OFFICE OF THE WASHINGTON STATE LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD Board Meeting /July 16, 2008

Board Chairman Lorraine Lee called the regular meeting of the Washington State Liquor Control Board to order at 10:05 am, on Wednesday, July 16, 2008 in the boardroom, 3000 Pacific Avenue S.E., Olympia, Washington. Board Member Roger Hoen and Board Member Ruthann Kurose were present.

Tacoma Alcohol Impact Area (AIA) Staff Recommendations -

Alan Rathbun, Director of Licensing presented the attached Issue Paper, "Tacoma Lincoln District Alcohol Impact Area Request," and PowerPoint, "City of Tacoma's Alcohol Impact Area Request for the Lincoln District." Mr. Rathbun also read a letter in to the record from Tacoma Councilmember Rick Talbert,

Chairman Lee asked if the presentation included information received before and after the May 7 hearing. The answer was yes, including petitions submitted by the Korean American Grocers Association (KAGRO) and another unidentified group against the AIA. KAGRO had previously stated the position that the AIA should include the entire city or state. Chairman Lee clarified that the rules state that an entire city or state cannot be listed as an AIA. Board Member Ruthann Kurose noted that only one letter against the ban had come from a citizen.

Board Member Roger Hoen inquired whether the proposed resolution allowed the city of Tacoma to return and request modifications to the list.

At Chairman Lee's request, Mr. Rathbun explained the proposed resolution. The recommendation of staff included changes to the proposed list of banned products to match the original Tacoma AIA with the exception of Bud Extra and Tilt, since production Anheuser-Busch expects to cease production on those two items. All three Board Members expressed satisfaction with the level of community support. This involvement is ongoing. Ms. Kurose reinforced the Board responsibility in the area of public safety. Tacoma will provide an update of the AIA to the Board in a year.

Board Member Ruthann Kurose moved to adopt the resolution as written, Roger Hoen seconded, and the Board adopted resolution unanimously. Chairman Lee stated that it takes effect immediately. Licensees have until October 1, 2008 to sell off stocks of banned products.

The meeting was audio-taped.

Finance Office Recognition - Randy Simmons recognized Lori Goodwin and Juanita Van Auken each for 10 years of service.

Human Resources Department Recognition – Annelle Lerner, Director, introduced Joe Ruiz – Labor Relations Manager, Ashley Brand – Summer Intern, and Vanessa Sitko – Summer Intern.

Finance Office Recognition – Stacey Sitko, Comptroller, introduced Sam Brown – Summer Intern.

Contracts Office Recognition – James Lunsford, Contracts Manager, introduced Nick Johnson – Temporary Contracts Assistant, Lisa Daniels – Customer Service Specialist.

Licensing Department Recognition - Alan Rathbun, Director, introduced Karen Rogers – Rules Coordinator, Stephanie Lapp – CCS2, Sarah Fusetti – CSS2, Heather Miller – License Investigator.

Information Technology Department Recognition – Roger Deming, Deputy Director, introduced Latha Duddu – Merchandising Applications, Julia Ragasa – Merchandising Applications, Charlotte Wang – Merchandising Applications Lead, Vincent Perrizo – Desktop Tech, Terry Westphal – Desktop Tech, Kurt Shockey – Desktop Tech, Benny Kee – Summer Intern, Chantel Draper – Web Developer in Training

The Meeting adjourned at 11:20 am.

Lorraine Lee Chairman Roger Hoen

Board Member

Ruthann Kurose Board Member