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Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Meeting 
 

Wednesday, July 31, 2024, 10:00 am 

This meeting was held in a hybrid environment 

 

Meeting Minutes 

 
 

1.  CALL TO ORDER 

 

Chair Postman called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board 

to order at 10:00 am on Wednesday, July 31, 2024. Member Ollie Garrett was also present. 

 

 

2.  YEARS OF SERVICE RECOGNITION – LISA RED, 25 YEARS OF SERVICE 

Monika Taylor, Program Specialist, Enforcement and Education 

 

Monika Taylor: Thank you for letting us do this here Chair Postman and Board Member Garrett. 

I have the privilege of saying a couple of some words here about Lisa Red, who is a longtime 

employee. Lisa started in July of '99 as an office assistant in our Bremerton Enforcement Office. 

She moved then from there to the Tacoma Enforcement Office and later to our Licensing 

division in Olympia. There she processed certificates of authorizations for importers, 

distributors, and wholesalers. After that, she approved licensing floor plans. From there, she 

moved to the Criminal History Information Unit that we call the CRI Unit. There, she was 

approving liquor licensing applicants that had applied to obtain a license. After some law 

changes, she started approving tobacco licenses, vapor licenses, and also cannabis applicants.  

 

A quote from Andrea Lee who is Lisa's coworker, "As a former cannabis licensing senior, it was 

quite amazing that she was able to step into the Cannabis CRI role and not lose a beat. As 

investigators, we were thankful that our licensee applications were moving forward with all the 

background checks she was doing. Her mentorship and guidance to navigate the ever-changing 

LCB's background check landscape has made the unit strong and with consistent accuracy, and 

most importantly, they stay out of court. Congratulations to 25 years of state service, and they 

all took place here at the LCB.  

 

Chair Postman: Lisa, thank you very much for all of that. Your history follows lots of ups and 

downs for this agency. Big, small, and then you touch all those corners. So you should write a 

book sometime. Maybe.  

 

Chair Postman: Thank you both. 25 years, that's impressive. Okay. We are going to move to 

some rulemaking action this morning. Our first item up be presented by Daniel Jacobs, and this 

is consideration of the CR 102 for Cannabis Payment Flexibility. Mr. Jacobs. 
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3.  CANNABIS RELATED RULEMAKING  

 

ACTION ITEM 3A – Board Approval of CR 102 for Cannabis Payment Flexibility 

Daniel Jacobs, Policy and Rules Coordinator 

 

Daniel Jacobs: Good morning, Chair Postman, Members Garrett, and Vollendroff. I'm here this 

morning to request approval of the CR 102 on Cannabis Payment Flexibility. If approved today, 

there will be a public comment period open until the public hearing on September 11th, and 

assuming no changes are made after the public hearing, the final rules will be filed on 

September 25th and effective October 26th. This project is amending WAC 314-55-115 on what 

methods cannabis licensees can use to purchase cannabis from other licensees and is the 

result of a petition that the Board accepted in March 2023. The CR 101 was filed on May 8th, 

and a survey with draft rule language was posted on the LCB website from June 3rd through 

July 8th. The majority of those who responded to the survey were on the manufacturing side of 

cannabis and mostly supported the proposed rule changes. I've attached the survey results as 

an attachment to the CR 102 memo, and I'm happy to go into more detail on the survey results 

if you'd like.  

 

The only note of hesitation is that a decent portion of respondents expressed concerns about 

potential increase in NSF or insufficient fund issues, but as I'll shortly explain, NSF concerns are 

already addressed in existing rule language. WAC 314-55-115 identifies check, prepaid 

accounts, debit, or credit card, electronic fund transfer, or using a money transmitter as various 

methods that licensees can use to purchase cannabis from other licensees. The proposed rule 

changes clarify that just as with the other payment methods, when paying via check, the 

purchase order has to be done via an irrevocable invoice. Both parties have to preserve and 

keep records consistent with other LCB requirements, and the check has to be mailed no later 

than the next business day after cannabis delivery, and it has to be deposited no more than five 

business days post cannabis delivery.  

 

Lastly, in this rule, we're also proposing to clarify that use of the word "delivery" refers to 

cannabis delivery as opposed to delivery of check. This is important because specifically mailing 

checks was sort of the impetus for the petition at the get go, and so when we talk about delivery, 

we want to clarify we're, again, as I said, talking about delivery of cannabis, not delivery of the 

check itself. We only received one comment on the 101, and again, that was asking about 

issues related to NSF checks. 314-55-115 already addresses NSF payments in Section 6, 

saying that insufficient fund issues have to be corrected by 3:00 PM on the business day after 

the NSF issue is reported; otherwise, it becomes an impermissible extension of credit, and 

impermissible extensions of credit are subject to penalties identified in 314-55-523. This rule 

change is going to impose no more than a minor cost on businesses in order to just familiarize 

themselves with the rules around checks, and they aren't going to have to learn anything new 

because they'll see that the same rules that apply to the other existing payment methods are 

now going to apply to checks.  
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The requirements themselves, as I said, are going to be familiar because, again, they are -- we 

just copied the requirements from the other payment methods, and that sort of wants to go into 

the last thing I want to talk about, which is the specific request in the petition. So the petition 

was submitted actually asking that checks be allowed to be mailed up to three days post-

delivery. However, here we're proposing that the rule language only allow for one day post-

delivery. And the reason is because if we changed it as requested in the petition, rather than 

making the terms for payment by mailing check sort of the same as with other payment 

methods, it would make them an exception. Currently, other payment methods like using a 

money transmitter or a debit or credit card, they have to be done one day post-delivery and 

completed five days post-delivery. If we allowed checks to be mailed up to three days post-

delivery, again, that would give more time for checks than exists for the other payment methods.  

 

Again, rather than making checks the exception compared to the other methods, the project 

team felt that at least it's a good starting point here. We want to sort of bring checks up to be on 

the same level as the other payment methods. And I think especially in light of the NSF 

concerns that were brought up in some of the CR 101 comments and in response to the survey, 

we don't want to exacerbate any of those concerns by giving a greater leeway for payment via 

check than exists for the other methods. Based on the above, I'm hereby requesting approval of 

the CR 102 on cannabis payment flexibility. Thank you, and I'm happy to answer any questions. 

 

Chair Postman: Any questions for Mr. Jacobs on this? No. Um, I don't. I don't have any. Thank 

you for the work on this. I think it is the sort of evolution we need to be looking at, so I 

appreciate the effort you put into this one over the years or months. With that, I'd entertain a 

motion to accept the Board -- accept the staffs' recommendation to approve the CR 102 for 

Cannabis Payment Flexibility. 

 

Member Garrett made a motion to approve the CR 102 for Cannabis Payment Flexibility. 

Chair Postman seconded. The motion was approved. 

 

 

ACTION ITEM 3B – Board Approval of CR 102 for Engrossed Second Substitute Senate 

Bill 5367 Concerning the Regulation of Products Containing THC 

Cassidy West, Policy and Rules Manager 

 

Cassidy West: Great. Thank you, Chair Postman, Board Member Garrett. I am ready to go. It 

seems like everything is working here on my end as long as you all can hear me okay over 

there. All right. All right, great. Thank you. So today I'm here to -- or I am presenting -- 

requesting the Board approval to file a CR 102 to implement Engrossed Second Substitute 

Senate Bill 5367, which I will refer to as the THC Bill. The CR 101 initiating the rulemaking to 

amend or repeal sections of WAC 314-55, related to the Regulation of Products Containing 

THC, was filed on June 21, 2023 as WSR 23-13-129. If approved today, the hearing for these 

rules will be held on September 11th, and then the 102 will be -- oh, I'm sorry, the 103 will be 

filed on September 25th. This means that the rules would become effective on October 26th.  
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So a little bit of background. As you all know, the THC Bill was introduced by the agency to 

increase the prevalence and complexity of products containing various tetrahydrocannabinols 

other than delta-9 that emerged on the unregulated market beginning in 2018. The legalization 

of hemp under the Farm Bill acted as a catalyst for these products by allowing the cultivation 

and processing of hemp containing less than 0.3% delta-9 THC. However, the legislation 

inadvertently created a loophole by not regulating other cannabinoids, like delta-8 THC. So in 

response, some manufacturers began extracting CBD from hemp and converting it into 

synthetic or semisynthetic cannabinoids, like delta-8, leading to a rapid expansion of these 

products in an unregulated market. To rectify these oversights and prioritize consumer safety 

and public health, legislative measures were necessary to address the issue, hence, our 

agency-sponsored legislation.  

 

Our rules were formulated in coordination with our internal divisions, who work very closely with 

Education and Enforcement. Our Licensing division, who approves the packaging for edibles 

and then Finance division. We also worked very closely with the Department of Health and the 

Department of Agriculture in our regularly scheduled class meetings that we have on the 

Collaborative Laboratory Services Program meetings. And this is so that we can ensure uniform 

standards and facilitate a seamless implementation of the regulatory modifications. Rule 

language is being proposed to amend several sections of Chapter 314-55 WAC as follows: 

 

The definition sections will be amended, so WAC 314-55-010 cannabis servings and transaction 

limits are also proposed to be amended, and that's WAC 314-55-095. Quality assurance and 

quality control testing amendments are also being proposed, WAC 314-55-102, changes to 

packaging, and labeling requirements in WAC 314-55-105. Changes to WAC 314-55-106, which 

is cannabis warning symbol requirements. And then, finally, the last section changes to WAC 

314-55-109, and that's related to cannabinoid additives. So the proposed rule also includes 

language reflecting the statutory changes that resulted from Substitute House Bill 1249, Chapter 

9, laws 2020 -- laws of 2024, regarding the sale of limits and possession of retail cannabis 

products. The bill introduces a new category for low-dose liquid cannabis products, low-THC 

beverages so that retailers can sell more of those beverages than the current transaction limits 

allow currently -- what they allow now actually. 

 

So we did not include this as part of the CR 101. However, these rules were -- already in effect, 

and so the language that we have included in our draft just reflects the statutory changes. So 

extensive public engagement was conducted to inform these rules. We held collaborative 

rulemaking discussions in December, so December 15th, 19th, and 21st. We discussed and 

reviewed policy options on key concepts, such as how to measure, report, and label THC 

content, and how to establish -- or establishing a detectable level for THC compounds. We 

followed up with a survey to be able to provide those who were unable to attend the discussions 

and then just get a little bit more substantive information. That was disseminated in January 

2022. The survey closed on January 31st. We had 234 survey respondents, which is great. And 

so based on the results of the survey, we developed draft rules, which we then presented during 

the April and May rulemaking workshops that we held, which were virtual. We presented rules, 

we worked with stakeholders, we refined the rules, and then incorporated those changes, and 



 

Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Meeting Minutes – July 31, 2024  Page 5 of 20 

 

that's what you're looking at today. So stakeholder feedback played a very crucial role in 

shaping the proposed regulations to make sure that they're practical and enforceable.  

 

Now I'll go through the proposed changes. So with regards to amending the definition section, 

we added references to new and existing definitions and statutes, or in rule just that are relevant 

to the legislation and to ensure consistency with the statutory changes. So the following 

definitions from RCW 69.50.101 are referenced now in our rules; cannabis, cannabis products, 

CBD concentration, cannabis concentrates, cannabis-infused products, and THC concentration. 

New definitions were created packaging unit by the legislation, and so those are also now 

included in our WAC. We also referenced definitions from RCW 69.52.04, tetrahydrocannabinol 

and synthetic cannabinoid, so those are referenced in there. And then we created a new 

definition for total THC, which means any tetrahydrocannabinol as defined in RCW 69.52.04 

that is detected during the testing process and -- wait. Let me pause there for a second. The 

total THC that's present during the testing process, and if it exceeds an established threshold, 

which we'll get to in just a second, then we'll calculate the total THC, and this takes into account 

the conversion from the aesthetic to the neutral form.  

 

And then just a quick technical change. We did add a new definition for WSDA referring to the 

Washington State Department of Agriculture, given the now coordination we have for the 

accreditation and lab standards going on. Denise is working on the rulemaking. So there is quite 

a bit of overlap there. I'll actually stop there just to note to stakeholders that we -- some of the 

changes that we have previously discussed in this rulemaking with regards to detectable levels 

and establishing that, we are focusing -- we do not want to create a gap as we're transitioning 

our accreditation over to WSDA, and so our rules are intended to not disrupt the current state. 

And if there are changes that need to be made regarding certain standards with how we certify 

or product standards, we're going to address that in a separate rulemaking. So I'm just going to 

keep on going.  

 

So I'm going to move on to WAC 314-55-095, and this is Cannabis Serving and Transaction 

Limits. So we focused on delta-9, so the proposed rules limit the maximum amount of THC that 

may be in the single serving to 10 mg of active delta-9 THC, and then the amount of THC that 

may be in a single package, the 100 mg of active delta-9 THC. And we updated 095 to reflect 

those new definitions of "package" and "unit" that were changed by statute. So the limits that we 

established with the 10 mg and 100 mg are consistent with current industry standards and the 

products available on the market. New limits proposed limiting the amount of any additional 

single tetrahydrocannabinol compound, and it cannot exceed 0.5 mg per gram per serving, and 

the combined concentration of any additional tetrahydrocannabinol compounds cannot exceed 1 

mg per gram per serving. And so we aren't currently aware of any products that have -- that 

would exceed these levels, but we do want to account for future innovation, so that's how we've 

incorporated that. And then we also, like I mentioned earlier, that included language for the low 

THC beverage statute House Bill 1249.  

 

Now we're going to move on to WAC 314-55-102, Quality Assurance and Quality Control 

Testing. Testing for THC is only required specifically for delta-9 and delta-9 THC as they are the 
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most predominantly naturally-occurring cannabinoids in the plant or THC compounds in the 

plant and the proposed rules do not necessitate testing for additional specific THC compounds. 

Despite the legislation broadening the definition of THC concentration to encompass a range of 

compounds falling under the statutory definition of tetrahydrocannabinols, the levels of the THC 

compounds, such as delta-8 and THCV, we're counting it as THC, remain insignificantly low, so 

less than 1% by weight. Furthermore, research on the cannabinoid compounds remains very 

limited. So a new requirement is added to mandate testing reporting for THC compounds if it is 

labeled, advertised, or marketed as part of the product, and this is for consumer safety and 

transparency.  

 

Chair Postman: Can you say that again? I missed that, Cassidy. When would it be required?  

 

Cassidy West: If people are advertising that they have, let's say delta-8, for example, in their 

product, and they are not testing for it, then they need to test for delta-8 so that we know the 

delta-8 in it on the label the test results align with that.  

 

Chair Postman: If they're claiming it in marketing, then that would mandate testing for it. Great. 

Thank you.  

 

Cassidy West: Yeah. Thank you for that. So we replaced the term "potency analysis" throughout 

that section with "cannabinoid concentration analysis", and this aligns with WSDA regulations 

outlined in new Chapter 16-309 and 16-310. And then the equation for calculating total THC is 

adjusted to reflect that new definition of total THC in WAC 314-55-010. So total THC has to be 

calculated for delta-9, just like it currently is, but you also must calculate it for any additional 

THC compounds, if they are tested and present in amounts greater than 0.2 mg per gram. 

Again, we were looking at COAs. We didn't see many or very few, if any, levels of naturally-

occurring tetrahydrocannabinols other than delta-9 showing up in these levels. So we don't 

expect testing labs to have to calculate total THC for all of these, all of a sudden new 

compounds because the reality is they're not occurring in high enough amounts for this to apply.  

 

And so total THC is just calculated how it currently is with delta-9. Of course with the different 

compounds, we need to account for the different molar masses. And so we're going to -- so 

language is in there to reflect that. And we also clarified that certified laboratory means that a 

lab certified by the Board. Again, that kind of folds into that 2151 rulemaking that we also have 

ongoing on certification requirements for labs. The term "accreditation" is removed to reflect the 

transfer of cannabis testing lab standards to WSDA, and we also replaced the term "containers" 

with "packaging" throughout that section as well.  

 

Okay. I'm going to move on to the packaging and labeling section, so WAC 314-55-105. The 

term "container" has been removed, and "packaging" was replaced, and I just want to reiterate 

this is just a technical change. Container means packaging, packaging means container. If there 

are issues with -- if there's confusion or additional clarity may be needed regarding layers of 

packaging, we have received stakeholder feedback that that might be something we need to 

look into. So I just want to note that we are aware that this change may have larger implications 
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where we need to provide clarity, which we'll follow up on. However, that's why we have this 

process so we can get stakeholder feedback on that. So we have a new labeling requirement, a 

total THC. It must be included on the label for the additional tetrahydrocannabinol. So currently, 

total THC has to be calculated for delta-9 already. But now if you do have -- if you are testing for 

a THC, and it shows up in amounts greater than 0.2 mg per gram, that total THC for that 

additional compound needs to now be included on the label.  

 

We also replaced references of "unit" with "package" for consistency with statutory definitions. 

And for the cannabis edibles in liquid form, we replaced "package" with "bottle". Again, package, 

container, bottle are all the same things. We really are seeking stakeholder feedback to make 

sure that this is not creating any additional issues that we have not identified at this point. So 

that's it for packaging lately. I'm sorry. Go back for packaging labeling. We did clarify also for the 

servings that you have to have the serving size, the number of servings in the container, and the 

amount of product per serving. And so that's not really a change substantively of what people 

are doing, it's just clarity for how to do it. 

 

 Okay, now WAC 314-55-106 Cannabis Warning Logo Requirements. Here, we just replaced 

the term "package" with "container" to align with the statutory definitions of "unit" and "package". 

Encouraging again stakeholders to take a look at that. And then, finally, the section WAC 314-

55-109, Cannabinoid Additives, is amended to reflect the statutory changes, so we replaced 

"potency analysis" with "cannabinoid concentration analysis", similar to exactly how it is in that 

WAC 314-55-102. We also clarified that licensees must use a certified lab by the Board. A 

certified lab is the lab certified by the Board, and so you'll just see that consistency there.  

 

There are no additional requirements that we added that are not already -- that are not in 

statute. And then, finally, we, throughout all of the sections, we replaced the acronym WSLCB 

with LCB, consistent with WSR 34-11-037, and Jeff will be presenting the 103 on that today for 

the other sections of the WAC where we replace that acronym. And so agencies are required to 

consider costs imposed on businesses, and we applied a default cost of $2000 when analyzing 

whether the rules would have a disproportionate impact on small businesses. The minor cost 

estimate is $5304, so it does not exceed the threshold for any of the license types. Therefore, 

the implementation of these rules are not anticipated to result in more of a minor cost on 

businesses as defined in RCW 19.85.020. Thank you, and I'm happy to answer any questions. 

 

Chair Postman: Okay, that's a lot. Questions for Ms. West on this one? I’ve got a couple quick 

ones. I want to go back to when you were talking about the establishing the threshold, and then 

the standards that WSDA is working on as well. We, even though we're transferring the testing 

over there, that's not going to change our established thresholds for what we -- right. Okay. 

Because those seemed like they were mixed up there. Okay. I mean I was mixing them up. 

Okay.  

 

Cassidy West: Yeah. No, no. I apologize. So when you're looking at just -- when we started 

these rules, this was before the 2151 rulemaking, and so we were considering that we would 

have to make the changes because we didn't have that authority. So instead of saying certified 
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labs must do this thing, now cannabis licensees must use certified labs. Now that we have that 

rulemaking, we decided we're going to keep them separate. And so any sort of overlap that 

occurred with that, we did not change in this one, and so that will be reflected in the other one. 

 

Chair Postman: So the certification, or whatever we call it, of a lab could change over there, but 

we're not going to be having to change our standards for thresholds of THC. Just, you know, 

okay, thank you. That that helps me. 

 

Cassidy West: Yeah, it's a lot. Thanks.  

 

Chair Postman: Yeah, it's just a very complicated -- one of the most complicated bills we have, 

and I just was, you know, I think you did great work on this. I know it was difficult, and I 

appreciate this look. I think it's a great package. It should be approved, but I'm also going to be 

interested in hearing what feedback we get going forward. We really need people to be able to, 

you know, understand and do this because as you mentioned yesterday, and I think it is worth 

repeating today, the whole point of this is to try to shut down the illicit market, which we believe 

is working on a loophole at best on hemp-derived THC. It's not to apply pressure within the 502 

system, but we need to have rulemaking for ourselves, so we can establish sort of the good side 

of the market, which is within the 502 system and then shine the light on what's outside that 

route, right? 

 

Cassidy West: Yes, exactly. Yes. So what is a cannabis product, and what is not a cannabis 

product? And so that really is just the root of this rulemaking. 

 

Chair Postman: And I think the industry and the agency have done a good job that what's being 

sold in these stores generally is a legitimate compound or variation or whatever they want there. 

You know, there have been some cases, but overall, we've got a pretty shared definition. We 

don't outside, there's no definition. These people that are selling it outside the regulators are 

selling it by mail order, you know. So again, that's the focus for me. That's why we push this bill. 

That's why you've spent a year on the rules. And I hope we get some good support for that 

going forward. So that was it. And seeing no other questions, looking for a motion to take the 

staff recommendation for the Board to approve the CR 102 for Senate Bill 5367, referred to as 

the THC Bill. 

 

Member Garrett made a motion to approve the CR 102 for Engrossed Second Substitute 

Senate Bill 5367. Chair Postman seconded. The motion was approved. 

 

 

ACTION ITEM 3C – Board Approval of CR 102 for Engrossed Second Substitute Senate 

Bill (E2SSB) 5080 Expanding and Improving the Social Equity in Cannabis Program 

Justin Nordhorn, Policy and External Affairs Director 

 

Justin Nordhorn: Good morning, Chair Postman, and Member Garrett. Today, I'm presenting a 

request for filing of the CR 102 for Social Equity in Cannabis. If approved, there's going to be a 
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formal rulemaking public comment period open through the public hearing, which we're planning 

on holding on September 11th. If there are no changes made after the public hearing and the 

final rules, we file on September 25, 2024 and effective October 26th. This project is in 

response to Engrossed Second Substitute Senate Bill 5080 and implementation of said bill. The 

project will be amending WAC 314-55-570. It's updating regulations based on statutory changes 

in Senate Bill 5080. The CR 101 was filed on November 8th. The LCB conducted initial surveys 

of applicants who participated in the application process under House Bill 2870. So the LCB 

also contracted with Whitney Economics to address this statutory requirement around 

thresholds, and we'll be providing some of that information more online. And then we also 

conducted additional surveys in July of this year.  

 

So the results from the first survey consisted of 73 respondents, and these responses were 

really instrumental in shaping the initial draft proposal of Senate bill -- or of the rules in response 

to implementing Senate Bill 5080. So following the first survey, the initial draft rules and scoring 

rubric were presented in open public meetings, and we received feedback from the community 

and stakeholders during public comment periods at Board meetings. We also had written 

comments throughout the rules process. We had comments coming into the Rules inbox. We 

had comments coming into the Social Equity inbox, and we've also received a total of about 30 

written comments for this particular rule project.  

 

Additionally, there were two public engagement sessions which were held on May 15th, which 

was a virtual session, and May 22nd, which was a hybrid. After those two sessions in May, we 

updated the draft yet again, of the proposed rules, and then these updated drafts were shared 

publicly with another accompanying survey that went out for a period of one week between July 

11th and July 18th. As a result, there were 242 anonymous and valid survey responses, and so 

I'm going to cover a little bit of what that looked like at a high level here. So the majority of 

respondents identified themselves as community members, followed by House Bill 2870 

applicants, and then existing cannabis business licenses. There were others also included, but 

those were the top three. About 66% did not attend any previous stakeholder engagement 

sessions. More than half, 56%, identified themselves as a member of historically marginalized 

communities. 26% of the overall respondents said they were planning on being applicants under 

the Senate Bill 5080 rule set.  

 

And then looking at a subset of responses, removing 46% of the respondents who said they 

were not going to apply, and looking at the balance, that representation increased to 69% of 

those respondents who were planning on applying under 5080 identify themselves as members 

of historically marginalized communities. So some of the survey highlights that we have is, on 

the DIA, and -- I'll call out a couple of things on this. It was really split, so I'm going to just kind of 

put that out there in front. And when you're looking at percentages, keep in mind there were 

multiple survey responses. It wasn't just a yes/no. So, for example, 50%, half of the people that 

responded felt that the applicants who lived in a DIA for one to five years should be awarded 

points on the rubric. That doesn't necessarily mean that 50% were of the total opposite because 

some people had no preference, but 50% of those responding did indicate that folks who lived in 

DIA for one to five years should be awarded some sort of points in the rubric.  
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More than half, 57% of respondents said points should be awarded for cannabis-specific 

offenses, and that was in regard to a question around the drug offense approach. The -- about 

half, 53%, felt that the points should remain the same regardless of time served, which we 

hadn't built into the rules, but we did ask the question based on some feedback. Almost half, 

48%, said that awarding 15 points for having a household income less than the median 

household income was too low. And then we looked at the subset of those who were planning 

on applying, and that actually increased to 60% felt that was too low. About half, 51%, felt that 

points should not be awarded for having previously owned a medical cannabis dispensary or 

collective garden prior to July 1, 2016. About half, 49%, reported points should not be awarded -

- to those who filed an application under House Bill 2870. A little more than half, 53%, believe 

that House Bill 2870 licensees and title certificate holders should be allowed to move their 

license if they were unable to secure a location.  

 

More than half, 59%, of respondents reported affidavits should be allowed in some instances, 

and more support was indicated for affidavit use in the DIA area and the arrest and conviction 

area. So WAC 314-55-570 identifies qualifications to be a social equity applicant, where 

businesses can be located and provides regulation for the application process. And many of 

these updates are to the draft rules, including the updated draft scoring rubric, reflective of the 

survey feedback that I just covered. The scoring rubric was adjusted based on that survey, and 

the focus was also for the four areas under Senate Bill 5080 under those qualifications -- that 

are identified there. So changes to WAC 314-55-570 include a number of definition changes to 

include disproportionately impacted area, social equity plan, both of those to align with statute. 

We also amended definitions of family member, median-household income, preliminary letter of 

approval, social equity contractor, Social Equity Program Applicant, all that to include clarity.  

 

So one of the things that we built in is a definition for a social equity registrant, and so this is a 

slight change from the previous rule set that we've had. And the definition for social equity 

applicant modified to distinguish two phases of the application process. So a registrant is an 

individual who has registered to be evaluated for qualifications under the social equity criteria. 

An applicant is an individual who has submitted an application, has been evaluated by the third-

party contractor, received a qualifying score based on the scoring rubric and rule, and received 

a preliminary letter of approval. And the main difference here is what we're proposing is people 

don't have to go and apply to other state agencies before they come through. You don't have to 

have your entire business entity set up before you go into the registry and get -- go through the 

scoring criteria. So we're trying to reduce those barriers to entry. The application process has 

been amended to provide that registering through an online portal, it is mandatory because we 

need to know who is going to be sent over to the third-party vendor. But other than that, we've 

alleviated those other requirements.  

 

So qualifications were modified by legislation, consequently the qualifications section in the 

scoring rubric and the preliminary regulations have been adjusted to align with the updated 

criteria for the social equity applicants. And the changes to the mobility requirements involve 

allowing House Bill 2870 applicants, who have not secured a location within 90 days after the 
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closure of a 5080 application window, to locate their license to a different county from its original 

location. The rule set also allows title certificate holders who qualify as social equity applicants 

to reinstate their license under the Social Equity Program with the eligibility determination and 

relocation options providing avenues for those social equity title certificate holders to reenter the 

market under the social equity considerations reflecting stakeholder feedback on inclusivity and 

equitable access to licensing opportunities. Appeal rights were also clearly established for the 

withdrawal and denials. Household income now consists of the combined total gross income for 

all household members ages 15 and older, including any taxes and deductions that may apply.  

This is in direct reference to the Census Bureau definition, and so we're aligning the DIAs with 

the Census Bureau. We're also trying to align this with Census Bureau, so we have that level of 

consistency. Local jurisdictions can object to the location of proposed cannabis retail licenses 

based on pre-existing ordinances limiting outlet density. So if a local jurisdiction has an 

ordinance established prior to the application of an applicant, we will have to adhere to that 

objection if they had that in place it. It can't be responsive or reactive to somebody applying, but 

they could have that in place beforehand. We also built in conflicts of interest safeguards to 

reduce the risk of any preferential treatment between a third-party vendor and applicants or 

licensees. The Senate Bill 5080 also required the LCB to identify county thresholds for retailers, 

producers, and processors, and these rules-established thresholds will be evaluated every three 

years beginning in 2029. So we did our initial evaluation with Whitney Economics, and then the 

next one will be in 2029, and then three years consecutively after that.  

 

These thresholds indicate the number of potentially viable licenses by county based on 

economic review and projections of our contracted economists. And this is really important to 

point out. These are not -- we're not claiming in the rules and the information we're providing 

that these will be viable. Licenses projections on what the potential viability could be, so people 

who want to apply for a license can make informed decisions around what the market evaluation 

looked like. And so the retail opportunities are considered available but very limited in scope 

right now. It was estimated that 634 retailers may be economically viable by 2032 and so 

projecting out some of that is bringing in folks into the legal marketplace versus the unregulated 

marketplace, and those shifts would be representative in that. Producers have the capacity to 

supply more cannabis than demand right now. It doesn't mean that we're at full growing for what 

was approved, but this is the most limiting area. And so folks should be aware that the business 

opportunities in this particular area will be most likely the most challenging of the three license 

types.  

 

And or processor licenses are considered to be the largest opportunity in the cannabis market, 

and Whitney Economics has estimated that there may be a demand between 1700 and 3000 by 

2032, based on the different types of products and demand for those. So I'm happy to answer 

any questions, and I ask for the approval to file the CR 102 on Social Equity in Cannabis 

Program.  

 

Chair Postman: One of the things the Whitney report said, you were just referencing the 

struggles on the producer side, particularly, and they say, one of their recommendations is don't 
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issue any additional producer license until supply capacity. Do we -- at this point, does the LCB 

have authority to hold back the producer license as part of this program? 

 

Justin Nordhorn: Yeah, I think we could. I mean, so let me back up. We have to open up an 

application window for different license types to be able to have people apply. So the LCB could 

determine that they may not be in the best interest. However, the statute does call out that we 

need to be able to issue 10, and so we will probably have to open a license application window 

for that. We want to make sure people are really clear on what that the projection looks like if 

they choose to get into that now. Or somebody who comes in with a really good business plan 

or a good business owner, they may be very successful even in the established marketplace. 

However, the economic projections for businesses are really limited in that particular space.  

 

Chair Postman: Okay. And my feeling is we should not restrict it, but I just wanted to be sure. I 

think we want to give people that opportunity. And the Whitney Report talks about the 

importance of presenting this data in a public facing way as much as possible. So when -- do we 

have that report online?  

 

Justin Nordhorn: We don't have it posted yet online. I believe our Research team is going to 

come and present some of the findings to a Caucus, and then we'll have that available online. 

We are building it into the rules that we will have that online, and then it will be updated, like I 

said, starting in 2029 and every three years after that, so we can update those projections 

because a lot of things can change obviously with the State economy between now and then. 

 

Chair Postman: Yeah. I think they did a lot of good work that, you know, they point out it's 

helpful for the regulator as well as licensees to see some of these trends and things like that to 

get us ahead of some of the problems. So good, I'm glad we're doing that. The online portal for 

registering, will we house that and manage that piece? 

 

Justin Nordhorn: I believe so, I think. I believe that they register with the LCB. Those who 

register go to the third-party contractor for scoring and evaluation, and then those who are 

deemed as qualified applicants come back to the LCB to go through the more official application 

process, and that's when you'll have to establish your business entity and those types of areas 

around license application.  

 

Chair Postman: This should both reduce costs for entry in the early parts of this as well as just 

make it easier, correct? Yeah? Okay. I think that's a great move. Okay. Member Garrett? 

 

Ollie Garrett: Yeah, Justin, can someone email me on the number of title certificate holders and 

the demographics of those? I don't want to put you on the spot that I didn't ask, but can 

somebody email me that information? 

 

Justin Nordhorn: Yeah. I'll connect with Licensing and see if we can get you that information this 

afternoon. 

 



 

Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Meeting Minutes – July 31, 2024  Page 13 of 20 

 

Ollie Garrett: Thank you. 

 

Member Garrett made a motion to approve the CR 102 for the Engrossed Second 

Substitute Senate Bill 5080. Chair Postman seconded. The motion was approved. 

 

 

4. GENERAL RULEMAKING 

Jeff Kildahl, Policy and Rules Coordinator 

 

ACTION ITEM 4A – Board Adoption of CR 103 for Updating LCB Name and Acronym in 

Title 314 WAC Rules 

 

Jeff Kildahl: Good morning, Chair Postman, and Board Member Garrett. This morning I am 

requesting the Board's approval to file a CR 103 notice of permanent rulemaking to amend 

several sections in Title 314 WAC. This rulemaking was done through the expedited rulemaking 

process to make housekeeping changes to LCB's rules to update the former name of the 

agency, which was Liquor Control Board with the current name, Liquor and Cannabis Board, as 

it was officially changed in 2015, and also to update the acronym used for the agency from 

WSLCB to LCB for consistency with our current practices and usage. There were no comments 

received during the 45-day comment period on the proposed rule amendments and because 

this is expedited rulemaking, no public hearing was held on the rule amendments. After the CR 

105 was filed, a number of rule sections, I believe it was 14 altogether, were removed from this 

rulemaking because they are involved in other current rulemaking projects. So if the CR 103 is 

approved, the permanent rule changes to update the agency acronym and agency name will 

take effect on August 31, 2024. So with that, I'm happy to answer any questions. 

 

Member Garrett made a motion to approve the CR 103 for Updating the LCB Name and 

Acronym in title 314 WAC Rules. Chair Postman seconded. The motion was approved. 

 

 

Chair Postman: Before we go to public comment, I overlooked something. I want to go back to 

the social equity, if we could have Justin join us again. It's the one that's just been approved, 

and we're not redoing that any, but could we just spend a minute? We didn't -- we spent a lot of 

time talking about the past but not today the changes in the rubric which is included, right? Can 

we throw that in as part of the rule package?  

 

Justin Nordhorn: The rubric is part of the rule package. So first, let me apologize. I had a 

separate document that I was going to reference, and then I got through my other one and failed 

to mention the rubric changes. So I appreciate the opportunity to come back in just to provide 

the explanation in the public forum. And so when we looked at the feedback that we received, in 

the rubric, again, a lot of it was split 50/50, you know, or just over 50%, and so we opted to keep 

the one to five years within the scoring rubric, so folks would get points if they lived in the DIA 

for one to five years, even though it's not one of the qualifiers under state statute. So you still 

would have to qualify differently. That doesn't contribute to your qualifications. However, we're -- 
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allowing points. And when we look at people living in a DIA, what if you lived in a DIA for three 

years, you got arrested, convicted, and put in prison. You know, shouldn't you have some sort 

of an opportunity to showcase it? You know, you lived there, and that disproportionate impact. 

So we felt it was appropriate to leave that particular piece in. 

 

Justin Nordhorn: So the next category under convictions and offense -- or the offenses, 

convictions, and sentencing, we did modify this particular section of it, and so we focused on the 

cannabis offenses, and we did not exclude the drug offenses, but we lowered the points for drug 

offenses. The other thing that we did was prioritize the cannabis offenses based on the survey 

responses that if you have a cannabis offense and a drug offense, you will only get points for 

the cannabis offense. You get the higher points out of the two of those that you would have 

otherwise. And so before we were adding points together, and so in order to focus on the 

cannabis offenses, we felt the statute was clear on that. However, there was a lot of interest 

also in not just doing away with the drug charges. So we're -- offering in the proposed rules that 

cannabis convictions are at 40 points.  

 

We have the family members actually increase up to 20 points, and then the full cannabis 

offenses, and then the other sub points if you're an applicant or a family member with a drug 

conviction, only 5 points. So there are points being awarded, but the focus has been shifted 

heavily towards cannabis offenses. 

 

Justin Nordhorn: So the household income we had lowered in the initial proposed rules for this. 

We had lowered it significantly and predominantly because it was the evaluations for the year 

prior and not necessarily when you lived in the DIA or when you were impacted. So basically, if 

we open the application process in 2025, you're talking about your income for this year and 

that's it. And that's why we had lowered it. Now, the responses were very clear that we need to 

increase those points, and so we doubled those points from our previous proposal from 15 to 30 

points, and so we have that stronger representation there. It is still the lower scoring area 

because of the time frame that's involved with just the one year prior to application, but we did 

respond with increasing those particular points. As I identified in some of the survey responses, 

there were a number of folks that -- over half that were saying that you should not get points for 

medical dispensary ownership prior to 2016 or as 2870 applicants. We opted to leave those two 

categories in.  

 

When we look at the socially and economically disadvantaged category in statute, we believe 

these two fit into that particular provision, and there are impacts for those folks, and so we opted 

not to remove. There have been some adjustments in scores, and so the weight of all of the 

categories will shift slightly. So we went from 310 points to 250 points total. And so with the prior 

medical dispensary, you would get the top points if you were in a DIA versus having a 

dispensary out of a DIA, and we did provide some points if you were a 2870 applicant who did 

not get selected to move forward, and so we do have some of those. But from the previous 

proposals, we also had identified if you have ownership and current licensed businesses, and 

we were going to be awarding points for those who didn't versus having those. We excluded 

that from this particular draft, so we're no longer excluding points for folks who have that. 
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Licensees are eligible by statute to have five retail locations, and we didn't want to have that be 

a hinderance for current licensees to apply that they wouldn't get points elsewise, and so we 

removed that particular provision looking at these things.  

 

So those were the highlights of the rubric changes. I apologize I didn't cover those more 

specifically in the initial presentation. 

 

 

5.  PUBLIC COMMENT 

 

Chair Postman invited citizens to address the Board regarding any issues related to LCB 

business. The Board heard from the following people: 

 

Mary Williams: Hello. Thank you for hearing me today. My name is Mary Williams. I am a lived 

experience expert. I'm also an SUVP, and I have testimony today, in memory of Sheila Jackson 

Lee. Thank you very much. The things that I am here to talk about are in relation to my 

experience as well as my participation in WASE, Washington Against Sexual Exploitation, and 

my credentials as an SUVP came after I was able to escape the life of trafficking and stripping. I 

just want to really have you know that strip clubs are still a dangerous environment for 

performers and that performers are kind of interchangeable and disposable in these work 

environments. I do really stand in support of having a committee of lived experience experts to 

continue to work on this issue. But the risk as you guys all probably know are increased 

violence and substance use, especially, and now that we've added alcohol, that does not help 

with decision making and ability for people to control their impulses.  

 

So we have the issues of both gun violence and physical violence, the hostile work 

environment, polysubstance use, and, of course, the possibility of being drugged or affected by 

fentanyl or Rohypnol that patrons may try to put in the drinks of dancers, etc., and then the 

ongoing issues around sexual assault to domestic violence and predatory behavior. So I am a 

person who had a polysubstance use history. As I said, I was able to escape that portion of my 

career life, but that was a daily thing that occurred in the clubs. And once you are a daily 

substance user, you're no longer in control, and it's very hard to get out of these situations. So 

we want to just make sure that people have access to off-ramps to get out of trafficking or 

situations that may be domestic violence or SUD-related. And we also want to make sure that 

these places are being regulated. As you know, since the pandemic, everything is up. Fentanyl 

use is up. DUIs are up. Violence is up. Gun violence is up. Youth violence is up. And so we 

really need to study and continue to gather impacts to make sure we have the most current 

research on the ways that this is affecting the clubs. Again, I'm really, unfortunately, upset that 

alcohol has been added to this mix, and I know Washington had a long history of not allowing 

that, which made us stand out. So I also encourage you to go back and look at the history and 

why that was put into place. So again, I stand in support of lived experience survivors being 

involved in this process and education for dancers, patrons, and the staff at these 

establishments. Thank you. 
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Rebekah Fonden: Good morning. I am also a member of WASE Forward. Along with my 

colleague, Mary, I'm a survivor of human trafficking. I've lived in Washington State my entire life. 

I'm currently a master's student at the University of Washington, Evan School of Public Policy, 

and I'm also here to address Senate Bill 6105 and the implementation of liquor licenses within 

the adult entertainment establishments. We, at WASE Forward, and I support the safety 

measures throughout this bill. We support safety for all. You know? Not just safety for some. 

And what that means is to really understand that there's a link between high crime rates, 

violence, human trafficking, and sexual exploitation that do run rampant through these clubs. A 

lot of these clubs, I believe 7 out of 11, are in high-crime areas in the city, and two are in 

[indistinct] zones. So as alcohol is introduced, these crime rates will exasperate. And this was 

shown a liquor license was given to -- in the City of Seattle years ago to one club, and a study 

was run in tandem with this. What was found is that crime did increase in that area, and the 

liquor license was actually not reissued. And so we're seeing crime in these areas.  

 

I think it's really important to understand that people are trafficked out of clubs. Traffickers, you 

know, go in there to groom, traffic the women out of the clubs, and also kind of bring them out of 

the clubs. My colleague last week testified being trafficked out of a club as well. The violence is 

very real. We saw a Council member, a former Council member recently, that is charged with 

the murder of a dancer in Washington State. So this is a reality that we are facing, and we really 

want safety for all people that are in these clubs, and that means that people who are being 

human trafficking -- or, you know, are being trafficked within these clubs. So what we really urge 

of you is to cap the number of clubs with alcohol until we have two to three years to do a study 

to really understand the impact of these liquor licenses within our communities because people 

are being affected outside of the people who maybe are choosing to be in this. Human 

trafficking is really driven by poverty, you know, misogyny, and racism, and this is just 

something we need to understand this link. We really urge you to reach out. And as Mary said, 

we believe that an advisory committee would be good with lived experience experts and making 

sure that all of your investigators are trained on human trafficking identification and response. 

Thank you. 

 

Brooke Davies: Good morning, Chair Postman, and Board Member Garrett. My name is Brooke 

Davies, here today on behalf of the Washington CannaBusiness Association. I just wanted to 

quickly follow up on my comments from the last Board meeting. I spoke about the approval 

process for already-approved packaging of edibles that are now seeking to be medically-

compliant. There has been a lot of follow-up since then. I've spoken with folks in Licensing and 

also with Director Nordhorn. I just wanted to keep the issue before you. There was a webinar 

yesterday on this topic, and it was stated that, you know, there have been over 200 

submissions, and things to me are moving pretty quickly in 14 days or less. However, I just want 

to still flag that, you know, we think it's totally appropriate that if you're reformulating the product 

to have higher servings or you're adding language to the product -- again, this is just edible 

products -- those should have to go through the full approval process.  

 

But for products that are not being changed at all, they're just taking that extra step of testing 

the oil for heavy metals and adding the DOH-compliant sticker, it's great that it's going well now, 
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and it's only 14 days, but what we've seen historically is that that can really fluctuate depending 

on the number of submissions or staffing issues. And so what we're asking is there to be an 

expedited process for those products that are not changing anything on their packaging at all 

besides just the DOH symbol. So it seems like conversations are moving in a positive direction, 

and the agency is open to that, but just want to keep it before you as we haven't completely 

closed that loop yet. So, thank you. 

 

Christopher King: Great morning. Okay. I am ready now. So just a couple of things here I want 

to talk about in the history of the LCB first off and foremost. I'm coming to you in the spirit of 

John Sherman, the senator from my state. Okay? The Sherman Act, you may have heard of it 

because you guys basically, are, and have been, and continue to be a free-speech-hating, a 

bad-faith-having, black-and-brown-hating, and serial Sherman Act-violating entity. And this is 

clearly evident. I took my skateboard around downtown there in the corridor between Lower 

Queen Anne and Belltown, and you have a gamut of stores down there for all your cronies in 

the area. They're -- some of them are right across the street from each other way less than 1000 

feet apart, as I believe is required in Seattle, but they're all there. And they're designed to keep 

black and brown out.  

 

So now after these 10, 11, and 12 years of dominance by your cronies, now they're crying and 

saying everything's too tight together. We don't know how they're going to do with the 

competition. All of these things. Okay? You guys have allowed this to happen. You've 

manifested it. You know, you gave stores to people that weren't qualified, and you did it on 

purpose. It it's a vertical and horizontal monopoly that you've created. Okay? Yes, you did. And 

let me tell you, you're going to hear about it, and you're going to hear about it also in addition to 

the fact that the whole 3-minute rule that you put into play here, that's totally going to be found 

by a competent court of law to be reactionary and done to shut out black and brown voices, now 

that we have more and more to talk about and to complain about in the wake of this -- another 

failed social equity project. Okay? It's all going to come out. And I'll just leave it at that. But 

yeah, you can see in the video I put today. I've got other ones, too, where you can clearly see 

that these stores are clustered there.  

 

There's even one of them I went to that's only open part-time, but anytime it's open, it's enough 

time to keep out black and brown from that neighborhood, and you know this. And some of your 

cronies are in there, Ian Eisenberg and all those guys. Remember, Ian Eisenberg wanted to 

have me out to lunch until they found out that I really meant what I meant to say that I'm serious 

about justice, and then he used a profanity in my name. Remember that? I do. Okay. So 

anyway, you know, here's a funny thing I thought about the other day. Mr. Postman, it was 

about exactly a year ago you looked at me and you cut me off in mid-sentence, and you said, 

"Oh, you're done." You like to say that to me all the time. "You're done." Okay? When I finish 

talking. You don't say that to too many other people. It's because I get under your skin. Because 

you know that I know what I'm talking about. So I thought about this the other day, and 

basically, you're done, Ollie Garrett's done, and the Board is done soon. Okay? It's just a matter 

of time. But just yesterday I met this fine woman from Colombia and -- no, no, she was 

Brazilian. Yes. And we talked for a while, and it was just a really beautiful chemistry, loved 
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talking to her. You got to wonder, what does my personal life have to do with you? It's because 

she's in the fashion industry, and I'm going to call her up and see if maybe she could buy some 

designer bags so you could pack your bags and get out of public service. Goodbye.  

 

Sami Saad: Yeah. Much respect for you. No disrespect, but you guys know I represent that 

organization.  Black Cannabis pioneers has been -- they started the medical cannabis. I want to 

let everybody know who I am. I really thank you so much. You look for me and you let me speak 

to give me my equal opportunity. My name is Sami Abdullah Saad. I am the first one own 

medical cannabis pioneer since 2009/2010 in Seattle. The whole community we fought hard for 

the social equity for those black and brown and to, you know, get acknowledged back in the 

business. We were being mistreated, we were being thrown out of this business, and we are 

being tricked by LCB in the past. We're not blaming you, Mr. Postman, and I'm not accusing Ms. 

Ollie Garrett, but unfortunately, you guys fail. I am one of the -- owners of medical cannabis or, 

actually retail cannabis, but still, it was not fair giving me you didn't give everyone, but giving 

me, you didn't even give me because I'm qualified, you know, for being in this first.  

 

You give me because you put too much to somebody being arrested with cannabis, but I still 

feel all of this. I'm overqualified, whatever you look by now not giving as we requested, as 

thousands of people met with the social equity group and they have me as a study. I'm the only 

one met with the social equity group. But you guys disrespected us. We said the black pioneers 

or those pioneers own cannabis, they should have the first license because you forced them 

out. If you want to give Palestine to Isreal right now, and we never new, you don't want to give 

those black people you destroyed their businesses? This is like [indistinct] bomb. You bomb 

those black businesses. You never want them to come back for a second. You cannot stop 

principle from applying, even we are pioneer, if we have license or not, and those pioneers 

before us, they deserve it, too. You give me a piece now. You didn't give me because I’m a 

pioneer. You're making pioneer like just a little but not a main priority to get. You lied to us, and 

you said, "This is for the pioneer." We're being disrespected. The same thing -- Ms. Ollie 

Garrett, I'm not against you, but if the community find out your ex-boyfriend have multiple 

licenses, so let me just speak. Why you -- why you want to cut me because I said the truth? Her 

ex-boyfriend has multiple Licensing. This is -- this is -- people, they take it as this is a corruption. 

The other thing, Mr. David. If you don’t listen to us as pioneer, we want to fix this. Give 26 

license is good to pioneer. You give somebody -- right now, somebody have licenses and I wish 

him the best. And he applied again for a license, and he got it. That's fine. You have to give us 

opportunity. You have to give those license. This is not fair. You make 26 licenses for pioneer? 

Another 26 license for the other groups.  

 

Peter Manning: Good morning, Chair Postman, and Board Member Ollie Garrett. My name is 

Peter Manning. I'm President of Black Excellence in Cannabis. I am here today to talk about a 

comment that I made a couple weeks back where I pointed out that the LCB, with some of their 

employees, handed out licenses to those people that did not qualify. The law read "must". In law 

with the legislative intent, "must" means it's a must. There's no way around that. What I meant 

to say, and I still say, and I doubled down on this, you must have cannabis or marijuana on your 

articles of incorporation in order to obtain a license in 2015. So the LCB took up with some of 
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their staff members, disregarded that, and handed white retailers licenses, over 30 in King 

County that did not qualify, whereas, you have black people that met those qualifications that 

were overlooked for various reasons but it truly being their skin tone. Because I believe that the 

people that were in charge of that were straight racists. Data doesn't lie. Postman said that I 

couldn't prove that. Here's documentation of Ian Eisenberg applying for a cannabis retail license 

on the 12th. It would issue him a priority one on the 13th by none other than Nicola Reid, 

Rebecca Smith, Jeannie McShane, and Frank O'Dell.  

 

But this is not the only one. Ian Eisenberg isn't the only one that benefited. There was over 30. 

But when you take black people and you look at their qualifications, they were overqualified than 

that of whites and still didn't qualify for a license in this state under this agency. That's racist.  

 

We can prove that. We're going to prove that in court. But the point I'm going to make here, 

when we say something at Black Excellence in Cannabis, we can back it up. I think it's 

important to understand that we, as a community, need to understand black and brown people. 

It's not that we're incompetent or we're less smart than white people. White people have control 

to keep control over us, and they don't just have these qualifications, they steal opportunities, 

like they stole the opportunity from the black and brown community, and now they want to usher 

in the social equity half assed -- excuse my language -- on to the black and brown community 

dismantling to make it more palatable to whites. Thank you.  

 

Mike Asai: Morning, Chair Postman, Board Member Garrett, and community. My name is Mike 

Asai, founder of Emerald City Collective and Vice President of Black Excellence in Cannabis. A 

side note, House Bill 2870 DIA was a minimum of five years, not one day, not two days. It was a 

minimum of five years. On May 8, 2024, many witnessed a blatant act of discrimination and 

disrespect. Chair Postman arbitrarily cut the time for public comments from 4 minutes to 3, 

specifically targeting black individuals who had signed up to oppose the proposed scoring 

rubric. After reflecting on this incident for the past two months, it is clear that Chair Postman's 

actions were not just disrespectful, unprofessional, they were racist. Is Chair Postman a racist? I 

cannot say that for sure. I don't know him personally, but the actions on May 8th were 

undeniably racially motivated.  

 

To make matters worse, after the Board meeting, Chair Postman aggressively -- and I want you 

to hear this, Ollie -- aggressively confronted me, invading my personal space, cursing, shouting, 

pointing his finger in my face. This behavior was not only uncalled for, but an outright attempt to 

intimidate and silence me and the black community. For over a decade, white participants in the 

cannabis industry have -- consistently been allowed the full 4 minutes to speak, yet when black 

voices rise to challenge the status quo, our time is cut, and we are treated with hostility. Since 

March 2022, but even further -- but since March 2022 after COVID, Black Excellence in 

Cannabis has empowered our community to speak truth to power and hold this Board 

accountable.  

 

Our efforts were even acknowledged by Board Member Garrett in early of 2023 on the Eddie 

Rye show. Furthermore, I must address the scandalous denial of Peter Manning's appeal. He 
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was wrongly scored by Ponder, who inconsistently applied their own criteria. This reeks of bias 

and corruption, and I have a question for this agency. What was the conflict of interest -- the 

conflict of interest by Rick Garza on the first choice of the third-party vendor? Because it was 

changed. Peter Manning's comments about Nicola Reid, Becky Smith, and Jeannie McShane 

are entirely valid. In 2016, Nicola Reid recognized Bella Soleil as a medical cannabis 

dispensary, yet in her 2024 declaration, she falsely claims Peter Manning never had a medical 

cannabis dispensary. Who's lying here? It's not Peter Manning. So I must ask, is the LCB now 

actively trying to silence the black community? Are you attempting to discourage us or scare us 

into submission? Your actions on May 8th speak volumes. We will not be silenced. We will not 

be discouraged, and we will not be scared. Our voices are powerful. Our concerns are 

legitimate. We demand the respect and consideration that has been denied to us. Thank you.  

 

 

5. ADJOURN 

 

Chair Postman adjourned the meeting at 11:22 am. 

Minutes approved this 9th day of September 2025 

____________________ 
Jim Vollendroff 
Board Chair  

 
________________________ 
Ollie Garrett 
Board Member 

________________________ 
Peter Holmes 
Board Member 

   
 

Minutes Prepared by: Deborah Soper, Administrative Assistant to the Board 

 

 

 

LCB Mission - Promote public safety, public health, and trust through fair administration, education, and enforcement of liquor, 

cannabis, tobacco, and vapor laws. 


