CODE REVISER USE ONLY

PROPOSED RULE MAKING



CR-102 (June 2024) (Implements RCW 34.05.320)

Do NOT use for expedited rule making

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FIL ED

DATE: January 15, 2025 TIME: 10:45 AM

WSR 25-03-081

Agency: Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board ☑ Original Notice Supplemental Notice to WSR Continuance of WSR Preproposal Statement of Inquiry was filed as WSR 24-06-026 ; or □ Expedited Rule Making--Proposed notice was filed as WSR ; or □ Proposal is exempt under RCW 34.05.310(4) or 34.05.330(1); or Proposal is exempt under RCW

Title of rule and other identifying information: (describe subject) WAC 314-55-015 General information about cannabis licenses.

The proposed rule language amends WAC 314-55-015 to allow persons under 21 years of age (minors) on the licensed premises of cannabis producers and processors provided certain conditions are met. The proposed rule language allows 2 groups of minors on the licensed premises: 1. Children and grandchildren of licensees who are under 16 years of age, and 2. Employees of licensed or registered contractors who are between the ages of 18 and 20 years. This rulemaking is the result of rulemaking petitions accepted by the Washington State Liguor and Cannabis (LCB) in 2022. One of these petitions sought to make permanent an LCB temporary COVID allowance put in place to accommodate licensees during school and childcare closures. Statute does not prohibit persons under 21 years of age on licensed premises of cannabis producers and processors, as it does under RCW 69.50.357 for licensed cannabis retailers.

Hearing location(s):			
Date:	Time:	Location: (be specific)	Comment:
February 26, 2025	10:00 A.M.	All public Board activity will be held in a "hybrid" environment. This means that the public will have options for in-person or virtual attendance. The Board room headquarters building in Olympia (1025 Union Avenue, Olympia, WA 98504) will be open for in-person attendance and the public may also login using a computer or a device, or call-in using a phone, to listen to the meeting through the Microsoft Teams application. The public may provide verbal comments during the specified public comment and rules hearing segments. TVW also regularly airs these meetings. Please note that although the Boardroom will be staffed during a meeting, Board members and agency participants may continue to appear virtually.	
Date of intended ado	ption: Marcl		the effective date)
Submit written comments to: Assistance for persons with disabilities:			

Name Denise Laflamme	Contact Anita Bingham, ADA Coordinator, Human Resources
Address PO Box 48030, Olympia WA 98504-3080	Phone 360-664-1739
Email rules@lcb.wa.gov	Fax 360-664-9689
Fax 360-704-5027	TTY 7-1-1 or 1-800-833-6388
Other	Email anita.bingham@lcb.wa.gov
Beginning (date and time) January 15, 2025, 12:00 PM	Other
By (date and time) February 26, 2025, 12:00 PM	By (date) February 19, 2025
Fax 360-704-5027 Other Beginning (date and time) January 15, 2025, 12:00 PM	Email anita.bingham@lcb.wa.gov Other

Purpose of the proposal and its anticipated effects, including any changes in existing rules: This rulemaking is in response to two petitions the Liquor and Cannabis Board (LCB) accepted in August 2022 requesting to amend WAC 314-55-015 to allow persons under 21 years of age on the licensed premises of cannabis producers and processors under certain conditions. One petition requested to make permanent a temporary COVID 19 allowance adopted by the LCB that allowed children and grandchildren of licensees under 16 years of age on the licensed premises. A second petition requested to allow employees under 21 years of age working for contractors who are on the premises conducting trade-related work such as electrical, plumbing, and construction.

Under state statute, minors under 21 years of age are not explicitly prohibited from being on the premises of licensed cannabis producers and processors. RCW 69.50.357 prohibits persons under the age of 21 on licensed cannabis retailers only, except for qualifying patients. WAC 314-55-015 requires that applicants, licensees, and employees working in licensed cannabis establishments be at least 21 years of age, except as provided in RCW 69.50.357. As minors are not explicitly excluded from licensed premises of producers and processors in state statute, the petitions requested that WAC 314-55-015 be amended to allow two groups of persons under 21 years of age on the premises: children and grandchildren of licensees who are under 16 years of age, and employees of contractors conducting trade-related work while on the premises.

Rule changes incorporate conditions that were included as part of the temporary COVID allowance including that children and grandchildren of licensees be under 16 years of age and that they must not possess any products associated with the production, processing, or sales of cannabis.

For children and grandchildren of licensees, additional conditions include that they do not enter or remain in areas where cannabis is present, they are under direct supervision of the licensee while on the premises, and licensee must notify the enforcement and education division of the LCB prior to child(ren) being present including times when child(ren) may be present. Language requiring supervision of children and grandchildren by licensees is similar to language that exists in RCW 66.24.145 related to age restrictions for craft distilleries.

For employees of contractors, conditions include that the person is at least 18 years of age, they are employed by a licensed plumbing contractors under chapter 18.106 RCW, a licensed electrical contractor under chapter 19.28 RCW, or a contractor registered with the Washington state Department of Labor & Industries as required under chapters 18.27 RCW and 296-200A WAC, they are only on premises during the course of their official employment, they must wear an identification badge as required under WAC 314-55-083, and is accompanied by a supervisor at all times who is 1) employed by the same licensed or registered contractor and 2) who is at least 21 years of age. Licensees must record in their visitor log whether a contractor employee is under 21 years of age and the name of the contractor business.

Reasons supporting proposal: The reasons supporting these proposed rules, in addition to that described above, are identified in the table below, describing the proposed changes to WAC 314-55-015.

Section Current Rule Language		Proposed New Language	Rule Necessity	
(2)	No one under 21 years of age may enter or remain on a cannabis	Persons, as defined in RCW 69.50.101, who are under 21 years of age must not:	Replacing "may" with "must not" to clarify. Replacing "no one" with existing definition of person for consistency.	
	licensed premises except as provided in RCW <u>69.50.357</u> .	 (a) Enter or remain on the licensed premises of a cannabis licensee except as provided in RCW 69.50.357 or as provided in subsections (3) and (4) of this section. 	This is added to indicate that two new subsections with exceptions are being added.	
	N/A	(b) Possess any products associated with the production, processing, or sales of cannabis.	Adds language consistent with temporary COVID allowance.	
		N/A (b) Violations of this subsection are subject to the same penalties established for allowing persons under 21 years of age to frequent a retail licensed premises under WAC 314-55-525.		This is added to indicate what penalties apply for violations.

r			
(3)	New: Conditions and requirements for allowing children and grandchildren of licensees on licensed premises.	Persons under the age of 16 who are children and grandchildren of licensees may enter or remain on the licensed premises of a cannabis producer, as provided in this subsection.	This is the same language included in the temporary COVID allowance.
		(a) The person does not enter or remain in areas where cannabis is present including, but not limited to, those areas where cannabis is grown, dried, cured, trimmed, processed in any manner, stored, or being prepared for shipment.	This is added to define restricted areas for children.
		(a) Violations of this subsection are subject to the same penalties established for failure to maintain required surveillance system under WAC 314-55-522.	This is added to indicate what penalties apply for violations.
		(b) The person is under the direct supervision of the licensee while on the premises.	This language is consistent with language in RCW 66.24.145 for children allowed on craft distilleries.
		(c) Prior to allowing any child or grandchild of the licensee to enter or remain on the licensed premises, the licensee must notify the enforcement and education division of the LCB in writing that children may be on their licensed premises. Written notification to the enforcement and education division must indicate the day(s) of the week, times of the day, and age of the child(ren) that may be present.	This is added to describe new LCB notification requirements to indicate when children may be present.
		(c) Violations of this subsection are subject to the same penalties established for an operating/floor plan violation under WAC 314-55-523.	This is added to indicate what penalties apply for violations.
(4)	New: Conditions and requirements for employees of contractors working on licensed premises.	A licensed producer or processor may allow a person under 21 years of age to enter or remain on the licensed premises under the conditions outlined in this subsection.	This is added to indicate applicable age for this subsection.
		(a) The person under 21 years of age is:	This is added to indicate application of conditions to persons under 21.
		(i) At least 18 years of age.	Consistent with ages included in WAC 314-11-040 for employees under 21 years of age working on licensed liquor premises.
		(ii) Employed by a licensed plumbing contractor under chapter 18.106 RCW, or licensed electrical contractor under chapter 19.28 RCW, or a contractor registered with the Washington state department of labor and industries as required under chapters 18.27 RCW and 296-200A WAC.	These requirements were added to ensure employees worked for bona fide contractor businesses.
		(iii) On the licensed premises only during the course of their official employment providing contracted services to the licensee and does not remain on the premises any longer than is necessary to perform duties associated with their employment.	Consistent with WAC 314-11- 040 for employees under 21 years of age working on licensed liquor premises.
		(iv) Accompanied by a supervisor at all times who is employed by the same licensed or registered contractor and who is at least 21 years of age.	This was added per supervision recommendations provided by WA Dept. of Labor and Industries.
		(b) In addition to requirements under WAC 314- 55-083, including wearing an identification badge while on the premises, licensees must record the following information about employees of contractors in the visitor log:	This is being added to clarify the requirement for visitor information.

	laca.					
(ii) The name of contractor business for whom This being added to employee is engaged in work while on the staff in identifying co	contractors on premises. This being added to aid LCB staff in identifying contractor					
licensed premises. businesses on prem						
(5) – (11) WAC 314-55-015(3) – (9) have been renumbered as WAC 314-55-015(5) – (11)						
(12)N/ANothing in this section conflicts with RCW 9.41.300 as the entire premises remain classified as off-limits to persons under 21 years of age from the general public.Clarifies that the ent premises remain off- weapons pursuant to 9.41.300	-limits to					
Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 69.50.342 and RCW 69.50.345						
Statute being implemented: None)						
Is rule necessary because of a:						
	⊠ No					
	⊠ No					
	🛛 No					
If yes, CITATION:						
Agency comments or recommendations, if any, as to statutory language, implementation, enforcement, and matters: None	d fiscal					
Name of proponent: (person or organization) Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board Type of proponent: Private. Public. Governmental.						
Name of agency personnel responsible for:						
Name Office Location Phone						
Drafting Denise Laflamme, Rules 1025 Union Avenue, Olympia WA 98504 360-819-04	52					
Implementation Rebecca Smith, Director of Licensing 360-664-17	53					
Enforcement Paul Magerl, Interim Chief of Enforcement and Education 1025 Union Avenue, Olympia WA 98504 360-664-16	17					
	🛛 No					
If yes, insert statement here:						
The public may obtain a copy of the school district fiscal impact statement by contacting: Name						
Address						
Phone						
Fax						
TTY						
Email						
Other						
Is a cost-benefit analysis required under <u>RCW 34.05.328</u> ?						
□ Yes: A preliminary cost-benefit analysis may be obtained by contacting:						
Name						
Address						
Phone						
Fax						
TTY						
Email						
Other						
No: Please explain: The proposed amended rules do not qualify as a type of rule requiring a cost-benefit analysis under RCW 34.05.328(5). The LCB is not a listed agency under RCW 34.05.328(5)(a)(i), so the cost-benefit analysis						
requirements in RCW 34.05.328 are not applicable to the proposed rules unless voluntarily applied or made applicable by the joint administrative rules review committee under RCW 34.05.328(5)(a)(ii).						

	y Fairness Act and Small Business Econo Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation a		Statement ce (ORIA) provides support in completing this part.
(1) Identifi	cation of exemptions:		
chapter 19	.85 RCW). For additional information on exer		requirements of the Regulatory Fairness Act (see sult the exemption guide published by ORIA. Please
	pox for any applicable exemption(s):		
			<u>CW 19.85.061</u> because this rule making is being
			lations. Please cite the specific federal statute or describe the consequences to the state if the rule is not
adopted.		ny with, and t	
Citation and	d description:		
	e proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exe <u>RCW 34.05.313</u> before filing the notice of thi		e the agency has completed the pilot rule process ule.
-	-		ne provisions of RCW 15.65.570(2) because it was
adopted by	a referendum.	·	
This rul	e proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exe	empt under F	CW 19.85.025(3). Check all that apply:
	<u>RCW 34.05.310</u> (4)(b)		<u>RCW 34.05.310</u> (4)(e)
	(Internal government operations)		(Dictated by statute)
	<u>RCW 34.05.310</u> (4)(c)		<u>RCW 34.05.310</u> (4)(f)
	(Incorporation by reference)		(Set or adjust fees)
	<u>RCW 34.05.310</u> (4)(d)		<u>RCW 34.05.310</u> (4)(g)
	(Correct or clarify language)		((i) Relating to agency hearings; or (ii) process
			requirements for applying to an agency for a license or permit)
□ This rul	e proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exe	empt under F	<u>CW 19.85.025(</u> 4). (Does not affect small businesses).
	e proposal, or portions of the proposal, is exe	-	
	n of how the above exemption(s) applies to the		
	of accountion of Chaole and		
	of exemptions: Check one.	Exemptions i	dentified above apply to all portions of the rule proposal.
		•	exemptions identified above apply to portions of the rule
	out less than the entire rule proposal. Provide	,	
☑ The rule	e proposal: Is not exempt. (Complete section	3.) No exem	ptions were identified above.
(3) Small b	ousiness economic impact statement: Con	nplete this se	ection if any portion is not exempt.
		it impose mo	re-than-minor costs (as defined by RCW 19.85.020(2))
on busines	Ses?		
🖾 No			I how the agency determined the proposed rule did not
			e a cost to small businesses if they became out of
expecte	-	23, of vvac	314-55-525. Otherwise, no other costs to business are
CAPCOLO			
			Census North American Industry Classification System
			lishments primarily engaged in growing food crops
	ushrooms) under glass or protective cover." T w.census.gov/naics/?input=cannabis&vear=2		= <u>111419</u> , identifies cannabis grown under cover as an
	f a business that uses this code.		
		<i>.</i>	
			US Census North American Industry Classification es establishments primarily engaged in one of the
			les and/or melons; fruits and/or tree nuts; greenhouse,
			y; sugar beets; or peanuts); (2) growing a combination of
			nation of fruit(s) and tree nut(s)) with no one crop or
	rops accounting for one-half of the establishr tea or maple sap." The US Census NAICS co		Itural production (i.e., value of crops for market); or (3)
			= <u>111998</u> identifies cannabis grown in an open field as an
	f a business that uses this code.		

Using NAICS code 424590 for cannabis merchant wholesalers, the US Census NAICS describes this code for "This industry comprises establishments primarily engaged in the merchant wholesale distribution of farm products (except grain and field beans, livestock, raw milk, live poultry, and fresh fruits and vegetables)." The US Census NAICS code description at https://www.census.gov/naics/?input=cannabis&year=2022&details=424590 identifies cannabis merchant wholesalers, as an example of a business that uses this code.

LCB estimates there would be no cost associated with implementing this rule except if a business is found to be out of compliance. Under <u>RCW 34.05.110(4)(a)</u>, an agency is not required to waive a fine or penalty to correct a violation if the violation presents a direct danger to the public health. Because violations under WAC 314-55-522 pertain to potential threats to public health, we applied an estimated compliance cost of \$1250 for a first violation when analyzing whether the rules would have a disproportionate impact on small businesses as defined in RCW 19.85.020(3).

The data below are provided by reference to the minor-cost threshold calculator provided by the Office of Regulatory Innovation & Assistance available at

https://www.oria.wa.gov/Portals/_oria/VersionedDocuments/RFA/Regulatory_Fairness_Act/Minor-Cost-Threshold-Calculator.xlsx

2022 Industry NAICS Code	Estimated Cost of Compliance	Industry Description	NAICS Code Title	Minor Cost Estimate	1% of Avg Annual Payroll (Threshold)	0.3% of Avg Annual Gross Business Income (Threshold)
111419	\$1250.00	Cannabis, grown under cover	Other Food Crops Grown Under Cover	\$3,259.51	\$3,259.51 2021 Dataset pulled from ESD	\$3,195.50 2021 Dataset pulled from DOR
111998	\$1250.00	Cannabis, grown in an open field	All Other Miscellaneous Crop Farming	\$11,775.64	\$11,775.64 2021 Dataset pulled from ESD	\$2,882.31 2021 Dataset pulled from DOR
424590	\$1250.00	Cannabis merchant wholesalers	Other Farm Product Raw Material Merchant Wholesalers	\$8,809.55	\$3,948.77 2021 Dataset pulled from ESD	\$8,809.55 2021 Dataset pulled from DOR

As the table demonstrates, the estimated cost of compliance does not exceed the minor cost thresholds for any of the potential NAICS codes applicable to cannabis licensees. Therefore, implementation of this amended rule is not anticipated to result in more than minor costs on businesses as defined in RCW 19.85.020(2).

DOR - Washington State Department of Revenue.

ESD – Employment Security Department Washington State

DOR data available at

https://apps.dor.wa.gov/ResearchStats/Content/GrossBusinessIncome/Results.aspx?Year=2023Q4,2023Q3,2023Q2,202 3Q1,&Code1=450000&Code2=460000&Sumby=n6&SicNaics=2&Format=HTML

□ Yes Calculations show the rule proposal likely imposes more-than-minor cost to businesses and a small business economic impact statement is required. Insert the required small business economic impact statement here:

The public may obtain a copy of the small business economic impact statement or the detailed cost calculations by contacting:

Name Denise Laflamme, Policy and Rules Coordinator Address PO Box 43080, Olympia WA 98504-3080 Phone 360-819-0452-Fax 360-704-5027 TTY 7-1-1 or 1-800-833-6388 Email rules@lcb.wa.gov Other

Date: January 15, 2025

Name: Jim Vollendroff

Title: Board Chair

/

Signature:

AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 22-21-058, filed 10/12/22, effective 11/12/22)

WAC 314-55-015 General information about cannabis licenses. (1) To be issued and maintain a license to produce, process, or sell cannabis at retail, a person or entity applying for a cannabis license must meet all of the qualifications described in this chapter.

(2) All applicants, licensees, and employees working in each licensed establishment must be at least 21 years of age. ((No one)) <u>Per-</u> <u>sons, as defined in RCW 69.50.101, who are</u> under 21 years of age ((may)) <u>must not:</u>

(a) Enter or remain on ((a cannabis)) the licensed premises of a cannabis licensee except as provided in RCW 69.50.357 or as provided in subsections (3) and (4) of this section.

(b) Possess any products associated with the production, processing, or sales of cannabis. Violations of this subsection are subject to the same penalties established for allowing persons under 21 years of age to frequent a retail licensed premises under WAC 314-55-525.

(3) Persons under the age of 16 who are children and grandchildren of licensees may enter or remain on the licensed premises of a cannabis producer, as provided in this subsection.

(a) The person does not enter or remain in areas where cannabis is present including, but not limited to, those areas where cannabis is grown, dried, cured, trimmed, processed in any manner, stored, or being prepared for shipment. Violations of this subsection are subject to the same penalties established for failure to maintain required surveillance system under WAC 314-55-522.

(b) The person is under the direct supervision of the licensee while on the premises.

(c) Prior to allowing any child or grandchild of the licensee to enter or remain on the licensed premises, the licensee must notify the enforcement and education division of the LCB in writing that children may be on their licensed premises. Written notification to the enforcement and education division must indicate the day(s) of the week, times of the day, and age of the child(ren) that may be present. Violations of this subsection are subject to the same penalties established for an operating/floor plan violation under WAC 314-55-523.

(4) A licensed producer or processor may allow a person under 21 years of age to enter or remain on the licensed premises under the conditions outlined in this subsection.

(a) The person under 21 years of age is:

(i) At least 18 years of age.

(ii) Employed by a licensed plumbing contractor under chapter 18.106 RCW, or licensed electrical contractor under chapter 19.28 RCW, or a contractor registered with the Washington state department of labor and industries as required under chapters 18.27 RCW and 296-200A WAC.

(iii) On the licensed premises only during the course of their official employment providing contracted services to the licensee and does not remain on the premises any longer than is necessary to perform duties associated with their employment.

(iv) Accompanied by a supervisor at all times who is employed by the same licensed or registered contractor and who is at least 21 years of age.

(b) In addition to requirements under WAC 314-55-083, including wearing an identification badge while on the premises, licensees must

record the following information about employees of contractors in the visitor log:

(i) If the employee is under 21 years of age; and

(ii) The name of contractor business for whom employee is engaged in work while on the licensed premises.

(((3))) (5) Mandatory signs must be conspicuously posted at all cannabis licensed premises consistent with the requirements in WAC 314-55-086.

(((4))) (6) The privileges of a board issued cannabis license may be used only after the board issues official written approval.

(((5))) <u>(7)</u> The board will not approve an application for a cannabis license under any of the following circumstances:

(a) The proposed cannabis location would limit law enforcement access without notice or cause, including a personal residence;

(b) The proposed cannabis business would be located on federal lands;

(c) The proposed cannabis business would be located within the exterior boundaries of the reservation of a federally recognized tribe without the express written consent of the tribe consistent with WAC 314-55-020(4).

(d) The application for a cannabis retail license is located within another business unless that other business is a research license as described in WAC 314-55-073. More than one license may be located in the same building if each licensee has their own area separated by full walls with their own entrance, or if the same business entity holds a producer license and a processor license at the same location under a single license number. Product may not be commingled.

(((6))) <u>(8)</u> The board may impose special conditions to an approval for a cannabis license. Special conditions include, but are not limited to, involvement of any former licensee in the operations of the licensed business, their former employees, or any person not qualifying for a cannabis license.

(((7))) <u>(9)</u> All cannabis licensees must conspicuously post and keep posted its license, or licenses, and any additional correspondence issued by the board describing special conditions.

(((8))) <u>(10)</u> A cannabis licensee must use sanitary practices in the production, processing, storage, and sale of all cannabis products.

(((9))) (11) Cannabis licensees may not allow the consumption of cannabis or cannabis-infused products on or within the licensed premises.

(12) Nothing in this section conflicts with RCW 9.41.300 as the entire premises remain classified as off-limits to persons under 21 years of age from the general public.