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Wine Shipment 
 

What is Wine Reciprocity? 

A law implemented in 1991 allows wineries located outside Washington State to ship 
up to two (2) cases of wine per year, no more than 9 liters a case, to any 
Washington resident 21 years of age or older. 

The following states currently have reciprocal wine shipment privileges with 
Washington: 

 

• California 

• Colorado 

• Idaho 

• Illinois 

• Iowa 

•  Minnesota

•  Missouri

•  Nebraska

•  New Mexico 

•  North Dakota 

• Oregon 

• West Virginia 

• Wisconsin 

 

Licensing Requirements  

A winery located in a state that has reciprocal wine shipment privileges with 
Washington may apply for a Private Wine Shippers Permit.  (Holders of a Wine 
Out-of-State Certificate of Approval with Washington have this shipping privilege 
and do not need to apply for a Private Wine Shippers Permit.) 

http://www.liq.wa.gov/publications/Liq07250 - app for private wine ship.pdf


 
 
There is no fee for this permit.  The wine shipped under this agreement is not 
subject to Washington State taxes or markup. 

• A Private Wine Shippers licensee may not advertise or solicit consumers within 
the state of Washington. 

• Each case of wine may contain no more than nine liters. 
• The wine shipped must be of the winery’s own manufacture. 
• The wine may not be resold by the recipient. 
• The applicant winery must have a current license from its home state, plus a 

federal winery basic permit. 
• Failure to comply with the requirements outlined in this brochure may result in 

suspension or revocation of the Private Wine Shippers License. 
 

Conditions of Delivery 

 
• It is the responsibility of the Private Wine Shippers License holder to contract with 

a private carrier who will: 
− Verify the age of the recipient if reasonable doubt of age exists 
− Verify that the recipient does not appear intoxicated at the time of delivery. 

 

• All wine cases or outside packaging shipped into Washington must be clearly and 
visibly labeled as follows: 

 

“ Alcoholic beverage.  Do 
not deliver to anyone under 
21 years old or who is visibly 
intoxicated.  If reasonable 
doubt of age exists, verify 
age and record driver’s 
license number or other 
photo ID.”

 
 


