=X\ Washington State
/A Liquor Control Board

Transition to Private Liquor Sales: 1183 Fact Sheet

License Title: Spirits Distributor Liquor License
Effective Date: March 1, 2012
Creates a new section in RCW 66.24
Background
1. The new section creates a license for a Spirits Distributor liquor license to:
e sell spirits purchased from manufacturers, distillers, or suppliers to spirits retailers;
e sell spirits to other distributors; and

e export spirits from the state of Washington
2. The annual fee for the spirits distributor liquor license is $1,320.

3. The holder of a spirits distributor license must pay to the board a monthly license issuance
fee on forms provided by the board, as follows:

e Ten percent of the total revenue from all sales of spirits to retail licensees made during
the month for which the fee is due for the first two years of licensure; and

e Five percent of the total revenue from all sales of spirits to retail licensees made during
the month for which the fee is due for the third year of licensure and every year
thereafter.

Requirements
The requirements for a spirits distributor license include, but are not limited to:
e A copy of all permits required by the federal government;
e The physical location of the warehouse. There is no minimum facility size or capacity;

e Submitting an acknowledgment form indicating the applicant has a security plan which
addresses:

v Inventory management;
v' Employee training; and
v Physical security of spirits product with respect to preventing the theft of product.
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How to Apply

Complete a Master Business Application and Liquor Control Board Addendum. Information can
be found on the WSLCB website at www.lig.wa.gov.

When the WSLCB Licensing Division receives the application:

A liquor license investigator will be assigned to the application.

The investigator will contact the applicant to conduct an interview and send the
applicant a request for documents needed to process the application (the applicant has
15 days to return documents). The applicant will also be directed to complete a
Licensee Briefing and to call their local liquor agent to schedule a final inspection of the
premises.

A notice will be sent to the local authority for comment (20 day period).

When all documents are received, the licensee briefing is complete, the final inspection
is complete, and the investigation is complete, the applicant will receive a letter from the
WSLCB Licensing Division with either a conditional approval or approval of the liquor
license.

When the license is approved the licensee should receive a Master License from Master
License Service within 14 days.

Contact Information

For specific questions, please contact Customer Service, at 360-664-1600 or www.lig.wa.gov.
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