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Washington State Liquor Control Board  
Regular Meeting 

Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 10:00 a.m.  
LCB Headquarters Building - 3000 Pacific Avenue SE, Olympia WA 98501 

 
  

 

CALL TO ORDER        

 

APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES     

Approval of December 3, 2013, Meeting Minutes   

 

BOARD DIRECTION TO STAFF  

Re:  Medical Marijuana Draft Recommendations - Legislative Mandate 

 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 

 

Presenter - Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator 

1) Public Hearing on Marijuana Consumption in Liquor Licensed Premises 

2) Public Hearing on Spirits Sampling in Spirits Retail Premises  

 

Presenter - JoAnne Sample, Management Analyst 

3) Public Hearing on Olympia Alcohol Impact Area (AIA)  

 

NEW BUSINESS/OLD BUSINESS        

 

ADJOURN 

 

 

LCB Mission 
Promote public safety by consistent and fair administration of liquor and cannabis laws through education, voluntary 
compliance, responsible sales and preventing the misuse of alcohol, cannabis and tobacco. 
 

Public Meetings Accommodations 
For questions about a reasonable accommodation for a WSLCB agency event, please contact our ADA Coordinator Claris 
Nnanabu, Human Resources, at 360-664-1642, or email: ccn@liq.wa.gov. You can also contact our state TTY service, by calling 
the Washington Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-833-6388. For all other accommodations, please contact us two weeks prior to 
the event to process in a timely manner. (Examples: sign language interpreter, seat in front, etc.) 
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November 13, 2013 


 


Medical Marijuana DRAFT Recommendations 
 
Budget Proviso Language: 3ESSB 5034 Sec. 141(2): 
 
(a) The liquor control board must work with the department of health and the department of revenue to 
develop recommendations for the legislature regarding the interaction of medical marijuana regulations 
and the provisions of Initiative Measure No. 502. At a minimum, the recommendations must include 
provisions addressing the following: 
 
 (i) Age limits; 
 (ii) Authorizing requirements for medical marijuana; 
 (iii) Regulations regarding health care professionals; 
 (iv) Collective gardens; 
 (v) Possession amounts; 
 (vi) Location requirements; 
 (vii) Requirements for medical marijuana producing, processing and retail licensing; and 
 (viii) Taxation of medical marijuana in relation to recreational marijuana. 


(b) The board must submit its recommendations to the appropriate committees of the legislature by 
January 1, 2014. 


 


1. Age limits 
 


 Adults 18 to 20 years old should be allowed access to medical marijuana with proper 
authorization from a health care professional. 


 Children 17 years old or younger should be allowed access to medical marijuana with parent or 
guardian consent to the authorization. The parent or guardian should participate in the child’s 
treatment.  


 Authorizing health care professionals should be required to engage in frequent re-examination 
and follow-up with a child patient and communication with the parent or guardian. The authorizing 
health care professional should also be required to consult with other health care providers 
involved in the child’s treatment before authorization or reauthorization of medical marijuana. 


 The child’s parent or guardian should be required to act as the child’s designated provider and be 
entered in the registry as such.  


 The parent or guardian should have sole control over the child’s medical marijuana. The child 
should be allowed to possess no more medical marijuana than necessary for his or her next 
dose.  


 Medical marijuana consumed in a school setting should be held and administered by school 
personnel in the same manner as any other medication. Consistent with current law, schools 
should not be compelled to accommodate on-site use of medical marijuana on school grounds or 
school buses. 


 Medical marijuana products should be prohibited from being labeled in a manner that mimics 
candy, soda or other treats attractive to children.  


 
Reasoning:  
Currently there are no age restrictions for medical marijuana in this state. Nor are there any restrictions 
specific to minors. However, the original initiative passed by the citizens of Washington in 1998 contained 
restrictions related to use and possession by children under age eighteen. Specifically, the child’s parent 
or guardian was responsible for “any production, acquisition, and decision as to dosage and frequency of 
use.” This requirement was eliminated in 2011. 
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Under I-502:  
A person must be 21 years old to legally possess marijuana, to hold a marijuana license or enter a 
licensed marijuana premise. 


 
 


2. Authorizing requirements for medical marijuana 
 


 A mandatory patient and designated provider registry should be established and maintained by 
the Department of Health.  


 The registry should be mandatory for all patients as a condition of receiving an authorization. 


 The registry should be used to determine eligibility for exemption from state and local retail sales 
and use taxes on marijuana purchases by qualified patients. 


 Designated providers should be required to participate in the registry in conjunction with the 
patient. 


 Patient and designated provider information should be entered into the registry by the authorizing 
health care professional. The information must contain sufficient unique identifiers (Washington 
driver’s license or identification card number or social security number) to ensure accurate 
identification of the patient or designated provider.  


 Registration should expire annually and the patient or designated provider may be re-entered in 
the registry only after a new or follow-up examination. 


 Cards should be issued from the registry to identify patients and designated providers.  


 The registry should be available to law enforcement and to the Department of Revenue as 
necessary to verify tax-exempt purchases under Title 82 RCW. 


 Disciplining authorities for the health care professions allowed to authorize medical marijuana 
should have access to the registry to monitor compliance by their licensees. 


 Consistent and reliable funding must be provided to establish and maintain the registry.  


 The registry should contain sufficient security features to protect patient privacy. Information in 
the registry that could identify patients should be excluded from public disclosure. 


 All existing authorizations should expire on a date certain to coincide with full implementation of 
the registry and retail market. All patients with existing authorizations would need to be re-
evaluated by a health care professional pursuant to the revised standards and placed in the 
registry within a designated timeframe. 


 
Reasoning: 
Registries provide a record of qualifying patients and authorizing health care professionals. They allow 
immediate verification of a patient’s status if questioned by law enforcement or another entity, and may 
provide a card or other documentation identifying the holder as a qualified patient. They can also provide 
a structure for the periodic expiration and renewal of authorizations. Washington is the only state with a 
medical marijuana statute without a registry. 
 
Under I-502:  
N/A 


 
3. Regulations regarding health care professionals 


 


 Define “debilitating” and “intractable pain” to clearly indicate the condition must be severe enough 
to significantly interfere with the patient’s activities of daily living and ability to function, and can 
be objectively assessed and evaluated. 


 Enact comprehensive requirements defining the standard of care for health care professionals 
who authorize medical marijuana similar to those required by ESHB 2876 (2010) regarding the 
use of opioids to manage chronic pain. The requirements should address topics such as 
adequacy of examination, follow-up care and recording keeping.  


 Restrict a health care professional’s practice to ensure it does not consist primarily of authorizing 
medical marijuana. 


 Require a permanent physical location for a health care professional’s place of practice. 







November 13, 2013 3 
 


 Require in person examinations for authorizations. 


 Require an expiration of authorizations to ensure a regular cycle of re-examination and follow-up 
care. 


 Eliminate the provision allowing for petitions to add qualifying conditions. Patients with conditions 
other than those already authorized can follow the legislative process to change the law and can 
avail themselves of the recreational marijuana market until such time as the law is changed. In 
the alternative, amend the petition provision to allow the Medical Quality Assurance Commission 
to make a preliminary finding of good cause prior to holding a hearing and expand the time frame 
for the hearing to be completed. 


 
Reasoning: 
The list of terminal and debilitating conditions consists primarily of diagnosable disease states.  However, 
it also includes “intractable pain.”  Neither “debilitating” or “intractable pain” are defined in the law. The 
lack of definition for these terms may result in authorizations for patients who do not meet the true intent 
of the law. The requirements and restrictions for health care professionals who authorize medical 
marijuana for their patients may not provide sufficient specificity to ensure patients receive thorough 
examination and appropriate follow-up care for their terminal or debilitating conditions. The restrictions for 
a health care provider may not be sufficient to guarantee a health care professional authorizes medical 
marijuana only in cases where the patient suffers from a terminal or debilitating condition. 
 
Under I-502:  
N/A 
 
4. Collective gardens 
Eliminate Collective Gardens. 
 
Reasoning: 
Collective gardens were intended to allow patients to work cooperatively to grow marijuana for their 
personal medical use if they are be too ill to grow for themselves or not have the space or equipment.   
However, the concept has evolved from a “pea patch” to the current for-profit retail business models 
known as dispensaries.  Under current law, collective gardens are limited to ten patients “at a single time” 
and can have no more than forty-five plants and seventy-two ounces of useable marijuana.  In reality, a 
patient becomes a member upon entering the dispensary to make a transaction and ceases to become a 
member as he or she leaves the premises.  Plant and marijuana limits are ignored.  Allowing these to 
continue would likely undermine any viable regulatory scheme and encourage illicit behavior  
 
Under I-502:  
N/A 


 
5. Possession amounts 


 


 Reduce the amount a qualified patient or designated provider can possess at any given time from 
twenty-four ounces of useable marijuana (a sixty day supply) to three ounces (a one week 
supply).  


 Allow additional limits for marijuana infused products in solid or liquid form. 


 Eliminate home grows and the ability for a qualified patient or designated provider to possess 
marijuana plants in any stage of growth. Define “plant” to avoid any misconstruction of this 
provision. 


 Eliminate the ability for designated providers to also be qualified patients and thus possess 
double the legal limit of medical marijuana. 


 Require labeling to include the levels of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabinoids in medical 
marijuana products. 


 Restrict labeling and marketing of medical marijuana products to ensure that they are not 
intentionally attractive to minors or recreational users. 
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 Eliminate the provision in RCW 69.51A.045 that grants qualified patients or designated providers 
an affirmative defense to criminal charges of possession above the legal amount if they can prove 
at trial the patient’s necessary medical use exceeds the amount determined in law. 


 
Reasoning: 
A patient’s need and ability to possess a sixty day supply of marijuana at any given time was based on 
the fact that the only legal source was individual growth, cultivation and processing of marijuana plants. If 
a regulated system of producing, processing and retail sale of medical marijuana is created, patients will 
have access to an adequate, safe, consistent, and secure source. They will no longer be reliant upon the 
cycle of growth and harvest of their own plants.  Possession of these large amounts will not be necessary 
under a regulated retail market and does create safety and diversion concerns.  Reports of robberies, 
burglaries and other crimes involving medical marijuana appear frequently in the news media.  
Possession of large amounts also encourages “sharing.”  
 
In addition, marijuana grown outside of the regulated market will not be subject to the same rigorous 
scrutiny.  Medical marijuana sold to patients should have the same or higher level of safety, testing and 
labeling that will exist for recreational users.  It is very important that patients are aware of the relative 
levels of THC and CBDs, especially patients who are children.     
 
Under I-502:  
One ounce of useable marijuana; 16 ounces of marijuana infused product in solid form; and 72 ounces of 
marijuana infused product in liquid form. 


 
6. Location requirements 
There would not be specific medical marijuana location requirements because only I-502 licensed retail 
stores may sell marijuana and accept medical marijuana authorization cards. 
 
Reasoning: 
The memo released by the U.S. Department of Justice (Department) on August 29, 2013 regarding 
guidance on marijuana enforcement outlines expectations for states with marijuana laws. The Department 
expects states to not only enact but also implement laws with strong and effective regulatory and 
enforcement systems that will address public safety including access and proximity to minors. Limiting 
licensing locations using the 1,000 foot buffer zone and aligning the licensing process and requirements 
for medical and recreational marijuana is in line with these expectations. 
 
Under I-502: Medical marijuana licensed business cannot be within one thousand feet of the perimeter of 
the grounds of any of the following entities: 


1. Elementary or secondary school; 
2. Playground; 
3. Recreational center or facility; 
4. Child care center; 
5. Public park; 
6. Public transit center; 
7. Library; or 


8. Any game arcade where admission is not restricted to persons age twenty-one or older. 
 


 
7. Requirements for medical marijuana producing, processing and retail licensing 
Integrate medical and recreational marijuana producers, processors and retailers into one licensing 
system. Only recreational marijuana retailers with an endorsement may accept medical marijuana 
authorization cards. Make the new regulatory system for medical marijuana effective no sooner than 
January 1, 2015. 
 
Reasoning:  
The current medical marijuana system is not controlled, regulated or licensed. The ground work laid by I-
502, both in research and regulations has established a safe and legal source for marijuana products. 
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Having two separate licensing systems for one product is not efficient and most likely confusing to the 
public. It would require an agency to make a distinction between what defines medical and recreational 
marijuana. This distinction is subjective and not necessarily scientifically based. 
 
Under I-502:  


1. Three separate license tiers: producer, processor and retailer; 
2. A licensee may hold both a producer and processor license simultaneously, but not a retailer 


license; 
3. Open registration for all license types for a 30-day window; 
4. Three month state residency requirement to qualify for a license; 
5. Personal criminal history, fingerprint and background checks of applicants; 
6. Point system for all arrests and/or convictions; 
7. License limits; 
8. Production limits; and 
9. Maximum allowable amount of marijuana on licensed locations.  


 
 
8. Taxation of medical marijuana in relation to recreational marijuana 


Utilize the same tax structure as recreational marijuana, but provide an exemption from state and local 
retail sales and use taxes on purchases by medical marijuana patients registered with the Department of 
Health. 


Reasoning: 
Providing a state and local retail sales and use tax exemption for sales of marijuana to a registered 
medical marijuana patient under chapter 69.51A RCW would parallel the current exemption provided in 
RCW 82.08.0281 and 82.12.0275 for consumers of prescription drugs. 
 
Under I-502:  
 


1. Producers 


a. Pay 25% excise tax on wholesale sales* 


b. Pay B&O tax as wholesaler  


2. Processors 


a. Pay 25% excise tax on wholesale sales* 


b. Pay B&O tax as manufacturer 


3. Retailers 


a. Pay 25% excise tax on retail sales 


b. Pay B&O tax as retailer 


c. Collect state/local retail sales & use tax 


4. Retail Buyers 


a. Pay state/local retail sales & use tax 


 


* This level of tax may not apply to certain producer/processor licensees. 
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Washington State Liquor Control Board 


Issue Paper 
Marijuana Consumption in a Liquor Licensed 
Premises 
Date:   October 30, 2013 
Presented by: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator 
 


Description of the Issue 
The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the 
proposed rules to amend WAC 314-11-015 prohibiting the consumption of 
marijuana or marijuana infused products at a liquor licensed premises. 
 


Why is rule making necessary? 
Some liquor licensees are allowing customers to consume marijuana and/or 
marijuana infused products in their liquor licensed premises.  There are public 
safety concerns related to mixing alcohol and marijuana at on premises 
consumption locations. These include impacts to over-service compliance and 
increased impaired driving from locations allowing on premises consumption.  
Initiative 502 also prohibited consumption of marijuana in public view. 
 


What changes are being proposed? 
 
WAC 314-11-015 What are my responsibilities as a liquor licensee?  
Added language that any licensee may not: 


 engage in or allow any employee or other person to engage in the 
consumption of marijuana, useable marijuana, or marijuana-infused 
product in a liquor licensed business, including outdoor service areas or 
any part of the property owned or controlled by the licensee; 


 permit any person consuming, or who has consumed, any type of 
marijuana, useable marijuana, or marijuana-infused product to remain on 
any part of the licensed premises. 








AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 11-22-035, filed 10/26/11, effective
11/26/11)


WAC 314-11-015 What are my responsibilities as a liquor licensee?
(1)(a) Liquor licensees are responsible for the operation of their li-
censed premises in compliance with the liquor laws and rules of the
board (Title 66 RCW and Title 314 WAC). Any violations committed or
permitted by employees will be treated by the board as violations com-
mitted or permitted by the licensee.


(b) The penalties for violations of liquor laws or rules are in:
WAC 314-29-015 through 314-29-035, as now or hereafter amended, for
licensees; and WAC 314-17-105 and 314-17-110, as now or hereafter
amended, for employees who hold mandatory alcohol server training per-
mits. These rules also outline aggravating and mitigating circumstan-
ces that may affect what penalty is applied if a licensee or employee
violates a liquor law or rule.


(2) Licensees and their employees also have the responsibility to
conduct the licensed premises in compliance with the following laws,
as they now exist or may later be amended:
■ Titles 9 and 9A RCW, the criminal code laws;
■ Title 69 RCW, which outlines the laws regarding controlled


substances; and
■ Titles 70.155, 82.24 RCW, and RCW 26.28.080 which outline


laws regarding tobacco.
(3) Licensees have the responsibility to control their conduct


and the conduct of employees and patrons on the premises at all times.
Except as otherwise provided by law, licensees or employees may not:


(a) Be disorderly or apparently intoxicated on the licensed prem-
ises;


(b) Permit any disorderly person to remain on the licensed prem-
ises;


(c) Engage in or allow behavior that provokes conduct which
presents a threat to public safety;


(d) Consume liquor of any kind while working on the licensed
premises; except that:


(i) Entertainers per WAC 314-02-010 may drink while performing
under the following conditions:


(A) Alcohol service must be monitored by MAST servers;
(B) Drinks must be served in unlabeled containers;
(C) Entertainers may not advertise any alcohol brands or prod-


ucts;
(D) Entertainers may not promote drink specials; and
(E) If any member of the entertainment group is under twenty-one


years of age, alcohol may not be consumed by any member of the group
while performing.


(ii) Licensed beer manufacturers and their employees may sample
beer of their own manufacture for manufacturing, evaluating or pricing
product in areas where the public is not served, so long as the licen-
see or employee does not become apparently intoxicated;


(iii) Licensed wine manufacturers and their employees may:
(A) Sample wine for manufacturing, evaluating, or pricing prod-


uct, so long as the licensee or employee does not become apparently
intoxicated; and the licensee or employee who is sampling for these
purposes is not also engaged in serving alcohol to the public; and
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(B) Sample wine of their own manufacture for quality control or
consumer education purposes, so long as the licensee or employee does
not become apparently intoxicated.


(e) Engage in, or permit any employee or other person to engage
in, conduct on the licensed premises which is prohibited by any por-
tion of Titles 9, 9A, or 69 RCW; ((or))


(f) Engage in or permit any employee or other person to engage in
the consumption of any type of marijuana, usable marijuana, or mari-
juana-infused products in a liquor licensed business, including out-
door service areas or any part of the property owned or controlled by
the licensee;


(g) Permit any person consuming, or who has consumed within the
licensed premises, any type of marijuana, usable marijuana, or mari-
juana-infused products to remain on any part of the licensed premises;
or


(h) Sell or serve liquor by means of "drive-in" or by "curb serv-
ice."


(4) Licensees have the responsibility to control the interaction
between the licensee or employee and their patrons. At a minimum, li-
censees or employees may not:


(a) Solicit any patron to purchase any beverage for the licensee
or employee, or allow a person to remain on the premises for such pur-
pose;


(b) Spend time or dance with, or permit any person to spend time
or dance with, any patron for direct or indirect compensation by a pa-
tron.


(c) See WAC 314-11-050 for further guidelines on prohibited con-
duct.
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CR 102- Spirits Sampling & B/W Tasting 
Endorsement 1 11/6/13 


Washington State Liquor Control Board 


Issue Paper 
Rules to Implement 2013 Legislation – Spirits 
Sampling by Spirits Retail Licensees and B/W Tasting 
Endorsement for Grocery Store Licensees 
Date:   November 6, 2013 
Presented by: Karen McCall, Agency Rules Coordinator 


Description of the Issue 
The purpose of this Issue Paper is to request approval from the Board to file the 
proposed rules (CR 102) for Spirits Sampling by Spirits Retail Licensees 
and revise rules for the B/W Tasting Endorsement for Grocery Store 
Licensees. 
 


Why is rule making necessary? 
 
Rules are needed to implement the following legislation passed in the 2013 
legislative session: 
 


 SSB 5396 – Spirits Sampling by Spirits Retail Licensees 


 SSB 5517 – B/W Tasting Endorsement for Grocery Store 
Licensees 


 


What changes are being proposed? 
 
WAC 314-02-102 What are the requirements for a grocery store 
licensee to conduct beer and wine tastings?  Removed language that 
required a licensee to have more than 50% of their retail sales in grocery 
products, or the licensee is a membership organization.  Changed the size of the 
premises requirement from 9000 square feet to 10,000 square feet. 
 
WAC 314-02-106 What is a spirits retailer license?  Added the 
requirements for a spirits retailer licensee to obtain a spirits sampling 
endorsement to conduct spirits sampling. 
 
 
 
 


         








AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 11-01-133, filed 12/21/10, effective
1/21/11)


WAC 314-02-102  What are the requirements for a grocery store li-
censee to conduct beer and wine tastings?  (1) To be issued a beer and
wine tasting endorsement, the licensee must meet the following crite-
ria:


(a) ((The licensee has retail sales of grocery products for off-
premises consumption, not to include candy, soda pop, beer or wine,
that are more than fifty percent of the licensee's gross sales, or the
licensee is a membership organization that requires members to be at
least eighteen years of age;


(b))) The licensee operates a fully enclosed retail area encom-
passing at least ((nine)) ten thousand square feet. The board may is-
sue the endorsement to a licensee with a retail area with less than
((nine)) ten thousand square feet if there is no licensee in the com-
munity that meets the ((nine)) ten thousand square foot requirement
under the following conditions: There must be at least two employees
on duty any time the licensee is conducting beer and wine tasting
events. One employee must be dedicated to beer and wine tastings dur-
ing these events;


(((c))) (b) The licensee has not had more than one public safety
administrative violation within the last two years. The two-year win-
dow is counted from two years prior to the date of the application for
the beer and wine tasting endorsement. (See WAC 314-29-020 for a list
of public safety violations.)


(2) In addition to the conditions in RCW 66.24.363, a beer and
wine tasting must be conducted under the following:


(a) The licensee must provide a sketch of the tasting area.
Fixed or moveable barriers are required around the tasting area to en-
sure persons under twenty-one years of age do not possess or consume
alcohol;


(b) Signs advertising beer and wine tastings may not be placed in
the windows or outside of the premises that can be viewed from the
public right of way;


(c) Persons serving beer and wine during tasting events must hold
a class 12 alcohol server permit.


(3) Licensees are required to send a list of scheduled beer and
wine tastings to their regional enforcement office at the beginning of
each month. The date and time for each beer and wine tasting must be
included.


AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 12-12-065, filed 6/5/12, effective
7/6/12)


WAC 314-02-106  What is a spirits retailer license?  (1) A spi-
rits retailer licensee may not sell spirits under this license until
June 1, 2012. A spirits retailer is a retail license. The holder of a
spirits retailer license is allowed to:


(a) Sell spirits in original containers to consumers for off-
premises consumption;


(b) Sell spirits in original containers to permit holders (see
chapter 66.20 RCW);
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(c) Sell spirits in original containers to on-premises liquor re-
tailers, for resale at their licensed premises, although no single
sale may exceed twenty-four liters, and single sales to an on-premises
licensee are limited to one per day; and


(d) Export spirits in original containers.
(2) A spirits retailer licensee that intends to sell to another


retailer must possess a basic permit under the Federal Alcohol Admin-
istration Act. This permit must provide for purchasing distilled spi-
rits for resale at wholesale. A copy of the federal basic permit must
be submitted to the board. A federal basic permit is required for each
location from which the spirits retailer licensee plans to sell to an-
other retailer.


(3) A sale by a spirits retailer licensee is a retail sale only
if not for resale to an on-premises spirits retailer. On-premises re-
tail licensees that purchase spirits from a spirits retail licensee
must abide by RCW 66.24.630.


(4) A spirits retail licensee must pay to the board seventeen
percent of all spirits sales. The first payment is due to the board
October 1, 2012, for sales from June 1, 2012, to June 30, 2012 (see
WAC 314-02-109 for quarterly reporting requirements).


Reporting of spirits sales and payment of fees must be submitted
on forms provided by the board.


(5) A spirits retail licensee may apply for a spirits sampling
endorsement to conduct spirits sampling if they meet the following
criteria:


(a) Be a participant in the responsible vendor program;
(b) Advertising:
(i) For spirits retail licensees that also hold a grocery store


license, signs advertising spirits samplings may not be placed in the
windows or outside of the premises that can be viewed from the public
right of way;


(ii) For spirits retail licensees that also hold a beer/wine spe-
cialty store license, advertising of spirits sampling may be adver-
tised but not state that sampling is free of charge.


(c) Spirits samplings are to be conducted in the following man-
ner:


(i) Spirits samplings service area and facilities must be located
within the licensees' fully enclosed retail area and must be of a size
and design that the licensee can observe and control persons in the
area.


(ii) The licensee must provide a sketch of the sampling area.
Fixed or moveable barriers are required around the sampling area to
ensure that persons under twenty-one years of age and apparently in-
toxicated persons cannot possess or consume alcohol. The sketch is to
be included with the application for the spirits sampling endorsement.


(iii) Each sample may be no more than one-half ounce of spirits,
and no more than a total of one and one-half ounces of spirits samples
per person during any one visit to the premises. Spirits samples must
be unaltered.


(iv) The licensee must have food available for the sampling par-
ticipants.


(v) Customers must remain in the service area while consuming
samples.


(vi) All employees serving spirits during sampling events must
hold a class 12 server permit.


(vii) There must be at least two employees on duty when conduct-
ing spirits sampling events.
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(viii) Spirits sampling activities are subject to RCW 66.28.305
and 66.28.040.


(d) Licensees are required to send a list of scheduled spirits
samplings to their regional enforcement office at the beginning of
each month. The date and time for each sampling must be included.


(6) The annual fee for a spirits retail license is one hundred
sixty-six dollars.
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Adoption of Downtown Urban Core Alcohol Impact Area –  


Petition from the city of Olympia 
Date: December 11, 2013 


Presented by: Jo Ann Sample, Management Analyst 


Licensing and Regulation Division 


 


Problem or Opportunity 


 


The city of Olympia has been unsuccessful in their multi-year initiative, dating back to 2010, to mitigate the 
effects of Chronic Public Inebriation (CPI) through a voluntary Alcohol Impact Area in the city’s downtown 
area.  Board recognition will enable mandatory product restrictions within the geographic bounds of the 
Alcohol Impact Area, significantly improving the potential for positive change in the community.  Absent 
board recognition, the city’s public safety initiative will devolve, resulting in increased drain on city law 
enforcement, emergency medical responders, and community social services.  


 


Background 


 


Banned products are an essential aspect of the mandatory alcohol impact area recognition, having 
identified alcoholic beverages that contribute to problematic public safety concerns.  The city is requesting 
mandatory recognition of the Downtown Urban Core Alcohol Impact Area. The city submitted their petition 
for board-recognition January 16, 2013. 


 


March 13, 2012, the city adopted Ordinance 6796, in accordance with WAC 314.12.215, establishing the 
Downtown Urban Core Alcohol Impact Area.  The banned products in Ordinance 6803 were amended April 
24, 2012, This action was necessary to mitigate the continuing problems associated with Chronic Public 
Inebriation, and crimes associated with the sale of fortified beer. 


 


This unique geographical area includes retail and commercial businesses, as well as single and multifamily 
residential districts.   Easy access to public transportation in, out, and around the area plus reasonable 
walking distances to retail outlets is a major contributor to the growth of the homeless population. 


 


Significant Action Timeline: 
January, 2011 City and community group(s) launched a voluntary compliance effort known as the 
Downtown Project.  A multidirectional approach to create a safe and welcoming environment, one of the 
primary goals was establishing Best Management Practices (BMP) with bar and tavern owners. BMPs aim 
to prevent over-service, set minimum staffing levels based on the number of patrons, and increase 
communication between the partners. The city believes these agreements continue to promote public 
health and safety. 
 
Another aspect of the Downtown Project was establishing the Downtown Ambassador Program (DAP).  
The ambassadors are trained to provide social service referrals; referring more than 24 individuals in the 
first six months of the program. 
 
May, 2012 The city conducted monthly compliance audits, the results of which demonstrate the 
effectiveness of the voluntary alcohol impact area.  Of the nine licensees, only four complied with the city’s 
request. The remaining five licensees continued sales of “voluntarily banned” products throughout the 6-
month voluntary compliance period. 
 
July, 2013 The city embarked on a significant initiative to address the Board’s concerns regarding the 
impact of this proposal in the community.  The Board delayed their action on the request to adopt the 
mandatory alcohol impact area, asking the city to provide documentation of continuing activities.   
 
October, 2013 In response to the Board’s request the city submitted enhanced documentation of their pre-
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resolution voluntary effort, and collected extensive data for the July to October period.  This documentation 
included pictorial evidence of continuing litter illustrating the on-going problems with chronic inebriant 
activities. Affidavits from city officials, law enforcement, and emergency medical treatment staff outline the 
negative fiscal impacts because of the additional strain on limited resources.  These negative impacts 
substantially affect the health, peace, and safety of the citizens who live, work, and play in the downtown 
area.  Economic development and sustaining existing businesses in the downtown area continues to be 
negatively impacted by the chronic public inebriant population’s antisocial activities.  
 
The city has substantially reduced the number of products they wish to ban.   Each product requested is 
documented in the supporting data submitted to the Board.  
 


Recommendations 


Licensing Division staff recommends adoption of the city of Olympia’s request for board-recognition of the 
Downtown Urban Core Alcohol Impact Area.  The city and their community partners’ initiative to obtain 
voluntary compliance have been exhaustive.  They have demonstrated the work required by WAC 314-12-215; 
“a good faith effort has been made by the government subdivision to control the problem through voluntary 
efforts. . . “   


Board-recognition adds our regulatory authority, creating a partnership with the local jurisdiction, and brings to 
bear additional incentives for licensees.  Mandatory restrictions create a level playing field for all affected 
licensees within the bounds of the Alcohol Impact Area.  This is the most effective way to create permanent 
change in the community short of a total absence of indigent people.  Our experiences in other communities 
tell us that within a relatively short period those licensees who must stop selling high-alcohol low-cost 
beverages soon see their customer-base evolve to include neighborhood residents and visitors who were 
previously hesitant to patronize their businesses when the chronic public inebriants were on or around the 
licensed premises. 
 


If the board completes the recognition process by adopting the resolution December 18, 2013, the sale 
restrictions will be effective February 15, 2014.   


 Notice of board adoption will be distributed via US Mail to licensees and distributors no later than 
December 20, 2013 


 The notice will be posted on the internet web site and distributed by e-mail no later than December 20, 
2013.   


 The Communications Office will prepare a press release and distribute it to the local media contacts 
for publication. 


 Licensees must have all restricted products removed from any licensed premises by close of business 
February 14, 2014.  Distributors are authorized to return any existing inventory on the licensee 
premises to their inventory for redistribution to licensees outside the alcohol impact area. 


 


Expected Results 


 


The city of Olympia is required to submit annual reports updating the effectiveness of the mandatory alcohol 
impact area.  Updates should include data and observations of the local authority and community members 
demonstrating the impact, positive or negative, of the mandatory restrictions.  Reporting data can be 
developed collaboratively by the city with LCB staff. Annual reports are due commencing February 1, 2015.  


  


Benefits Drawbacks 


 There can be more consistent 
enforcement activities 


 Distributors and retailers can more 
easily comply with the amended list 


 Monitoring of consumer activities will 
be more productive 


 Assist the city in maximizing available 
resources  


 We may receive objections related to 
the negative economic impact 


 Suppliers may object to their products 
being added to the list 
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Estimated Cost and Timeframe 


 


Date Activity Current 
Status 


October 30, 2013 Present city’s request for mandatory recognition to Board requesting 
authority to open a second public comment period. 


Completed 


November 4, 2013 Open public comment period Completed 


December 3, 2013 End of public comment period Completed 


December 10, 2013 Brief Board chair and members regarding analysis of public comments 
and staff recommendation 


Completed 


December 11, 2013 Public Hearing Pending 


December  18, 2014 Present adoption recommendation resolution to the Board for final action Pending 


December 20, 2013 Distribute notice of Board’s action  Pending 


February 15, 2014 Effective date of new banned products, if approved Pending 


 


Licensing administrative expenses associated with the mandatory alcohol impact area implementation 
and maintenance will be absorbed into our current appropriation.    


 


Stakeholder Impacts 


 


Identify internal stakeholders and get their feedback about how they might be affected. 


 


Stakeholder Impacts (Political, Resource, Other) 


Director’s Office Political and Resource 


Licensing Resource 


Enforcement Resource 


Human Resources  


Business Enterprise  


Retail  


Purchasing  


Distribution Center  


Administrative Services  


Information Technology Resource 


Contracts Office  


Finance  


 


 


 


Identify external stakeholders get their feedback about how they might be affected. 


 


Stakeholder Fiscal and Resource Impacts 


Washington State Agencies  


Prevention Resource 


Industry Fiscal and Resource 


Vendors Fiscal and Resource 
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Acceptance 


We have reviewed this document and approve: 


 


Approved by Signature Date 


Name 


Title 


  


Name 


Title 


  


Name 


Title 
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Proposed Banned Products List 
City of Olympia Downtown Urban Core Alcohol Impact Area 


Effective February 15, 2014  


 
 


Manufacturer Brand Name Alcohol Content 


by Volume 


 


The Steel Brewing Co Steel Reserve – All Flavors 8.1% 


Anheuser Busch Hurricane High Gravity 8.1% 


Miller Brewing Co Milwaukee Best Ice 5.9% 


Miller Brewing Co Olde English 800 – All Flavors 5.9% 


Mickey’s Brewing Co Mickey’s Ice 5.8% 


Drink Four Brewing Co Four Loko – All Flavors 12% 


Mike’s Hard Lemonade Co Mike’s Harder – All Flavors 8% - 9.9% 


Coors Brewing Co Keystone Ice 5.9% 


Olde English 800 Brewing Co Olde English 800 High Gravity 8% 


 





