
Follow the law. Keep kids safe.

Citations

1.  Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2016, April 14). Youth and tobacco use.     
     Retrieved from: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/youth_data/tobacco_use/index.htm
2.  American Lung Association. (2016, June 2). E-cigarettes and lung health. Retrieved from Smoking facts: 
     http://www.lung.org/stop-smoking/smoking-facts/e-cigarettes-and-lung-health.html 
3.  Washington State, Tobacco Facts, 2015 Update.
4.  Barrington-Trimis JL, Urman R, Berhane K, et al. E-Cigarettes and Future Cigarette Use. Pediatrics. 2016; 138(1):e20160379

Don’t sell tobacco or vapor products to youth. IT’S ILLEGAL.
CHECK ID FOR ANYONE WHO LOOKS UNDER 27.

Selling tobacco or vapor products to people 
under age 18 is a gross misdemeanor. (RCW 26.28.080) 

That means it’s a crime that carries fines, criminal 
charges, or both.

 PENALTY for clerks
$100........................1st offense 
$200........Following offenses 

Teens who vape are 6 times more 
likely to smoke cigarettes as adults4

Nicotine & chemicals in these products 
harm young people’s brains, hearts & lungs2

Cigarettes
Cigars
Roll-your-own tobacco 
Hookah tobacco 

Pipe tobacco
Smokeless tobacco
Dissolvable tobacco

E-cigarettes 
Vape pens/devices
E-liquid/e-juice
Nicotine gels

TOBACCO & VAPOR 
PRODUCTS INCLUDE:
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1 in 13 youth smokers die early 
from a smoking-caused disease1

E-cigarette use among Washington 
10th graders has quadrupled since 20123 


