Washington State
Liquor Control Board

WASHINGTON STATE LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD
Board Meeting Minutes — October 3, 2012

Board Chair Sharon Foster called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor Control Board (WSLCB)
to order at 10:02 a.m., on Wednesday, October 3, 2012 in the Boardroom at 3000 Pacific Avenue S.E.,

Olympia, Washington. Board Member Ruthann Kurose participated via telephone. Board Member Chrls Marr
was present.

Approval of Minutes
Minutes from the September 12, 2012 meeting were approved.

Board Approval to File CR 102 on Brief Adjudicative Proceedings

Agency Rules Coordinator Karen McCall presented the Board with a CR 102 on Brief Adjudicative Proceedings
(BAP). Per the Administrative Procedures Act (RCW 34.05.482), agencies have the ability to use an
abbreviated administrative hearing process (BAP) where the issues or interests involved do not warrant use of
full adjudicative procedure. With approval, this rulemaking will identify specific instances where the Liquor
Control Board may use BAP in lieu of the more formal hearing process. I\/Iember Kurose made a motion to
approve the CR 102. Member Marr seconded. All were in favor.

Public Hearing on $150 Million Assessment for Spirits Distributor Licensees

The meeting was opened up to public testimony regarding the $150 million assessment for spirits dlstnbutor
licensees. Initiative 1183 directs all persons holding spirits distributor licenses on or before March 31, 2013, to
pay to the Board $150 million (or more} in spirits distributor license fees by May 31, 2013. The license fees are
derived from the ten percent of the total revenue for all the licensee’s sales of spirits made during the first
year. New WAC section 314-23-025 was created to clarify RCW 66.24.055 in regards to how the $150 million
assessment will be calculated and collected. Two stakeholders testified during the hearing:

¢ lim Halstrom, Southern Wine and Spirits: Written testimony provided, please see attached.

¢ Ron Main, Washington Beer and Wine Distributors Association (WBWDA): Ron, who noted that he was
testifying on behalf of John Guadnola, reiterated the points made in WBWDA’s written testimony submitted
to the Board on September 18, 2012 (please see attached).

New Business
There was no new business.

Old Business:
There was no old business.

The Board Meetmg was adjourned at 10:26 a.m.
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Sharon Foster, Ruthann Kurose, Chris Marr,
Board Chair Board Member Board Member
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Washington State
4 Liquor Control Board

Date: October 3, 2012

To: Sharon Foster, Board Chair
Ruthann Kurose, Board Member
Chris Marr, Board Member

From: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Copy: Pat Kohler, Administrative Director
Rick Garza, Deputy Administrator
Justin Nordhorn, Enforcement and Education Director
Alan Rathbun, Licensing and Reguiation Director

Subject: Approval for filing proposed rules (CR 102) for Brief Adjudicative
: Proceeding (BAP)

The Administrative Procedures Act (RCW 34.05.482) gives agencies the ability to utilize
an abbreviated administrative hearing process Brief Adjudicative Proceeding (BAP)
where the issues or interests involved do not warrant use of full adjudicative procedure.
Rules are needed to create a BAP for the Liquor Control Board.

Process

The Rules Coordinator requests approval to file proposed rules (CR 102) for the rule
making described above. An issue paper on this rule was presented at the Board
meeting on October 3, 2012, and is attached to this order.

If approved for filing, the tentative timeline for the rule making process is outlined below:

October 3, 2012 Board is asked to approve filing the proposed rules (CR
102 filing)
October 17, 2012 Code Reviser publishes notice, LCB sends notice to

| rules distribution list

November 7, 2012 Public hearing held

November 7, 2012 End of written comment period

November 14, 2012 Board is asked to adopf rules

November 14, 2012 Agency sends notice to those who commented both at
the public hearing and in writing.

November 14, 2012 Agency files adopted rules with the Code Reviser (CR
103)

December 15, 2012 Rules are effective (31 days after filing)

CR 102 BAP : 1 10/3/12





o .Approve

‘/ Approve

v Approve

Attachment: Issue Paper

CR 102 BAP

Disapprove
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Chifis Marr, Board Member
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper

Rulemaking for a Brlef Adjudicative Proceeding (BAP)
Date: October 3, 2012
Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator

Description of the Issue:
The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the

proposed permanent rules (CR 102) for a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding
(BAP).

Why is rulemaking necessary?

The quuor Control Board, like other state agencies, is requwed to give “due
process” to any action which might be aggrieved by a licensee or applicant. The
Administrative Procedures Act (RCW 34.05.482) gives agencies the ability to
utilize an abbreviated administrative hearing process (Brief Adjudicative
Proceeding BAP) where the issues or interests involved do not warrant use of full
adjudicative procedure. This process will not normally utilize an administrative
faw judge and often is performed by simply submitting a written appeal rather
than oral testimony.

ESSB 5921 passed in the 2011 legislative session. This bill directs the LCB to
suspend the license of a tavern, nightclub, or beer/wine specialty shop licensee if
DSHS notifies the board that the licensee has an ATM machine that allows the
use of EBT cards.

HB 2758 passed in the 2012 legislative session. This bill allows DOR to direct
the LCB to suspend and refuse to renew a license if the taxpayer is more than 30
days delinquent in reporting or remitting taxes.

This rulemaking will identify these specific instances and others where the Liquor
Control Board may use BAP in lieu of the more formal hearing process.

What changes are being proposed?

New Section. WAC 314-42-110 Brief Adjudicative Proceedings. This
rule explains a brief adjudicatory proceeding and under what circumstances the
board will conduct a brief adjudicatory proceeding if requested.

New Section. WAC 314-42-115 Preliminary record in brief adjudicative
proceedings. Details what documents are required for the preliminary record in
a brief adjudicatory proceeding.

New Section. WAC 314-42-120 Conduct of brief adjudicative
proceedings. Explains how a brief adjudicatory proceeding will be conducted

by the board.
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New Section. WAC 314-42-125 Brief adjudicative proceedings
conversion to formal adjudicative proceedings. Details the process to
convert a brief adjudicative proceeding to a formal adjudicative proceeding.

New Section. WAC 314-42-130 Appeal rights on brief adjudicatory
proceeding initial order. Explains the process to request an appeal of the
brief adjudicative proceeding order.

Attachment: Proposed Rules

CR 102 — BAP 10/3/12






NEW SECTTION

WAC 314-42-110 Brief adjudicative proceedings. The
Administrative Procedure Act provides for brief adjudicative
proceedings in RCW 34.05.482 through 34.05.4%4. The board will
conduct brief  adjudicative proceedings where it does not. violate
any provision of law and where protection of the public interest
does not require the board to give notice and an opportunity to
participate to persons other than the parties. If an adjudicative
proceeding is requested, a brief adjudicative proceeding will be
conducted where the matter involves one or more of the following:

(1) Liquor license suspensions due to nonpayment of spirits
taxes per RCW 66.24.010;

(2) Licuor license denials per WAC 314-07-065(2);

(3) Liguor license denials per WAC 314-07-040;

(4) Special occasion license application denials per WAC 314-
07-040;

{5} Special occasion license application denials per WAC 314-
07-065(7) ;-

{(6) MAST provider or trainer denials for noncompliance with a
support order in accordance with RCW 66.20.085;

{7y MAST provider denials or revocations per WAC 314-17-070;

(8) Liquor license suspensions due to nonpayment of beer or
wine taxes per WAC 314-19-015; )

{(9) One-time event denials for private clubs per WAC 314-40-
080;

(10} Banquet permit denials per WAC 314-18-030;

(11} The restrictions recommended by the local authority on a
nightclub license are denied per WAC 314-02-039 (a local authority
may request a BAP);

(12} The restrictions recommended by a local authority are
approved per WAC 314-02-039 (an applicant for a nightclub license
may redquest a BAP); ’

(13) Liquor license suspensions due Lo noncompliance with a
support order per RCW 66.24.010;

{14) Liquor license suspensions due to noncompliance with RCW
74.08.580(2), electronic benefits cards, per RCW 66.24.013;

{15} License suspension due to nonpayment of spirits liquor
license fees per RCW 66.24.630; ‘

{16) License suspension due to nonpayment of spirits
distributor license fees per RCW 66.24.055; and

{17) Tobaccc license denials per WAC 314-33-005.
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-42-115 Preliminary record in brief adjudicative
proceedings. (1) The preliminary record with respect to a ligquor
license suspension due to nonpayment of spirits taxes in RCW
£6.24.010 shall consist of: '

{a} All correspondence from department of revenue regquesting
missing taxes or reports; and

{b} Request from department of revenue to the liquor control
board requesting suspension of the liquor license.

{2} The preliminary record with respect to a ligquor license
intent to deny under WAC 314-07-065(2) where the applicant has
failed to submit information or documentation shall consist of:

{a) All correspondence between the applicant and the board
pertaining to requests for information or documentation; and

(b) A copy of the application report prepared by licensing
division staff.

(3} The preliminary record with respect to a liquor license
application intent to deny where the applicant failed to meet the
criminal history standards outlined in WAC 314-07-040 shall consist
of:

(a) A copy of the application report prepared by licensing
division staff;

_ (b) The personal/criminal history statement(s) submitted by
the applicant;

(c) Any interoffice correspondence reporting criminal history
of applicant(s}; and

(d) Copies of any correspondence submitied by the applicant
explaining or rebutting the criminal histeory findings.

{4) The preliminary record with respect to a special occasion
liquor license application (chapter 314-05 WAC) intent to deny
where the applicant failed to meet the criminal history standards
outlined in WAC 314-07-040 shall consist of:

(a) A copy of the application report prepared by licensing
division staff;

(b) The personal/criminal history statement(s) submitted by
the applicant(s);

(¢) Any interoffice correspondence reporting criminal history
of applicant(s); and

(d) Copies of any correspondence submitted by the appllcant
explaining or rebutting the criminal histeory findings.

(5) The preliminary record with respect to a special occasion
liquor license application (chapter 314-05 WAC) intent to deny
where the application was objected to by the local authority
wherein the event is scheduled (WAC 314-07-065(7)) shall consist
of: )
(a) A copy of the special occasion license application and
supporting materials;

(b) A copy of the notice sent to the local authority by
licensing division staff;

(c) A copy of the objection received from the local authority;
and
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(d} A copy of any correspondence from the applicant rebutting
the objection from the local authority.

(6} The preliminary record with respect to suspension of
mandatory alcohol server, provider or trainer, for noncompliance
with a support order in accordance with RCW 66.20.085 shall consist
of: .

{a) A copy of the license suspension certification from the
department of social and health services; and

(b} A copy of all documents received from or on behalf of the
permit holder rebutting the identification of the server, provider,
or trainer.

(7) The preliminary record with respect to suspension of
mandatory alcohol server, provider or trainer, for failing to meet
the criminal history standards outlined in WAC 314-07-070(1) shall
consist of:

_ (a) A copy of the perscnal/criminal history statement
submitted by the applicant;

(b) Any interoffice correspondence reporting criminal history
of applicant; and

(c} Copies of any correspondence submitted by the applicant,
permit holder, provider or trainer explaining or rebutting Lhe
criminal history findings.

(8) The preliminary record with respect to liquor license
suspensions due to nonpayment of beer or wine taxes per WAC 314-19-
015 shall consist of: . )

{a) Copies of any correspondence requesting missing taxes,
fees, or penalties when identified after processing reporting form
monthly; and

{b) Copies of backup documentation including envelopes showing
late filing, corrections on repeorting form, and audit findings.

{92} The preliminary record with respect to one-time event
denials for private clubs in WAC 314-40-080 shall consist of:

{(a) A copy of the written reguest for a one-time event;.

(b} A copy of the written denial including the reason(s) for
the denial; and

{(c) Copies of all correspondence.

(10) The preliminary record with respect to banquet permit
denials in WAC 314-18-030 shall consist of:

(a) The application for a bangquet permit;

(b} A copy of the written denial including the reason(s) for
denial; and ’

{c) All correspondence.

(11) The preliminary record with respect to restrictions
requested on a nightclub license by a local authority under the
provisions in WAC 314-02-039 shall consist of:

(a) A copy of the application report prepared by licensing
division staff and the threshold decision by the licensing director
or his/her designee;

(b} A copy of all correspondence from the local authority
requesting restrictions on the nightclub premises; and

~ (c) Copies of any correspondence submitted by the nightclub
applicant or license holder rebutting the request for restrictions.

{12) The preliminary record with respect to licensing's denial
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of a request for restrictions on a nightclub license under the
provisions of WAC 314-02-039 shall consist of:

(a) A copy of the application report prepared by licensing
division staff and the threshold decision by the licensing director
or his/her designee;

(b) A copy of all correspondence from the local authority
requesting restrictions on the nightclub premises; and

(c) Copies of any correspondence submitted by the nightclub
applicant or license holder rebutting the request for restrictions.

(13) The preliminary record with respect to a liquor license
suspension due to noncompliance with a support order from the
department of social and health services under RCW 66.24.010 shall
consist of:

{a) The written request from department of social and health
services to suspend the liquor license;

(b) A copy of the written liguor control board suspension
order; and :

{c} Copies of all correspondence.

(14) The preliminary record with respect to a liguor license
suspension due to noncompliance with RCW 74.08.580, electronic
benefits cards, per RCW 66.24.013 shall consist of:

{a} The written request from department of social and health
services to suspend the liquor license;

(b} The complete investigation from department of social and
health services to support the suspension;

{(c) A copy of the written liquor control board suspension
order; and

{d} Copies of all correspondence.

{15} The preliminary records with respect to liquor license
suspension due to nonpayment of spirits liquor license fees per RCW
66.24.630 shall consist of:

(a) All correspondence relating to discrepancies in fees
and/or penalties when identified after processing reporting forms;
and

(b} All backup documentation including envelopes showing late
filing, corrections on reporting forms, and audit findings.

(16) The preliminary records with respect to liquor license
suspensions due to nonpayment of spirits distributor license fees
per RCW 66.24.055 shall consist of:

(a) All correspondence requesting missing fees and/or
penalties when identified after processing reporting forms; and

(b) All backup documentation including envelopes showing late
filing, corrections on reporting forms, and audit findings.

(17) The preliminary record with respect to tobacco license
denials shall consist of:

{(a) The license application from business license services;

(b) The personal/criminal history statement submitted by the
applicant;

(¢) The Jjudicial information system criminal history and
division recommendation;

(d) The letter of denial frem the liquor control board;

(e) The notice of intent to deny statement to the applicant;
and
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{f} All correspondence.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-42-120 Conduct of brief adjudicative proceedings.
(1) Brief adjudicative proceedings shall be conducted by a
presiding officer for brief adjudicative proceedings designated by
the board.. The presiding officer for Ybrief adjudicative
proceedings shall have agency expertise in the subject matter but
shall not have personally participated in the decision to issue the
initiating document.

(2) The parties-or their representatives may present written
documentation. The presiding c¢fficer for brief adjudicative
proceedings shall designate the date by which written documents
must be submitted by the parties.

(3} The presiding ocfficer for brief adjudicative proceedings
may, in his or her discretion, entertain oral argument from the
parties or. their representatives.

(4) No witnesses may appear to testify.

(5} In addition to the record, the presiding officer for brief
adjudicative proceedings may employ agency expertise as a bhasis for
decision.

{6) The presiding officer for brief adjudicative proceedings
shall not issue an cral order. Within ten business days of the
final date for submission of materials or oral argument, if any,
the presiding officer for brlef adjudicative proceedings shall
enter an initial order.

NEW SECTION

WAC 314-42-125 Brief adjudicative proceedings conversion to
formal adjudicative proceedings. (1) At least five days before the
scheduled issuance of either an initial or a final order, any
party, including the agency, may file a written objection to
resolution of a matter by a brief adjudicative proceeding and may
request that it be converted to a formal adjudicative proceeding.
Upecon receiving a timely written objection, the presiding officer oxr
reviewing officer shall determine whether the matter should be
converted. Regardless of whether any party files a timely
objection, the presiding officer or reviewing officer may convert
any brief adjudicative proceeding to a formal adjudicative
proceeding whenever it appears that a brief adjudicative proceeding
is insufficient to determine the issues pending before the board.

(2} In determining whether to convert a proceeding, the
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presiding officer may consider the following factors:

{(a) Whether witness testimony will aid the presiding or
reviewing officer in resolving contested issues of fact;

(b) Whether the legal or factual issues are sufficiently
complex to warrant a formal adjudicative proceeding, including
whether there are multiple issues of fact or law; ’

(c) Whether a brief adjudicative proceeding will establish an
adequate record for further agency or judicial review;

(d) Whether the legal issues involved in the proceeding
present questions of legal significance or are being raised for the
first time before the agency;

(e) Whether conversion of the proceeding will cause
unnecessary delay in resolving the issues; and

(f) Any other factors that the presiding or reviewing officer
deems relevant in reaching a determination.

NEW SECTTON

WAC 314-42-130 Appeal rights on brief adjudicatory proceeding
initial order. (1) If you are dissatisfied with the order in the
brief adjudicative proceeding, you may appeal to the reviewing
officer, which shall be the board chair, or designee. This appeal
process is called an administrative review. Your appeal must be
received by the board, in writing, within twenty-one days after the
brief adjudicative proceedings order is posted in the U.S5. mail.

(2) The reviewing officer considers your appeal and either
upholds or overturns the brief adjudicative proceeding order. The
reviewing officer's decision, also called an order, is the final
agency decision. The order will be provided to you at the last
address you furnished to the board.

(3) The order on review must be in writing, must include a
brief statement of the reasons for the decision, and mnust be
entered within twenty days after the date of the initial order or
of the request for review, whichever is later,. The order shall
include a description of any further available administrative
review or, if ncone is available, a notice that judicial review may
be available.

(4) A request for administrative review is deemed to have been
denied if the agency does not make a disposition of the matter
within twenty days after the request is submitted.
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Washington State Liquor Control Board
Issue Paper

Rulemaking on $150 million assessment

Date: August 15, 2012

Presented by:  Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator
Description of the Issue | |

The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the
proposed permanent rules (CR 102) to clarify the $150 million assessment to be

paid by persons holding a spirits distributor license created in Initiative 1183
(RCW 66.24.055).

Why is rule making necessary?

By March 31, 2013, Initiative 1183 directs all persons holding spirits distributor
licenses on or before March 31, 2013, to pay to the board $150 mitlion (or more)
in spirits distributor license fees. The license fees are derived from the ten
percent of the total revenue for all the licensee’s sales of spirits made during the
first year. If the collective payment totals less than $150 million, the board must
collect by May 31, 2013 as additional license fees the difference between $150
million and the actual receipts. Rules are needed to develop this process.

What changes are being proposed?

New Section. WAC 314-23-025 Collection of shortfall of spirits
distributor license fees from spirits distributor license holders. Created
language to clarify RCW 66.24.055 explaining how the $150 million assessment
will be calculated and collected.

Attachment: Proposed Rule
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NEW SECTION

WAC 314-23-025 Collection of shortfall of spirits distributor
license fees from spirits distributor license holders. (1} RCW
66.24.055 requires that all persons holding a spirits distributor
license on or before March 31, 2013, must have collectively paid a
total of one hundred fifty million dollars in spirits distributor
license fees by March 31, 2013. If the spirits distributor license
fees collected by March 31, 2013, total less than one hundred fifty
million dollars, the board is required to assess those persons
holding a spirits distributor license on or before March 31, 2013,
in order to collect a total of one hundred fifty million dollars.
The board will calculate the additional amount owed by each spirits
distributor licensee as follows:

(a) The amount of additional fees owed will be calculated
using the total spirits sales made by each spirits distributor
licensee during calendar year -2012. If a spirits distributor
licensee had no spirits sales during calendar year 2012, no
additional fees will be due;

(b} Each licensee will be assessed and required to pay their
proportionate share of the remaining liability between one hundred
fifty million dollars and actual collections. The proportionate
share of fees due will be calculated by dividing the total dollar
amount of sales made by each spirits distributor licensee by the
total spirits sales made by all spirits distributor licensees
combined. If the total amount of payments exceeds one hundred
fifty million dollars, each licensee will be credited a
proportionate amount o¢f the overpayment to their future license
issuance fee obligations.

(2) The board will notify all spirits distributor licensees no
later than April 30, 2013, of the amount they are required to pay
in additional license fees. Spirits distributor licensees must pay
the additional license fees to the board by May 31, 20i3.

{3) The board may suspend or revoke any spirits distributor
license if the required additional license fees are not paid by May
31, 2013. If suspended, the suspension will remain in effect until
the additional license fees are paid.

(4} The beoard may also initiate collection proceedings for any
amount of additional fees not paid to the board by May 31, 2013.
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Halstrom & Associates, Inc.

Post Office Box 339 - Ellensburg, Wa 98926
(360) 791-6644 Fax (509) 968-3920
halstrom(@fairpoint.net

Hearing on the adoption of Proposed Rule # 12-15
Testimony by Jim Halstrom on behalf of Southern Wine & Spirits

I am appearing today on behalf of Southern Wine & Spirits; a licensed distributor
currently employing 820 people in our state. I am here to express opposition to the
adoption of the rule as written.

We believe an inequity arises as a result of excluding direct-shipping distillers and
imposing the shortfall assessment only on licensed spirits distributors. Furthermore
we believe the proposal is inconsistent with applicable statutory provisions.

I believe this issue should be considered in the context of the old saying “a tax is a
tax is a tax”. The drafters of the Initiative were compelled to consider political
realities in the drafiing when facing two conflicting objectives. Providing for no net
loss in estimated revenue while at the same time not “raising taxes”. So they
assigned a different designation to the necessary taxes —a fee. Regardless of
semantics a tax is a tax and an essential principal of taxation is, absent specific
exemptions, equal application of the tax must occur. As a result of the proposed rule
that will not be the case. In the instance of some industry members paying the tax
(shortfall assessment) while other industry members — performing the same function:
selling spirits to retail licensees — would not be subject to the tax does not constitute
cqual taxation. (While arguably to some extent licensees exempt from the
assessment will realize a competitive advantage.)

In another instance spirits sold would effectively be subject to double taxation.
Double taxation occurs when, under the provisions of the proposed rule, the
assessment is imposed on total sales by all spirits distributors — even when that
distributor is a sub-distributor and their sales are not subject to the 10% tax because
they are not making the “first sale” and the fee has already been paid. We believe the
imposition of the shortfall assessment on these sales is inappropriate because the
assessment (tax) will be imposed twice on the sales of the same merchandise.





Halstrom testimony on behalf of Southern Wine & Spirits page 2

In respect to applicable statutory language we believe that when the Board concludes
that a provision which refers to a “spirits distributor licensee” applies to direct-
shipping distillers while interpreting another provision referring to “persons holding
spirits distributor licenses” dos not apply to direct-shipping distillers it is obviously
contradictory and not consistent with the plain language of the statutes. It also
apparently ignores another statutory provision which dictates that direct-shipping
distillers while distributing their own products must “comply with all provisions and
regulations under this title applicable to wholesale distributors selling spirits to
retailers”.

Licensed wholesalers distributors when paying the shortfall assessment are
complying with both statutory and regulatory provisions applicable to them. To us it
appears clear that direct-shipping distillers should be subject to the same provisions
unless the statutory requirement to “comply with all provisions and regulations under
these title applicable to wholesale distributors selling spirits to retailers” is ignored.

Thank You







Comments of Washington Beer & Wine Distributor Association
On Proposed WAC 314-23-025 Governing $150 Million License Issuance Fund

- Submitted September 18, 2012

The Washington Beer & Wine Distributors Association (“WWBWDA") has two significant
concerns regarding the proposed WAC 314-23-025, governing the $150 million
distributor license issuance fund established by RCW 66.24.055.

A Responsibility of Direct-Shipping Distillers

The statute establishes that spirits distributors are required to pay the State 10%
of their gross revenue from spirits sales made in the first two years of licensure, as a
“spirits distributor license issuance fee.” RCW 66.24.055(c)(3)(a). The Liquor Control
Board ("Board”) has correctly concluded that this fee is due from anyone who acts as a
distributor, including distillers who sell directly to retailers.

The statute also provides that spirits distributors must pay a total of $150 million
dollars in spirits distributor license issuance fees by March 31, 2013. If the aggregate
fees paid by that date are less than $150 million, spirits distributors are required to pay
the difference (“the Shortfall’) by May 31, 2013. The Shortfall is to be allocated in
proportion to sales made in calendar year 2012. RCW 66.24.055(c)(3){(c).

However, the Board has erroneously concluded that the Shortfall will be
determined solely by considering the amounts paid by entities holding spirits distributor
licenses, excluding direct-shipping distillers, and that the Shortfall will be allocated
solely among entities holding spirits distributor licenses, again excluding direct-shipping
distillers.

WBWDA submits that this second conclusion is incorrect. There is no
meaningful difference between the language of RCW 66.24.055(3)(a), which refers to
“spirits distributor licensee” and which the Board recognizes includes direct-shipping
distillers, and the language of RCW 66.24.055(3)(c), which refers to “persons holding
spirits distributor licenses™ but which the Board interprets as excluding direct-shipping
distillers.

Moreover, the explicit language of RCW 66.24.640 and RCW 66.28.330(4)
compels the conclusion that fees paid by direct-shipping distillers must be included in
determining the amount of the Shortfall and that direct-shipping distillers must
participate in the Shorifall in proportion to their sales to retailers.

RCW 66.24.640 authorizes a distiller to function as a distributor or retailer of its
own production. The statute also states that “an industry member [which includes a
direct-shipping distiller] operating as a distributor and/or retailer under this section must
comply with the applicable laws and rules relating to distributors and/or retailers.” This





compels direct-shipping distillers to comply with RCW 66.24.055(3) and therefore to
participate in the Shortfall.

This conclusion is buttressed by the fact that RCW 66.24.640 contains one
specific exception from the requirement that distillers comply with laws governing
distributors. That exception relates to operation of a warehouse off the distiller's
premises. The fact that the drafters of the statute elected to make one very specific
exception is conclusive evidence that they deliberately chose not to make any other
exceptions.

RCW 66.28.330(4) also commands distillers choosing to act as distributors of
their own production to “comply with all provisions of and regulations under this title
applicable to wholesale distributors selling spirits to retailers.” In the view of WBWDA
this statutory provision, like RCW 66.24.640, compels direct-shipping distillers to
participate in the Shortfall on the same terms as spirits distributors.

The only language that purports to limit the reach of RCW 66.28.330(4) is a
phrase saying that direct-shipping distillers must comply with laws governing distributors
“to the extent consistent with the purposes of” the bundle of statutory provisions
included in Initiative 1183. This does not protect direct-shipping distillers from liability
for their proportionate share of the Shortfall for two reasons: first, there is no
comparable provision in RCW 66.24.640; second, there is no plausible argument that
imposing such liability on direct-shipping distillers is in any way inconsistent with the
purposes of the Initiative. '

For these reasons, WBWDA objects to the proposed rule, WAC 314-23-025.
The rule should specifically impose liability for the Shortfall on all persons who choose
to act as spirits distributors and make sales subject to the initial 10% fee. It should aiso
specify that the amount of the Shortfall will be computed by taking into account the fees
paid by all such persons, including direct-shipping distillers.

B. Responsibility of Sub-Distributors

WBWDA also objects to the proposed rule on the grounds that in one respect it is
overly inclusive. The statute specifically provides that the 10% fee is only due on the
first sale of a particular item in the State. RCW 66.24.055(3)(b); RCW 66.24.055(e).
However, the proposed rule states that the Shortfall will be calculated on the basis of
“the total spirits sales made by each spirits distributor licensee” in 2012. In the case of
a sub-distributor, who purchased from another distributor and then resold the product to
a retailer, the sale would not be subject to the initial 10% fee because it would not be
the first sale of the product but it would be considered in calculating the Shortfall
because it would be a sale made by a licensed spirits distributor. WBWDA submits that
the proposed rule should be amended to state that the Shortfall will be calculated on the
basis of those sales which were subject to the initial 10% fee.






C. Proposed Revised Rule

WBWDA is attaching a version of WAC 314-23-025 that it believes addresses
these problems with the proposed rule. If requested, WBWDA will prepare a version
showing the changes from the Board’s draft rule that WBWDA is proposing.

WBWDA Proposal for revisions to WAC 314-23-025
Submitted September __, 2012.

WAC 314-23-015: Collection of shortfall of spirits
distributor license issuance fees.

(1) RCW 66.24.055, in conjunction with RCW 66.24.640
and RCW 66.28.330(4), requires that all persons operating
as a spirits distributor on or before March 31, 2013, must
have collectively paid a total of one hundred fifty million
dollars in spirits distributor license fees by March 31,
2013. 1If the spirits distributor license fees collected by
March 31, 2013, total less than one hundred fifty million
dollars, the board is required to assess those persons
operating as spirits distributors on or before March 31,
2013, in order to collect a total of one hundred fifty
million dollars. The board will calculate the additional
amount owed by each person operating as a spirits
distributor as follows:

{a) The amount of additional fees owed will be
calculated using the total spirits sales made by each
person operating as a spirits distributor during calendar
year 2012, excluding any such sales that are exempt from
the license fee by RCW 66.24.055(3) (b} and RCW
66.24.055(e). If a spirits distributor licensee had no
spirits sales during calendar year 2012, or only spirits
sales exempt from the license fee pursuant to RCW
66.24.055(3) (b) and RCW 66.24.055(e), no additiorial fees
will be due.

(b) Each person operating as a distributor will be
assegsed and required tec pay their proportionate share of
the remaining liability between one hundred fifty million
dollars and actual collections. The proportionate share of
fees due will be calculated by dividing the total dollar
amount of sales made by each person operating as a
distributor, excluding any such sales exempt from the
license fee pursuant to RCW 66.24.055(3) (b) and RCW
66.24.055(e), by the total spirits sales subject to the
license fee made by all persons operating as distributors.
If the total amount of payments exceeds one hundred fifty





million dollars, each person operating as a distributor
will be credited a proportionate amunt of the overpayment
against their future license issuance fee obligations.

(c} The board will notify all persons operating as
distributors no later than April 30, 2013, of the amount
they are required to pay in additional license issuance
fees. All such additional license issuance fees must be
paid to the board by May 31, 2013. '

(d} The board may suspend or revoke any spirits
distributor license, distillery license or certificate of
authority if the required additional license issuance fee
owed by the person holding such license or certificate of
authority is not paid by by May 31, 2013. If suspended the
suspension will remain in effect until the additional
license fees are paid.

(e} The board may also initiate collection
proceedings for any amount of additional fees not paid to
the board by May 31, 2013.






