
Do you sell tobacco or vapor products?
DON’T SELL TO YOUTH. IT’S ILLEGAL.

DO

Selling tobacco or vapor products to people under age 18 is a 
gross misdemeanor and may result in criminal charges, fines or both. (RCW 26.28.080)

Follow the law. 
Keep kids safe.

Only sell tobacco or vapor products
to people 18 and older

Check photo ID of every person 
who appears to be under 27

Keep all tobacco or vapor products 
behind the counter or in a locked display, not in a 
self-service display *

Post a sign at cash registers 
about the age restriction

DON’T
Open packages of cigarettes

Sell single cigarettes or less than a full pack

Sell flavored cigarettes or flavored roll-your-own tobacco, 
except menthol flavor **

Sell tobacco or vapor products in vending machines *

Give away free samples of tobacco

Give away free tastes of vapor products that contain nicotine ***

PENALTY for store owners

Exceptions:
* Unless products are in a place restricted to adults only
** You can sell flavored cigars, smokeless tobacco, and dissolvable tobacco, and flavored e-liquids for 
vapor products
*** You can give away free samples of smokeless tobacco or free tastes of vapor products that do not 
contain nicotine, but only in a store restricted to adults only

Nicotine and chemicals in these 
products harm young people’s brains, 
hearts and lungs4

1 in 13 youth smokers die early 
from a disease caused by smoking1

About 50% of teens who used tobacco 
in 2015 used two or more tobacco products, 
including vapor products1

E-cigarette use among Washington 10th 
graders has quadrupled since 20122 

Teens who vape are 6 times more 
likely to smoke cigarettes as adults3

Cigarettes
Cigars
Roll-your-own tobacco 
Hookah tobacco 

Pipe tobacco
Smokeless tobacco
Dissolvable tobacco

E-cigarettes 
Vape pens/devices
E-liquid/e-juice
Nicotine gels

TOBACCO AND VAPOR 
PRODUCTS INCLUDE:

$200........................1st  offense 
$600........................ 2nd offense* 

$2,000....................3rd  offense*  
6-month license suspension

$3,000.................... 4th  offense*  
12-month license suspension
License revoked for 
5 years................... 5th  offense*

*Within a three-year period from the most recent offense. 
(RCW 70.155.100)

Clerks who sell tobacco and vapor products illegally 
may receive additional penalties. 
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About the new tobacco and vapor product laws
Washington State law regulates all vapor products, whether or not they contain nicotine. New federal tobacco laws now apply to 
ENDS (Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems that contain tobacco or nicotine), cigars, hookah and pipe tobacco, and dissolvable 
tobacco and gels. The purpose of these laws is to make tobacco and vapor products less accessible and less attractive to young 
people, while they remain legal for adults.

What stayed the same?
When selling tobacco and vapor products, stores need to follow many of the same rules they have been following for selling  
cigarettes and smokeless tobacco. Only sell to people who are 18 or older, check photo ID, and don’t sell products from a self- 
service display or vending machine (unless they are in a place restricted to adults only). Post a sign at each cash register that  
says it’s illegal to sell tobacco and vapor products to anyone under 18 years old. 

Retailers must apply for a license to sell vapor products, like their license to sell tobacco. Retailers that sell both can apply for  
a combination license. This costs less than the two licenses separately ($250 instead of $175 for each). Wholesale distributors  
and online/delivery sellers of vapor products also need a separate license. Selling vapor products without a license is now a  
class C felony.

What changed?
Vapor products, including e-liquids, devices and parts, are now regulated by the law. The same rules apply whether they are sold 
together or separately.

Stores that only allow adults to enter can offer customers a free taste from a vapor product, but the product cannot contain  
nicotine. Federal law prohibits sampling a product that contains nicotine. Customers are allowed to handle or smell a product,  
but not inhale or keep any of it.

The penalties for violations have doubled
State penalties for violating the rules on sales of tobacco or vapor products start at $200 and go up to $3,000 after multiple  
violations. Also, tobacco violations and vapor product violations are counted together, not separately. If you have more than  
five violations within three years, you can lose your license to sell tobacco and/or vapor products.

Do you make vapor products?
Do you mix e-liquids that contain nicotine? Do you construct vapor devices that can be used with e-liquids that contain nicotine? 
Do you re-package or re-label these products? If so, you are a manufacturer under federal law. Manufacturers must meet additional 
requirements. Stores that both make and sell vapor products need to follow the rules for both. To learn more about the rules for 
manufacturers and full details on the federal laws, visit fda.gov.

More information
For full details on the state laws on tobacco and vapor products, visit lcb.wa.gov.
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