

# WASHINGTON STATE LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD Board Meeting Minutes – July 11, 2012

PLEASE NOTE: an audio recording of this Board Meeting is posted on the LCB website along with these minutes.

Board Chair Sharon Foster called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor Control Board to order at 10:03 a.m., on Wednesday, July 11, 2012 in the Council Chambers of Spokane City Hall at 808 West Spokane Falls Boulevard in Spokane, Washington. Board Members Ruthann Kurose and Chris Marr were present.

# **Approval of Minutes**

Minutes from the June 27, 2012 meeting were approved.

## **Background of Alcohol Impact Area Process**

Alan Rathbun, WSLCB Licensing Director, provided background on the Alcohol Impact Area (AIA) process. Per Alan, AIAs are created by local governments, and must follow specific requirements to obtain WSLCB recognition as an AIA. Initially the City of Spokane requested that the East Central neighborhood be recognized as a voluntary Alcohol Impact Area. Their current proposal requests that the Board recognize East Central as a mandatory AIA, within extended boundaries. Should the Board choose to adopt the City of Spokane's proposal, there will be mandated restriction on the sale of fortified beer (banned product list attached below).

# Public Hearing on City of Spokane's Request for Mandatory Recognition of the East Central Alcohol Impact Area

Senior Police Officer Max Hewitt, with the Spokane Police Department, provided further information on the East Central AIA (see presentation attached). The meeting was then opened up to public comment. Nineteen stakeholders signed up to provide testimony, with fourteen in favor of the WSLCB recognizing the City of Spokane's request, and five against. (Please refer to stakeholder comments/presentations attached below, as well as audio recording of meeting posted with these minutes.)

#### **New Business**

There was no new business.

## Old Business:

There was no old business.

The Board Meeting was adjourned at 11:32 a.m.

Sharon Foster,

**Board Chair** 

Ruthann Kurose,

**Board Member** 

Chris Marr,

**Board Member**