaking.

Process

The rule making process begins by announcing LCB’s intent to add and make
changes to existing rules by filing a CR 101 form. This allows staff and
stakeholders to begin discussing necessary rule changes. At the CR 101 stage of
the rulemaking process, no proposed language is offered. The public may
comment on the subject of this rulemaking during the designated comment
period. Notice will be sent to all who have indicated that they want to receive
notice of rule changes. The notice will identify the public comment period and
where comments can be sent. Based on public input received, staff will draft
proposed changes for presentation to the Board at the next phase of the rule
making process.

CR 101 2018 Cannabis Legislation 1 4/4/18



R\! Washington State
/4 Liquor and Cannabis Board

Date: April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Janette Benham, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director

Subject: Approval for filing a pre-proposal statement of inquiry (CR 101) to
implement 2018 liquor legislation

Rules are needed to implement House Bill 2517, which passed during the 2018
legislative session. The bill requires LCB to adopt rules to implement a schedule of
penalties for a licensed alcohol manufacturer who has committed a violation as part of
the licensee’s ancillary activities.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the pre-proposal statement of inquiry
(CR 101) for the rule making described above. An issue paper on this rule was
presented at the board meeting on April 4, 2018, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

April 4, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing the pre-proposal
statement of inquiry (CR 101)

April 18, 2018 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

May 18, 2018 End of written comment period

May 30, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102)

June 20, 2018 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

July 11, 2018 Public Hearing held

July 11, 2018 End of written comment period

July 25, 2018 Board is asked to adopt rules

July 25, 2018 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at

CR 101 2018 Liquor Legislation 1 04/04/2018



the public hearing and in writing.

July 25, 2018

Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

August 27, 2018

Rules are effective (31 days after filing)

Approve

Approve

Approve

Attachment: Issue Paper

CR 101 2018 Liquor Legislation

Disapprove
Jane Rushford, Chair Date
Disapprove
Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date
Disapprove

Russ Hauge, Board Member Date
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Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board
Issue Paper
2018 Legislation

Date: April 4, 2018
Presented by:  Janette Benham, Policy and Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the board to file the
first stage of rule making (CR 101) to implement House Bill 2517, which passed
during the 2018 legislative session.

Why is rule making necessary?

House Bill 2517 passed during the 2018 legislative session and requires LCB to
adopt rules to implement a schedule of penalties for a licensed alcohol
manufacturer who has committed a violation as part of the licensee’s ancillary
activities. The legislation defines ancillary activities as activities by a licensee
involving the public and relating to serving samples, operating a tasting room,
conducting retail sales, serving alcohol under a restaurant license, or serving
alcohol with a special occasion license. The schedule of penalties for ancillary
violations must ensure that licensees will not have their manufacturing license
suspended for ancillary activity violations. The penalties also cannot exceed
penalties applicable to a retail licensee for a similar violation.

Process

The rule making process begins by announcing LCB’s intent to add and make
changes to existing rules by filing a CR 101 form. This allows staff and
stakeholders to begin discussing necessary rule changes. At the CR 101 stage of
the process, no proposed language is offered. The public may comment on the
subject of this rulemaking during the designated comment period. Notice will be
sent to all who have indicated that they want to receive notice of rule changes.
The notice will identify the public comment period and where comments can be
sent. Based on public input received, staff will draft proposed changes for
presentation to the Board at the next phase of the rule making process.

CR 101- 2018 Liquor Legislation 1 04/04/2018



R\ Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Date: April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director

Subject: Approval of final rule (CR 103) to allow private label spirits —= WAC
314-12-146

At the Board meeting on April 4, 2018, the rules coordinator requests that the Liquor
and Cannabis Board approve the final rulemaking (CR 103) for WAC 314-12-146.

The Board was briefed on the rule making background and public comment for this rule
making. An issue paper is attached.

If approved, the Rules Coordinator will send an explanation of the rule making to all
persons who submitted comments.

After sending this explanation, the Rules Coordinator will file the rules with the Office of
the Code Reviser. The effective date of the rules will be 31 days after filing.

Approve Disapprove

Jane Rushford, Chair Date
Approve Disapprove

Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date
Approve Disapprove

Russ Hauge, Board Member  Date

CR 103 Private Label Spirits 2 3/21/18



Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board
Issue Paper
Private Label Spirits (WAC 314-12-146)

Date: April 4, 2018
Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to recommend that the Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board proceed with final rulemaking for private label spirits:
WAC 314-12-146.

Why is rule making necessary?

Rules are needed to clarify the requirements for private label spirits between a
distiller, craft distiller, spirit certificate of approval holder, and manufacturer and
an on-premises or off-premises spirits retailer.

Public Comment
One comment was received at the public hearing held on November 29, 2017.
Seven written comments were received.

Two comments were received at the public hearing held on March 7, 2018. Four
written comments were received.

What changes are being made?
New Section. WAC 314-12-146 Private Label Spirits. Includes the
requirements for private label spirits.

CR 103 Private Label Spirits 1 12/3/17



NEW SECTION

WAC 314-12-146 Private label spirits. Distillers, crafter dis-
tillers, spirit certificate of approval holders, and manufacturers of
spirits may produce private label spirits for on-premises and off-
premises spirits retailers under the following conditions:

(1) There may be no exclusivity between the producer and the re-
tailer for the private label spirit product. The spirit product must
be reasonably available to all spirits retailers licensed to sell spi-
rits;

(2) A copy of the contract between the producer and the spirits
retailer for all private label spirits products must be available to
the board for inspection; and

(3) The distiller, craft distiller, spirit certificate of appro-
val holder, or manufacturer of spirits must submit a TTB certificate
of label approval for each private label produced to the board for re-
view.

[ 1] 0TS-9151.2



R\ Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Date: April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director

Subject: Approval of final rules (CR 103) to revise WAC 314-11-025 What are
the forms of acceptable identification?

At the board meeting on April 4, 2018, the rules coordinator requests that the Liquor and
Cannabis Board approve the final rule (CR 103) to revise WAC 314-11-025.

The board was briefed on the rulemaking background and public comment for this
rulemaking. An issue paper and the text of the rules is attached.

If approved, the rules coordinator will send an explanation of the rulemaking to all
persons who submitted comments. After sending this explanation, the rules coordinator
will bile the rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. The effective date of the rules will
be 31 days after filing.

Approve Disapprove

Jane Rushford, Chair Date
Approve Disapprove

Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date
Approve Disapprove

Russ Hauge, Board Member  Date

Attachment: Issue Paper

CR 103 Acceptable forms of ID 1 3/21/18



Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Issue Paper

Acceptable forms of ID

Date: April 4, 2018

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request the Board to adopt the final rule
(CR 103) to revise WAC 314-11-025 What are the forms of acceptable
identification?

Why is rule making necessary?

A petition for rulemaking was submitted by a private citizen requesting the board
revise WAC 314-11-025 to allow NEXUS cards and passport cards to be
acceptable forms of identification for purchasing alcohol.

Public Comment

No comments were received at the public hearing held March 7, 2018. No written comments
were received.

What changes are being made?

Amended Section. WAC 314-11-025 What are the forms of acceptable
identification? Added the NEXUS card and passport card to the list of
acceptable forms of identification to verify a person’s age.

CR 103- Acceptable forms of ID 1 3/21/18



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 12-17-006, TFiled 8/1/12, effective
9/1/12)

WAC 314-11-025 What are the forms of acceptable identification?
(1) Following are the forms of identification that are acceptable to
verify a person®s age for the purpose of selling, serving, or allowing
a person to possess or consume alcohol:

(a) Driver®s license, instruction permit, or identification card
of any state, or province of Canada, from a U.S. territory or the Dis-
trict of Columbia, or ™"identicard” issued by the Washington state de-
partment of licensing per RCW 46.20.117;

(b) United States armed forces identification card issued to ac-
tive duty, reserve, and retired personnel and the personnel®s depend-
ents, which may include an embedded, digital signature in lieu of a
visible signature;

(c) Passport, passport card, NEXUS card;

(d) Merchant Marine identification card issued by the United
States Coast Guard; and

(e) Enrollment card issued by the governing authority of a feder-
ally recognized Indian tribe located in Washington, if the enrollment
card incorporates security features comparable to those implemented by
the department of licensing for Washington driver®s licenses.

(2) If the i1dentification document has an expiration date, a per-
son may not use the document after the expiration date to verify his
or her age.

[ 1] 0TS-9379.2



R\ Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Date: April 4, 2018

To: Jane Rushford, Board Chair
Ollie Garrett, Board Member
Russ Hauge, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Rick Garza, Agency Director
Peter Antolin, Deputy Director
Justin Nordhorn, Chief of Enforcement
Becky Smith, Licensing Director

Subject: Approval for filing proposed rules (CR 102) for the placement and
storage of mini spirit bottles

The proposed rules address concerns regarding the placement and storage of mini
spirit bottles in stores frequented by minors.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file the proposed rules (CR 102) for the rule
making described above. An issue paper on this rule was presented at the Board
meeting on April 4, 2018, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

April 4, 2018 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)

April 18, 2018 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to
rules distribution list

May 16, 2018 Public Hearing held

May 16, 2018 End of written comment period

May 30, 2018 Board is asked to adopt rules

May 30, 2018 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

May 30, 2018 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

July 1, 2018 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)

CR 102 Spirit Mini Bottles 1 3/21/18



Approve Disapprove

Jane Rushford, Chair Date

Approve Disapprove

Ollie Garrett, Board Member Date

Approve Disapprove

Russ Hauge, Board Member Date

Attachment: Issue Paper

CR 102 Spirit Mini Bottles 2 3/21/18



Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board

Issue Paper

Mini Spirit Bottles

Date: April 4, 2018

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file
proposed rules (CR 102) to address the placement and storage of mini spirit
bottles in stores frequented by minors.

Why is rule making necessary?
The board has received concerns regarding the placement of mini spirits bottles
in stores that minors frequent. This rulemaking will address those concerns.

What changes are being made?

Amended Section. WAC 314-02-107 What are the requirements for a
spirits retail license? Added language to clarify the placement and storage of
mini spirit bottles in stores frequented by minors.

CR 102- Mini Spirit Bottles 1 3/21/18



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 12-12-065, filed 6/5/12, effective
7/6/12)

WAC 314-02-107 What are the requirements for a spirits retail
license? (1) The requirements for a spirits retail license are as
follows:

(a) Submit a signed acknowledgment form indicating the square
footage of the premises. The premises must be at least ten thousand
square feet of fully enclosed retail space within a single structure,
including store rooms and other interior areas. This does not include
any area encumbered by a lease or rental agreement (floor plans one-
eighth inch to one foot scale may be required by the board); and

(b) Submit a signed acknowledgment form indicating the licensee
has a security plan which addresses:

(i) Inventory management;

(i1) Employee training and supervision; and

(i11) Physical security of spirits product with respect to pre-
venting sales to underage or apparently intoxicated persons and theft
of product.

(2)(a) A grocery store licensee or a specialty shop licensee may
add a spirits retail liquor license to their current license if they
meet the requirements for the spirits retail license.

(b) A grocery store or a specialty shop licensee that adds a spi-
rits retail liquor license must display bottled spirits fifty millili-
ters or less in size offered to customers for off-premises consumption
in_a secure manner so a licensee or employee of the licensee must un-
lock or otherwise access the spirits for a customer before the custom-
er purchases the spirits.

(i) The display of bottled spirits fifty milliliters or less in
size applies whether a bottle is displayed or sold individually or in
a package with other bottled spirits fifty milliliters or less in
size.

(ii) Former state or contract stores, or other spirit retail
stores with more than fifty percent of their sales in alcohol do not
need to secure bottled spirits fifty milliliters or less.

(3) The board may not deny a spirits retail license to qualified
applicants where the premises is less than ten thousand square feet
if:

(a) The application is for a former contract liquor store loca-
tion;

(b) The application is for the holder of a former state liquor
store operating rights sold at auction; or

(c) There is no spirits retail license holder iIn the trade area
that the applicant proposes to serve; and

(i) The applicant meets the operational requirements in WAC
314-02-107 (1)(b); and

(i1) If a current liquor licensee, has not committed more than
one public safety violation within the last three years.
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