Washington State
Liquor Control Board Fact Sheet

Bill Title: Creating a Beer/Wine Theater License.

Bill Number: SHB 1001

Effective Date: July 28, 2013

Amends: Creates a new section in Chapter 66.24 RCW and amends RCW

66.20.300 and RCW 66.20.310

Summary:
New Section in Chapter 66.24 RCW

Creates a theater license to sell beer, including strong beer, or wine, or both, at
retail for consumption on theater premises. The annual fee for such license is
$400.

No food requirements are specified.

"Theater" is defined as a place of business where motion pictures or other
primarily non-participatory entertainment are shown and includes only those
theaters with no more than four screens.

If theater premises are to be frequented by minors, an alcohol control plan must
be submitted to the Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB) at the time
of application. The alcohol control plan must be approved by the WSLCB, and be
prominently posted on the premises prior to minors being allowed entry.

"Alcohol control plan” is defined as a written, dated and signed plan submitted to
the WSLCB by an applicant or licensee for the entire theater premises, or a room
or area therein. The alcohol control plan must include: (1) a statement explaining
where and when minors and alcohol are permitted; and (2) the control measures
to be used to prevent minors from obtaining alcohol or being exposed to
environments where drinking alcohol predominates.

All servers of beer and wine are required to attend a mandatory alcohol server
training program.

Subject to specified conditions, theater licensees that are federally designated
nonprofits exempt from taxation under 26 U.S.C.501(c)(3) are permitted to enter
into agreements with a liquor industry member for purposes of brand advertising
at the theater. The act specifically establishes that such an agreement is an
exception to the general statutory prohibition against a liquor industry member
advancing money or other valuable consideration to a retailer. Such agreements
are subject to specified auditing procedures to be conducted by the WSLCB.

Provides for a doubling of available penalties for a violation involving minors or
the failure to follow an alcohol control plan.

How to Apply:
Complete a Master Business Application and Liquor Control Board Addendum.
Information can be found on the WSLCB website at www.lig.wa.gov.
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When the WSLCB Licensing Division receives the application:

A liquor license investigator will be assigned to the application.
A notice will be sent to the local authority for comment (20 day period).

A public posting notice will be sent to the applicant to be posted at the retail
premises (must be posted for 14 days).

The investigator will contact the applicant to conduct an interview and send the
applicant a request for documents needed to process the application (the
applicant has 15 days to return documents). The applicant will also be directed
to complete a licensee briefing and to call their local liquor agent to schedule a
final inspection of the premises.

When all documents are received, the licensee briefing is complete, the final
inspection is complete, and the investigation is complete, the applicant will
receive a letter from the WSLCB Licensing Division with either a conditional
approval or approval of the liquor license.

When the license is approved the licensee should receive a Master License from
Master License Service within 14 days.

Contact Information:
For specific questions, please contact Customer Service at 360-664-1600 or
www.lig.wa.qgov.
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