\J| Washington State
/A Liquor Control Board

NOTICE OF RULE MAKING — Pre-proposal #12-09

The Washington State Liquor Control Board has entered into the initial stage of rule
making to create new rules to clarify the $150 million assessment to be paid by persons
holding a spirits distributor license created in Initiative 1183 (RCW 66.24.055).

By March 31, 2013, Initiative 1183 directs all persons holding spirits distributor licenses
on or before March 31, 2013, to pay to the board $150 million (or more) in spirits
distributor license fees. The license fees are derived from the ten percent of the total
revenue for all the licensee’s sales of spirits made during the first year. If the collective
payment totals less than $150 million, the board must collect by March 31, 2013 as
additional license fees the difference between $150 million and the actual receipts.
Rules are needed to develop this process.

This notice can be found at http://www.lig.wa.gov/laws.asp under Proposed Rules.

The Liquor Control Board encourages you to give input on the creation of rules to clarify
the $150 million assessment. Following the comment period, the agency will send out
and publish proposed rules, establish a comment period on the proposed rules, and
hold at least one public hearing before rules are adopted.

Public Comment

Please forward your initial comments to the Liquor Control Board by mail, e-mail, or fax
by June 20, 2012.

By mail: Rules Coordinator By e-mail: By fax:
Liquor Control Board rules@lig.wa.gov  360-360-664-9689
P.O. Box 43080
Olympia, WA 98504-3080
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