Washington State
Liquor and Cannabis Board

Notice of Permanent Rules

Regarding Amendment to WAC 314-02-045 — Seasonal hours for beer and wine
restaurant licensees.

This concise explanatory statement concerns the Washington State Liquor and
Cannabis Board’s adoption of amendments to WAC 314-02-045.

The Administrative Procedure Act (RCW 34.05.325(6)) requires agencies to complete a concise
explanatory statement before filing adopted rules with the Office of the Code Reviser. The
concise explanatory statement must be provided to any person upon request, or from whom the
WSLCB received comment.

The WSLCB appreciates and encourages your involvement in the rule making process. If you
have questions, please contact Jeff Kildahl, Policy and Rules Coordinator, at rules@Icb.wa.gov.

Background and reasons for adopting these rules:

The Liquor and Cannabis Board has amended WAC 314-02-045 to reduce the required number
of days per week a beer and/or wine restaurant license must be open to the public to maintain
their license from three days per week to two days per week.

The effective date of these rules is October 11, 2025.

Public comment received on the rule proposal:

Comment received from Kendra Lawson:

External Email

Hi there, I was unable to virtually attend the hearing, but had a few questions and testimony to
give.

Why are there day and hour requirements for a beer and wine licenses?

If there does need to be specified day and hour requirements, can it be one day a week?

In the petition for rule making, I explained many reasons for reducing the days from 3 to 2, but
after another winter

of struggling and cost going up, 2 may not make enough of a difference, and/or 5 hours is too
long. If there is a way

to let small businesses have more control over their hours, it would allow them to make smart
business choices, and
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be more reliable employers. Being a lunch time restaurant, 5 hours is an unreasonable amount of
time to be open especially in the winter. With a small staff and limited indoor seating, doing a
dinner service for 5 hours is also an

unreasonable amount of time- especially in small towns where ‘the sidewalks roll up at 8pm’.
Finding staff is

increasingly difficult because it is a long enough shift that it doesn’t allow them to pick up a shift
elsewhere- but

also they aren’t making enough money to be there without customers, so its a lose-lose for them
too.

I hope the board will consider dropping the day/hour requirement, or making it minimal enough
for small business

owners to make decisions that make sense for their business.

I would prepose 1 day a week for 3 hours if there needs to a stipulation.

Thank you for your time and considerations,

Sincerely,

Kendra Lawson

Westcott Bay Shellfish Co.

San Juan Island

Reply by Jeff Kildahl

Good afternoon Kendra,

Thank you for your comment on the proposed rule language for beer and wine restaurants. | will include
your comment in the file for consideration just as if you were able to attend and testify in person or
virtually.

Sincerely,
Jeff

Changes from Proposed Rules (CR-102) to the Rules as Adopted:

There were no other changes between the proposed rule and the final rule.

CES - Seasonal hours 9/10/2025



