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   Washington Tied House laws permit and prohibit certain practices between suppliers  
   and retailers. A manufacturer, distributor, importer or licensed agent is defined as a 
   supplier.  
 
  Permitted Practices - Suppliers 

• Build, rotate, and restock displays, using filled cases, filled bottles or filled cans of 
their own brands only, from stock or inventory owned by the retailer. 

• Rotate, rearrange or replenish bottles or cans of their own brands on shelves or in 
the refrigerators as long as those displays do not cover up, hide or reduce the 
space of other products offered by other suppliers. 

• Move or handle products of any other supplier on the premises of any retail 
licensee if reasonable notice (24 hours) is given to all concerned and such activity 
occurs during normal business hours or at mutually agreed on times. 

• Provide price cards and price goods of their own brands. 
• Replace outdated can and bottled beer with identical like product. 
• Provide point-of-sale advertising material and brand signs. 

 
  Prohibited Practices - Suppliers 
  Washington law (RCW 66.28.010) prohibits suppliers from advancing money’s worth to 
  retailers.  Suppliers may not provide – and retail licensees and their employees may 
  not solicit –  any of the following either directly or indirectly: 
 
  Gifts.     
  Discounts. 
  Loans of money. 
  Premiums. 

Rebates. 
Free liquor of any kind. 
Treats or services of any nature unless 
authorized by regulation.

  Prohibited Practices - Retailers 
  Retailers cannot request any of the following from suppliers: 
 
 ▪  Free product or cash. 
 ▪  Free non-alcohol beverage fills  
 ▪  Free signage/banners in exchange for 
    new alcohol beverage product 
    placement or product displays. 
 ▪  Pickup of damaged/broken product.      
 ▪  Pickup/replacement of product 
    damaged by retailer’s employee or 
    customer. 
▪   Free re-packing of six-pack holders 
    and plastic hi-cone rings. 
 

▪  Pickup of products that do not sell. 
▪  Pickup of discontinued products. 
▪  To return later to receive payment for 
   beer or wine. 
▪  Trading out product discontinued by 
   the retailer. 
▪  Repacking of products. 
▪  Cleaning or repair of shelves or 
   coolers. 
▪  Renting or loaning equipment. 
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Penalties 
Penalties for violating these statutory provisions can include: 

• A 3-day to a 20-day license suspension. 
• A $250 to $10,000 monetary penalty. 

 
Questions 
If you have questions regarding retail and non-retail relationship Prohibited Practices call 
your nearest Manufacturers, Importers and Wholesalers (MIW) officer at: 
 
Olympia     (360) 664-1634 
Everett      (425) 290-3257 
Wenatchee   (509) 625-5522 
Spokane     (509) 625-5522 
Seattle   (206) 464-6088 
 
For more information, visit www.liq.wa.gov. 
 
 
 
 
 
 


